IMDb > Mad Max (1979) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Mad Max
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Mad Max More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 314 reviews in total 

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies I've ever seen

1/10
Author: lixo-23119
13 June 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It is probably one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Don't waste your time watching this. Anyone who give more than 5 to this has never seen good movies.

*Spoilers ahead*

It is just a cop who get wife and child killed and go for revenge. It does not take place in the future.

It just has a catch in the ending because he makes of one the bad guys die like his partner but it is definitely NOT worth watching. Perhaps if it just had 20 minutes, it COULD be interesting since the action only happens in the last 10 minutes.

Just don't watch it and thank me later for not wasting your time.

I haven't seen the other ones yet but this one is just horrible.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Thought this would be good after watching The Road Warrior. Well, it wasn't

4/10
Author: Alexandrspyr from Greece
11 May 2015

Can't believe it would be such a mess and that it would leave me in a big disappointment, to be fair though I had high expectations coming into this movie after watching the sequel first(The Road Warrior). The world building was a joke at best, post apocalyptic future(not that you understand this by watching the movie) in Australia infested by motorcycle gangs? OK, "how and why" comes to mind but to hell with it, not important right? With a setting like in this movie never explored and never explained in detail, I can't really claim that things didn't make sense(although they didn't) or point out inconsistencies, because who knows....

The acting? "Laughable" is what I thought, but to each his own I guess. The plot? When the hell is it gonna start? Does it even have a plot? Well yes it does, in the last 20 minutes. The dialog? No freaking comment. I guess the only good thing was the action scenes(not a lot of them) and the last 5 minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Random clips put together doesn't make for a coherent movie...

3/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
24 August 2014

I have nothing but fond memories of "Mad Max" from when I watched it as a young kid, about some 25 years ago or so. And I remember it as being a cool movie.

Now, having revisited "Mad Max" in 2014, I must say that all of my childhood memories of the movie were breaking and shattering. This movie is nothing at all what I remembered it to be. It is abysmal. It is at best a collection of various segments of footage put together that doesn't overly have a very coherent storyline about it.

And to make matters worse, then the acting in the movie is just painful to witness. Aside from Mel Gibson, then everyone else in the movie put on some really amateurish performances which didn't really add anything to the movie.

Just goes to prove that memories is just that, memories. And sometimes it is better to let memories be in the haze of how you remember things to be.

"Mad Max" is a movie that is awfully thin on storyline, and even less so compelling. There is nothing dystopian or cataclysmic about the setting at all - perhaps that was in part two or three. I can't remember actually, and might have to revisit those as well.

The dialog in the movie is keeping up with the rest of the movie, being incoherent and random. There is just no real flow to any of it.

The music in the movie was equally random as the rest of the movie, and it was just too chaotic to have any sense of a proper movie score to it. The movie would have fared better with another score, of that I have no doubt.

What I remembered to be a genre breaking movie and an outstanding movie back then was based on hazy childhood memories, because in reality "Mad Max" is not a memorable experience in any way.

About halfway through the movie I had my mobile phone in hand and were checking Facebook updates. The movie was just that unappealing.

A mere 3 out of 10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

An overrated classic

5/10
Author: Hojalataes from Québec, Canada
23 June 2011

IMDb 6.9/10 ROTTEN TOMATOES 3.4/5 The film stars Mel Gibson, who was unknown at the time. A policeman in the near future, fights a vicious biker gang. It's considered as one of the best films of 1979.

I've just watched today this film about 30 years after it was filmed. It has some action scenes really fun to watch despite some cheesy moments. It is a classic, but I've found it just watchable.

Usually, films have a beginning, a development and an end: this one has a beginning 70 minutes long and an end. No development what so ever.

Some of the cast show some tendency to overact and dialogues are not that great either.

I can't say it didn't age well, but I was disappointed after watching it. It's a shame, because I really liked it when I was a teenager.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Mad max review (my review)

2/10
Author: Tom mix (alphadec@gmail.com) from Norway
23 April 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I remember walking past this movie in the video store (vhs days) a million times everyone said "oh thats a great movie".... thank god it did take me 30 years before I did get the movie and now I have seen it, here goes.

1. It shows that this is a low budget movie long way. 2. language!, whats this dub a Australian movie what is that all about didn't get that before I watch Leonard Maltin answer to this question and must be the dumbest I have ever heard: Because Americans cannot take Australian accent.

Anyway there is no story there is nothing here other then to wreck cars lots of cars, maybe this was fun in 1980+ but today we demand more.

Summery: this movie is so bad I don't have words.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

STRICTLY........for those without a brain................

2/10
Author: werefox08 from Australia
21 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Friends of mine have been begging me to watch this movie for several years. I watched it last night. Anyone who reads my reviews (there are many) will know I regularly give Australian movies low scores...(only because they are mainly sub-standard.) This was far worse than I could have possibly imagined. If you like ...violence ...on outback roads in Australia...you MAY like this. Bad motor cycle gang comes into town...good guys (cops)...want them out. Things turn ugly, and our hero ...Mad Max...does what we expect a hero to do. It has an IMDb..score of 7. Lets be honest about this movie...it was made ..on a shoestring budget (and it shows). ..The direction is shaky ..the script awful , and let me be really brave----the acting woeful. I am Australian ...so I know how much this review is going to hurt them...(poor things)...Australia hates any criticism about anything Australian....yet they make movies like THIS.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Boring, B-grade, like a student film

3/10
Author: movieLoader from Australia
25 February 2011

I love Mad Max II, but this first movie is mostly tedious and lame. It's basically the entree to the main course, which is Mad Max II. It's a forgettable laborious movie. No worries though, 1979 Australian low budget cinema. We can forgive Mad Max because 2 years later Mad Max II appears and is 200 times better.

One of the problems I have with Mad Max, is the overdone characters and story. The big scene with Max's girl and child getting killed was really annoying. Everything seemed to be set up unrealistically - the woman taking off in the car which breaks down. Where is Max? running through the trees. Terribly forced, and uninspired. Nothing clever or creative about those build-up sequences, just half-baked fluff.

Bring on Mad Max II, let's forget this one ever existed.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

WOW! Science fiction served up manly-style!

2/10
Author: pygmydynamo from Seattle, WA
8 August 2004

Ah, the apocalypse. It is a time when men are men. Like West Side Story, gangs roam about in leather and establish vague pecking orders, alternatively accomplishing grim deeds and then being easily subdued by shotgun grannies. Well, you know. It's mad! But in this dark, foreboding science fiction, awful things can happen where you least (most?) expect them, and the only true pleasure comes from hearing a nice engine vroom. Something about the lawless future causes most men to hop around like cocaine monkeys, resemble Tim Blake Nelson, and most importantly of all, lounge singers to hold their microphone like they're churning butter. Lick my lips!

Mad Max has EVERY trapping possible of a bad revenge flick, mad doses of sleaze, and more than a dash of professional wrestling. If this sounds like a good time to you, then go get 'im tiger! Sights that await you include pretty young things running in tight shorts, villains who have no motivation other than to be evil, victims who run down open roads to flee from cars. But if that sounds painful and predictable, never fear, your manipulative violence is sprinkled with long, meaningful stretches of road with which you can reflect. I recommend this movie to any male under the age of 13.

Lets call a spade a spade: Most revenge movies are better than this, and that is not a good sign. Your average porn has more plot twists, is more convincing, and is less melodramatic.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

A careless attempt at sci-fi action that ends just as it gets good

3/10
Author: Movie_Muse_Reviews from IL, USA
10 May 2008

If you read the plot summary for "Mad Max," you've just ruined the first 1 hour and 10 minutes of the film. You've also found out that "Mad Max" takes place in post-apocalyptic Australia, which will be helpful because otherwise you won't have any idea what's going on. The film, made in 1979, tries really hard to be Stanley Kubrick's "A Clockwork Orange" (1971) only that film, in all its strangeness, actually makes sense and leaves an impact. This film does neither and ends up being a car/bike stunt-filled romp that crashes like every vehicle in the film does.

The first thing wrong with "Mad Max" is that it tries to sell itself as a revenge tale when no vigilante appears to take revenge until the final 20 minutes. If the first hour were condensed to 20-30 minutes and then the final 20 added on and then another hour added after that, "Mad Max would be a cool action film with a great vigilante protagonist. Instead, Mel Gibson has to wait around and act like a sissy for 2/3 of the film and then have a sudden epiphany to seek revenge. I've yet to watch the sequel "Road Warrior" and I have to admit I'm excited for it only because I want to know what he does next. This first film was mostly a waste of time.

George Miller does some great action stuff here, but his over-the-top symbolism is absurd and the unbearable cheesy reaction sequences every time a character discovers something horrifying like a burnt hand or what have you completely ruins those moments. Its a terribly cliché B-movie technique.

There is absolutely no thematic value or subtle critique of society in this film no matter what you might think. A great action sci-fi movie at least makes a point, but the gratuitous violence done by random, weird bikers doesn't say anything of value. Even the villain Toecutter feels modeled off Alex of "Clockwork" only uglier and completely unimposing. The PG violence just does not allow the violence of this gang to settle in and get a reaction from the viewer, it just cheeses it up if anything.

I'll give credit for the amount of stuff the film crew blew up and crashed into things and Miller does a great job making you feel the intensity of the collisions. Everything else is mediocre at best and then after an hour of mediocrity, you get something good and the film ends 20 minutes later. I'm just crossing my fingers "Road Warrior" will fulfill the expectations of where this film ends, otherwise that's more time wasted. ~Steven C

Visit my site at http://moviemusereviews.com

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Not my type of film

1/10
Author: rebeljenn from Bath, England
19 January 2006

'Mad Max' is a film starring Mel Gibson in a role to defeat a violent motorcycle gang in the outback. He gets particularly annoyed at them when they target his wife and child in an attack. They act like complete idiots, so you never feel sorry for the villains, and their actions are borderline humour and hate as they go on violent killing sprees. It's not a great film with its often slow pacing and the build-up to Max's madness. There is a lot that could be edited out of it. It's also a pretty low-budget film, so it does not have a lot to offer in the vlaue of photography and cinematography. It's a little silly, really. I did not think the last fight scene was done particularly well, either. It's all about the violence, I guess, and I just did not find it to my liking.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 32: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history