IMDb > Moonraker (1979) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Moonraker
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Moonraker More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 27: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 267 reviews in total 

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not the finest Bond film,but still quite good,

8/10
Author: Dillon Harris from Ireland
25 July 2012

Moonraker is a good movie with a great cast,good action and a great storyline.Obviously,Moonraker is not the best Bond film ever made and not Roger Moores finest movie either,but its still very good and I find it to be very underrated by critics.The actors I enjoyed the most in it are Roger Moore as James Bond,obviously,and I also really enjoyed Richard Kiels role as Jaws,who I found to be a scary,but also very funny character.

James Bond(Roger Moore) investigates along with his partner Dr. Holly Goodhead (Lois Chiles),after a mysterious mid-air theft of a space shuttle with has clearly gotten into the wrong hands of Hugo Drax (Michael Lonsdale).

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

007 Goes Space Tripping!

9/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
27 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Albert R. Broccoli sneaked into George Lucas' backyard--outer space--with director Lewis Gilbert on the eleventh James Bond epic "Moonraker," the absolutely most outlandish 007 thriller ever made. Basically, "Moonraker" was an overblown version of "Goldfinger" with an audacious battle sequence at the end with Space Marines storming a space station established by the ambitious villain. All Bond movies are essentially alike, being stitched together with episodes from other Bonds. Hugo Drax steals a space shuttle on loan to the United States from Britain and M dispatches 007 to investigate. The pre-credit sequence where Bond performs a free-fall without a parachute is one of the best in franchise. Later, when Bond is strapped into the gravity simulator, he emerges looking pretty wiped out. The scene is the most realistic of any Roger Moore Bond. The gondola scene in Venice is rather far out and goes over the top later when Bond's gondola becomes hovercraft. Jaws who had menaced Bond in "The Spy Who Loved Me" returned but he was no longer a villain as he joined sides with 007. "Moonraker" ranks as one of John Barry's best orchestral scores, especially the bits during the theft of the space shuttle at the beginning. The riff on "The Magnificent Seven" in South America is cool as well as the monastery that serves as a training ground for spies. One of Q's coolest gadgets is the sleeping sombrero clad fellow who turns out to be shell concealing a machine gun. Lots of fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Slow & full of mistakes But Great Entertainer

10/10
Author: M MALIK from Pakistan
6 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Moonraker 1979 starting Roger Moore as James bond is a a very slow & have a lot of mistakes but a very great entertainer.

you wont feel for one second that all those mistakes & slow pacing is affecting the viewers the only reason is roger Moore's unlimited charisma makes you forget everything leave the brain behind & enjoy to the fullest.

the story,direction & cast is superb .the bond girl are hot & special effects are good for that time.& jaws is the bad guy with long teeth just wants to kill people adds a little humor in the film.

Moonraker is about a shuttle hijacked & bond is assigned to find out whats going on.later revealed the mastermind Hugo Drax himself is behind this & is creating bad plans how bond stops him you will have to see it yourself.

my rating is 10/10 do not miss

overall this film is gold.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Bond, unfairly criticised for space theme

Author: mattrochman from Australia
6 November 2011

Much like Tomorrow Never Dies, this is a great Bond that somehow copped a lot of criticism.

The plot unfolds evenly and with a good dose of intrigue. The main villain, Drax, admittedly is intent on carrying out another "end of the world" plot, but he is more dark, disturbing and cunning than most villains. Superbly acted and the Noah's Ark style plan had a degree of disturbing intelligence, compared with the usual nuclear missile / bomb / satellite plans in other Bonds.

Roger Moore was fantastic. Well settled into the role, he is cheeky, womanising, humorous, yet tough and sharp. The one liners were fun, the girls were both sexy and not one-dimension, though Lois Chiles was a bit wooden.

Once in space, too many were quick to think "oh god, it's Bond meets Star Wars" , when it was nothing of the sort. Although the effects look dated, the space battle was good for its time and the enthralling climax extended right to the final minutes of the movie, and fantastically signed off with a bit of great double entendre.

One you can watch over again and doesn't date as badly as other Bonds from the same time. Sure it had its corny moments, especially with Jaws, but who said Bond can't be a bit of cheesy fun at times!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

James Bond is out of this world!!!!!!

8/10
Author: Humphrey Fish from United States
22 December 2009

In this Bond movie, James Bond has proved to be too good for one world!

This is a great one, but I just don't like the fact that this is one of the steps to the transformation of the series. From this point on, Bond was getting more futuristic. This is probably why I give it a lower rating than I should.

A lot of critics really panned the scene where Roger Moore was driving an inflatable gondola around Venice, but I thought it was funny! One of my favorite scenes was the final battle on the space station. Because that reminded me so much of something out of Star Wars.

So grab a seat, and join James Bond, on an outer space ride adventure that you will never forget!!!!!!

This movie is great! You must see this, you will miss out on some action if you do miss it!

8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

goodbye Mr bond!!!!!!!

9/10
Author: starfox-4 from United Kingdom
28 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Moonraker" by ludo.t (starfox-4)

Following the humongous financial success of the original Star Wars movie in 1977 and of the tenth Bond movie (The Spy Who Loved Me, 1977), producer Cubby Broccoli and returning director Lewis Gilbert could only see one way to continue the Bond saga in order to ensure larger revenue for the eleventh Bond outing: By sending James Bond in outer space!

Clearly listening to their fans who loved gigantic henchman Jaws from the previous movie, Gilbert and script writer Christopher Wood had to bring back the popular character. However, Wood basically ignored everything from Ian Fleming's third novel written in 1955. Moonraker is the story of how megalomaniac Hugo Drax (Michael Lonsdale) plans to create a master race of superior human specimens in outer space on his space station while wiping out the entire world population using a toxic nerve gas. Drax then plans for future generations to return to Earth and re-populate it, as his toxin would not have armed any animal or plant.

With Moonraker, James Bond became science fiction, to many people's chagrin. Fortunately, Bond would return to the spy thriller genre for the next film (For Your Eyes Only, 1981). Many fans feel that Moonraker went too far! Others feel that original story from the Fleming novel is far superior and more interesting than the unbelievable storyline in outer space. Does James Bond belong in a laser gun fight? Nevertheless, Roger Moore's fourth outing as James Bond is certainly one of his funniest, with a script packed with humour and play on words.

The first half of the movie is very similar to any typical Bond adventure. Bond has to travel to Hugo Drax's residence to investigate the disappearance of a Moonraker shuttle. Bond seduces Drax assistant Corine DuFour (Corrine Clery), and goes through Drax's safe, finding blueprints for glassware made by Venini Glass. Escaping from two attempts on his life, Bond leaves Drax and henchman Chang (Toshiro Suga) for Venice, where he follows Drax employee Dr. Holly Goodhead (Lois Chiles) to Venini Glass. Bond later finds a secret laboratory where the glassware is being used to store a deadly chemical. Bond attempts to inform M, but Drax manages to move his laboratory before Bond can show any incriminating evidence to his superior. Bond is now left with two clues: a packaging slip from C&W, and a phial containing the deadly chemical. Teaming up with Holly Goodhead who reveals herself as a CIA agent, Bond travels to Rio DE Janeiro where he finds an empty C&W warehouse. Q informs Bond that the chemical is a black orchid from the upper reaches of the Amazon. Bond makes his way to a hidden base in the Amazon, where Drax is launching various Moonraker shuttles in space.

Up to this point, the storyline makes perfect sense, as Bond finds clues which leads him to different locations. He also uncovers that Holly Goodhead is a CIA agent, and finally ends in a typical situation: having to save the world from a villain wanting its destruction. For the second time, Bond finds his way into an astronaut uniform, but this time, he does travel to space (as opposed to You Only Live Twice in 1965 where 007 is identified as an intruder and removed from the shuttle).

If viewers can accept the unbelievable storyline in the last quarter of the movie, that their favourite spy finds his way in a Moonraker shuttle, having to team up with Jaws to battle Drax's army in a laser gun fight and having to destroy globes carrying the deadly chemical before they reach the Earth's atmosphere, the movie can be quite enjoyable.

Learning from past mistakes, such as casting a dreadful actress for an important role (such as the awful Barbara Bach as secret agent Triple X in The Spy Who Loved Me), Gilbert and Broccoli chose an actress who could be believable as a CIA agent in Lois Chiles. Not being the most beautiful or talented actress, Chiles still delivered a convincing performance as Holly Goodhead. The returning Jaws and the fight between 007 and henchman Chang in the Venini Glass store were quite entertaining. Jaws was unfortunately not much of a threat to Bond, being used as comic relief throughout the movie and probably turned as a "good guy" due to his popularity with the younger audience.

In The thirty silly minutes in space and having Frederick Gray & M go on the field to see the Drax laboratory (why would they ever do this?) isn't enough to tarnish a very good film. Moonraker is one of Roger Moore's best Bond, and easily better than The Spy Who Loved Me. We can look at the positives. The opening half hour is quite excellent, full of drama, brilliant dialogue, lots of real spying, and genuine suspense and action. Plus a beautiful, haunting theme song performed by Shirley Bassey.All as good as if not better than anything TSWLM had to offer. Even after that, we are treated to wonderful locations, more real spying (in Vienna), a terrific fight in a glass factory, and the eerie beauty of the Amazonian siren sequence. But all of this is offset by some of the series most ludicrous scenes. Dolly! Jaws becomes a wimp! Funny little spacemen shooting lasers! The cable car fight! That Bondola! And so on.

Rating 9.9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A Very Good Movie - Highly Underrated

9/10
Author: SomebodyToListenTo (agorrie@home.com) from Victoria, Canada
19 December 1999

It was with good reason that Broccoli and Co. decided to release this one before For Your Eyes Only. Moonraker was more in line with The Spy Who Loved Me and it offered a returning role for Jaws.

While a lot of IMDB users may say this movie is over-the-top garbage, it is not. All the most successful Bond films starting with Goldfinger, have been over the top. Moonraker is no exception.

A lot of the effects are dated, which is why I think most people trash this movie, but this movie still retains its appeal. The space battle may look weak from an effects standpoint but that action is vintage Bond straight out of Thunderball.

Drax is by no means the best villain of 007 but he is more believable than many throughout the series (See Savalis as Blofeld in OHMSS as a bad example). He is clever, cunning and creative in his use of methods for trying to kill Bond. And how he kills Corrine Clery, it is every trespasser's nightmare. Drax definitely sent chills down my spine.

Jaw's return is great but this role tends to be a subject of great controversy. How can a really bad guy in one film become a good guy in another? I think so, it is possible. Women make men do strange things. Controversies aside, Jaws picks up where he left off in The Spy Who Loved Me, and continues his larger-than-live role.

Many people fault the story and say it is not believable. I have never expected a Bond movie to be believable. Others say the script has holes. I agree that there are some scenes that have too much screen time but what keeps this movie together is a consistent storyline that keeps Bond trotting around the globe.

The locales are definitely where this movie excels over other Bond movies. Rio, Venice, and few other places I can't recall. These are what make this movie great. It offered great opportunity for Bond to investage Drax and maintain our interest at the same time. As well, Bond's encounter with Jaws on the cable car was a real nail biter the first time I saw it.

The women in this movie are great. Lois Chiles was perfectly cast. She was serious enough to pass as a CIA agent and sexy enough for Bond. Clery was a great as an executive assistant. It was unfortunate how she was eventually disposed of by Drax.

The music in the movie is retro since it is scored by John Barry. And since this movie succeeded The Spy Who Loved Me, everyone was expecting another "Nobody Does It Better." The Moonraker theme is up there with Goldfinger due to the fact Shirley Bassy's voice has aged quite well. It is unfortunate that this song didn't fair as well chart-wise as Carly Simon's song. The melody is more complex and suits Moonraker better than Simon's song suited The Spy Who Loved Me. I guess history will decide.

No wonder this movie did so well at the box office; it is pure eye-candy. The outer space theme coupled with good villains, great women and many exotic locales. This one gets a 9/10 in my book. A very good movie that is highly underrated.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Why did this do so bad?

9/10
Author: general-melchett from United Kingdom
9 December 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am very surprised that people call Moonraker the worst Bond - I think it is great. It may be 27 years old now, but Bond's first scene on the plane with Jaws is one that I won't forget and always enjoy watching. It isn't badly done either - I don't understand why Moonraker has lost universal appeal.

This Bond is also full of classic scenes - including the bit where Bond drives the special Gondola through the streets of Italy and the bit where Bond shoots the sniper who is trying to kill him from a tree. The fact that this Bond was filmed in space makes it a true landmark in film-making - even nowadays, filmmakers rarely go beyond the bounds of Earth.

Roger Moore is a good Bond, and one of the most well-known. Richard Kiel is brilliantly menacing as Jaws, who keeps his status as a great baddie throughout the whole film. Bond's best line in this film was "Take a giant leap for mankind", after killing Hugo Drax on his space station and then pushing him into space to his death. With classic quotes, action scenes and Bond's super-spying, why did Moonraker lose appeal with many? I don't care what you lot think - I think Moonraker is a great Bond and one that should be watched many times to appreciate its true glory. Even if it is just to see the ninja get thrown out the clock tower and go crashing into the concert hundreds of feet below, I still recommend you give this one a try. Brilliant! 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One of MY Favorites!

8/10
Author: RamRichards
3 October 2003

Of all the James Bond movies Moonraker is one of my favorites. I am a huge Roger Moore Bond fan but I especially looooooovvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeee Lois Chiles as Dr. Holly Goodhead. She is the most beautiful and sexy of all the Bond girls, in my opinion. Jaws has a good showing in this movie as well and the opening sequence is one of the best in Bond history. Sir Hugo Drax is as evil as a Bond villain gets and the terrific pacing of this movie makes it one of the most enjoyable of the Bond adventures. Maybe some other people don't like it but I do.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

One of my favorite Bond movies!

9/10
Author: sarge_45 from Lexington, Ind.
14 February 2004

In fact, if I had to have an absolute favorite Bond movie, this one might be it. Its exotic locales are certainly among the best, not the least of which being Venice and Rio de Janeiro. Jaws is brought back by popular demand, and in the end, he becomes a good guy this time! Most of all, though, this time Bond actually goes into space, and if you think about it, the stakes are much higher. Most of the time, the villains just want to hold America and its allies feet to the fire for some ransom (or revenge, or both, take your pick), but this time, the bad guy's actually out to wipe out the whole human race. Last but not least, I'd argue that Lois Chiles as Dr. Holly Goodhead is one of the hottest of all the Bond girls. Oh sure, many would argue she's not the ABSOLUTE hottest, but you've got to admit, she ranks right up there!

I will admit that the theme song isn't the best, but in the end, that's small potatoes compared to the movie itself (plus, the pre-credit free-fall scene sort of makes up for that anyhow). Still, it was nice for them to bring back Shirley Bassey to do the singing again (previous credits: the themes from "Goldfinger" and "Diamonds Are Forever"). Overall, it's not quite the classic Bond film like most of the Sean Connery Bond flicks, but 'Moonraker' still deserves its rightful place in the 'Best of Bond Movies' echelon.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 27: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history