Galaxy of Terror (1981) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
99 Reviews
Sort by:
Cool, Creepy, Gross Sci-Fi Sleaze
squeezebox5 July 2004
GALAXY OF TERROR is by no means a great movie. But it's a good bit of nasty fun, with generous helpings of sleaze and outrageousness to keep even jaded viewers hooked.

First of all, let's get the whole "rip-off of ALIEN" thing out of the way right off the bat. Other than the first few scenes, in which the crew of a space vessel is ordered to land on and investigate a desolate planet from which strange signals are originating, this movie has virtually no similarity to Ridley Scott's film at all. Let's not forget that most low budget extraterrestrial monster movies in the wake of ALIEN were compared to their more expensive predecessor (or that ALIEN itself was shamelessly derivative of a half-dozen sci-fi flicks from the 50's and 60's).

The crew land, and soon come to realize that their own worst fears are manifesting themselves physically and attacking them. The control freak pilot finds herself confronted by an unstoppable alien force. The spiritual warrior's mystical crystal weapon turns against him. The gung-ho, by-the-books leader's childhood fear of monsters comes back to haunt him. And, in the movie's gross-out highlight, a female crew member's revulsion of worms results in her being stripped naked, coated in slime and raped by a giant maggot!!!

There's no shortage of carnage and wackiness, and it all leads up to a surprisingly metaphysical conclusion. Many of this movie's critics have found the ending to be a ridiculous cop-out, but I found it ambitious and thoughtful. Perhaps snobby film buffs can't accept that a low budget sleazefest like this can ultimately rise above its own baseness and deliver a profoundly mysterious ending.

GALAXY OF TERROR is one of the more imaginative and bizarre of Roger Corman's late 70's/early 80's productions. It features some art direction and 2nd unit work by James Cameron, and has the gritty surreal look of a Lucio Fulci zombie flick. And how can you pass up a movie in which Erin Moran (Joanie from HAPPY DAYS) gets her head squashed by an alien squid? I recommend this movie highly to schlock fans of all ages.
55 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Decent flick from New World
kaijueguy25 August 2007
I can't believe that people keep comparing this film to Alien. First of all, the original Alien had a budget of 11 million dollars. Galaxy of Terror was made for around 5 million. Second, Alien was "inspired" by many horror/scifi films that went before it. If it wasn't a crime for Alien why then is it a crime that this film used a currently popular genre title as inspiration? Third, Galaxy of Terror has more in common, at least story wise, with Forbidden Planet than Alien.

This has the look of a much more expensive production and it takes full advantage of it's exploitation roots. It has a fun cast, some minor gore (much less than you would expect in a film like this), and some gratuitous nudity especially during a rather nasty scene.

It's a fun diversion for fans of these types of films and can be recommended for many reasons. You get to see Robert Englund before he donned the glove, Ray Walston after he was everybody's Favorite Martian and Erin Moran after her years as Joanie. You also get to see some early effects work by James Cameron.

Sure, it gets a little confusing in spots and there's some continuity problems and more than it's share plot holes, but it's still a terrific movie to look at, great set designs and some of the monster effects are decent (and some are bad). It's all that I expect from Roger Corman with more than enough to keep me interested.

Make sure to catch the uncut print if you can!!!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Another Weird Late Night Cable TV Memory From My Youth
ebert_jr28 October 2000
I can still remember watching this film in the wee hours of the morning at about 13 yrs old; I wanted decadent, late night cable programming, and this one delivered. Twenty years later, I still remember it for one scene: a giant maggot raping a woman. It was a completely gross, bizarre, yucky, surreal moment in cinema, but unlike anything I had ever seen. I still can't get over how weird it is and how something like that made it into a film. The rest of the film contains a few other bizarre scenes but beyond this, the film is really just a waste of time. However, the production design (James Cameron) for this film was actually pretty original and well done for the time/budget (the planet the crew is trapped on has a kind of strangely dim lighting and claustrophobic feeling).
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great Old School Fun
CMRKeyboadist13 October 2006
This is a movie that a lot of us old time horror movie fans will love. You have got to love some of the films Roger Corman produced! This movie has just about all that I would love in a horror film. Disgusting slimy monsters, great sets, graphic gore, a creepy storyline, a great cast, and great atmosphere. For me, a lot of the crap coming out in today's theater can't compare to movies like this.

I am not sure whether this movie takes place in the distant future or in a far off galaxy, but, the story has to do with a space crew going to a planet to rescue another crew. When they get there it seems that the other crew is dead. Upon searching there grounds they discover an ancient pyramid. What they don't realize is this pyramid is an evil place causing there worst fears to come to life.

The cast includes Ray Walston (My Favorite Martian), Zalman King (Blue Sunshine), Robert England (A Nightmare on Elm St.), Grace Zabrinski (Servants of Twilight), Edward Albert (The Domino Principle), Erin Moran (Happy Days) and Sid Haig (The Devils Rejects). This is a great cast of (at the time) new and old faces.

The Special effects in the movie are excellent for a B film. If you have seen the awesome poster artwork for the movie then you should know what to expect! We get a giant maggot, a few demons, blood sucking pods, killer crystals, etc. And the gore effects were really well done. When I watched this I wasn't expecting it to be gory at all, but there are a few scenes that are rather surprising! This was such a fun movie. Unfortuantly the days of monster movies are over. Enjoy the great B classics! 9/10
29 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
best of the alien rip offs
vampi196013 October 2006
When i saw the trailer for galaxy of terror i knew it was going to be good,as a roger Corman produced b-movie it is a wild ride.sort of like alien on a lower budget.it stars Eddie Albert Jr.zalman king,Sid haig, ray walston(my favorite martian)Robert englund(nightmare on elm street) Erin Moran(Joanie on TV's happy days)and grace zabriskie(twin peaks) its bizarre science fiction horror about a group of space travelers on a rescue mission encountering terrors of all sorts,a women is raped by a giant worm,now thats bizarre.James Cameron was involved in the production.critics bashed this and it was one of the movies on the DVD 50 worst movies of all time,sorry i don't agree.its the best of the alien rip offs.7 out of 10
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Aliens + Event Horizon + Joanie Loves Chachi - Chachi = Galaxy of Terror
Zeegrade8 September 2009
Early eighties Roger Corman sci-fi flick featuring a cast of b-grade actors on a mission to a distant planet to investigate a dying signal from a doomed space vessel. Once they arrive on the planet they soon discover that the crew is no more and that a black pyramid draws them in mysteriously. The cast's worst nightmares are manifested into reality as they are picked off one by one. But by whom exactly? If you were stumped as to who it was might I interest you in some low-property tax swamp land.

I have never been much of a Corman fan but this is one of his most ambitious and entertaining films. The fact that this is considered one of the 50 worst films of all time is not only silly but calls into question the bad movie credentials of whomever listed Galaxy of Terror. Have you even seen War of the Robots? Any movie that dispatches Erin Moran by crushing her skull and features the Hentai-like mutant worm raping to death a very buxom Taaffe O'Connell deserves cult status damn you! This is my third Zalman King film reviewed on this site, through no fault of my own mind you, and his limited range as an actor leaves little wonder why he made the move to directing light porn. Edward Albert is not very engaging as the male lead Cabren while I hope Sid Haig was paid by his screen time rather his amount of dialogue. Robert Englund, Ray "I've been old for 1000 years" Walston and Grace Zabriskie, who was great in Twin Peaks, round out the cast. If you happen upon this movie give it a watch. It's sure to entertain.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Ambitious, science-fiction is more than an slight rip-off to "Alien".
Lucien Lessard10 August 2010
The crew members of the Quest (Edward Albert, Erin Moran, Ray Walston, Robert Englund, Zalman King, Taffee O'Connell, Grace Zabriskie, Sid Haig, Bernard Behrens and Jack Blessing) are sent to a rescue mission on the barren planet Morganthus hoping to find the missing crew members of a previous mission. But their innermost fears on that planet comes alive to attack on their weakness. They must come face to face with their darkest fears or they will die.

Directed by Bruce D. Clark (Hammer, Naked Angels, The Ski Bum) made an entertaining, trashy, science-fiction horror film in the wake of "Alien". But the premise tries to do something different, the movie actually has something to say about fear. Produced by Roger Corman (Bloody Mama, The Intruder, The Little Shop of Horrors), he produced this movie on a budget of $700,000! Although the movie seemed to cost more than that. Imaginative designed by Three-Time Oscar Winner:James Cameron (Terminator 1 & 2, Avatar, True Lies) and Two-Time Oscar-Winner:Robert Skotak (Aliens, House on Haunted Hill "Remake", Titanic). Which oddly enough, the look of the movie does look like "James Cameron's Aliens" at times!

The Blu-ray has an sharp if occasionally grainy 1080P anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer and an good PCM 2.0 mono sound. The Blu-ray also includes an informative and humorous commentary track by David DeCoteau, Robert Skotak, Alec Gillis and Taaffe O'Connell. The Blu-ray also includes an entertaining documentary of the movie with the new interviews by the cast & filmmakers, Photo Gallery and more.

"Galaxy of Terror" is occasionally silly and flawed in places but it is entertaining and the movie doesn't waste time to get the thrills. The film is infamous for the giant maggot-rape sequence! Also the picture could have used some fleshing out for the characters, especially the supporting characters like Walston and Zabriskie. As a fan of B Movies, this is worth checking out. (****/*****).
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Futuristic and formulaic horror film with chilling and creepy creatures
ma-cortes18 October 2006
The film concerns about a team of astronauts assigned to save the outer space starship crew from a far planet . The astronauts become threatened by a weird , vicious life force as well as indiscreet , slimy aliens that embark upon a killing spree in the base and spaceship . They are unexpectedly devoured by hungry , vicious aliens intent on picking off the astronauts one by one . And an ominous monster in the form of a giant worm ; it is , in fact , a carnivorous , ominous maggot and is enormously spooky when the large slug eats a beautiful nude scream girl or when another young woman explodes . The picture contains an interesting twist at the ending.

It's a formula terror space film with tension , shocks , grisly horror , including some decent scares , graphic gore abounds and results to be quite entertaining . A lot of the special effects shots involving live actors combined with matte paintings and miniatures were done in camera . At the movie appears known actors with a future long career : The recently deceased Edward Albert (Butterflies are free) , Robert Englund (Freddie Kruger) , Zalman King (a notorious director of erotic films) , Ray Walston (famed comedy actor) and Grace Zabriskie (famous secondary actress) and Sid Haig (usual as baddie and blaxploitation genre) , the latter asked Roger Corman if he could play Quuhod as a near mute instead Corman agreed and let Haig portray Quuhod with almost no dialogue as Haig only says a single line in the whole movie . The visual production design by subsequently successful James Cameron creates a vivid sense of claustrophobic doom , enhanced further by the eerie musical score .

This disturbing and dark film was produced by Roger Corman with his New Word Pictures and tensely directed by B.Clark who managed to create shocks , generous violence and exciting horror sequences . According to Roger Corman , the film was budgeted at approximately $700,000 . The film went into production in the spring of 1981 at the Hammond Lumber Co. lot in Venice, CA, where New World's studio facilities were located. Additional sets , including the surface of the planet and the exterior of the pyramid , were built at a soon-to-be demolished Bekins Storage facility . David DeCoteau got his first Hollywood movie job working as a production assistant on this film , he was only 18 years old at the time. And followed by ¨Forbidden world¨ by Allan Holzman with Jesse Vint and Scott Paulin . It's a standard terror graphically gory, giving a paranoid dimension and turns out to be an ¨Alien¨ exploitation film , being a sloppy attempt to cash on this hit smash.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great B-movie
Tom-27514 March 1999
I loved this film. It's got all the things you could ever want to see in a B-film -- fairly good actors chewing scenery, convoluted but interesting plot, some violence, a fast pace, and the strangest scene of all time! If you can find it, you should definitely check it out.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A wonderfully gross and graphic early 80's exploitation sci-fi/horror hoot
Woodyanders29 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Yes, it's the gloriously gross'n'graphic Roger Corman-produced early 80's low-budget sci-fi/horror schlock exploitation classic with THAT scene. You know the one I'm talking about: beauteous buxom blonde babe Taaffe O'Connell gets brutally attacked, raped and killed by a hideous and slimy gigantic libidinous maggot. This terrifically tasteless and unforgettable moment rates highly as the jaw-dropping splatter highlight of the entire picture and has rightfully earned this honey a substantial cult following which it enjoys to this very day. The incredible oddball cast counts as another source of tremendous enjoyment: everyone's favorite Martian Ray Walston, a pre-Freddy Krueger Robert Englund, 90's direct-to-video erotic thriller perennial Edward Albert, the ever-intense and flaky Zalman King (Zippie the Abbie Hoffmanesque hippie hero of "Blue Sunshine"), bald, hulking trash feature icon Sid Haig (who meets a memorably grisly fate here), Gus Van Sant film regular Grace ("Drugstore Cowboy," "My Own Private Idaho") Zabriskie, and, best of all, even Erin Moran (Joanie on "Happy Days"!), whose repellently nasty death -- she gets disemboweled and explodes! -- is a true treat to behold. Moreover, the special effects are surprisingly good considering the low budget, the atmosphere is potently intense and creepy, the pace hurtles along at a snappy clip, and the blood, gore and gunk is generously poured on by the nauseating bucket. Oh yeah -- and we also got a provocative subtext here about you must confront your deepest, darkest fears head-on in order to overcome them and acquire real power in life for all you devout seekers of profoundly meaningful themes in low-grade sleazy movies. Tasty trivia tidbit: future heavy duty Hollywood mainstream film director James Cameron worked on the production design and handled second unit director chores, plus a then unknown and struggling pre-stardom Bill Paxton was one of the set decorators (I especially loved the spaceship walls which are obviously McDonald's take-out plates turned inside out and spray-painted some funky gold color!). A simply stupendous piece of totally gnarly cinematic junk.
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Great Sci-Fi B-Movie With One of the Best Erotic Scene Ever
Claudio Carvalho28 August 2004
Warning: Spoilers
A spacecraft travels to a distant planet to rescue the crew of another space ship that has crashed. The craft has damages in the landing and needs to be repaired. Baelon (Zalman King) commands the rescue team formed by his rival Cabren (Edward Albert), Alluma (Erin Moran), Dameia (Taaffe O'Connell), Quuhod (Sid Haig) and the rookie Cos (Jack Blessing). While looking for survivors from the former expedition, Cos is murdered and they do not find any survivor. However they cannot depart from the planet due to an electromagnetic field. Commander Ilvar (Bernard Behrens) joins the team to search for the cause of the interference in the spacecraft. Captain Trantor (Grace Zabriskie) stays in the craft with the technician Ranger (Robert Englund) and the cook Kore (Ray Walston) but soon one by one of the rescue team members is killed in weird situations, created by the materialization of their own fears.

"Galaxy of Terror" is a great sci-fi B movie with a story with good premise, although having many clichés of the genre. The menaces of the planet are nothing but the fruit of the imagination of each person, projecting their inner fear. Further, this movie has probably one of the most erotic scenes I have ever seen. Dameia, the character played by the sexy Taaffe O'Connell, has a great fear of maggots, being a kind of "worm-phobic" person. When she meets the huge maggot, she starts screaming for help, while the creature with many legs rips her clothes off and rapes her. Her naked body is covered and lubricated by slime, and her initial panic becomes into a very intense multiple orgasms. Other good attractions are the names of James Cameron (as unit director in the bottom of the credits), the later soft porn director Zalman King ('Wild Orchid') and Robert "Freddy Krueger" Englund in the cast. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Galáxia do Terror" ("Galaxy of Terror")

Note: On 18 October 2014, I saw this movie again.
31 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not as bad as The Wizard of Mars, not as good as Alien
ES-III31 May 2003
As is the case with a slew of Roger Corman-produced films, this flick underwent several title changes -- Mindwarp: An Infinity in Terror, Planet of Horrors, Quest - before settling on the worst choice. When I picked it up, I actually thought it was an old '60s film, as the tape-cover aped some old-school EC sci-fi comics with the names `Ray Walston' and `Edward Albert.' I immediately assumed it was Eddie Albert of `Green Acres' fame, not his son, along with Walston, fighting space invaders in their plundering youth. I was wrong. very wrong. Instead, I got a rip-off of Alien (1979) with a heaping portion of David Hewitt's 1965 snooze-a-thon Wizard of Mars (aka Horrors of the Red Planet), though Walston is no John Carradine! Likewise, Galaxy of Terror is peppered with the `guard duty' slant from The Sentinel (1976) and the Jedi theme of the Star Wars films (seen here as `The Master'), as there's some sub-plot about a long line of guardians or protectors that make a rite-of-passage through the planet's funhouse. There may have even been a narrative of some sort surrounding 'symbolic salvation' at one point before all the gratuitous violence was jostled in! As is the case with Wizard of Mars, our astronauts land the Goodship Quest only to discover the remains of an ancient civilization replete with an ancient pyramid-like structure and horrible, horrible aliens (a giant sexually-charged mealworm, an arachnid, some self-propelling leeches, and an extra-terrestrial that looks like the masked assailant in George Romero's Season of the Witch). The cast is a mishmash of TV personalities, actors past their prime, a few Corman/New World regulars, and a few up-and-coming stars (a trend that arguably began with disaster films like Earthquake and Airport). Erin Moran of Happy Days is fairly good here as a telepathic `biosensor' (and fairly sexy too), as is pre-Freddy Krueger Robert Englund (perhaps the highlight of the film). Nevertheless, our cast is picked off one-by-one by an unknown force that preys on fear (personified in physical form). Most of the kills are pretty lame, and Taaffe O'Connell's big scene with the mealworm is ineffectual as well. Still, the crew is every bit as good as the one in Alien, though there's no Sigourney Weaver here (big difference). Unbelievably, this film helped launch the careers of Englund (who would have become a great actor had he not lapsed into Elm Street limbo) and James Cameron who was the production designer here (perhaps prepping him for Piranha II: The Spawning). Perhaps to Cameron's credit (I guess), the Martian landscape is convincing and the sets and visual effects are great, even if it steals sets from other films (Corman's Forbidden World). Plus, it has a few scenes of cool stop-motion photography (now a thing of the past) courtesy Brian Chin. On the bad side, it's too dimly lit (though the water-slide caverns and Tron-like wall of lights are well captured) and has inappropriate music (which you didn't get in Alien). Lastly, the characters have great names like Cabren, Alluma, Kore, Ilvar, Baelon, Quuhod. It's too bad this film didn't take off and spawn licensing deals, as this crew would have made great space-soldier action-figures, as their back-packs already look like Cobra Commander accessories! All in all, a operative film, albeit not the best I've ever seen.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
In a slimy & gooey galaxy far, far away...
Coventry17 June 2006
Who else than B-movie deity Roger Corman would provide inexperienced but enthusiast directors with the necessary budget to create the umpteenth "Alien" rip-off in a span of barely a couple of years? The market was pretty much congested with space-terror movies during the early 80's and even other countries began making them, like the UK ("Inseminoid") and of course Italy ("Contamination"). Did anyone really need another clone of Ridley Scott's masterpiece? And yet it looks like another wise investment for master Corman, as "Galaxy of Terror" is still a guilty pleasure of many horror fans and it's frequently mentioned as one of the more tolerable "Alien"-imitations ever made. Personally I'm not such a big fan, but can see why so many others are! This movie has quite some gory bits, gratuitous sleaze, a fantastic cast and – most of all – it requires absolutely NO brain activities! "Galaxy of Terror" is unpretentious and relaxing entertainment, but still it could have been a lot better. The opening and closing minutes are incredibly dumb and the movie tends to be tedious whenever there aren't any hideous monsters on display. Luckily the gutsy killings and eerie set designs (by no less than Bill Paxton!) compensate for a lot! A nine-headed expedition is send (at hyper speed) to the unexplored regions of space to find out what happened to a previously vanished spaceship and its crew. Bad idea, of course, because unknown galaxies usually is where big slimy monsters live! And, in the good tradition of the aforementioned "Alien", there's a spy on board of the ship and the female crew-members severely risk to get impregnated by horny extraterrestrial rapists. Robert Englund is pretty great in a somewhat heroic role, a couple of years prior to the start of his successful villain-role of Freddy Krueger in "Nightmare on Elm Street". Zalman King and Erin Moran are good too, but veteran-actor Sig Haig's role should have been bigger.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Galaxy of Terror
Phil Hubbs13 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Well judging by the poster for this Corman gem you can expect to see lots of huge freaky monsters attacking scantily clad ladies on some kind of prehistoric looking alien planet. I really don't understand how this poster even exists as the film is completely and utterly the opposite to everything that poster stands for! it looks like a Doug McClure movie poster.

Anywho I had never seen this film until now so I was unaware of what to expect, again judging by that movie poster I was kinda thinking it was an 'Aliens' type affair...oh well. The film certainly looks and feels like 'Aliens' though that's for sure, holy sputum! the visuals virtually throughout the entire film are near identical! This may well be down to the fact James Cameron was the Production Designer and Second Unit Director on this and he clearly took these ideas and recreated them for his now famous Alien sequel masterpiece.

Indeed this film does look very Cameron-ish in some scenes especially at the start where we see the crew leave the mother ship and search the alien surroundings in their very smart yet workman-like looking space suits complete with light generating backpacks. Hell even the alien planet is a cold dark misty wind swept barren land with mountainous jagged rocks that looks like an early 'LV-426'. Then you have the huge alien pyramid type structure that kinda looks like a concept pinched for 'AvP'. So the more I watched the more I found myself comparing this early Corman sci-fi to Cameron's future work, on top of that much visual style has been borrowed from Ridley Scott's 'Alien' with the blue-collar space crew on board their slick yet heavily metallic industrial interior designed craft and its long twisting corridors. Not quite the oil rig in space scenario, there is more of a dark Battlestar Galactica feel to it in my opinion, and lets not forget the character of 'kore' the cook who is similar in plot development to 'Ash'.

So off the crew go into the unknown looking for survivors of a ship that crashed on this mysterious planet. The setup was certainly looking good for a last man standing type thriller and you do get that to a degree. What disappointed me was the fact the plot doesn't revolve around alien creatures killing off the crew but monsters created by the crew themselves, their own worst fears made flesh like some cheesy Red Dwarf episode. What was a little intriguing was the notion that this huge pyramid where everything takes place is some kind of adventure playground for children of an extinct race of beings. Apparently they would test their ability to control fear within the pyramid...for some reason. Notice the 'AvP' similarities here also huh huh!

So this all leads to various creatures and bizarre scenarios that kill off the crew one by one, some being quite cool effects wise and some not so. The silliest and most controversial (at the time) being a scene where a massive maggot rapes one of the female crew to death...yet she kinda enjoys it in the end. Totally stupid and uber cheesy to watch, makes you wonder what the fuss was all about, but there is some nice use of stop motion and a big rubber slime covered puppet. Most of the time you don't fully see the things killing people, you merely get glimpses, which does work but I fear that may be because most of them looked pretty hokey. The main talking point of the film (apart from the horny oversized maggot) must be the gruesome gory effects you get sporadically. Some lovely use of good old fashioned hands on effects with dummies, fake blood and exploding body parts, again it all looks pretty dubious now of course but back in the day it would have been horrific.

I did start out enjoying the film with its 'Aliens' look and feel but as time went on I grew more and more bored with the ever growing 'Hellraiser/Event Horizon-esque' route it took. What I didn't get on with (and still don't really get) is what was the Master character all about exactly?...who? why? how? etc...and how about some more info on this extinct race and their big pyramid playground of death huh. Plus I never really got behind any of the characters either, didn't really bother me if they lived or died and didn't really like any of them. You never find out what happens to Englund's character and what was all that crystal star throwing malarkey with Haig's character? why was he so obsessed with his precious crystal ninja stars?

Everything is a tad rehashed from Ridley Scott's space opus...especially with the discount Nostromo crew and I didn't really like the question raising ending or plot progression (how exactly did 'Cabren' kill the Master??! what was all that lighting stuff? beats me). But yeah on the other hand I did kinda like it mainly for its visual artistry and glorious hands on effects, on that front its brilliant.

6.5/10
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Cheap...but nice!
E. Catalan24 November 2006
GALAXY OF TERROR (Originally called MIND WARP) was a cheap Roger Corman Film that had some "name-talent" and some good shock scenes, but nothing more really. One of the more "decent" ALIEN rip offs, GALAXY starts as out as a rescue mission sent to a remote planet to investigate the disappearance of another space crew. The acting is 3rd rate to say the least but the production design (done by TITANIC's James Cameron, in an early film chore)is one of this movie's saving graces. There are some gory scenes (mutilations, bodies exploding, heads being crushed, etc.) and even some kinky ones (the infamous "worm rape" of a sexy crew member). The story deals basically with man's inner fears and what could happen if those fears could materialize and become deadly. What if you could control those fears? I have to admit that the premise and the idea behind this movie are quite interesting, but are poorly executed on the screen. Under a more skillful director, GALAXY OF TERROR might have been a worthy ALIEN contender. In the end, it's just a nice, above average, early 80's gore flick (and I have a soft spot for these!), but nothing a current day gore fan couldn't take.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
best of the alien rip offs
vampi196013 October 2006
When i saw the trailer for galaxy of terror i knew it was going to be good,as a roger Corman produced b-movie it is a wild ride.sort of like alien on a lower budget.it stars Eddie Albert Jr.zalman king,Sid haig, ray walston(my favorite martian)Robert englund(nightmare on elm street) Erin Moran(Joanie on TV's happy days)and grace zabriskie(twin peaks) its bizarre science fiction horror about a group of space travelers on a rescue mission encountering terrors of all sorts,a women is raped by a giant worm,now thats bizarre.James Cameron was involved in the production.critics bashed this and it was one of the movies on the DVD 50 worst movies of all time,sorry i don't agree.its the best of the alien rip offs.7 out of 10
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Pretty good Sci-Fi horror film from Roger Corman, you could do a lot worse.
Paul Andrews6 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Galaxy of Terror tells the tale of a rescue mission attempts to discover the fate of a spacecraft that landed on a planet called Morganthus & has not been heard from since. The spaceship Rebus takes off & within what seems like minutes arrives at Morganthus where they are drawn to the planet surface by an unknown force. Commander Ilvar (Bernard Behrens), Captain Trantor (Grace Zabriskie), the cook Kore (Ray Walson) & an engineer named Ranger (Robert Englund) remain aboard the Rebus as an exploration party is dispatched. First in command Baelon (Zalman King), Cabren (Edward Albert), a female telepathic Alluma (Erin Moran), Dameia (Taaffe O'Connell), Quuhod (Sid Haig) & a rookie named Cos (Jack Blessing) make their way to the crashed spacecraft. Inside as they discover the bodies of the previous crew Cos becomes very scared & sees a strange alien like spider creature which kills him. Back on Rebus they decide to investigate a strange area of landscape which their instruments cannot scan. Upon arrival they discover a large organic looking pyramid type alien structure, they decide to investigate. It's not long before more start to die in various gruesome ways...

Co-written & directed by Bruce D. Clark I actually thought Galaxy of Terror was a much better film than I was expecting. The script by Clark & Marc Siegler is often referred to as an Alien (1979) rip off & while it obvious rides on the commercial success of Alien it tries to stand out a little more than a generic 'alien on the loose' cash in, it actually has little in common with Alien besides being set in outer space. Galaxy of Terror has some nice ideas especially the pyramid which has the power to turn one's imagination & fears into one's deadliest enemy. Unfortunately more often than not director Bruce just uses this idea to kill people off in gory ways, I felt more could have been done with the idea than just use it to conjure up a few rubber monsters. One more complaint I have with Galaxy of Terror is that there are far too many pointless scenes of people walking around doing nothing in particular. The characters aren't that well developed & predictably clichéd but we know enough about each of them to get by & at least no one got on my nerves even if their silly sounding futuristic names did! Technically Galaxy of Terror is surprisingly impressive & I'm pretty certain that has a lot to do with a young James Cameron who as the production designer works miracles on what must have been a low budget. The Morganthus landscape looks good while the alien pyramid & it's interiors look particularly impressive. I suppose the spacecraft sets look a little dated at times with the old fashioned flip switches used to operate things & some very dated looking computer graphics on it's monitors, but again given the budget their decent enough. The special optical effects less so, some look alright while others look poor although none really stand out either way except the guy with a red blur where his face should be which is accomplished with an awful super-imposed special effect. The deaths are cool & quite graphic, a slither of glass embeds itself in someone's arm & starts to travel upwards under their skin which results in them cutting their own arm off, there's plenty of alien tentacles & things sticking in people, a scene where a woman gets wrapped in blue alien vines & as they constrict she explodes, someone loses all their facial skin & the absolute showstopper of a sequence when Taaffe O'Connell is raped by a giant maggot alien creature which you have to see to believe. The cast has some familiar genre faces amongst it, Robert Englund & Sid Haig stand out. For what it is the acting is OK but nothing Oscar worthy. Generally speaking I found Galaxy of Terror a more than acceptable way to spend 80 odd minutes, it moves along at a fair pace & certainly isn't dull. Definitely worth a watch for enquiring Sci-Fi & horror fans.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This is my favorite movie of all time
Napoleon Dracula25 February 2007
This is my favorite movie of all time.

This movie has everything that you will ever want in a movie.

great story. great special effects , great cast. good looking nude scenes. good music. lots and lots of gore. the language is rough and raunchy and then it has a good ending.

I am sad to know that they never made a sequel.

this is the perfect movie. I watch this movie at least once every 3 or 4 months. the worm rape scene is a huge turn on. The girl that gets raped looks damn fine. (I give her a standing ovation in my pants -everytime I see it)

this is the greatest movie ever ! ! ! !
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Interesting treatment if you are a Roger Corman fan.
mlaprade12 November 2005
This film has some interesting stars, including Erin Moran who played Joanie in "Happy Days" and "Joanie Loves Chachie", and Robert Englund from the Freddy Kruger "Nightmare on Elm Street" series of films. Also, Ray Walston who played the Martian in "My Favorite Martian" with Bill Bixby, who later starred in "The Courtship of Eddie's Father" (TV series) and "The Incredible Hulk" (TV series). It's interesting to note that Ray Walston also appeared briefly as the fireside storyteller in the opening montage sequence of Stephen Spielburg's "Amazing Stories" (TV series). Many have often debated this point but, it is a fact listed in his filmography. Further, Ray Walston never appeared in any of the "Amazing Stories" episodes, which is quite curious considering the fact that he is an accomplished actor with an inventive repertoire of exotic characterizations, including the grounds keeper, Boothby, in "Star Trek: The Next Generation". Such roles as Ray Walston has performed with truth to the art are remarkable and unsung as a true novel actor who is also capable of performing such pedestrian roles as the Vendor in "Johnny Dangerously" to extreme roles such as Walter Addams in "Addams Family Reunion" and, comparably average, Candy in "Of Mice and Men". (That is a very difficult role for an actor to portray faithfully.) "Galaxy of Terror" is a resolution of an adventure into fear. Each character meets their greatest fear. In one case (Robert Englund, "Ranger") it is himself. In the case of Erin Moran (Alluma, the telepathic observer), it is claustrophobia. Each character must face their fear to overcome the planetary enigma. Unfortunately, facing their fear results in death in all cases except that of the Captain, played by Edward Albert, who seems to be fearless either by virtue of experience or lack of imagination. As Roger Corman films go, it is one of his best rating along with "Battle Beyond the Stars" starring Robert Vaughn, Richard Thomas, George Peppard, Sybil Danning and John Saxon (a sci-fi remake of "The Magnificent Seven" -- Japanese; "The Seven Samurai" aka "Shichinin no samurai" -- where Robert Vaughn reconstructed his role with aplomb as the heroic assassin, right down to the skewed jaw). Roger Corman has consistently provided, if not named as producer, exceptional sci-fi and horror films on limited budget with uncanonized talent and forays into areas that few venture. "Galaxy of Terror" is a 'must see' for any serious sci-fi fan.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Slimy worm gets lucky!!!!
jagdpnzr31 March 2000
Ooof! Talk about your low budget, cheesy sci-fi flix. But I still loved it. This movie is not for the serious movie buff...so if your looking for "Forbidden Planet", I suggest you search elsewhere. As for all you sickos out there, the buck stops here. Watch for the worm sliming, stripping and raping the blonde female bombshell....blecchh! Plus Richie Cunninghams sister loses her head, I would too if my career was sucking wind as much as hers was! well enjoy this nasty, slow, "wake me when it's over" plotted movie.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Giant Worm Gets To Make it with Blonde Babe
obe-one17 December 2001
I don't get the "Alien"connection and besides it's not a bad B-movie with suspense and gore. Take the movie for face value and enjoy. Robert Englund in a role before his "Freddie" movies and Zalman King before "Red Shoe Diaries".
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Stand by for lift-off...TO HELL!!!!
burbs821 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Wow... This was actually a really creepy, freaky, and in the Corman-produced-film tradition, occasionally goofy, drive-in style space-horror film. The plot is actually original, unless I'm missing something, and this is in no way an 'Alien' rip-off, as others have said. If anything, the plot seems to have been the inspiration for another vastly underrated space-horror film which followed almost twenty years later, "Event Horizon".

A crew of astronauts (presumably hailing from a galaxy far, far away), is ordered to land on a planet for a rescue/retrieval mission of another downed spacecraft. Finding no survivors, the well-rounded crew sets off to explore a strange pyramid construct, which seems to be eminating a source of energy or consciousness on this otherwise desolate planet, and one by one, each member is killed off by what seems to be their greatest fears somehow brought to life, until only one is left to unlock the mystery...

What you have here is actually a very effective premise, and considering budget limitations, it's incredibly well-crafted and somehow meets the challenge of making the whole thing believable... Given the premise, even a film with a big budget could have fallen hopelessly flat. Honestly, I love a lot of Corman's New World (and later, Concorde) stuff, a lot of which is incredibly funny schtick and parody of the genre, but this rises above and beyond anything I ever would have expected.

The script is surprisingly good, with a diversity of characters. However, the wrong cast could have easily turned it into a joke, but everyone involved does a great job. Grace Zabrieskie stands out as the haunted captain and pilot of the spaceship, and watch for a make-upless version of Robert Englund's infamous Freddy Krueger grin when he's facing off against an evil version of himself. Edward Albert plays the main protagonist, Cabren.

The effects are great, incredible actually, thanks in no small part to the set and matte designs by James Cameron. Think 'Aliens' quality. Honestly, the matte style developed by Cameron for films like this, 'Aliens', and the future sequences in 'The Terminator', still makes modern CGI pale in comparison, in my opinion. The atmosphere is perfect for this bleak planet. The monster effects are mostly great as well, with some excellent stop motion employed here and there. There's only one scene that I can recall where the monsters look pretty cheesy, but apparently this character's fear was the dark, so director Bruce D. Clark leaves them mostly unseen and somehow it actually works.

Then, of course, there's the INCREDIBLE, MUST BE SEEN TO BE BELIEVED... RAPE of Taaffe O'Connell by a giant maggot! This scene is CLASSIC.

The esoteric opening threw me off a bit, but the whole film comes full circle with its metaphysical conclusion. Along the lines of "it was only a dream", it's the sort of thing that only a b-movie will try, because it could potentially leave the viewer feeling cheated... but, strangely, it's actually very effective here. Perhaps because the rest of the film is so outlandish and unpredictable.

This is a weird, carnival funhouse of horrors set in space, and I think it's a must-see. It took me a while to finally getting around to seeing it, God (or is it "the master"?) knows I've seen just about every other horror film by now, and after watching it, I was kicking myself for having not picked up this little cult gem sooner. It's not too difficult to find bootleg DVDs on eBay or at horror conventions, but unfortunately there's still no official DVD release from Corman. I'm crossing my fingers for a special edition.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Spaceship lands on mysterious planet.. something about a pyramid..?
n-hungness27 December 2006
I watched this movie and remember only one scene - the worm/rape scene. Then there was something about a spaceship and a mysterious planet and a pyramid. That all gets lost, however, to the only memorable and notable scene of the entire movie, and that is when actress Taaffee O'Connell gets attacked and raped by a huge worm.

Taaffee is a rather nice looking blond who ends up on this planet with her crew. They explore the planet a bit only to discover that they each will face their own personal fear. Somehow (is this related to the whole pyramid-thing?) their fear is made incarnate. Taaffee's fear is worms. While she is alone on the planet exploring, a maggot creeps up behind her, grows to enormous size and proceeds to attack, strip, and rape her. The entire scene would be simply crazy and almost comical if it weren't so darned erotic. Taaffee does a terrific job expressing her emotions - first shock, terror, and then resignation as she succumbs to the worm's attack. It is simply one of the most erotic scenes I've ever seen in a movie. And that is why I give this movie 9 stars out of 10. I would've given this 10 stars had the scene been a bit longer, but as it is, it is a wicked nasty little gem that you'll probably never see in a film again. The scene is R-rated, so no explicit rape, but Taaffee's moaning sure tells all. And you get to see several seconds worth of her naked torso and breasts, which is indeed a splendid sight to see. This movie is a must-have for this scene alone. I haven't quite found a scene equal to it. I'd love to see a remake of this movie!!!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent B movie !
ypi17 August 2003
Remember it was the beginning of the eighties... Remember Star Wars just hitted the minds... This movie was blessed by a good idea, a lot of talent workers (James Cameron was 2nd unit director !) and last but not least : the "best" rape scene forever.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews