IMDb > Porky's (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 15: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 145 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

mediocre at best

4/10
Author: gunkulator from United States
12 November 2009

Certainly not the worst comedy I've ever seen, but there's more misses than hits here. Even though there aren't a lot of laughs, Porky's contains a couple iconic scenes (shower scene, PeeWee running naked down the road) that keep this one from being a true stinker. Tolerable after a few beers.

Unfortunately, most of the jokes are old and stale or obvious with too long of a set-up. "Mike Hunt" may have been hilarious in 1953, but not in 1981 and certainly not today. The opening scene where the boys are naked waiting to get laid and a black guy jumps out with a knife seems to go on forever and the joke is spoiled before you even get to see it. We already know what's going to happen because they tell us and sure enough, that's exactly what happens. The film makers are violating some basic rules of comedy here.

And even the much lauded scene where the two gym teachers have sex scene is likewise ruined. Gee, I wonder why they call her Lassie? Why might that be? Now having said that, a young and enthusiastic Kim Catrall saves that scene from being completely dreary.

And what's the deal with the characters laughing like hyenas all over the place? There's nothing worse than someone trying to tell you a joke who can't spit it out because they're laughing so hard. Funny for them, not for you. Watching this movie, it's pretty clear that the people involved were having the time of their lives. Unfortunately that doesn't necessarily translate to a good time for the audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The first and best of the series.

Author: Miyagis_Sweaty_wifebeater (sirjosephu@aol.com) from Sacramento, CA
27 June 2004

Porky's (1982) Was the first and the best of the Porky's trilogy. The "kids" are always getting into trouble and trying to score. The biggest perv of the group is Pee-Wee, he's always trying to get some and he'll do anything to get it. One of the places they figure is a sleazy dive bar that's out in the boondocks. The talked about "Porky's". Will this solve their problems? Nothing but madcapped adult themed humor geared towards the late teens and early adult crowd. Years later the comedy still stands the test of time. Fun stuff. Just remember, "Get it, at Porky's!"

Fun stuff and it's highly entertaining. Kim Cattrall (who was smoking hot in this picture) makes an appearance as "Lassie". A lot of Canadian actors also co-star in this feature (well, this is a Canadian production). Bob Clark also helmed the sequel Porky's 2. Funny but not a classic like the first film. Then followed but the dreadful Porky's Revenge.

A

Check it out!

xxx

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Amateurish as it gets, but entertaining

6/10
Author: MovieLuvaMatt from New Jersey
9 August 2003

I watched this movie with lukewarm expectations. Sure, the film did develop a reputation, but it was basically a cult success and the critics panned it unanimously. Well, this is in no way an intelligent comedy with sharp writing. As a matter of fact, I found some of the jokes to be way too mean-spirited (I didn't find the torturing of nice, innocent Pee Wee to be funny at all) and I wouldn't put this in the same league as the "American Pie" movies. Though both raunchy sex comedies, the "AP" movies have wit and the gags are delivered with fine timing and delivery. "Porky's" is one of those effortless sex comedies where the actors literally laugh at themselves while delivering the gags. There are some funny moments, but I wouldn't go as far as to call it a riot. However, I was oddly engaged for the most part. One reason was because I felt the boys' rage in getting back at Porky and his whole establishment. The good ol' revenge plot can go pretty far. But as many insults as I have about the film's writing and direction, "Porky's" works as a pretty good guilty pleasure. But I don't believe it's one of the funniest sex comedies ever made. Nor is there as much nudity as the film has a reputation for.

My score: 6 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

the cornerstone of an empire of bad teen movies

6/10
Author: Raleon
7 June 2003



This is probably the one that started it all: the beginning of all those horrible and not so funny movies that portray every teenage adolescent as a horney sex-crazed hooligan who parties all night. One of the most insulting stereotypes ever given in a movie, and copied in stuff like the American Pie movies. At least compared to those movies, this one is hilarious. It was actually quite funny back in the eighties. The fact that this was the most high-grossing film in Canadian history even up to the new millenium is proof of how horrible the distributing in this country is. Movies like The Sweet Hereafter and Goin' Down the Road have trouble making money, but this does well? Well, to be fair their weren't many good movies in the eighties from Canada, even though there was a few in the seventies and increasingly more in the nineties. But Bob Clark has done some pretty good movies over the years, and this, although not great, is still somewhat of a landmark.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Classic comedy

7/10
Author: smatysia (feldene@comcast.net) from Houston
10 May 2003

OK, this movie wasn't as funny watching it now, as it was when it came out. A lot of comedies suffer from this, most don't have the staying power of dramas. But some of the scenes, say, the shower scene for instance, are all-time comedy classics. Now, I wasn't around in high school in the 1950's (70's for me) but it seems that most of the characters behaved like '70's people instead of '50's people. Okay, maybe the boys were much the same, but the girls? I'm thinking of the "Wendy" character played by Kaki Hunter. Were ANY high school girls so openly slutty back then? Anyway, "Porky's" belongs in everyone's collection. Grade: B+

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funny mixed with sex

Author: james (spikelovesbuffy2002@hotmail.com) from New York, New York, USA
6 July 2002

This movie is very funny mixed with alot of sex anyways a funny part is the shower scene when the guy is looking through the hole into the girls shower and then he sticks his penis throgh and the gym teacher walks in I give this movie 8 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Keep it in context and you won't be disappointed

7/10
Author: Bill (wabbit99) from California
6 December 2001

If you are looking for a cinematic masterpiece, then Bob Clark's comedy about a group of teenagers at Angel Beach High School is not for you.

However, if you are like a majority of people who like a damn funny movie for pure entertainment purposes, then "Porky's" is definitely worth the rental or purchase price.

Clark's 1981 film about Edward 'Pee Wee' Morris and his basketball buddies at Angel Beach is the quintessential teen comedy. Its raunchy, very adult in its humor and nature and hilarious, especially in the gymnasium scene.

While this is not Clark's best work (see 'A Christmas Story') this is a far cry from being as awful as others believe it is. Go in expecting a laugh or two, and you will be satisfied beyond belief.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Best teen movie of the 80s

10/10
Author: ap8077-1 (ap8077@hotmail.com) from chicago, IL
19 August 2001

It's too bad none of the cast became big stars like in other movies when this movie came out it change a lot of things I seen a lot of porky's rip offs like screwball and a lot of others. Now part 2 and 3 was any good but thats what happens when you trying to be greedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

''Hello,is a Mike Hunt there ?''

Author: Adam Morrison (dvd53@hotmail.com) from Bathurst, New Brunswick
2 July 1999

Outrageous sex comedy is overly hilarious to watch.This an ADULTS only comedy.

Rating:**** (out of five)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not modern? Give me a break

10/10
Author: Bats_Breath from Phoenix, AZ
9 August 2001

One commentator named Jerry said American Pie was "more modern" and teen movies came a long way since Porky's. How so? I'm assuming Jerry is or at the very least was a teenager 2 years ago in '99 and thus is biased towards American Pie. Fair Enough. I was 23 when American Pie came out 2 years ago and I thought it sucked. I suppose if I was a teenager my opinion would have been different. Granted, Porky's was a bit before my time as well. I was only 5 years old when Porkys came out. Its not like I was a teenager back then and I hold some heavy bias towards Porky's. But Porky's is just as raunchy and I dare say even more raunchy than American Pie. Its a common misbelief to think that as time goes by, things get more raunchy and racy. What they didn't have sex and raunchiness in 1981? They had it all in the first century A.D. Jerry. Now I had some similar beliefs around 1994, 1995 when I was in my teen years. Every teenager thinks their generation is the coolest and most "hip" and "raunchy", then another bratty generation comes along and thinks they are better. When in reality, teenagers NEVER change.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 15: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history