IMDb > Porky's (1981) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 152 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: chastrigg (chastrigg@hotmail.com) from Hull England
4 October 2003

I first saw this film because my mum recommended it as funny. I watched it and thought i wish id have been in that movie. It must have been so much fun to film the cast are all hillarious and the mischievous characters are amazing. Tommy Turner one word - phoaw - Billy, Brian and Mickey joint second and the rest of the gang joint third. The humor in this is way beyond any young comedy i've ever seen, sure Scary Movie and such like are funny but this is pure humor, not ripping off or following the ideas of someone else, this film is original, with the best cast to do the amazing side splitting comedy justice. Anyone who doesn't find this film funny needs their heads reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A true comedy classic

8/10
Author: Jack Smith - The King Of Horror from West Bromwich, England
6 October 2000

One of the greatest comedies ever made! Porky's is an absolute joy to watch full with extremely funny gags and wonderfully rude set pieces including "that" legendary shower scene which has to be seen to be believed. This film just puts modern rip-offs such as American Pie to shame with it's unrivaled hilarity. Wonderful! If you have never seen this brilliant film then you haven't lived. This is one of the most enjoyable films that I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

Very funny! You need to watch all three of these movies!

8/10
Author: Sarah D. Knopfler from Newcastle, England
30 May 2016

The characters are totally lovable and the pranks they play on each other are hilarious! The movie is quick moving and introduces everyone fast so they can cut straight to the action. This is exactly what is needed for a teen comedy and this movie is just too fun! The follow up I thought was funnier than this one but I recommend you watch all three as they seem like a great series. Love the fact its set in a fifties high school, nice touches with the fashion and styles - you are always kept within the era. Possibly funnier for teens of my age but overall a class coming of age drama - well worth the watch and quite a feel-good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

who can beats porky,s

9/10
Author: ahmad ahmad from riyadh
17 March 2016

Always i find my self attached to this movie even after 25 years of seeing it and still the scene of the incriminating mole in the principal office for me is the climax of the movie , which i keep repeating on and on , and i still laugh out loud . No wondering that this movie is one of the gems of the eighties . and the movie is full of smart scenes and how to make life so funny , so worth of living with spirit . no body should miss it . funny enough in this movie that most actors and actresses couldn't make it in large caliber movie business except may be for kim catrral ( miss honeywell). some of them died . for other movies one would remember the sure thing , though in different scale , revenge of the nerds . but porky would bypass the animal house even ,in this category .

Was the above review useful to you?

Too puerile, even for me.

5/10
Author: BA_Harrison from Hampshire, England
1 January 2016

A group of horny high-school pals visit Porky's, a redneck bar in the Everglades, where they have heard that they can pay to get laid. After they are ripped-off by the bar's obese owner and his brother, a corrupt sheriff, the friends decide to take revenge.

Porky's was one of the first American teenage sex comedies to be a major hit at the box office, but I find its success rather perplexing. As a coming-of-age story, I think the film works well enough: the nostalgic setting and strong sense of camaraderie is certainly appealing, while the bitter feud between the teens and the Everglades rednecks, and a subplot that deals realistically with the issues of racism and family violence adds drama to proceedings. I do, however, find the film's raunchy antics nowhere near as funny as its characters, and director Bob Clark, obviously think they are.

The 'Mike Hunt' telephone gag which has the teens in stitches isn't that hilarious, or original, having been conceived in the mid '70s by pranksters John Elmo and Jim Davidson; the repeated jokes about penises soon become very tedious; and as much as I enjoy seeing a young Kim Cattrall without her kecks on, her 'Lassie' scene is embarrassingly bad and far too drawn out. Clark seems to think that if his characters roll around in uncontrollable fits of hysterics for long enough, it'll eventually have the audience laughing along with them. Not in my case… I just found it irritating.

Was the above review useful to you?

A jumbled mess

2/10
Author: Davis P from United States
27 December 2015

Porky's, the 1981 sex comedy, was popular among teenagers, and maybe some teens today might like it, who knows? But this movie IS NOT well made at all. The acting is so- so at best, the script is dull and poorly put together, and the characters are just stupid annoying teens who are SEX OBSESSED. I absolutely hated the characters in this movie, especially the main guy that is trying to lose his virginity. The amount of nudity and just disgustingly sexual scenes in this movie is almost shocking. For example, the shower scene where a teenage boy sticks his **** through a hole in the girls shower room, and the big female teacher comes and just grabs it! Eww! That wasn't even funny, it was just gross! That is what porky's suffers from, it's just not funny, it's just a bunch of horny teens doing nasty things and trying to outwit some sleazy night club owner. It's boring, dull, and poorly written. There are some sex comedies that are funny, this is not one of them. 2/10 for Porky's.

Was the above review useful to you?

The first half is really bad and things don't improve that much in the second half

3/10
Author: jimbo-53-186511 from United Kingdom
10 October 2015

The first American Pie film and its subsequent sequels were the 'gross out' teen films of my generation and I have gone on to enjoy all of the main American Pie films (except the direct to DVD offerings which were all beyond awful). I was therefore surprised how much I disliked Porky's (considering the fact that the central idea from American Pie has been lifted from Porky's - the only difference is that in American Pie they make a pact to lose their virginity before Prom night). I think what made the Pie films better was that the writers seemed to make more of an effort to develop the main characters and I think for that reason it made it easier to identify with them.

In Porky's rather than giving us characters we can identify with or relate to the writers give us characters that, at best we are unable to connect with, and at worst are going to end up hating. Many of the jokes in the film are crass without being funny and much of the dialogue is clumsy, irritating and unfunny. The writing is also very uneven whereby it starts out as a bunch of high school kids wanting to lose their virginity and then that concept is all but abandoned in place of gaining revenge against ol Porky himself. I can perhaps understand the change of tone as I was losing interest in their quest as well so perhaps the writers did too. This shift in tone admittedly makes the second half of the film slightly better than the first half, but it's still pretty weak - although I did find the final act quite amusing even though I could see it coming a mile off.

Some people may condemn a film like Porky's for its lack of subtlety, but I think that's probably a little unfair (that's a bit like criticising a porn film for having poor acting or a lack of plot). The sign for Porky's that we see at the start is beyond suggestive, but to me much of the humour felt a little forced rather than feeling natural.

The performances from the cast are variable - none of the male leads are that good and are rather forgettable. Kim Cattrall isn't given much to do in the first half, but she does have one memorable scene in the second half (she looks good here too). Nancy Parsons is the scene stealer in this film as the feisty PE Teacher who's aptly named Balbricker.

Ending on a positive note there were a couple of scenes that I did enjoy; the shower scene with Balbricker was funny as was the aftermath of the event. The prank call to the diner was quite funny as well even though I'd heard the joke before. Porky's is more than likely where the creators of The Simpsons got their idea from with Bart's prank calls to Moe.

All in all Porky's isn't completely terrible, but there are nowhere near enough laughs to warrant the running time. I can (and have) watched The American Pie films (particularly the first 3 films) over and over again, but I can safely say that watching Porky's once was more than enough for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

Before American Pie, there was Porky's

8/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
19 August 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's 1954 Angel Beach, Florida. Pee Wee Morris is the butt of the jokes. Meat is the muscle bound friend. Tommy Turner and Billy McCarty take the guys for a night out with Cherry Forever. Then they play a prank on them and Pee Wee ends up running home naked. Redneck friend Mickey Jarvis suggests going to Porky's. The boys get embarrassed by Porky and his sheriff brother. Back in school, Tim Cavanaugh picks on Jewish Brian Schwartz. Tim has anger issues from his biker father. Brian defends Tim from his father and they become friends. Billy, Tommy and Pee Wee go to peep on the girls' showers and coach Balbricker catches Tommy by the penis. Coach Brackett finds out why Miss Honeywell is called Lassie. The boys come up with a plan to take revenge on Porky. Finally Pee Wee gets his time with Wendy Williams.

There was Animal House in the beginning. Porky's takes it up a notch. Some complain about the denigration of women but one of the best character in the movie is Wendy Williams. If the women are denigrated, Pee Wee is the most ridiculed of them all in the movie. It is rude and crude and a harbinger of things to come. Also it's the friendships that make the movie great. The cast has great fun chemistry together.

Was the above review useful to you?

Maybe I watched it at the wrong age

4/10
Author: Mr-Fusion from United States
16 August 2015

"Porky's" isn't at all what I was expecting, and that's the real disappointment. Part of the reason is that it's Bob Clark, and that movie's not nearly as funny as "A Christmas Story". Along with that, the VHS box (saw it a lot as a kid) left me to believe there'd be a lot more nudity than there really is (a surprising deficiency). For a horny teen comedy, there have to at least be some hot chicks, right? All we get is a shower scene full of breasts. One scene. Seriously? It does have Kim Cattrall, but she's criminally underused, even at that point in her career. But what's the point of aiming at the sex-crazed teen crowd if you're running short on tits? At least supplement it with decent comedy.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Tame for today's standards.

6/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
2 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I remember in junior high the shock and excitement about Porky's! The forbidden pleasure concept is out of date. With internet porn, cable, every other sex comedy trying to out do the other with toilet humor Porky's is tame and or lame by today's standards. The nudity and pranks/stunts are used in mainstream comedy. (ie The Hang Over) Even a few of the concepts would never be used with today's 24 7 cable news, with sexual predators, hazing incidents etc. Anyone peeking in the girls showers in today's environment would be a candidate for intense counseling. The male bonding, and pranks of the 1980's are of a gone by era, where a hand shake after a fist fight was common. I like the music, and had a few cheap laughs from Porky's which was low story line. The story-line of messing with Porky got across as lame for anyone who remembers the, sinister, Harlan DeGroat character from Out of the Furnace movie. Overall six Porky's out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history