IMDb > The Hunter (1980) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hunter
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hunter More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 44 reviews in total 

24 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Simple but good.

8/10
Author: Aaron1375
18 April 2003

This, of course, was McQueen's last role. It is nothing grand, and for the most part there really is no plot, but it is still a rather good movie. This movie revolves around McQueen's character who is a bounty hunter. This movie shows him go after various people and also shows his home life...which is a bit unique too. He goes after super big rednecks, small time crooks, crazy guys who blow things up, and one rather dangerous individual. Someone who he captured in the past also stalks him. All in all it isn't the greatest movie, but it mixes action and humor well. Even though McQueen was feeling the effects of his illness during the shooting of this one, he still does a great job.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

The King Of Cool's Final Film

Author: modano26 from Toronto, Canada
12 December 2002

When i decided to watch all of Steve McQueen's films, i went the opposite direction and watched this film first, rather than starting with his early films. There seems to be a curse with great actors doing terrible films right before they pass away. Robert Shaw, Bette Davis, Peter Sellers, Henry Fonda (Fonda seemed to have appeared in just about every disaster film before his death in 1981), to name a few. I beg to differ in Steve McQueen's case. Sure this film isn't an earth shattering, Oscar winning experience. Sure this film seems like it was made for TV. Sure this film isn't McQueen's best work. But the great acting alone from McQueen, good supporting work from LeVar Burton and Eli Wallach, and the great subway chase at the end of the film, certainly raises this film above made for TV fare. So, to you Leonard Maltin, this film is NOT McQueen's worst film. It's a fine end to a great career for the King Of Cool.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

McQueen's Last Stand

Author: G-Man-25 from Iowa City, IA
4 July 2001

McQueen's last film before his tragic and untimely death from cancer was this minor but enjoyable action comedy based on the exploits of real life bounty hunter Ralph "Papa" Thorson. The small scale, episodic structure and a few plot contrivances sometimes make it feel like a glorified made-for-TV movie (TV veteran Buzz Kulik directed), but Steve is terrific in the role and he's aided by a large and colorful supporting cast. Plenty of action, along with nice touches of warmth and humor make this more than passable entertainment, especially for fans of McQueen. ** 1/2 stars

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

McQueen's last

Author: Brian W. Fairbanks (brianwfairbanks@yahoo.com) from United States
10 May 1999

"Tom Horn," Steve McQueen's second to last feature, would have been a more appropriate swan song for the legendary star than this rather ramshackle production, but this action picture is much better than it is usually given credit for. There is an almost TV look about it (the director, Buzz Kulik, has amassed more credits for the small screen than he has in theatrical films), but McQueen, looking for all the world like the picture of health (a year after the film was shot, he'd be dead), is terrific and he makes it all worthwhile. The supporting cast isn't too shabby either, especially Kathryn Harrold as McQueen's woman, and, of course, the always welcome Eli Wallach.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Something for everybody

Author: Kyle Diede from Reno, Nevada
11 March 2004

Let me start out by saying I loved this movie! At first I was biased towards this movie, but that quickly changed. I think the director's intention was to make this movie for everbody. For those of you who like action movies it has a grueling scene involving a subway, a parking garage and a child being held at gun point. For those of you who like romance it has a sub-plot involving a woman who is facing pregnancy issues with her husband. For those who like horror movies there is a wonderful end scene that scares the daylights out of anybody breathing! For those who likes comedy there are a few punchlines mixed in plus a scene involving a cornfield a car and a tractor.

Steve McQueen gives off a great performance as a "Dirty Harry" type Bounty Hunter. I have never in fact seen a S. McQueen movie however, upon seeing it, I thought this guy was great. I was a little disappointed to find out that was Steve McQueen's final movie, he could have done a lot more.

The rest of the cast gave out great performances as well, The actress playing Dotty was very beautiful and had so much presense, she did wonderful.

10/10 (And I am not always this nice)

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Steve McQueen

Author: chancer85 from london
18 May 2004

No nasty words about this film, i was in the cinema on it's release and at the end of the film the manager came out to inform everyone {it was a packed house} that Steve McQueen sadly passed away, i still remember that moment 24 years on....the film my not be his greatest but i loved it......... I have since seen it a number of times and will continue to sit through whenever it's shown on TV. Steve McQueen, it's good to be in the same room as him, even if it is via the wonders of science. So enjoy the moment when you do see this film, or enjoy them again, if you have seen it, i would loved to have been on set with the great guy himself.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Want to be a screenwriter? See The Hunter.

9/10
Author: (lauriesdell@aol.com) from Maine USA
12 July 2002

Christopher Keane has written one hell of a Novel and a screenplay. Want proof of this? Steve McQueen not only made the movie he demanded that he make THIS movie.

Ralph "Poppa" Thorsen is a professional bounty hunter with bad driving skills, a house full of cons, cops, and hanger-ons. He has a passion for the past, a love for his mate, and a sincerity that is classic.

There are fantastic moments of comic relief, great drama, and perfect chracter development. McQueen is totally loveable in this film.

If you have ever wanted to learn how to write a screenplay you should see this film and read Chris Keane's book "How to write a selling screenplay". You will know all you need to know after that.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

The Hunter

Author: Tim Cox from Marietta, OH
7 May 1999

There are moments of greatness from McQueen in this, his final picture. That persona of cool that he will always be remembered for is put to the test one more time. The story isn't unique or earth shattering, but die hard fans of the legendary star will not be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Not great, but good

Author: rennix from Germany
24 July 2003

This is surely not McQueens best Movie ever. But it's fun to watch and the fact, that he insisted on playing a terrible car driver makes it even more enjoyable. The worst part of this movie is clearly its terrible musical score. It's just irritating. While most action scenes (like the famous Subway Chase) are not dubbed, the movie gets an almost soap opera like touch (barely watchable) when Steve is with his girlfried. I watched this movie the first time when I was 14 and now (20 years later) I found it on the DVD shelf in Walmart and bought it, because I liked it so much the first time I saw it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Weak and unconvincing finale.

Author: Wally_Kalbacken from United States
25 August 2002

I did not see The Hunter until after McQueen died in November of 1980. It seemed weak - with sluggish pacing. Then it became known that he was ill during the filming and the lack of energy was understandable. Only some of the scenes where he wrecks the rental car in Nebraska even remotely rise to the excitement of some of his other action roles, and the feigned confusion with modern technology really falls flat. His constant appearance in the green Air Force jacket is overdone - or was it used to hide something?

Given all the great performances in the 60's and 70's - I often thought what kind of roles he might have had in the 80's and 90's. Were he alive today - he would be 72 and probably defining intelligent, cool action for older actors.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history