IMDb > Life of Brian (1979) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Life of Brian
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Life of Brian More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 32: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]
Index 320 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I do laugh out loud when I think of the sketches

10/10
Author: kev-195 from United Kingdom
28 July 2010

For me this is the best comedy film of all time.

There are quite a few reviews which say this film doesn't have many laugh out loud moments and to some degree when watching the film i can agree, it isn't a laugh a minute film. BUT, go down to the pub and start chatting about this movie with your mates and you soon find you cannot stop laughing!

Just reading through other reviews started me laughing when i thought back to some of the sketches.

"Blessed are the cheesemakers"

"he's not the messiah, he's a very naughty boy!" - if you ever say this line it should be in the same voice as the movie.

It is classic clever comedy and for me will never age.

I haven't watched it for some time so guess what i'll be doing later.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

You can enjoy it even if you aren't a Monty Python fan.

9/10
Author: dfretta from Santa Catarina, Brazil
7 May 2010

First, I watched the most famous Monty Python movie: Holy Grail. And although the movie had its funny moments, definitely it's a kind of humor that got old. Still works for the old audience, but not for the new one.

Then I met Brian. Life of Brian is totally different, cause there's a real and linear story behind, it isn't a simple mix of sketches with some connection like Holy Grail.

Life of Brian is really fun, there are clever jokes, the acting is nice, Graham Chapman on the lead role is quite brilliant, and the music is amazing! You'll remember it for a long time. Some can say that it's a blasphemous flick, but it isn't: there are no God/Jesus offensive jokes.

One of the best comedy movies so far! 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

CB DeMille It Ain't

Author: dougdoepke from Claremont, USA
23 April 2010

Okay, after 250 comments what's left to say. Personally, I took the movie as a send-up of those god-awful biblical costume epics of the 1950's. One's like The Silver Chalice (1954) or David and Bathsheba (1951), et al. You know, the kind that gave you 90 minutes of sex and violence and then 10 minutes of redeeming religiosity spread on with a trowel. That way you could enjoy the fun stuff without guilt, and Hollywood could show it had gotten rid of all those Commie screenwriters of the 1940's.

I don't know how they did it, but this is the most realistic looking Holy Land that I've seen— the parched countryside, the magnificent battlements, the ragged crowds, etc. The budget couldn't have been that big, but the settings are impressive in their realism—not what you'd expect from a send-up like this.

Anyway, it's a funny movie. And if it doesn't exactly end with the voice of God, it does end on a humorously ironic note—all those crucifees hanging there, singing "Look on the Bright Side of Life". Beneath the black humor, there may well be real wisdom, and who's to say that this is not, in its own way, a voice from above.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

My favourite Monty Phython film!

10/10
Author: Oliver Thiele from Australia
10 March 2010

Before I watched this movie, I hadn't laughed so hard since Flying high (AKA: Airplane!). I think this is a way funnier movie than The Holy Grail! Graham Chapman is hilarious and so are the other Python members! Some of my favorite lines include: Brian: Alright fine, I'm the messiah! Crowd: (Cheers) Brian: Now, f*ck off! Crowd: How shall we f*ck off, oh lord?

It's dialogue like these that make the Monty Python's work, and this has an even larger laugh track then The Holy Grail which is why its my favourite Phyton film!

5/5

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Monty Python goes biblical

9/10
Author: gangstahippie from Canada(Montreal, Quebec)
7 February 2010

Life Of Brian is the second Monty Python film(well third if you count "and now for something completely different", but that was not really a movie, just the best skits from the show, remade).Unlike Holy Grail, which took us to the medieval times, Life Of Brian brings us to the year 33 AD, during the time of Jesus and the Romans.Brian is a young man living with his mother in those times.He falls in love with a young Jewish revolutionary, joins her and her friends in trying to bring down the Romans.He gets caught by the Romans and tries to escape.One thing leads to another, and a group of people confuse Brian to be the messiah.Life Of Brian caused controversy when first released.People thought it was blasphemous, when it was actually just a satire on organized religion.It is nowhere near as blasphemous as say some of the jokes in "South Park" or "Family Guy".This is also Monty Python's first R-rated film.The jokes are not any more raunchy(they save those for their later film "The Meaning Of Life"), but there is male and female frontal nudity and the f-word is uttered a few times.It's probably one of the tamest R-rated films out there.Life Of Brian is just as good, if not a tad bit better than Holy Grail.It is a hilarious spoof of organized religion & false prophets and is definitely worth a watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Blessed are the cheesemakers

10/10
Author: Ali_Catterall from London, England
22 November 2009

If there's a sound of synchronised whistling coming from the direction of Golgotha (or the nearest football stadium), then it must be Saturday afternoon, about tea time, and Monty Python's greatest hour-and-a-half is upon us. Much less an attack on spirituality or even Jesus Christ than on small-minded religious bigotry, Life Of Brian emerged to charges of blasphemy… from small-minded religious bigots - and joyous, life-affirming waves of laughter from everybody else: the Surgeon General should prescribe this film as an additional compound in the treatment of depression. While the climax offers an alternative to orthodox subservience in one divinely hummable eight-word phrase.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

so funny!

10/10
Author: John Schofield from England
24 July 2009

I first saw this film in a cinema a lot of years ago and I nearly wet myself with laughing so much. There were other people there who sat there either stony faced and arms folded or just didn't get the humour. I am a Monty Python fan and watched the original shows in the late 1960's. My father also watched them with me and he always looked blank at the TV screen and probably wondered why I was rolling about the floor in fits of laughter. Of the people I have come across over the years who have seen the film they drop into two distinct groups the lovers and the 'just isn't funny' group. I genuinely cannot recall anybody saying it was a bad film and perhaps more relevant cannot recall anyone upset by the so called blasphemy. I am not interested in the acting or lighting or the other ingredients that go to make up the film. The whole is extremely funny and as with a lot of Monty Python humour virtually nobody is spared when it comes to subject matter. I can understand why there are people who don't find the film funny, I am just so glad that i find it hilarious and I always will.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I'm a Roman Catholic!

10/10
Author: Quentintarantado from philippines
4 April 2007

Utter hysteria! Oh yes, oh yes! I think it's incredibly funny they re-released the movie to celebrate its 25th anniversary AND to coincide with the Passion of the Christ (torture porn like Saw and Hostel...which is a good thing in another sense).

Yes, I'm a Roman Catholic and I'm utterly proud of their song in that other movie (The Meaning of Life) sending up my beliefs. No, seriously, I'm a practicing Roman Catholic, I believe in the Pope and in birth control and all that! And I honestly take the Python song "Every Sperm is Sacred" as a compliment! (they had a lot more to say about us Catholics in the Protestant portion afterward where the Protestant complains--and let me quote--

Harry Blackitt:'Because... every time they (Catholics) have sexual intercourse, they have to have a baby.'

Mrs. Blackitt: 'But it's the same with us, Harry.'

Harry Blackitt: 'What do you mean?'

Mrs. Blackitt: 'Well, I mean, we've got two children, and we've had sexual intercourse twice.')

I think this movie, "Life of Brian" has brilliant bits as well, and if I'm Roman Catholic (declaring it for a fourth time) and can't laugh at myself I might as well slit my wrists!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The only film I know that made someone pee with laughter

10/10
Author: rh86 from United Kingdom
29 March 2007

They showed this at my university and the girl I was sitting next to had to walk out after the 'Biggus Dickus' scene because she thought she was about to wet herself from laughing so hard. It's that funny, voted no.1 comedy film on numerous occasions and has so many jokes that they just stay in your mind. The Python boys were never better, effortless moving between roles and somehow keeping a straight face. Graham Chapman is superb in the title role, staying very genuine and meaning and he gives you the biggest shocks.

I can see why religious could have been offended, I mean, would Jesus have told a bunch of followers to F Off, hmm. But they miss point, it's incredibly funny and pretty much anything is fair game for humour in my view.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

some of the funniest movie lines EVER !

Author: themistius from United Kingdom
17 January 2007

Like most of IMDb'ers, I watch movies of all genres. However I do have favourite types. Python HAS to be up there with the best of comedy material, and I'm glad to see, were not afraid to be controversial in their collective genius. Some of the funniest lines, in my humble opinion, ever written.

He can't have babies!

Where's the foetus gonna gestate? Are you gonna

keep it in a box?!

This may, or may not, provoke a thread that has been done before. But if it does, how many can you remember without watching this classic again?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 32: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history