IMDb > Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan More at IMDbPro »Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 327 reviews in total 

121 out of 142 people found the following review useful:

In the genre, there is simply nothing better, and there never will be.

10/10
Author: budmassey (cyberbarrister@gmail.com) from Indianapolis, IN
28 March 2004

Wrath is based on one of the best episodes of The Original Series of Star Trek. The episode, Space Seed, introduced Kahn Noonian Singh, a genetically engineered super-warrior from the 20th century who survived in cryogenic freeze until the crew of the Enterprise found his derelict space ship and revived him. Alas, his instinct to conquer survived as well, and only after an epic struggle is Kirk able to deposit Kahn and his band of supermen in permanent exile on a garden planet.

Fifteen years later, a cataclysm has left that planet barren, and Kahn bitter about his plight, when along comes the Enterprise, not knowing they have returned to Kahn's home planet. Kahn escapes and the game is on.

This is undoubtedly the best of the Star Trek movies, and in fact, the best of everything that was best about Star Trek TOS. There is heroism, epic conflict, a fully satisfying story, and deliciously over the top acting by Shatner, Nimoy and, the main course, Ricardo Montalban, reprising his original role, with all the menace and drama of, say, Sir Anthony Hopkins' Oscar winning turn as Hannibal Lechter.

The writing is great, and why not, it was by Harve Bennett, by way of Melville, and Roddenberry's unforgettable characters, as indelibly etched on our psyches as any fairy tale of our youth, were never brighter, more heroic, more magnificent. In the genre, there is simply nothing better, and there never will be. It took decades to hone and refine these characters, for us to come to love them, and for them to reach the point in their palpably real lives to reflect with self-doubt and angst on lives that we accept as being as real as our own. This isn't a movie, it's a documentary, and a time capsule, and a worthy monument to the best cast in the best Sci-Fi Western ever made.

Was the above review useful to you?

73 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

The ultimate Science Fiction Film and Star Trek's finest hour!

10/10
Author: DandyDon from PA
25 December 1998

This sequel to the Star Trek TV series and first Star Trek movies is the ultimate film for any Scifi fan and a rivetting drama for movie fans in general. More action packed and interesting than the original Star Trek movie, it brings the TV show cast onto the big screen by meeting a villain from the TV show (Khan), obsessively portrayed by Ricardo Montalban. Equally obsessive is William Shatner in his finest role playing Admiral Kirk, an ageing man reluctant to return to command of the USS Enterprise, but a man who finds his first, best destiny is at the helm of his ship. The battle scenes are the most engaging of any movie, and the action only lets up long enough for the audience to catch their breath and to advance the storyline. Witty characters, clever plot devices and ingenious writing and, by late 1990s standards, subdued use of special effects make this movie meet and often exceed the quality of the original show. Even 16 years later, the movie's technoligy does not seem "dated" because of the subdued use of Computer "tricks"! And NO cast of characters(sorry "Next Generation" fans!) ever had the chemistry or style the original Star trek cast after 16 years together, a comaraderie showcased in this movie. I saw this movie while I was in High School during the movie's original run and it gets better every single time I see it! The best!!

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

The Best.

Author: SilentJerry from Here.
2 July 2002

Well, the best of the Star Trek films. True, a lot of people have recently declared Star Trek Frist Contact the best. There are others who love whales and political correctness declare Star Trek The Voyage Home the best of the Trek films. Out of all the Star Trek films; only two deal with the human element of Star Trek as well as the original TV series did and that's Star Trek 2 and 3. This is the one Star Trek film that I would recommend to people who don't like or watch Star Trek. It's probably one of the best Science Fiction movies of all time.

People will complain that it's too violent and dark. But that's a part of life. Anytime you deal with the darkest human emotions of hate and revenge; you will have starships being fired at and people dying. To say that in the future humans will be 100% peaceful is silly and naive. Themes of life and death are explored very well in this movie without getting preachy about it. Shatner and Nimoy are allowed to expand their characters and bring more life to them. Shatner turns in his best Trek performance since "The City on the Edge of Forever".

The special effects are good, but don't overshadow the story like they did in the first movie. Instead they service the story, as special effects should. The score is great; probably the best of all the Star Trek movies. The uniforms have been toned down and no longer look like pajama's from the first movie. I suppose if you really want to sum up this movie, it should be that this movie brings out the best from the TOS and makes a wonderful movie experience. Also it shows the potential that is in Star Trek that none of the other movies have been able to reach.

Was the above review useful to you?

57 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

Revenge is a dish that is best served cold!

Author: obiwancohen
18 May 2000

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan is a classic action film. It has heroic characters, a nasty villain and a sweeping adventure that is both engaging and entertaining. This is top-notch filmmaking, which just happens to be told via Gene Roddenberry's sci-fi world of Star Trek.

Acting: Shatner and the Enterprise crew are all in top form. It just so happens that this is the best material they have ever been given to perform and they execute it with class and style (a quality later incarnations of Star Trek lack). Also, Ricardo Montablan is the ultimate Star Trek villain as Khan Noonian Singh.

The special FX are also well-done. In this age of CGI it is refreshing to see the ingenuity and creativity of old-style model effects being used so effectively. And just to make this statement even more clear: ST II has THE BEST space battle sequences in film history. That's right, the best. It's not about the scope of a battle that makes it fun to watch, it's all about the pacing! This film exhibits the best cat and mouse battle in my mind and its well worth your time.

Go see this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

One of the better "Trek"s....

10/10
Author: Mister-6 from United States
25 November 1999

I've always held a special place in my heart and mind for this second installment in the "Star Trek" movie series. Mostly, because this is a movie that appeals to both places.

Not only is this movie loaded with the original characters from the series, it also touches on such subjects as revenge, family, duty, age and, of course, sacrifice. That was the best thing about the series - that it touched on topics that were (pardon the expression) universal, no matter the species.

Everyone is uniformly fine right down the line, especially Montalban's Khan (returned from the "Space Seed" episode of the original series); all hatred, vengeance and single-minded of desire to see his enemy laid out before him. Namely, Kirk.

Alley is rather fetching as Saavik and it's a shame she wasn't carried over to the next film. I can't help but, seeing her on TV anymore, to expect her to raise an eyebrow in contemplation. Buttrick makes a complex character out of David, the son Kirk never knew he had. Hurt feelings and resentment meld somewhat explosively with a new-found father/son relationship.

And what can one say about Spock, Bones, Sulu, Chekov, Uhura and Scotty? They are characters all of us grew up with and, pivotal to the plot at hand or not, it's always good to see them.

For anyone who hasn't seen the movie, I won't discuss it in great detail. The story is simple enough (scientists find way to rejuvenate life on dead planets; Khan finds escape from prison planet, vows revenge on Kirk), but there is one plot point that will, if you are unfamiliar with it, blow you away. Suffice it to say, never has friendship been elocuted so well in this or any movie before or since.

Ten stars and a special Kobuyashi Maru simulation for "Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan". Watch it: it'll make you feel young again.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

Excellent well produced movie, great effects, directing, acting, One of The Best Sci-Fi's you'll ever see!

Author: homie_g
31 March 2000

The Wrath of Khan was a complete jump in quality, production and standard from first movie, The Motion Picture. Ricardo Montauban, a classic actor best known for his romantic films in his early years, 1950's. One of the best villains you will ever see in a science fiction movie.

The music was good, however not as good as the predecessor movie's music, but still good. The directing is also very good, great use of focusing techniques, close up's, action sequences well done, the usual high standard that comes from a proficient director like Nicholas Meyer.

The lighting, exterior and interior shots, were well done.

Its a pity that they haven't made a remastered tape, as the movie picture quality has degraded through the years.

William Shatner's acting was extremely real, moving, believable. Among with the other main cast, and unlike the previous movie, this movie brought together that atmosphere that existed in the Original Star trek series.

The dramatic plot that happens towards the end of the movie is indeed, one of the best scenes you will ever see in motion picture history. Proving that Star Trek still has emotion. I can not be more clearer than this unless by giving away the story. Watch it yourself, and you'll be moved by the greatest acting, heart touching scene ever made.

The special effects composed along with George Lucas were excellent, and in the year 2000, I feel they would come very close to our standard today. The better warp entering sequences, battle sequences, and the formation of the new Genesis planet are very good effects. The chase in the nebula, final explosion of the Genesis device are effects for you to watch for.

If your like me, you will love the script for its Shakespeare context which Khan uses effectively throughout the film. I highly recommend you to see this movie if you haven't already, it's one of the best.

Rating: 9.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

Plenty to enjoy here

7/10
Author: The_Void from Beverley Hills, England
18 August 2004

I'm not a Star Trek fan. I have watched the show a few times, and I don't dislike it; but it's not the sort of thing that I would find myself watching week after week. Basically what I'm saying is: I'm not a Trekkie. I did, however, find lots to enjoy about this movie. The plot revolves around Captain Kirk, who has now been promoted to Admiral Kirk and is going through a mid-life crisis. However, his crisis couldn't have come at a worse time; as it has come on the eve of the testing for a new creation, known as 'Genesis', and not only that but a man named Khan has just been found on a planet that Kirk exiled him on, and he doesn't just want to give Kirk a friendly hug.

The acting in the film isn't great, actually, it's about the standard that you would expect from a TV show (which is no coincidence, I'm sure). I'm not sure if all the cast of the shows is present, because I didn't watch it often, but most of the main ones seem to be here; Spock, Kirk, Scottie, Sulu etc. Also joining them is Kirstie Alley, in the role of a young Vulcan commander and Ricardo Montalban who camps it up and dons a silly costume for the title role of Kirk's opposite number; Khan. His performance was the standout of the film for me; he's deliciously over the top, but despite that he comes across as believable as his mannerisms fit the character profile that he is portraying. Unfortunately, non of the show's best known baddies, the Klingons make an appearance. In fact, aside from the Vulcans, there are no aliens in the movie.

One thing that surprised me about the film is the meatiness of the characters. As it's a film of a TV show, I wasn't expecting any development or for the characters to step out of their character arks, but they are surprisingly well done. Some characters also go through a change during the movie (some more than others), which is nice to see. The pace is also a good thing about the movie, as it doesn't let up and manages to stay interesting all the way through. One thing that worried me before watching the movie is that I would get bored as I don't know the show, but that didn't become a problem at any point.

I am proof that you don't have to be a Trekkie to enjoy this movie. There's more than enough for the casual movie fan to enjoy about it, it's an entertaining romp and overall I give this Star Trek film a 'G' for 'good' rating.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Still the best Star Trek Film after over 20 years!

10/10
Author: PJPair from Rhyl, Wales, UK
20 July 2004

There have been many Star Trek films but The Wrath of Khan is still the best. Second to none for thrills, action and adventure. With the best musical score by James Horner to keep us on the edge of our seats. If you haven't seen this at least 10 times go and put it on now!! The new special edition with previously unreleased footage brings the whole thing together in an even better way (no spoilers, sorry!). The regular cast are at their best but Ricardo Montalban steals the show as Khan. Done in true Star Trek tradition, unlike the disappointing special-effects-fest of the first Motion Picture, this film will go on to be one of the all time greats of sci-fi.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Rousing!

9/10
Author: CarelessMoonDruid from .: Fiendish Writings in the Dark :.
26 October 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the very best of this series, Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan gives you the battles and action for which you were so hungry.

A veritable feast for Trekkies, and all other sci-fi fans, alike.

Ricardo Montalban reprises his role as Khan; a genetically mutated humanoid who has powers and strengths beyond that of mankind. Longevity, apparently is one of those powers. Exiled on Seti Alpha 5, Khan and his crew were to have a chance at life in a place where they could no longer interfere with Star Fleet and the affairs of man. But Chekov inadvertently stumbles up on the shell of the Botany Bay, Khan's ship, and realizes immediately what a mistake he has made. He attempts to flee, but it is too late.

Khan wants to avenge the death of his wife; an event for which he blames Admiral James Tiberius Kirk, and he will not rest until he can extract his revenge. It seems Kirk never checked on Khan and his crew, and sometime after they were deposited there, Seti Alpha 5 became a desolate wasteland with murderous creatures which burrow and move beneath the sands.

Meanwhile, Kirk is going through what seems to be a mid-life crisis which is interrupted to deal with the travesties of space, and one of Kirk's many love interests, Dr. Carol Marcus, has developed the "Genesis Project;" a device which can create new planets from dead ones, asteroids, and the like. But were this device to be used where life already existed, it would destroy the present life in favor of the new matrix, thereby making it a very devastating and dangerous weapon in the wrong hands.

Khan has learned of Genesis, and seeks to lay his hands on it, thus tying the plot to the sub-plot, and making for a very entertaining endeavor.

The space battles are extremely well done. The effects are startlingly good, even by today's standards, and the effects of Genesis inside the Genesis Cave, are absolutely brilliant.

The new characters; IE: Savik, a Vulcan addition to the crew of the Enterprise creatively and beautifully portrayed by Kirstie Alley; Dr. Carol Marcus and her son; are very well developed without creating long, slow scenes in which to accomplish the task. There is one slow scene in the entire movie, and that comes just before we get to see the Genesis Effect inside the Cave.

This is the infamous movie in which Spock gives up his life to save the ship and his friends. I remember picket lines outside Paramount Studios for weeks after this movie was released, protesting Leonard Nimoy's retirement from the series in such a manner.

All in all, of the movies in which the original cast stars, I would have to say it is a toss up between 2, 4, & 6 for the title of "Best" of these movies. I do not believe I could choose a favorite among those three.

It rates a 9.2/10 from...

the Fiend :.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Best Trek Film

Author: Jeff (spoonjef@aol.com) from L.A. CA
29 January 1999

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Star Trek II is the best Trek film. Why? The cat and mouse game between Kirk and Khan. The relationships of the Enterprise crew just keep getting better and better. The battles between the Enterprise and Reliant are tense and spectacular. The one thing that sets Star Trek II apart from all the others (which are good in their own way) is the death of Spock. I can never make it through the end without shedding at least a few tears. It starts to get you when Bones' voice comes back over the intercom instead of Scotty's, and when Kirk looks over to Spock's empty chair, you know something's wrong. The scene that follows is one of the best acted death scenes of all time, and it is also the saddest. Spock's final line is the kicker, and with that scene you understand the entire relationship that Kirk and Spock had and you feel Kirk's loss.

"Of all the souls I have encountered in my travels, his was the most.......human."

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 33:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history