IMDb > The Fifth Musketeer (1979) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Fifth Musketeer
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Fifth Musketeer More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

18 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Luxurious and glamorous production with all-star -cast , though really wasted

Author: ma-cortes from Santander Spain
12 May 2010

¨The fifth Musketeer¨ is packed with derring-do , intrigue , romance, action and exciting swordplay . An excellent casting and lavish production partially shot in Vienna make for a fairly amusement swashbuckler , however it drags in some places . This is a new version of the Dumas's novel with a handsome Beau Bridges in a dual role . This is a slight and simple retelling about the durable Alexandre Dumas's novel and is set in 17th century French court where two twins brothers (Beau Bridges playing a double role) , separated at birth , one nasty become Louis XIV of France compromised to marry to Mª Teresa of Spain (Silvia Kristel) and another , Phillippe who is unjustly imprisoned in the Bastilla . Both of whom are sons of the Queen mother Anna of Austria , turned nun (Olivia De Havilland) . Later on , Phillippe is jailed in prison and hidden his identity wearing an iron mask but his existence threatens the kingdom . But D'Artagnan (Cornel Wilde), Athos (Alan Hale) , Aramis (Jose Ferrer) and the Minister named Colbert (Rex Harrison) scheme an intelligent plan to free Phillippe , clashing a malicious Fouquet (Ian McShane) , the Louis XIV's favorite . They join forces for royal vengeance with the shout : ¨One for all and all for one¨. They are planning a plot involving substitution by the lookalike brother .

It's a mediocre rendition from the immortal novel with quite but wasted budget . The picture contains rousing action , intrigue , exciting swordplay , romantic adventure , and mayhem . Marvelous main actors completed by stellar cast full of classical and veteran players as Cornel Wilde , Rex Harrison , Olivia De Havilland and several others. And being final film of Helmut Dantine and last cinematic intervention of Olivia Havilland . And starred by agreeable Beau Bridges as suffering prisoner turning a valiant swashbuckler and selfish king . It contains some nudism , of course being in charge of expert actresses as Silvia Kristel and Ursula Andress ; nevertheless , in some versions it is cut . Acceptable cinematography by classic cameraman Jack Cardiff , recently passed away , who had a distinguished and long career crowned with some Oscars . Evocative musical score by the Italian composer named Riz Ortalani . Lush production design is well reflected on the glamorous interiors and exteriors filmed at Austrian palaces .

The motion picture was regularly realized by Ken Annakin . Based on Alexandre Dumas's novel, 'The Vicomte of Bragellone', which is often filmed under the title of its final section, 'The Man in the Iron Mask'. This classy story is subsequently remade on several versions , firstly is shot with Douglas Fairbanks (silent rendition, 1929), by James Whale (1939) with Louis Hayward and Joan Bennet , finally in 1998 by Randall Wallace with Leonardo DiCaprio , Jeremy Irons , John Malkovich and featured Gérard Depardieu as Porthos ; furthermore TV version by Mike Newell with Richard Chamberlain and Ralph Richardson . ¨The Fifth Musketeer¨ is an inferior and silly adaptation of the classy that will appeal to the costumer genre buffs and it results to be an average adaptation with big budget based on the immortal tale .

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

sexed-up version, cut in US

Author: Stefan Kahrs from Canterbury, England
4 January 2006

In many ways, this is an unnecessary re-telling of a story we have seen realized many times before (and since), and often filmed better. It was certainly not Beau Bridges's finest hour.

What was unusual and certainly the major selling point of the film was that the leading ladies (Andress and Kristel) would shed their clothes on quite a few occasions. As this film's US rating is PG and as the American running time is 12 minutes shorter than the British 15-rated release (which is the one I saw) it is highly likely that most if not all nudity was cut from the American version. Which is a shame as this is the only proper reason to watch this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Adequate, but uninspired.

Author: grendelkhan from Xanadu
12 October 2003

This retelling of Dumas' The Man in the Iron Mask makes for an ok film for a rainy day, but is hardly an epic swasbuckler. Beau Bridges is good in the dual roles of Louis and Phillipe, as is Rex Harrison as Colbert. Ian McShayne is delightfully evil as Fouquet and Ursulla Andress is wonderfully bitchy. Cornell Wilde and Alan Hale Jr. reprise their roles (sort of) from the film At Swords Point. Papa Bridges is around as a decidedly unreligious Aramis, and Jose Ferrer trades Cyrano's nose, for Athos' tunic. Sylvia Kristel is rather wooden as Marie Therese. In all, there is little for the actors to work with, but the scenery is nice and a few action sequences are quite good. Still one could have hoped for better things with this cast.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Jolly good swashbuckling, what?

Author: Tony Patriarche from Victoria, BC, Canada
13 May 2007

This may not be the best version of the story (The Man in the Iron Mask), but its period production values, good pace and some of its top cast lift it above the "B" remake some would rate it.

It perhaps marks a minor renaissance of the unrepentant swashbuckler movie. Beautifully filmed on location (Vienna passing for Paris), it delights the eye. There is enough slapstick sword-fighting to please all but the absolute connoisseur; the tension of the plot is well maintained; it is simply fun to watch. Memorable performances by Rex Harrison as Colbert (in one of his last movie roles) and Ian McShane as Fouquet help to keep the viewer's attentions when others of the rather mixed cast falter.

Ursula Andress' (or "Ursula Undress" as she was somewhat unfairly nicknamed after a Playboy Magazine appearance) convincing portrayal of the King's mistress would undoubtedly have been enhanced (as other commentators have suggested) by the restoration of the nudity cut by the US censors (the American running time is 12 minutes shorter than the British).

All in all, not a movie to buy for one's DVD library, but to rent for a rainy day or watch on TV and appreciate for its fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Waste of great talent

Author: MrsAlSwearengen from United States
5 September 2005

THE FIFTH MUSKETEER - what a big disappointment. All that amazing talent, all those famous names, and only a couple of adequate performances in the entire film. What went wrong? I have the sneaking suspicion there were too many Chiefs and not enough Indians working in this film. The filmmakers probably found it hard to control the big names, and it shows. Clever dialogue would have made it possible to overlook the tepid, unoriginal script, but alas, there is very little.

Even if I were not an Ian McShane fan I would be forced to admit his characterisation of Fouquet remains the only one in the film which seems fully formed. Even though he plays the villain I found myself cheering him on because he was the only one with any charisma or humour in the entire film. The female performers are appealing. I hear the UK version has some nudity; the US VHS version has been cut to the point of somnambulism.

Trivia for McShane fans: The hijinx appear to all have taken place off-set rather than on. During the making of THE FIFTH MUSKETEER, Sylvia Kristel (of the EMMANUELLE soft porn series of films) and Ian McShane became involved in a highly-publicized, scandalous long- term affair. And McShane has related memories (complete with a spot-on vocal impersonation) of Rex Harrison imperiously barking orders at him to get out of his light during filming. It was that kind of set.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Swashbuckling entertainment and a couple of real beauties.

Author: suisse_nut
26 July 2001

It's not a bad movie, but the best parts are played by the women. Ursula Andress looks absolutely incredible (like that comes as a surprise) and is very convincing as the bitchy yet extremely alluring Louise de la Vallière, mistress to King Louis. Sylvia Kristal is also very good in her role as well. If you are looking just to relax and watch a movie that you don't need to think about, this is the one. If you are a fan of women in corsets... have no fear, Ursula can satisfy that pretty well.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

One Musketeer Too Many

Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
17 December 2009

Despite a stellar cast, The Fifth Musketeer still remains just an average retelling of The Man In The Iron Mask, Alexandre Dumas's sequel novel to The Three Musketeers.

Ironically in the role of the aging D'Artagnan is Cornel Wilde who I would love to have seen in The Three Musketeers back in the day. Wilde in fact was a fencing champion, he was on the US Olympic team before he became an actor.

No preliminary tale of the birth of the twins to Louis XIII and Anne of Austria. We meet the grownup Louis XIV and Phillipe of Gascony as grown young men. Phillippe's been trained in the military arts by his foster father D'Artagnan and the other Three Musketeers, Jose Ferrer as Athos, Alan Hale, Jr. as Porthos, and Lloyd Bridges as Aramis. Louis and Phillippe are played by Beau Bridges.

That seems to be the main weakness of the film. I think Beau himself would be the first to agree he hasn't the swashbuckling élan of Louis Hayward, but he also isn't as good Leonardo DiCaprio in a later version. As for Queen Maria Theresa whom we meet as the Infanta of Spain, Marie Kristel also lacks some passion. If I were either of these twins I'd have taken up with royal mistress Ursula Andress in a Parisian minute. Now she's full of passion.

Rex Harrison and Ian McShane are an interesting pair of dueling ministers, Colbert and Fouquet, both of whom did vie for Louis XIV's favor, but well into his reign. McShane is not as sly as Joseph Schildkraut in the 1939 The Man With The Iron Mask. Harrison seems preoccupied like he was waiting for his salary check to clear. For the very few minutes Olivia DeHavilland is on screen as Queen Mother Anne of Austria, she's completely wasted.

The cinematography is grand, it always is when Jack Cardiff does it. The film was shot in Vienna which apparently looks more 17th century than Paris does now. But Ken Annakin who usually does films that roar with action and adventure seems not to be able to get this one to rise to the occasion.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Dumas' tale of twin brothers strikes out this time...

Author: Neil Doyle from U.S.A.
9 October 2006

It's strange that THE FIFTH MUSKETEER leaves me with the impression that it's hardly worth watching despite a stellar cast and some gorgeous Austrian scenery. BEAU BRIDGES (in a dual role as a commoner and Louis XIV) does a competent but bland job in the film's major role, while assorted guest stars fill the supporting cast with some name value. One of the guest stars is OLIVIA DE HAVILLAND who might just as well have phoned in her role. She has about three minutes of screen time, at the most.

None of the main roles are really fleshed out and the plot is a muddled mess. JOSE FERRER, CORNEL WILDE, ALAN HALE, JR. and LLOYD BRIDGES are competent enough as the four musketeers while REX HARRISON and HELMUT DANTINE merely add some name recognition to the cast, as does de Havilland in her tiny role as Queen Anne (about whom little is explained).

It's a retread of familiar material done much better in the past, territory that would be revisited in the future with even more dash and vigor. A sleep inducing film that probably only gets male attention because URSULA ANDRESS and SYLVIA KRISTEL provide some feminine pulchritude in provocative period costumes.

The most unforgivable aspect are the fight scenes of the swashbuckling kind but badly choreographed duels, unlike the sort of thing done so splendidly in the Flynn epics. The blades flash without much flourish.

Summing up: Totally uninspired piece of work notable only for some lavish costumes and good location photography in Austria.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Overlooked fun

Author: vincentlynch-moonoi from United States
7 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Reviewer suchenwi, I'm with you. I liked this film back when it first came out, and I still like it. And the most basic reason is that it is great fun. In fact, when you think about it, all the various filmed depictions of musketeers are just made for that very reason...just to have a little fun.

The film has a good cast. I've always liked Beau Bridges, and thought him to be a more enjoyable actor than his brother; however, his performance here (as Louis XIV / Philippe of Gascony) in certain scenes seems just a tad hyper. Rex Harrison, as political plotter Colbert is very good, and I can actually hear him here (I once saw him in a play at the Kennedy Center, and though we sat 5th row middle, we couldn't hear his mumbling, as was pointed out by the review the next morning in the "Washington Post"). Sylvia Kristel (most famous for her roles as Emmanuelle) is quite attractive, but it difficult to say if she was a good actress as Princess Maria Theresa since all her dialog was dubbed by another actress! Ursula Andress was the king's high class whore...and her acting was as good as always...which isn't saying much. The 4 Musketeers are played by Cornel Wilde, Alan Hale, Jr., Jose Ferrer Lloyd Bridges, and they all did very nicely, and it was good seeing them in these roles. Ian McShane played the bad guy...and did well at it (he seems to have a talent for such roles). Olivia deHavilland is here briefly as the King's Mother; a small role, and her final before retiring.

With some variations, this is "The Man In The Iron Mask". It's a good story and great fun. It was filmed in Austria, and is beautifully done. (Trivia -- the Musketeers made a cameo appearance on Perry Como's Christmas special that year, which was also being filmed in Austria).

Is this the finest version of this general story? Probably not. But I enjoyed it. You probably will, too.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I, for one, enjoyed it.

Author: suchenwi ( from Konstanz, Germany
3 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Most of the 9 comments I see here are negative to Luke-warm at best. So I beg to disagree and tell why I liked this film.

Firstly, I haven't seen other renderings of the story, except for the Australian Burbank animation (1985), which I also cherished (for different reasons, of course). In fact, that anime made me read up on Wikipedia about the complex back stories, fiction and true, and after that I re-watched this Beau Bridges piece.

I found him convincing both as Philippe and Louis XIV, and was thrilled by their duel on the shaky bridge (both dressed similarly, I was briefly on the edge of my seat).

Then there's the ladies, who in my European cut expose interesting body parts, and when dressed still deliver strong emotions.

But the roles that grabbed me most were Colbert and Fouqué, with their wheelings and dealings, mostly wrapped in courtly etiquette - quite fascinating. In contrast, the name-brand musketeers did not catch my attention so much.

Finally, what detracted me most was the mismatch of the French dub and subtitles (DVD labeled Bakker 7812/773). In Vienna, Austria, the film was produced in English, but I wanted the "native" language - though very often I was astonished how many phrases can be translated differently to French, starting from "Je vous en prie" (dub) vs. "s'il vous plait" (subtitle). So I didn't get the convenient read-along experience I had hoped for. But all in all, I really enjoyed this film. And Sylvia Kristel impressed me quite much as Spanish royalty.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history