IMDb > Porky's (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 141 reviews in total 

It's better than the sequels

5/10
Author: mutty-mcflea from Lincolnshire, UK
18 July 2013

A grubby but mildly entertaining comedy whose target audience is its own characters, a crowd of horny teenagers whose quest to get laid leads them into the titular strip club and a feud with its owner.

They're not a particularly likable bunch, but the fun they have rubs off; their constant laughter is infectious, particularly during the scene in which the girls' gym coach tries to explain her plan to identify a student by his 'tallywhacker' while the guys in the background are helpless with laughter. Genuinely funny gags are thin on the ground, however, as are decent performances, although a couple sneak through the slimy tone and gratingly juvenile humour.

Best viewed before you're old enough to get your hands on real porn.

Was the above review useful to you?

Folly of youth.

6/10
Author: punishmentpark from Netherlands
9 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A film from my youth that I will never forget for various reasons. Looking at it now, years later, it still has a certain charm, like a tribute to true folly of youth. And it even contains a few lessons in manners to some, if you will - but most of it's just adolescent hormone-driven fun and I can't help but appreciate it just about enough. The Lassie-scene is classic, the cabin-in-the-woods sequence just as much, and it actually goes on for a while, but i'll stop at Beulah trying to get a 'tallywhacker' line-up together, with the men laughing right beside her.

The acting may not be the best, but it's all done enthusiastically and it seems to have been as much a blast for the cast at the time as it was for me back then to watch. Back in those days I'd given it a much higher rating, but 6 out of 10 from this old sod will do today.

Was the above review useful to you?

Porky's

6/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
6 July 2013

this film reminds me of what it was like growing up a bit. I know it will reveal my age now.. well on to the movie,, Porky's came out when I was 12. so 30 years later I watched it again, I still love everything about this movie,, all of the locker room gags.. the hole cut out in the wall of the women's shower room,, the female teacher who grabs the boys willy and tries to yank it out of the hole.. I liked the whole idea of the bar set out in the Everglades in the middle of nowhere, the character of Porky himself,, that was something else,, the way he and the other roughnecks at the bar , treated those poor kids,, just trying to get laid.. one of the kids keeps going back and back for more punishment, poor thing just keep returning getting beat up time after time.. well the boys decide they finally had enough and they all set out to Porky's one last time,, you will have to watch and see what happens,, it's definitely a heck of a ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

80's Classic to me,

10/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
18 April 2013

First Time I saw this movie was 6 years ago and it was not TV, I actually shocked that never heard even seen this movie before.

I was in my bed night ready for bed, I did movie started, I could not stop laughing at all (This 12am , everyone else in house was sleep) I did wake them laugh my Head off.

I found the whole movie funny from start to end, Yes some these Joke can ready rude at times.

I yet this movie dose some very mild nudity scenes, which not on for too long.

The acting was great from whole cast, I can't believe I saw this movie SO late in life.

Next Day I brought this on DVD back to Back with Porky's 2

10 out 10

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie is for the pigs. Oink! Oink!

5/10
Author: ironhorse_iv from United States
28 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The American pie of the 1980'S, and like American Pie (1999) somewhat unfunny. But this Bob Clark movie isn't American at all, it's an Canadian film, so Porky's can be classed as one of the highest-grossing Canadian film of all time in Canada's domestic box office, with over the total of $111Million CDN. Set in the 1950's, the film charts the usual round of high school jerks who's sole purpose in life is getting laid with seems more trouble than it's worth. There was just something smug and smarmy about their attempts to have sex that makes you wish that they get what deserves for their pre-adolescent actions. The actors don't even look like they belong in high school nor does they look like they should be allow to be on school grounds with such stalking and pervert like actions. If this was a real life, their actions would have leaded to criminal convictions and require them to register as sex offenders for the rest of their lives. I don't like films that glorifies their actions. The adults in this film are not better. For somebody running a school in high school in Eisenhower Conservatism America, their principal makes light of the boys actions. To make matters worse, the two male gym teacher are not making it any easier by snickering to themselves. It is simply a teen exploitation film put together by a bunch of adults with actors in their early twenties pretending to be high school kids and adults being children. It's hard to sympathize with them with all the unappealingly misogynistic and vile. You want them to get hurt by the end. It doesn't matter, if it's the girl's school shower room antics, where one of the gang actually gets a lot more than he bargained for or Porky's nightclub who humiliates the kids and steal their money. This movie is so raunchy, but it's less about sex, but more about revenge against the people that does them, wrong. Most of the movie is trying to get revenge against Porky's nightclub. There is a sub plot saying that people of different religions and beliefs need to more understanding. Wow, that's seems out of place. Was this thrown in to make it socially relevant? It's doesn't help the movie when its show cast more nudity, than social tolerance. There is a lot of nudity, both male and female. Sadly sex sells, even if the jokes are awful. The T&A doesn't titillate as much now as it did then, but you can still imagine teen boys laughing hysterically the first time they watch it. It's not what one would call a deep or engrossing movie though. It lacks the complexity and genius of an Animal House or American Graffiti. Both based on 1950's teenager sex-life. The movie has two familiar characters that audience will remember most, which are Edward "Pee Wee" Morris (Dan Monahan) who is the funniest of the group, despite being a one dimension character. Pee Wee is so named because of his little man part, and inability to score. Another would be Coach Beulah Balbricker (Nancy Parsons) who borderline cartoony with her butch female coach look. Another note character would be Kim Cattrall as Miss Honeywell. Miss Honeywell earns her legendary nickname of Lassie, the description of the wanted poster for the male private part. Don't get me wrong, I have an sense of humor, but overall, this film a sexist and primitive film, whom never either condones or rejects their behavior. I just can't watch this film any more than once. Unfortunately it spawned 2 bad sequels as well. Not worth it, in my watch list.

Was the above review useful to you?

Pork this

8/10
Author: PeterMitchell-506-564364 from Australia
5 December 2012

Porky's deserves to be credited as a good teen comedy. Many years before American Pie came along, this little treasure did. The actors here, most who never went on to anything, are so good and damn believable, they simply melt into their characters. Sadly one actor, Wyatt Knight, a.k.a. Tommy Turner, the impish teen who was always at war with Ms Beulah Ballbreaker, the overweight female soccer coach, topped himself last year as suffering from some cancer. One guy, pee wee (Dan Monahan) the laughing butt of his friends, wants so desperately to get laid, one classic hoax scene near the start of the movie, has him scared out of his wits, running down a highway, naked. He even has a penis chart he keeps tabs on. At the advice of one of their friends, where his own advice nearly gets him half dead, they head to this bordello out in the Florida glades run by fat corrupt owner, Porky, who's brother runs the sheriff house next door, just as corrupt. Porky's promising them a night to remember, rips them off, the most cheesed off of the boys, Mick (Roger Wilson?). The Sheriff even smashes up Mick's car a little, to stretch his warning, to never return. Mick goes back and back, obsessed with getting even with Porky, the second time, the most dramatic, with him ending up in the hospital, so a certain revenge awaits, as the boys of Angel Beach with a help from authorities (Mick's brother a cop) get revenge, two fold and pee wee finally gets laid. Porky's is not all a comedy. It has a little drama, where a little is to be said about racism too. One of the new kids, Brian, a Jewish boy, isn't accepted by one of the mob, Steve, because of this. But we see why. Steve's dad, a real piece of .... has drummed it into him as well as his fists where he's a regular punching bag of his Dad's. Porky's is better than a lot of sex comedies, whether it's Up The Creek, Where The Boys Are, or the unbelievably cheesy and degrading, Screwballs. It's a sex comedy on a higher plane of worth, dealing with real characters and real issues. The eye peeking scene through the girls shower block is funny, but what will really crack you up, so much, you almost feel like you're having a heart attack is the next one. Ms Beulah Ballbreaker, such a miserable so and so, who pulled onto something she shouldn't of, is describing to the small and gawky principal, 70's, in great length the incident, but more so her plan of strategy which has the three basketball coaches in the background, in fits of laughter as this scene will have you. It's one of the funniest scenes in movie history. One head, drowning in a bowl of chili scene, may put you off it for good, plus witness the world's biggest rubber, that fits perfectly over Pee Wee's head.

Was the above review useful to you?

a bona fide comedy classic, the American pie of the 80's

10/10
Author: daworldismine from United Kingdom
5 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

as a teen sex comedy porky's is miles above the rest, in fact the only movie too touch it was 1999's American pie. everything about this movie is brilliant, its truly hilarious, the set pieces, the dialogue, all the cast are brilliant, and the script while not art, for what it is, is very well written. following the antics of a group of sex obsessed teens from angel beach high, we follow them on all kinds of hilarious escapades, i could just tell you all about the funniest parts, but why, if you haven't seen it, i don't want to give anything away, the main lead though 'pee wee' is one of the funniest characters in any comedy, and his misadventures are laugh out loud hilarious, as are all the other character like 'meat' 'tommy' 'billy' 'brian' 'wendy', and unlike most teen comedies of the 80's they seem like real people, talking like real people, a must see comedy i highly recommend

Was the above review useful to you?

More than just a teen sex comedy

6/10
Author: Leofwine_draca from United Kingdom
14 March 2011

The well-remembered PORKY'S was the American Pie of its day, a sequel-spawning popular hit about a group of male students and their encounters with the opposite sex. Seen today, it's a film that hasn't dated too much, which may be due in part to the clever decision to set it in the 1950s (much like GREASE).

Obviously, sex and nudity play a part in the film, but it all feels underplayed and no longer shocking, especially in comparison to the latest gross-out humour filling the multiplexes. The jokes are tame and the emphasis isn't on titillation but rather humour stemming from the libidos of the central characters. The surprise is that this is actually an entertaining, well thought out movie with a heart. It addresses coming-of-age issues and it looks at racism, revenge and familial abuse in a matter-of-fact way that many an '80s teen film aspires to. Kudos to director Bob Clark (BLACK Christmas), seemingly at home in any genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

Growing pains

5/10
Author: jotix100 from New York
12 September 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The years of the last Eisenhower administration loom large in this story about a group of teenagers in high school that, at the time it was released, caused quite a stir by its irreverent dialogue and situations not shown in a typical film directed to that age group. The students from Angel Beach, Florida, were addicted to sex in whatever way they could get it. They get inventive in ways that some of their contemporaries never thought possible.

On second viewing, Bob Clark's 1982 "Porky's", still packs a punch in the way the people depicted went about their salad days getting into all kinds of problems. The frank talk in the film will turn off, and may be offensive to a lot of viewers. Mr. Clark captures the mentality of the times vividly, right down to the way most of these kids viewed their lives, and that of others.

Nancy Parsons made a mean coach Balbricker. Kim Cattrall, who went to bigger and better things, and Kaki Hunter, one of the trashiest teens ever seen on a film, are good. Dan Monahan, Scott Colomby, Susan Clark, Alex Karras, and the rest of the large cast do fine work for Bob Clark.

Was the above review useful to you?

Surprisingly important

6/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
1 June 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Porky's really isn't a very good film, if one is to be brutally honest.

But it is an important film because it created a template for horny teen high school comedies which has been followed by many movies since.

If it wasn't for Porky's, there would be no American Pie, which IS a good film (I'm not talking about the sequels or the other films which carry the American Pie brand).

And Porky's itself has some pleasing elements - the 1950s setting rings true, and there are decent performances from Dan Monahan and Kaki Hunter, not to mention an entry for Kim Cattrall (by which I mean an entry into her movie career, what did you think I meant?).

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history