IMDb > Porky's (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 145 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

funniest movie I have ever seen

Author: Jessevans27 (Jessevans27@hotmail.com) from Concordia, Kansas
2 September 2002

I thought Porky's was the funniest movie I have ever seen. I liked it because they are all friends playing tricks on each other. I mean, who doesn't do that. I have always played tricks on my friends. It made me laugh. That's why I enjoyed it so much. Laughing is my most favorite thing to do. I'm 28 and still playing tricks. I love to laugh. All the characters made me laugh. I like comedy. And this movie made me laugh the most. This is funnier than American Pie. That's only my opinion. I laughed throughout the whole movie. I still watch it. It's fun to joke around with your friends. I loved this movie. It still makes me laugh and have a good time. My dad loves this movie. It's just a bunch of teenagers playing tricks on each other. It's the greatest!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies ever made

2/10
Author: itamarscomix from Israel
13 August 2012

Honestly, it is. I don't have a problem with low-brow, gross-out humor, but I expect a movie to have at least one redeeming quality - a likable character, an unpredictable plot, good one-liners, or, at the very least, funny jokes. Porky's has none of those; every character is a flat and familiar caricature, every joke can be anticipated thirty minutes in advance, and there's no motivation to root for or care about anybody. It may indeed be the ultimate teen sex comedy in that it adheres to every possible cliché to the letter. If you want a hilarious comedy centered around horny young people doing dumb things and trying to get laid - compare and contrast Animal House, released only four years before. That's a real comedy. Porky's is real trash.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: chastrigg (chastrigg@hotmail.com) from Hull England
4 October 2003

I first saw this film because my mum recommended it as funny. I watched it and thought i wish id have been in that movie. It must have been so much fun to film the cast are all hillarious and the mischievous characters are amazing. Tommy Turner one word - phoaw - Billy, Brian and Mickey joint second and the rest of the gang joint third. The humor in this is way beyond any young comedy i've ever seen, sure Scary Movie and such like are funny but this is pure humor, not ripping off or following the ideas of someone else, this film is original, with the best cast to do the amazing side splitting comedy justice. Anyone who doesn't find this film funny needs their heads reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A true comedy classic

8/10
Author: Jack Smith - The King Of Horror from West Bromwich, England
6 October 2000

One of the greatest comedies ever made! Porky's is an absolute joy to watch full with extremely funny gags and wonderfully rude set pieces including "that" legendary shower scene which has to be seen to be believed. This film just puts modern rip-offs such as American Pie to shame with it's unrivaled hilarity. Wonderful! If you have never seen this brilliant film then you haven't lived. This is one of the most enjoyable films that I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

Ridiculous Money Maker

6/10
Author: getyourdander from United States
25 April 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There is little sense going into any story of that his movie really has a plot. The thing is humor doe not need plot. This is the tame version of Borat only it has more taste than the dictator.

It made so much money that sequels were made. So like it or hate it, an American Success it is. As for why it made so much money? I can not explain.

Maybe it is like JAWS - you just can not avoid going to it. There is just so much room for good taste anyhow.

Put your brain in park and enjoy it.

After all, most people miss their best chances at sex in their life times anyhow. So here, enjoy the funny worst chances at sex in comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

If you are a male between 12 and 16 years old, you will love this...

4/10
Author: dworldeater from United States
16 March 2015

Porky's is one movie from the 80's, I think I would have better appreciated if I saw it in the 80's. As an adult I'm not so impressed by a little nudity and lowbrow frat boy humor. This film has a lot in common with Animal House and like Animal House, this is also set in the 1950's. Even though I am not a fan of this movie, I give director Bob Clark some props as a diverse film maker. He has worked on a wide range of films from Black Christmas to A Christmas Story. A Christmas Story works much better as a period piece of the 50's and is a much better film as well. However, the two pictures are much different and that is where their similarities begin and end. Unlike many other movies that people consider to be classics, I don't think the movie aged well. Porky's as a movie is not that spectacular and while the acting performances are not bad, they are not great and do not elevate this substandard film. Plus most of the jokes are pretty dated, dumb and not funny. I can absolutely understand why critics panned this movie on its release. It is dumb. However, Porky's was a huge hit.

Was the above review useful to you?

At this point, I guess it's OK if the robots just take over

1/10
Author: jessegehrig from United States
15 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Yes, I know what Porky's is, a raunchy teen-sex comedy and, yes, I fully realize what the film makers intended to make. What exists, regardless of any and all intentions, is f*cking insane. Yes, like the actual kind of insane, like as in your goddamn brain. It's like, how is this a human's life? Have you seen Porky's? Were you cool with it? You weren't ever like, "what the f*ck are these creatures DOING?" So like the part where a bunch of high school kids buy a hooker, each boy intending to bone the hooker, like over five boys, and you were like, what, " that's normal human behavior" ? For realzies? A dude shows a lady his penis to explain why his name is "Meat", is that what people do?

Was the above review useful to you?

Tame for today's standards.

6/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
2 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I remember in junior high the shock and excitement about Porky's! The forbidden pleasure concept is out of date. With internet porn, cable, every other sex comedy trying to out do the other with toilet humor Porky's is tame and or lame by today's standards. The nudity and pranks/stunts are used in mainstream comedy. (ie The Hang Over) Even a few of the concepts would never be used with today's 24 7 cable news, with sexual predators, hazing incidents etc. Anyone peeking in the girls showers in today's environment would be a candidate for intense counseling. The male bonding, and pranks of the 1980's are of a gone by era, where a hand shake after a fist fight was common. I like the music, and had a few cheap laughs from Porky's which was low story line. The story-line of messing with Porky got across as lame for anyone who remembers the, sinister, Harlan DeGroat character from Out of the Furnace movie. Overall six Porky's out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

It's better than the sequels

5/10
Author: mutty-mcflea from Lincolnshire, UK
18 July 2013

A grubby but mildly entertaining comedy whose target audience is its own characters, a crowd of horny teenagers whose quest to get laid leads them into the titular strip club and a feud with its owner.

They're not a particularly likable bunch, but the fun they have rubs off; their constant laughter is infectious, particularly during the scene in which the girls' gym coach tries to explain her plan to identify a student by his 'tallywhacker' while the guys in the background are helpless with laughter. Genuinely funny gags are thin on the ground, however, as are decent performances, although a couple sneak through the slimy tone and gratingly juvenile humour.

Best viewed before you're old enough to get your hands on real porn.

Was the above review useful to you?

Folly of youth.

6/10
Author: punishmentpark from Netherlands
9 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A film from my youth that I will never forget for various reasons. Looking at it now, years later, it still has a certain charm, like a tribute to true folly of youth. And it even contains a few lessons in manners to some, if you will - but most of it's just adolescent hormone-driven fun and I can't help but appreciate it just about enough. The Lassie-scene is classic, the cabin-in-the-woods sequence just as much, and it actually goes on for a while, but i'll stop at Beulah trying to get a 'tallywhacker' line-up together, with the men laughing right beside her.

The acting may not be the best, but it's all done enthusiastically and it seems to have been as much a blast for the cast at the time as it was for me back then to watch. Back in those days I'd given it a much higher rating, but 6 out of 10 from this old sod will do today.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 15: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history