IMDb > Porky's (1981) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 157 reviews in total 

American Pie eat your heart out!

7/10
Author: Predrag (pzivojinovic@yahoo.com) from Serbia
4 April 2017

"Porky's" is a Gut-busting comedy about youthful shenanigans in 1950's Florida that follows a group of hormone-driven high school buddies to a rowdy bar named Porky's and through one wacky experience after another. Surprise box office hit stars Roger Wilson, Kim Cattrall, Scott Colomby, Dan Monahan. The film is based in Florida in the year 1954, and evolves around a group of high school students. Tommy, Edward, Mickey, Billy, Tim, and Anthony, come to believe (through their quest to lose their virginity) that they can hook up with a prostitute at Porky's which is a notorious bar. Things don't go as planned and after Porky takes their money and throws them out into the swamp, the group decide to get even with Porky and his brother the Sheriff through any means possible, while also continuing with their usual chaotic causing routines in school.

The true strength of this film is the hilarity. The kids make it funny because they always look like they are having fun. When one person is taking their licks, the other five that are in on the gag are laughing under their breaths and all you get is a snicker or two. And we can all relate to that. How, something is funny but we have to play our part to keep the charade going. These kids do that with perfection here. I also have to mention some of the scenes that make this film the teen classic that it is. The first is the scene when Mr. Carter, their principal is being pressured by Ms. Balbricker to find the guy who had his penis hanging out of a drain pipe in the girls shower. Mr. Carter is doing his best to keep a straight face but he is going to crack at the absurdity of the request. To make matters worse, the two male gym teacher are not making it any easier by snickering to themselves. When Mr. Carter finally cracks, we crack with him. This is comedy at it's best!

Overall rating: 7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Genius coming of age film dressed as a Goofy Comedy

10/10
Author: Clayton Mc from United States
17 February 2017

I saw this when I was a little kid and didn't appreciate the underlying themes till I just re-watched it today.

On the surface you get a lot of goofy, seemingly shallow comedy elements. The "Tallywacker" conversation is pure gold.

But underneath this movie is quite the genius of a comedy film with some pure, natural Drama thrown in for good measure.

Every Character is cool (even pee-wee). They're so cool they laugh at themselves as they fail to take themselves seriously at all.

A couple of the female characters are insanely hot. Particularly Kim Cattrall in her role as "lassie" and that Genius scene in the Gymnasium.

But beyond all the cool comedy elements there's some purely paced Drama too, albeit not much of it, but what Drama there is, very effectively deals with themes of friendship, prejudice, overcoming that prejudice through friendship, parental abuse and backing your friends up.

I know this movie is pretty old, but it still doesn't give a you know what. A lot of Comedy movies seem forced and borrowed, but this, this movie plays out as naturally as a normal day in the life of a passionate adolescent.

One reviewer said only adolescents will understand the comedy of this movie, I guess i'm mentally still an adolescent in some aspects then, because I totally get it and live it in some ways!

Was the above review useful to you?

Thankfully this has hit blu ray!!!

8/10
Author: TheGDfather from Grand forks
19 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was so glad to find this movie on blu ray I got super excited. I don't know where I found this at. I know I bought it from Wal-mart and I'm pretty sure it was in the 6 dollars. Yes you got it 6 dollars for a remastered classic like this from over 30 years ago. I can't really explain how I hate that missed the late 70's and 80's. I was born 77 so i missed a lot of these great classics and was able to judge for myself.

Now when you hear the name kim catrall you think of sex in the city. I put sex and the city on my list with the notebook (although the notebook ranks higher) with sappy things that are so focused around women and unreal I won't even play it at the house or allow anybody else to play it. But she had a wonderful decade just being a sex symbol. And honestly she didn't get her just due. You don't hear her name mentioned now do you? I mean Kim used to bring it with her looks. In this movie its no different. She was very beautiful and very attractive. And I'm so big on movies I read all the trivia for the movie plus I watch the movie in the directors voice so I can hear the trivia and him describe each scene and what it meant to him.

Kim basically called him up to do the part. She wasn't too hot about nudity but she said "sure no problem" when the director asked. Back then females didn't mind dropping them down to do a scene or two cause at the end of the day they knew if they were a great actor they will be noticed for it. Only the female actors who have nothing to offer are remembered for that. Sharon stone did the same thing in basic but casino she was known for her acting. Same in this movie.

Kim basically stole the show. And this might be the start of these sex teen movies. I have not seen them all. And I kind of want to see them. I grew up in the 90's and the fcc put a stamp on it. And when the late 90's hit i was in my 20's and they weren't showing movies at the theater like this. Not even close, nor will most directors do movies like this or the actors. So the private schools and the fast times at ridgemont high were long gone.

And another thing the movie was actually funny. Yeah I watched animal house and that has a cult following now. That wasn't nearly as funny as this nor nearly original. Oh and the director said all these things for the most part did happen. Which is why I didn't get any of that corniness when girls lean over for a kiss or go "dammit you need to like me, make it happen". What does happen is like in this movie the girl will be aggressive and just like the guy above the gym we take it from there.

As far as all the destruction they caused, they lost 2 points for that. But this movie had sex, a beautiful woman that everybody could love, a bunch of students who were funny, cops who acted like cops, and simply a bunch of bouncers and bar people who didn't like. But they made the film. The early 80's did a great job with nudity and showing horny teenagers. Not sure what happened after this generation. I guess filming for teenagers was still pretty new. You have to get your foot in the door somewhere. Now with modeling and a bunch of other avenues maybe they don't have to take that wrote. And if anybody is upset about the movie and the nudity. Well that is fine too.

Was the above review useful to you?

Awesome Movie

10/10
Author: Michael Laidlaw
9 December 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Porky's Was One Great Movie I Seen In My Life. I would Tell Any One That Read This Review To Watch It Online Or Find It On DVD You'll Love It . It Was Too Bad That Wyatt Knight Who Played Tommy Turner Had To End His Own life In 2011 Rest In Peace. I Know the Movie was out in 1981 before i was Born In 1983. Porky's 2 Was Also A Great Movie. So Was Porky's 3. I Own All 3 Of Them On DVD. I Seen The First Porky's Film 233 Times. I Seen Poky's 2 50 Times. I Seen Porky's 3 49 Times. I think Any One That I've Not Seen ALL 3 Porky's Films Should Watch All 3 And Look Up on All Three Films Online Watch Any Videos On The Movie They Have Who Will Be Laugh So Hard.

Was the above review useful to you?

Funny if you're 14

2/10
Author: Art Vandelay from Regina, SK
21 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Is this what people thought was funny in 1981? Was there some kind of nuclear meltdown that caused nationwide brain damage? OK, so you're a half-wit teen and you sneak into this movie at the Drive- In. Fine, you got a glimpse of some beaver. But after 35 years you come across this crapfest on cable TV and you think, wow, this is just as hilarious as I remember it. Depressing. There's nothing original here. Nothing remotely funny. Well, other than seeing Art Hindle as a tough guy. Doug Magrath going' even further down the road of Canadian movie crapitude. Kim Catrall before she turned into a Skank In The City. To compare this to Animal House is an insult. Nobody in this movie had the acting or comedic chops to carry John Belushi's dime bag.

Was the above review useful to you?

Very funny! You need to watch all three of these movies!

8/10
Author: Sarah D. Knopfler from Newcastle, England
30 May 2016

The characters are totally lovable and the pranks they play on each other are hilarious! The movie is quick moving and introduces everyone fast so they can cut straight to the action. This is exactly what is needed for a teen comedy and this movie is just too fun! The follow up I thought was funnier than this one but I recommend you watch all three as they seem like a great series. Love the fact its set in a fifties high school, nice touches with the fashion and styles - you are always kept within the era. Possibly funnier for teens of my age but overall a class coming of age drama - well worth the watch and quite a feel-good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

who can beats porky,s

9/10
Author: ahmad ahmad from riyadh
17 March 2016

Always i find my self attached to this movie even after 25 years of seeing it and still the scene of the incriminating mole in the principal office for me is the climax of the movie , which i keep repeating on and on , and i still laugh out loud . No wondering that this movie is one of the gems of the eighties . and the movie is full of smart scenes and how to make life so funny , so worth of living with spirit . no body should miss it . funny enough in this movie that most actors and actresses couldn't make it in large caliber movie business except may be for kim catrral ( miss honeywell). some of them died . for other movies one would remember the sure thing , though in different scale , revenge of the nerds . but porky would bypass the animal house even ,in this category .

Was the above review useful to you?

Too puerile, even for me.

5/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
1 January 2016

A group of horny high-school pals visit Porky's, a redneck bar in the Everglades, where they have heard that they can pay to get laid. After they are ripped-off by the bar's obese owner and his brother, a corrupt sheriff, the friends decide to take revenge.

Porky's was one of the first American teenage sex comedies to be a major hit at the box office, but I find its success rather perplexing. As a coming-of-age story, I think the film works well enough: the nostalgic setting and strong sense of camaraderie is certainly appealing, while the bitter feud between the teens and the Everglades rednecks, and a subplot that deals realistically with the issues of racism and family violence adds drama to proceedings. I do, however, find the film's raunchy antics nowhere near as funny as its characters, and director Bob Clark, obviously think they are.

The 'Mike Hunt' telephone gag which has the teens in stitches isn't that hilarious, or original, having been conceived in the mid '70s by pranksters John Elmo and Jim Davidson; the repeated jokes about penises soon become very tedious; and as much as I enjoy seeing a young Kim Cattrall without her kecks on, her 'Lassie' scene is embarrassingly bad and far too drawn out. Clark seems to think that if his characters roll around in uncontrollable fits of hysterics for long enough, it'll eventually have the audience laughing along with them. Not in my case… I just found it irritating.

Was the above review useful to you?

A jumbled mess

2/10
Author: Davis P from United States
27 December 2015

Porky's, the 1981 sex comedy, was popular among teenagers, and maybe some teens today might like it, who knows? But this movie IS NOT well made at all. The acting is so- so at best, the script is dull and poorly put together, and the characters are just stupid annoying teens who are SEX OBSESSED. I absolutely hated the characters in this movie, especially the main guy that is trying to lose his virginity. The amount of nudity and just disgustingly sexual scenes in this movie is almost shocking. For example, the shower scene where a teenage boy sticks his **** through a hole in the girls shower room, and the big female teacher comes and just grabs it! Eww! That wasn't even funny, it was just gross! That is what porky's suffers from, it's just not funny, it's just a bunch of horny teens doing nasty things and trying to outwit some sleazy night club owner. It's boring, dull, and poorly written. There are some sex comedies that are funny, this is not one of them. 2/10 for Porky's.

Was the above review useful to you?

The first half is really bad and things don't improve that much in the second half

3/10
Author: jimbo-53-186511 from United Kingdom
10 October 2015

The first American Pie film and its subsequent sequels were the 'gross out' teen films of my generation and I have gone on to enjoy all of the main American Pie films (except the direct to DVD offerings which were all beyond awful). I was therefore surprised how much I disliked Porky's (considering the fact that the central idea from American Pie has been lifted from Porky's - the only difference is that in American Pie they make a pact to lose their virginity before Prom night). I think what made the Pie films better was that the writers seemed to make more of an effort to develop the main characters and I think for that reason it made it easier to identify with them.

In Porky's rather than giving us characters we can identify with or relate to the writers give us characters that, at best we are unable to connect with, and at worst are going to end up hating. Many of the jokes in the film are crass without being funny and much of the dialogue is clumsy, irritating and unfunny. The writing is also very uneven whereby it starts out as a bunch of high school kids wanting to lose their virginity and then that concept is all but abandoned in place of gaining revenge against ol Porky himself. I can perhaps understand the change of tone as I was losing interest in their quest as well so perhaps the writers did too. This shift in tone admittedly makes the second half of the film slightly better than the first half, but it's still pretty weak - although I did find the final act quite amusing even though I could see it coming a mile off.

Some people may condemn a film like Porky's for its lack of subtlety, but I think that's probably a little unfair (that's a bit like criticising a porn film for having poor acting or a lack of plot). The sign for Porky's that we see at the start is beyond suggestive, but to me much of the humour felt a little forced rather than feeling natural.

The performances from the cast are variable - none of the male leads are that good and are rather forgettable. Kim Cattrall isn't given much to do in the first half, but she does have one memorable scene in the second half (she looks good here too). Nancy Parsons is the scene stealer in this film as the feisty PE Teacher who's aptly named Balbricker.

Ending on a positive note there were a couple of scenes that I did enjoy; the shower scene with Balbricker was funny as was the aftermath of the event. The prank call to the diner was quite funny as well even though I'd heard the joke before. Porky's is more than likely where the creators of The Simpsons got their idea from with Bart's prank calls to Moe.

All in all Porky's isn't completely terrible, but there are nowhere near enough laughs to warrant the running time. I can (and have) watched The American Pie films (particularly the first 3 films) over and over again, but I can safely say that watching Porky's once was more than enough for me.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history