IMDb > Porky's (1981) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 16: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 157 reviews in total 

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

FOR A HIGH SCHOOL PRODUCTION- NOT BAD

6/10
Author: brianlion from United States
14 November 2002

This movie has all the appearances of being a class project at the local high school. Hey, I'll give this school project an "A". It certainly isn't quality Hollywood material, but pretty good for a bunch of teenagers. The movie has some memorable moments. The shower scene with the beaver shots is every teen guys dream. Kim Cattrell shows her real talent. The characters are likeable and there are enough gags and goofs to keep me interested. The acting, surprisingly, isn't that bad. I'm just wondering who Mike Hunt is.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Ridiculous Money Maker

6/10
Author: DKosty123 from United States
25 April 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There is little sense going into any story of that his movie really has a plot. The thing is humor doe not need plot. This is the tame version of Borat only it has more taste than the dictator.

It made so much money that sequels were made. So like it or hate it, an American Success it is. As for why it made so much money? I can not explain.

Maybe it is like JAWS - you just can not avoid going to it. There is just so much room for good taste anyhow.

Put your brain in park and enjoy it.

After all, most people miss their best chances at sex in their life times anyhow. So here, enjoy the funny worst chances at sex in comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

If you are a male between 12 and 16 years old, you will love this...

4/10
Author: dworldeater from United States
16 March 2015

Porky's is one movie from the 80's, I think I would have better appreciated if I saw it in the 80's. As an adult I'm not so impressed by a little nudity and lowbrow frat boy humor. This film has a lot in common with Animal House and like Animal House, this is also set in the 1950's. Even though I am not a fan of this movie, I give director Bob Clark some props as a diverse film maker. He has worked on a wide range of films from Black Christmas to A Christmas Story. A Christmas Story works much better as a period piece of the 50's and is a much better film as well. However, the two pictures are much different and that is where their similarities begin and end. Unlike many other movies that people consider to be classics, I don't think the movie aged well. Porky's as a movie is not that spectacular and while the acting performances are not bad, they are not great and do not elevate this substandard film. Plus most of the jokes are pretty dated, dumb and not funny. I can absolutely understand why critics panned this movie on its release. It is dumb. However, Porky's was a huge hit.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

At this point, I guess it's OK if the robots just take over

1/10
Author: jessegehrig from United States
15 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yes, I know what Porky's is, a raunchy teen-sex comedy and, yes, I fully realize what the film makers intended to make. What exists, regardless of any and all intentions, is f*cking insane. Yes, like the actual kind of insane, like as in your goddamn brain. It's like, how is this a human's life? Have you seen Porky's? Were you cool with it? You weren't ever like, "what the f*ck are these creatures DOING?" So like the part where a bunch of high school kids buy a hooker, each boy intending to bone the hooker, like over five boys, and you were like, what, " that's normal human behavior" ? For realzies? A dude shows a lady his penis to explain why his name is "Meat", is that what people do?

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

disgusting garbage.

2/10
Author: jacobjohntaylor1 from Barry's bay Ontario Canada
10 September 2014

This movie is not funny. It is disgusting garbage. It is sick. I can't believe people like this movie. The story line is awful. The hummer is awful. Pooh pooh thats all it is. Don't wast your money. This movie stinks. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. Never see this movie. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. The pretty girls can't make up for the awful hummer. Dreadful hummer. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. Stinky stinky pooh. I hate comedy movies this awful. I like comedies that are funny not when there poop. Don't see this movie don't see it don't see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Successful at its goal, but disappointing in places

Author: Steve Pulaski from United States
16 July 2011

Porky's spends more time being almost a biography of a group of teens from a small town rather than being clever and funny. Not to say it's bad, but most of the movie is a few chuckles, smiles, maybe a few memories of your adolescent years. What it boils down to is this is only funny if you've been through something like this or can recall your quest for sexual satisfaction.

Even someone's strangest quest for pleasure probably wouldn't touch some of the desperation focused on in Porky's. It aims below the belt, and sometimes results in either a hilarious scene or an awkwardly thrown together one. I knew what I was getting into when I hit play, so don't accuse me of misjudging or misinterpreting this film.

The plot is a group of high school boys in 1954, Tommy Turner, Edward "Pee Wee" Morris, Anthony "Meat" Tuperello, Mickey Jarvis, Billy McCarthy, and Tim Cavanaugh, are content on losing their virginity and will do it whatever way they can. They first try to go to a rundown shack at midnight in hopes to get lucky with a stripper, but end up humiliated. The next guess is to try to go to Porky's and pay for sex. This seems inches away from happening when the owner, Porky, dumps them in a swamp after taking their money. Now it becomes a quest of sex and payback.

Porky's is sort of like a steam roller on a newly-tarred street. It paved the way for other teen movies (cars) to follow. It was like the leader of the pack in 1982 next to the 1978 classic Animal House. So, in its own respect, it should be recognized and someway appreciated for that.

But by the time the end scene rolls around, we don't feel accomplished. Our characters certainly do, but for some reason, the movie seemed to want to focus on so much in such a little time frame. In order to do so many things with the same characters you have to first introduce them properly and give them their own chance to speak. That is done here, but the development isn't very large. I could probably write one, two sentences max on each character.

I liked Kim Cattrall as the drop-dead gorgeous teacher, but wasn't very amused by the "Lassie" scene. I liked many of the boys and wanted to learn more about them, but didn't. Porky's has laughs and a few smiles, but not enough to recommend to someone looking for a great comedy. If someone asks me a film with screwball antics and below the belt jokes Porky's will be the first film that will come out of my mouth.

Starring: Dan Monahan, Mark Herrier, Wyatt Knight, Roger Wilson, and Kim Cattrall. Directed by: Bob Clark.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

mediocre at best

4/10
Author: gunkulator from United States
12 November 2009

Certainly not the worst comedy I've ever seen, but there's more misses than hits here. Even though there aren't a lot of laughs, Porky's contains a couple iconic scenes (shower scene, PeeWee running naked down the road) that keep this one from being a true stinker. Tolerable after a few beers.

Unfortunately, most of the jokes are old and stale or obvious with too long of a set-up. "Mike Hunt" may have been hilarious in 1953, but not in 1981 and certainly not today. The opening scene where the boys are naked waiting to get laid and a black guy jumps out with a knife seems to go on forever and the joke is spoiled before you even get to see it. We already know what's going to happen because they tell us and sure enough, that's exactly what happens. The film makers are violating some basic rules of comedy here.

And even the much lauded scene where the two gym teachers have sex scene is likewise ruined. Gee, I wonder why they call her Lassie? Why might that be? Now having said that, a young and enthusiastic Kim Catrall saves that scene from being completely dreary.

And what's the deal with the characters laughing like hyenas all over the place? There's nothing worse than someone trying to tell you a joke who can't spit it out because they're laughing so hard. Funny for them, not for you. Watching this movie, it's pretty clear that the people involved were having the time of their lives. Unfortunately that doesn't necessarily translate to a good time for the audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The first and best of the series.

7/10
Author: Joseph P. Ulibas (sirjosephu@aol.com) from Sacramento, CA
27 June 2004

Porky's (1982) Was the first and the best of the Porky's trilogy. The "kids" are always getting into trouble and trying to score. The biggest perv of the group is Pee-Wee, he's always trying to get some and he'll do anything to get it. One of the places they figure is a sleazy dive bar that's out in the boondocks. The talked about "Porky's". Will this solve their problems? Nothing but madcapped adult themed humor geared towards the late teens and early adult crowd. Years later the comedy still stands the test of time. Fun stuff. Just remember, "Get it, at Porky's!"

Fun stuff and it's highly entertaining. Kim Cattrall (who was smoking hot in this picture) makes an appearance as "Lassie". A lot of Canadian actors also co-star in this feature (well, this is a Canadian production). Bob Clark also helmed the sequel Porky's 2. Funny but not a classic like the first film. Then followed but the dreadful Porky's Revenge.

A

Check it out!

xxx

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Amateurish as it gets, but entertaining

6/10
Author: MovieLuvaMatt from New Jersey
9 August 2003

I watched this movie with lukewarm expectations. Sure, the film did develop a reputation, but it was basically a cult success and the critics panned it unanimously. Well, this is in no way an intelligent comedy with sharp writing. As a matter of fact, I found some of the jokes to be way too mean-spirited (I didn't find the torturing of nice, innocent Pee Wee to be funny at all) and I wouldn't put this in the same league as the "American Pie" movies. Though both raunchy sex comedies, the "AP" movies have wit and the gags are delivered with fine timing and delivery. "Porky's" is one of those effortless sex comedies where the actors literally laugh at themselves while delivering the gags. There are some funny moments, but I wouldn't go as far as to call it a riot. However, I was oddly engaged for the most part. One reason was because I felt the boys' rage in getting back at Porky and his whole establishment. The good ol' revenge plot can go pretty far. But as many insults as I have about the film's writing and direction, "Porky's" works as a pretty good guilty pleasure. But I don't believe it's one of the funniest sex comedies ever made. Nor is there as much nudity as the film has a reputation for.

My score: 6 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

the cornerstone of an empire of bad teen movies

6/10
Author: Raleon
7 June 2003



This is probably the one that started it all: the beginning of all those horrible and not so funny movies that portray every teenage adolescent as a horney sex-crazed hooligan who parties all night. One of the most insulting stereotypes ever given in a movie, and copied in stuff like the American Pie movies. At least compared to those movies, this one is hilarious. It was actually quite funny back in the eighties. The fact that this was the most high-grossing film in Canadian history even up to the new millenium is proof of how horrible the distributing in this country is. Movies like The Sweet Hereafter and Goin' Down the Road have trouble making money, but this does well? Well, to be fair their weren't many good movies in the eighties from Canada, even though there was a few in the seventies and increasingly more in the nineties. But Bob Clark has done some pretty good movies over the years, and this, although not great, is still somewhat of a landmark.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 16: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history