IMDb > Porky's (1982) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Porky's
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Porky's More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 140 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies ever made

2/10
Author: itamarscomix from Israel
13 August 2012

Honestly, it is. I don't have a problem with low-brow, gross-out humor, but I expect a movie to have at least one redeeming quality - a likable character, an unpredictable plot, good one-liners, or, at the very least, funny jokes. Porky's has none of those; every character is a flat and familiar caricature, every joke can be anticipated thirty minutes in advance, and there's no motivation to root for or care about anybody. It may indeed be the ultimate teen sex comedy in that it adheres to every possible cliché to the letter. If you want a hilarious comedy centered around horny young people doing dumb things and trying to get laid - compare and contrast Animal House, released only four years before. That's a real comedy. Porky's is real trash.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: chastrigg (chastrigg@hotmail.com) from Hull England
4 October 2003

I first saw this film because my mum recommended it as funny. I watched it and thought i wish id have been in that movie. It must have been so much fun to film the cast are all hillarious and the mischievous characters are amazing. Tommy Turner one word - phoaw - Billy, Brian and Mickey joint second and the rest of the gang joint third. The humor in this is way beyond any young comedy i've ever seen, sure Scary Movie and such like are funny but this is pure humor, not ripping off or following the ideas of someone else, this film is original, with the best cast to do the amazing side splitting comedy justice. Anyone who doesn't find this film funny needs their heads reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

A true comedy classic

8/10
Author: Jack Smith - The King Of Horror from West Bromwich, England
6 October 2000

One of the greatest comedies ever made! Porky's is an absolute joy to watch full with extremely funny gags and wonderfully rude set pieces including "that" legendary shower scene which has to be seen to be believed. This film just puts modern rip-offs such as American Pie to shame with it's unrivaled hilarity. Wonderful! If you have never seen this brilliant film then you haven't lived. This is one of the most enjoyable films that I have ever seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

disgusting garbage.

2/10
Author: jacobjohntaylor1 from barry's bay
10 September 2014

This movie is not funny. It is disgusting garbage. It is sick. I can;t believe people like this movie. The story line is awful. The hummer is awful. Pooh pooh that all it is. Don't wast your money. This movie stinks. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. Never see this movie. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. The pretty girls can't make up for the awful hummer. Dreadful hummer. Pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh, pooh pooh. Stinky stinky pooh. I hate comedy movies this awful. I like comedies that are funny not when there poop. Don't see this movie don't see it don't see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

"Has anybody seen Mike Hunt?"

5/10
Author: utgard14 from USA
18 June 2014

Raunchy '80s sex comedy that takes place in the '50s. So yeah, it's mostly lame but it was a lot funnier back then. Of course I was a stupid tadpole then so sex jokes and stuff were titillating and new to me. Truthfully, very few of these types of movies age well. This is probably one of the better ones, for what that's worth. There are some laughs to be had, as well as a valuable lesson about anti-Semitism that I'm sure changed the minds of many bigots. Sexy young Kim Cattrall is a plus. The parents from "Webster" are here as a corrupt sheriff and a hooker. Classic car enthusiasts and (male) children of the '80s will probably get more out of it. Ladies, I doubt you'll like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

It's better than the sequels

5/10
Author: mutty-mcflea from Lincolnshire, UK
18 July 2013

A grubby but mildly entertaining comedy whose target audience is its own characters, a crowd of horny teenagers whose quest to get laid leads them into the titular strip club and a feud with its owner.

They're not a particularly likable bunch, but the fun they have rubs off; their constant laughter is infectious, particularly during the scene in which the girls' gym coach tries to explain her plan to identify a student by his 'tallywhacker' while the guys in the background are helpless with laughter. Genuinely funny gags are thin on the ground, however, as are decent performances, although a couple sneak through the slimy tone and gratingly juvenile humour.

Best viewed before you're old enough to get your hands on real porn.

Was the above review useful to you?

Folly of youth.

6/10
Author: punishmentpark from Netherlands
9 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A film from my youth that I will never forget for various reasons. Looking at it now, years later, it still has a certain charm, like a tribute to true folly of youth. And it even contains a few lessons in manners to some, if you will - but most of it's just adolescent hormone-driven fun and I can't help but appreciate it just about enough. The Lassie-scene is classic, the cabin-in-the-woods sequence just as much, and it actually goes on for a while, but i'll stop at Beulah trying to get a 'tallywhacker' line-up together, with the men laughing right beside her.

The acting may not be the best, but it's all done enthusiastically and it seems to have been as much a blast for the cast at the time as it was for me back then to watch. Back in those days I'd given it a much higher rating, but 6 out of 10 from this old sod will do today.

Was the above review useful to you?

Porky's

6/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
6 July 2013

this film reminds me of what it was like growing up a bit. I know it will reveal my age now.. well on to the movie,, Porky's came out when I was 12. so 30 years later I watched it again, I still love everything about this movie,, all of the locker room gags.. the hole cut out in the wall of the women's shower room,, the female teacher who grabs the boys willy and tries to yank it out of the hole.. I liked the whole idea of the bar set out in the Everglades in the middle of nowhere, the character of Porky himself,, that was something else,, the way he and the other roughnecks at the bar , treated those poor kids,, just trying to get laid.. one of the kids keeps going back and back for more punishment, poor thing just keep returning getting beat up time after time.. well the boys decide they finally had enough and they all set out to Porky's one last time,, you will have to watch and see what happens,, it's definitely a heck of a ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

80's Classic to me,

10/10
Author: atinder from United Kingdom
18 April 2013

First Time I saw this movie was 6 years ago and it was not TV, I actually shocked that never heard even seen this movie before.

I was in my bed night ready for bed, I did movie started, I could not stop laughing at all (This 12am , everyone else in house was sleep) I did wake them laugh my Head off.

I found the whole movie funny from start to end, Yes some these Joke can ready rude at times.

I yet this movie dose some very mild nudity scenes, which not on for too long.

The acting was great from whole cast, I can't believe I saw this movie SO late in life.

Next Day I brought this on DVD back to Back with Porky's 2

10 out 10

Was the above review useful to you?

This movie is for the pigs. Oink! Oink!

5/10
Author: ironhorse_iv from United States
28 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The American pie of the 1980'S, and like American Pie (1999) somewhat unfunny. But this Bob Clark movie isn't American at all, it's an Canadian film, so Porky's can be classed as one of the highest-grossing Canadian film of all time in Canada's domestic box office, with over the total of $111Million CDN. Set in the 1950's, the film charts the usual round of high school jerks who's sole purpose in life is getting laid with seems more trouble than it's worth. There was just something smug and smarmy about their attempts to have sex that makes you wish that they get what deserves for their pre-adolescent actions. The actors don't even look like they belong in high school nor does they look like they should be allow to be on school grounds with such stalking and pervert like actions. If this was a real life, their actions would have leaded to criminal convictions and require them to register as sex offenders for the rest of their lives. I don't like films that glorifies their actions. The adults in this film are not better. For somebody running a school in high school in Eisenhower Conservatism America, their principal makes light of the boys actions. To make matters worse, the two male gym teacher are not making it any easier by snickering to themselves. It is simply a teen exploitation film put together by a bunch of adults with actors in their early twenties pretending to be high school kids and adults being children. It's hard to sympathize with them with all the unappealingly misogynistic and vile. You want them to get hurt by the end. It doesn't matter, if it's the girl's school shower room antics, where one of the gang actually gets a lot more than he bargained for or Porky's nightclub who humiliates the kids and steal their money. This movie is so raunchy, but it's less about sex, but more about revenge against the people that does them, wrong. Most of the movie is trying to get revenge against Porky's nightclub. There is a sub plot saying that people of different religions and beliefs need to more understanding. Wow, that's seems out of place. Was this thrown in to make it socially relevant? It's doesn't help the movie when its show cast more nudity, than social tolerance. There is a lot of nudity, both male and female. Sadly sex sells, even if the jokes are awful. The T&A doesn't titillate as much now as it did then, but you can still imagine teen boys laughing hysterically the first time they watch it. It's not what one would call a deep or engrossing movie though. It lacks the complexity and genius of an Animal House or American Graffiti. Both based on 1950's teenager sex-life. The movie has two familiar characters that audience will remember most, which are Edward "Pee Wee" Morris (Dan Monahan) who is the funniest of the group, despite being a one dimension character. Pee Wee is so named because of his little man part, and inability to score. Another would be Coach Beulah Balbricker (Nancy Parsons) who borderline cartoony with her butch female coach look. Another note character would be Kim Cattrall as Miss Honeywell. Miss Honeywell earns her legendary nickname of Lassie, the description of the wanted poster for the male private part. Don't get me wrong, I have an sense of humor, but overall, this film a sexist and primitive film, whom never either condones or rejects their behavior. I just can't watch this film any more than once. Unfortunately it spawned 2 bad sequels as well. Not worth it, in my watch list.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history