IMDb > 9 to 5 (1980) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Nine to Five
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
9 to 5 More at IMDbPro »Nine to Five (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 85 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

9 to 5

10/10
Author: jaykaye
11 January 2006

Fantastic movie! I've wanted to see this movie since I saw "The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas". Dolly was so great in The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas and after that I started to listen her music and wanted to watch all her films. She's absolutely great and I love her laugh. 9 to 5 is so hilarious with great actors. Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin were so amazingly funny and I laughed myself to death when I watched this movie. I can only suggest everybody to watch this and watch also The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas, Steel Magnolias and Rhinestone. I will give whole 10 for this hilarious great little movie about working 9 to 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Women in the working world get their revenge!

10/10
Author: Percivalx from United States
5 November 2005

Every time I watch this movie and I begin to hear Dolly Parton's Nine to Five song playing in the opening credits, I begin to smile. The reason is I know I'll spend the next 110 minutes laughing my head off. The female-empowerment message it tries to convey is rather dated but it is witty and amusing nonetheless. The movie takes place in the male-driven corporate world where women are still oppressed. Three office secretaries are fed up with their chauvinistic boss and after a silly set of occurrences they take matters into their own hands. The result is one of the funniest revenge comedies I've ever seen. What makes this movie work so well is the three leads. They are all perfectly cast and have delightful chemistry together. Jane Fonda plays prim, newly divorced Judy Bernly, Lily Tomlin plays feisty, pot-smoking Violet Newstead, and Dolly Parton plays sexy blonde Doralee Rhodes. Dabney Coleman is also terrific as the "sexist, egotistical, lying, hypocritical bigot" who gets his just desserts in more ways than one. There is a lot of high-energy slapstick humor to enjoy along with many great one-liners and one hilarious scene after another. Watch out for the boss-killing fantasies, the corpse-stealing hospital sequence, and Coleman in a dog collar. Lots of fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Excellent film

9/10
Author: flyer1980 from United Kingdom
30 January 2005

Mostly I like this film because of the storyline, characters, etc., but I also like it because of the old office equipment you get to see (quote: "typewriter, Dictaphone, and adding machine").

It shows you how offices how (and haven't in some cases) moved on over the years.

My favourite part of the film is the title sequence and music at the beginning - although it seems half suitable for TV and half suitable for film, it ends up suiting the film perfectly in my opinion.

It's a shame that Nine to Five isn't available on DVD in the UK either to rent or buy. (as far as I know)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Classic Workplace Comedy

9/10
Author: kello from SF, CA
6 January 2004

Listen to the lyrics of Dolly's title song and you'll understand just how great this movie is ( why didn't her song get the best original song oscar?). This is Dabney Coleman's greatest role and Lily Tomlin, Dolly Parton and Jane Fonda have a field day. It is also unintentionally funny as it pre-dates the age of the PC and a couple of other major workplace changes but never fear it has plenty of copier humor to spare.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

10/10
Author: Marie-62 from xxxx
22 April 2003

This is one of my all time favorite comedies. Lily Tomlin, Dolly Parton, and Jane Fonda are at their best. Three women try to get back at their sexist boss and when they do, havoc and chaos takes over! Perhaps the funniest person of all in this movie is really Jane Fonda. This was the first movie I ever saw her in and it made a very good impression. This got a 10/10 for it's script, direction, and the actresses! Terrific!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Still as relevant...

9/10
Author: Rob Barlow (rlamybarlow@yahoo.com) from San Gabriel, California
26 July 2001

Clever comedy that still speaks to office politics and discrimination today as it did 20 years ago. Terrific cast and a funny movie. If only these three ladies could find another script to get together again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Funny,funny,funny:

Author: Rick from Illinois
1 January 1999

9to5 is a very funny film. Lily,Jane and Dolly are just fantastic together. God,they really all three need to get together again on a different comedy. Very enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A funny little time capsule.

8/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
13 August 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think "Nine to Five" probably resonates more with people of my generation and earlier than it would with kids today--though its appeal still is timeless. I watched the film with my teen, and she laughed her head off at the antics of the film so much that now she wants to go see the play.

Let me digress a bit and say that the quality of this film says a lot to me personally, as I am NOT a fan of Jane Fonda (you may well guess why) yet I heartily recommend the film. Plus, whatever my feelings about the actress and her politics, she did do a good job in the film.

The plot is probably very familiar to most of you, so I won't explore it in any detail. Suffice to say that the boss is an evil sexist pig and three women in his office decide to pay him back for his dastardly ways. Had this just been a film about sexism, it might have come off as preachy. Instead, as it's a rather clever comedy, it seems less preachy and just fun--and still makes its point. My favorite parts are the fantasy sequences (especially the Snow White-inspired one) and I must admit that while it's a wonderful film, it does slow down a lot after Dabney Coleman's character is kidnapped. Still, overall it's a very good film for the whole family that is excellent in every way...and an interesting little time capsule at that.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

It almost seems quaint to see all those typewriters at the office...

5/10
Author: Neil Doyle from U.S.A.
10 October 2006

NINE TO FIVE starts out with a good idea for a comedy involving such able players as JANE FONDA, LILI TOMLIN and DOLLY PARTON in a story about three secretaries who are fed up with their boss--the male chauvinist pig from hell--DABNEY COLEMAN in the film's funniest performance. He's a pencil dropping boss who likes to see Dolly crawl on the floor for obvious reasons.

But after awhile it becomes a little tiresome. Fonda's character is just a little too innocent to survive more than a day in this kind of streamlined, sophisticated office, Tomlin is a schemer out to avenge all the men she trained who got promoted, and Parton is always amazed that men notice she's wearing sweaters two sizes too small for her bust. And the humor is so obviously of the '80s era, with feminism and sexism as rampant as Women's Lib jokes.

It passes the time quickly as an average comedy with a nice title tune sung by Parton, but it's nothing special. Biggest laugh getter is Coleman as the boss who infuriates the girls to the point of being kidnapped so they can rearrange things at the office in his absence.

Final note: There's something quaint about seeing all those typewriters on every desk (Selectric IBM's, I presume) instead of computers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Fun, fun, fun

10/10
Author: mahkiesl from Providence, RI
3 July 2005

Sadly enough, I have to admit, I can practically recite this movie line, by line as I watch it. To me, its the perfect lazy day movie. It is a sad, but true, sign of the time the movie that was released. it shows three of the ways that women were (and sometimes still are!!) mistreated in the work place, and in Judy's case, life.

Lily Tomlin is at her comical best in this movie

Jane Fonda plays the shrunk, but unshrinking flower brilliantly.

Dolly Pardon, in her first movie performance, has a few bad acting moments, but for the most part recovers and stays within her range, and pulls it off wonderfully.

9 to 5 is just a fun movie. It doesn't try to be anything other than what it is, and sends a message at the same time: Women are smart, don't mess with them.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history