IMDb > Porky's (1981) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 158 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies ever made

2/10
Author: itamarscomix from Israel
13 August 2012

Honestly, it is. I don't have a problem with low-brow, gross-out humor, but I expect a movie to have at least one redeeming quality - a likable character, an unpredictable plot, good one-liners, or, at the very least, funny jokes. Porky's has none of those; every character is a flat and familiar caricature, every joke can be anticipated thirty minutes in advance, and there's no motivation to root for or care about anybody. It may indeed be the ultimate teen sex comedy in that it adheres to every possible cliché to the letter. If you want a hilarious comedy centered around horny young people doing dumb things and trying to get laid - compare and contrast Animal House, released only four years before. That's a real comedy. Porky's is real trash.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: chastrigg (chastrigg@hotmail.com) from Hull England
4 October 2003

I first saw this film because my mum recommended it as funny. I watched it and thought i wish id have been in that movie. It must have been so much fun to film the cast are all hillarious and the mischievous characters are amazing. Tommy Turner one word - phoaw - Billy, Brian and Mickey joint second and the rest of the gang joint third. The humor in this is way beyond any young comedy i've ever seen, sure Scary Movie and such like are funny but this is pure humor, not ripping off or following the ideas of someone else, this film is original, with the best cast to do the amazing side splitting comedy justice. Anyone who doesn't find this film funny needs their heads reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A true comedy classic

8/10
Author: Jack Smith - The King Of Horror from West Bromwich, England
6 October 2000

One of the greatest comedies ever made! Porky's is an absolute joy to watch full with extremely funny gags and wonderfully rude set pieces including "that" legendary shower scene which has to be seen to be believed. This film just puts modern rip-offs such as American Pie to shame with it's unrivaled hilarity. Wonderful! If you have never seen this brilliant film then you haven't lived. This is one of the most enjoyable films that I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

I'm looking for Mike Hunt

4/10
Author: ragpap93 from India
24 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There I said it that crank call is the only really funny scene in the whole movie. The nudity and the sexy girls made this movie tolerable otherwise Bachelor Party was way better comedy wise. What brought me here was The Goldbergs. Yes Porky is in reference to the looney tunes character Porky Pig. It is a logo to a strip club Porky's. The owner of said establishment also goes by the name Porky. A portly man who is so freaking annoying.

It starts with Pee Wee measuring his morning wood. It seemed like it would be like American Pie but twenty years before American Pie which is both a positive and a negative to the movie. Positive for being ahead of its time sex comedy wise. Negative being it did not really stand the test of time. Pee Wee had the potential of being a funny character but there was more time spent on the other characters.

His friends set out to help Pee Wee lose his virginity. But first a minor detour that took way too long to get to its punchline. The woman's husband returns prank sending a dozen naked boys running across the county for fear of this fake husband. Pee Wee and Wendy always pulling pranks on each other of which the crank call being the best one. The end where Wendy takes his virginity I could see a mile away and it seemed like a last minute addition.

I'm not saying that it's not funny but the joke is stretched beyond the point of it being funny

Was the above review useful to you?

Before American Pie, there was Porky's

8/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
19 August 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's 1954 Angel Beach, Florida. Pee Wee Morris is the butt of the jokes. Meat is the muscle bound friend. Tommy Turner and Billy McCarty take the guys for a night out with Cherry Forever. Then they play a prank on them and Pee Wee ends up running home naked. Redneck friend Mickey Jarvis suggests going to Porky's. The boys get embarrassed by Porky and his sheriff brother. Back in school, Tim Cavanaugh picks on Jewish Brian Schwartz. Tim has anger issues from his biker father. Brian defends Tim from his father and they become friends. Billy, Tommy and Pee Wee go to peep on the girls' showers and coach Balbricker catches Tommy by the penis. Coach Brackett finds out why Miss Honeywell is called Lassie. The boys come up with a plan to take revenge on Porky. Finally Pee Wee gets his time with Wendy Williams.

There was Animal House in the beginning. Porky's takes it up a notch. Some complain about the denigration of women but one of the best character in the movie is Wendy Williams. If the women are denigrated, Pee Wee is the most ridiculed of them all in the movie. It is rude and crude and a harbinger of things to come. Also it's the friendships that make the movie great. The cast has great fun chemistry together.

Was the above review useful to you?

Maybe I watched it at the wrong age

4/10
Author: Mr-Fusion from United States
16 August 2015

"Porky's" isn't at all what I was expecting, and that's the real disappointment. Part of the reason is that it's Bob Clark, and that movie's not nearly as funny as "A Christmas Story". Along with that, the VHS box (saw it a lot as a kid) left me to believe there'd be a lot more nudity than there really is (a surprising deficiency). For a horny teen comedy, there have to at least be some hot chicks, right? All we get is a shower scene full of breasts. One scene. Seriously? It does have Kim Cattrall, but she's criminally underused, even at that point in her career. But what's the point of aiming at the sex-crazed teen crowd if you're running short on tits? At least supplement it with decent comedy.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Tame for today's standards.

6/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
2 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I remember in junior high the shock and excitement about Porky's! The forbidden pleasure concept is out of date. With internet porn, cable, every other sex comedy trying to out do the other with toilet humor Porky's is tame and or lame by today's standards. The nudity and pranks/stunts are used in mainstream comedy. (ie The Hang Over) Even a few of the concepts would never be used with today's 24 7 cable news, with sexual predators, hazing incidents etc. Anyone peeking in the girls showers in today's environment would be a candidate for intense counseling. The male bonding, and pranks of the 1980's are of a gone by era, where a hand shake after a fist fight was common. I like the music, and had a few cheap laughs from Porky's which was low story line. The story-line of messing with Porky got across as lame for anyone who remembers the, sinister, Harlan DeGroat character from Out of the Furnace movie. Overall six Porky's out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

It's better than the sequels

5/10
Author: mutty-mcflea from Lincolnshire, UK
18 July 2013

A grubby but mildly entertaining comedy whose target audience is its own characters, a crowd of horny teenagers whose quest to get laid leads them into the titular strip club and a feud with its owner.

They're not a particularly likable bunch, but the fun they have rubs off; their constant laughter is infectious, particularly during the scene in which the girls' gym coach tries to explain her plan to identify a student by his 'tallywhacker' while the guys in the background are helpless with laughter. Genuinely funny gags are thin on the ground, however, as are decent performances, although a couple sneak through the slimy tone and gratingly juvenile humour.

Best viewed before you're old enough to get your hands on real porn.

Was the above review useful to you?

Folly of youth.

6/10
Author: punishmentpark from Netherlands
9 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A film from my youth that I will never forget for various reasons. Looking at it now, years later, it still has a certain charm, like a tribute to true folly of youth. And it even contains a few lessons in manners to some, if you will - but most of it's just adolescent hormone-driven fun and I can't help but appreciate it just about enough. The Lassie-scene is classic, the cabin-in-the-woods sequence just as much, and it actually goes on for a while, but i'll stop at Beulah trying to get a 'tallywhacker' line-up together, with the men laughing right beside her.

The acting may not be the best, but it's all done enthusiastically and it seems to have been as much a blast for the cast at the time as it was for me back then to watch. Back in those days I'd given it a much higher rating, but 6 out of 10 from this old sod will do today.

Was the above review useful to you?

Porky's

6/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
6 July 2013

this film reminds me of what it was like growing up a bit. I know it will reveal my age now.. well on to the movie,, Porky's came out when I was 12. so 30 years later I watched it again, I still love everything about this movie,, all of the locker room gags.. the hole cut out in the wall of the women's shower room,, the female teacher who grabs the boys willy and tries to yank it out of the hole.. I liked the whole idea of the bar set out in the Everglades in the middle of nowhere, the character of Porky himself,, that was something else,, the way he and the other roughnecks at the bar , treated those poor kids,, just trying to get laid.. one of the kids keeps going back and back for more punishment, poor thing just keep returning getting beat up time after time.. well the boys decide they finally had enough and they all set out to Porky's one last time,, you will have to watch and see what happens,, it's definitely a heck of a ride.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history