IMDb > Humanoids from the Deep (1980) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Humanoids from the Deep
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Humanoids from the Deep More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 73 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

better left as was

Author: dmatonak from Los Angeles, California, USA
27 June 1999

I originally saw this because I heard that after the principal shooting was done the producers filmed extra footage, the rape and breeding shots (including the shower shot with a body double) and edited them into the movie. I could tell what was inserted and feel that they did not improve the movie one bit. The original would have made a great B movie (lots of blood and gore and mutant monsters) but the breeding subplot really killed it for me. The movie makes a lot more sense once you realize what was originally filmed and what was added for the jiggle factor. I rate this a 7 for the orignal and a 3 for the padded version.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Something very Fishy is going on in Noyo

5/10
Author: sol1218 from brooklyn NY
15 August 2005

**SPOILERS** With the town of Noyo suffering from an economic downturn the only hope the residents have is for a fish cannery to be built there by the Canco Corp.

There's two major problems facing the citizens of Noyo and that's that the fish haven't been biting for months and the local Native American Indians are against the Canco Cannery being built on their ancient and ancestral homeland. Their now planning to have a class-action suit filed charging Canco of violating their fishing rights that would hold up construction for at least two years.

As the fight goes on between the Native Americans led by the determined and energetic Tommy Eagle, Anthony Penya,against the local townspeople let by the hot headed and boorish Hank Slattery, Vic Morrow, another factor in this dispute comes into the mix; the mysterious Humanoids from the deep. The Humnoids make their unwanted appearance in the movie by upending fisherman Deke Jensen's, Hoke Howell, boat and killing him and everyone on board. Out of the water and on dry land Humanoids then go on a rampage in and along the Noyo docks killing every dog, belonging to the fishermen, in sight.

With Johnny Eagel's dog being the only canine left alive Slattery accuses Johnny of committing these despicable and vicious killings. Later Johnny finds his dog dead obviously killed by Slattery and his goons. It looks like a major civil war is about to break out in Noyo with Slattery and a couple of his faithful followers about to set Johnny Eagle's home on fire and possibly kill him together with locals Jim Hill and his wife Carol,Doug McClure & Cindy Weintraub. It's then when the Humanoids makes themselves heard and seen by coming out in force from the sea to do their dirty, or fishy, work. We then have this free for all with the Humanoids and Jim's brother Tommy, Breck Costin, coming to Johnny Eagel's pad and ended up killed by the Fish-men.

This is another one of those experiment gone wrong with man, or in this case lady doctor Susan Drake (Ann Turkel), attempting to defy nature and create a better and more numerous Salmon population but instead creating a hoard of deadly sea Humanoids. The Fish-men are out to increase their numbers by attacking and raping young women and having them create, by being impregnated, a new race of sea-men that before you know it would conquer the world.

Ridicules looking sea monsters who are on the make with the young ladies of Noyo but the young ladies want to make it as fast as they can away from these Humanoids.Looking like their wearing over-sized rubber suits and batches of seaweed wrapped around their bodies the Humanoids seem to go into some kind of funky dance number at the end of the movie. When they all submerge and attack hundreds of people at a local off-shore carnival.

Hilarious final with the Humanoids slogging all over the place trying their best to be scary and with the people at this shindig purposely slowing down to make it look like the plodding Humanoids are able to catch up with and kill them. With the Humanoids defeated and driven from Noyo were given the biggest surprise in the movie. The knowledge that even though driven out of town the Humanoids still left their mark on humanity for future generations to suffer through.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Made this in my home town!I was an extra when I was a kid.

7/10
Author: wildview from United States
20 April 2005

I just saw this and had to respond!

I was an EXTRA in this movie when I was still in high school. For 2 weeks we filmed down at Noyo Harbor In FORT BRAGG Calif. & at the FOOTLIGHT THEATER. We had a blast! I got my photo taken with "Diamond" a stunt man, in a monster suit! I made a giant sandwich for HUNT LOWERY, the films producer. It was a party sandwich that we all shared a slice of. I was in the scene where the monsters are attacking the crowd at the carnival. They had set up a real ferris wheel,and had a merrigoround too. This was a really BIG event to happen in our little town!

As this scene was at NIGHT..... the crew filmed from 8 P.M. till till 8 A.M. we had to get a slip from school stating that we were extras in the movie, cause we were late for school every day for 2 weeks due to this movie. Another scene I was in was at Foot Light Theater. Where the man brings in his dead dog. It was a cool few days of shooting film there too! the Juge at the time Juge Lehan was in this movie too he is the fiddle player in the band,in the dancing scenes on the dock, & at The theater.

I't (the movie) is always a favorite among fort braggians. as there were SO many extras. It is part of this towns heritage!

we call it "NOIDS OF THE DEEP" over here. and even thought it was a "B" rated movie ~ IT WAS THE FIRST MOVIE I WAS AN EXTRA IN. So it will always have some extra special memories for ME.

I understand this was Doug McLures Last movie. As he was in a helicopter crash shortly after this film was made.He passed away from the crash.

Cheers, Lisa C.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Humanoids From The Deep

2/10
Author: adafrog from United States
13 August 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This would have been a wonderful B monster movie. It has the cool monsters, the camera moving through kelp, the silly teenagers, and the 'concerned townspeople.' It even has the subplot of the typical oppressed individual wanting to protect his land/house/insert item here. However, a problem would be that at least half way through the flick, we still don't know where they've come from. Not that I care too much, but when it's in the tagline that they are failed experiments, wouldn't you expect to see more of that? Just pointing it out. And, the most grievous problem is that as noted in the 'trivia' section, the producer added more sex scenes because he wanted to make it 'more sexy'. And while, yes, gratuitous nudity is common in these sorts of flicks, the kind they added here is just offensive. The first real sex scene is of one of the monsters raping the woman. I can ignore a lot of things, but this isn't one of them.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Nothing more than mutant sea monsters raping women and killing people.

4/10
Author: tristanbear12 from United States
19 October 2013

Honestly this is nothing more than mutant sea monster raping women and killing people. The story is pretty much non-existent and the acting is also pretty bad. The characters have no real purpose, and a horrible cliché. I mean what the hell is with the puppet guy and how did he seduce the chic into having sex with him? I guess I could make a summary of what the characters are fighting for though, hmm....Let's see. Well I guess it's based around this small fishing village, where salmon is their main recourse and profit. There are two "main" groups of fisherman. One of which wants to experiment to make bigger salmon and the other group who is against the idea. There really is no clear "good guy" in the movie though. In conclusion, The film can bring a few good laughs on just how bad it is if you don't really think about and watch with some friends while having a few good beers.

The verdict? A guilty pleasure, so bad it's entertaining and a bit silly. 4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This certainly ain't Disney!!

3/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
1 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

An oceanside town is beset with marauding sea monsters. While this MIGHT sound like a typical schlock horror film from the late 50s or 60s, it's not--and this isn't just because it came out in 1980. This is because the film is VERY bloody and violent and has ample nudity tossed in to boot! And, it turns out the monsters don't just want to kill people--they want to rape all the hot women in town in order to reproduce!! According to IMDb, once the film was completed, the producer wanted MUCH more sex--and the director refused to do this. So, another director was hired to film additional sexy scenes! It certainly won't be mistaken for "Beach Blanket Bingo", "The Horror of Party Beach" or a Disney flick!

So is it worth watching? Well, in one way it certainly does. Despite this being a cheapo film, the special effects for the monster attacks are amazing--especially for 1980. The victims look as if they really were attacked by monsters--with heads torn in half and other giant bloody wounds that actually look very realistic. As for the monsters, unfortunately, they are not quite so realistic--and are a bit more like the crappy old monster film sorts of creatures than you might be expecting. It's obvious that they spent money in some places and made some significant cutbacks in others. Also, the acting isn't bad--and the film sports a few B-list actors with significant film credits behind them (Doug McClure and Vic Morrow). As for the rest of the film, it's probably not most folks' cup of tea--and is certainly NOT a film to show grandma or the kids!! These are very, very horny monsters and the movie is a bit like a horror film merged with soft-core porn. Now if you are into this sort of thing, it's reasonably well made but also beware that it is NOT a 'nice' horror film. Certain unwritten rules are clearly violated when the film begins--as a little kid is killed and soon lots of dogs are torn to pieces! Also, the nudity isn't exactly very sexy--so if you are looking for a lot of skin, you should look further. Overall, a semi-competent film that is entertaining in a very low-brow way. Not terrible but not especially good either.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

All Roger Corman Films need the MST3K treatment

4/10
Author: JoeB131 from United States
7 January 2011

This one never got it because it had graphic scenes of nudity and sex in them, for that brief glorious time in the 1970's and 1980's where you could show sex after the Hayes Board went away and the 1990's where the MPAA got rid of it.

Roger, of course, went all out, going so far as showing scenes of his monsters raping nubile young women.

the plot is that a big company (the villain de jour of 1980's films) has poured a chemical into the sea that turns celocanths into humanoid monsters who just want to get it on. That's really just an excuse for Roger to inflict cheap sex scenes and bad gore on his audience.

The characters of this film are all one-dimensional, and you don't really care about them. Also, for some reason, Roger seems to want to include violence against children in this film... not sure what that is about, really...

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Humanoids of the Deep

7/10
Author: Scarecrow-88 from United States
24 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A fishing village comes under attack by amphibious humanoid monsters who have evolved thanks to scientific experimentation in the size growth of aquatic life.

A creature feature taken to the extreme..bloody mayhem and graphic violence are on display. The sleaze quotient is high in that the monsters wish to mate with the female population, ripping their clothes as they sexually molest them in a grim manner. The carnage that ensues in the climactic attack by the monsters on the happy community attending their annual festival is a gorefest. This film is not for the faint of heart, but is a special treat for those who love their films bloody with lots of skin ripping, blood squirting, and the aftermath of poor victims who are torn to shreds. The ending, showing one of the poor girl's who was impregnated, packs a punch.

Vic Morrow portrays Hank, an important man in the village who voices loudly his approval of a new cannery coming into the town brining jobs and employment. With fishing becoming a hardship(the running irony is that these monsters are in fact eating the fish)their village needs an economic boost. Anthony Pena portrays Hank's Native American rival Johnny Eagle who wishes for the cannery to stay away from the land of his people. Ann Turkel is Dr. Susan Drake, a scientist who knows about the escaped experimental, evolving aquatic life that are killing, raping & maiming. Doug McClure portrays the film's blue-collar hero, fisherman Jim Hill, whose wife, Carol(the lovely Cindy Weintraub)unfortunately has to face off with two of those things while her hubby is trying to defend his town against those monsters during the festival attack. The monsters, even if rubber-suited, are scary and effective.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

schlock is right leonard maltin

4/10
Author: zombieslive from Wichita, KS
25 April 2000

neat little horror/exploitation flick about mutated frogs/salmon ?! the monsters are cheap ripoffs of the Alien creatures but were done by EFX genius Rob Bottin, clearly an early effort. lots of jiggly young thangs pop up throughout the flick and the monsters serve as a good excuse to rip off their bikinis. furthermore, there is a small raft of established b-list actors/actresses that make it interesting. good for late night viewing

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

a cool movie

7/10
Author: moviecollector from WI.
18 April 2000

Well, being in 1980, this probably was forgotten cause of its small budget, yes its cheesy but its cool. 1980, the yr I was born, the yr THE SHINING scared us, the yr, CADDYSHACK made us laugh, & the yr that Jason from FRIDAY THE 13TH tried 2 scare but the whole franchise turned out 2 be a big long piece of crap. Back 2 the movie, females r being raped or killed by mutants of some kind & must be stopped. It is worth seeing if u r into the good old cheesy B movies. The ending was cool & scary in a way.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history