Rumpole of the Bailey (TV Series 1978–1992) Poster


Episode List


Season 1

3 Apr. 1978
Rumpole and the Younger Generation
Rumpole is defending a young member of the Timson clan, an extended family of light-fingered but otherwise moral South London villains. To his distress, his own son appears to be acquiring some of the Timson traits.
10 Apr. 1978
Rumpole and the Alternative Society
Rumpole defends a hippie-type schoolteacher on a narcotics charge and finds himself attracted to her and her lifestyle.
17 Apr. 1978
Rumpole and the Honourable Member
An MP is accused of raping one of his assistants, and seems reluctant to defend himself. Rumpole is left with only one line of defence; attack the complainant's character, thereby infuriating his son's American fiancée.
24 Apr. 1978
Rumpole and the Married Lady
After a long spell without cases, Rumpole is apparently divorcing his old friend and colleague George Frobisher. His client meanwhile threatens to drive Rumpole's wife Hilda (She who must be obeyed) into the arms of her friend Dodo.
1 May 1978
Rumpole and the Learned Friends
Rumpole accuses a dishonest policeman of framing his safecracker client and finds himself in legal trouble when he can't back up his claim.
15 May 1978
Rumpole and the Heavy Brigade
Rumpole returns to bloodstains as he defends an stuttering, apparently mentally-challenged petty crook on a murder charge.

 Season 1  Season 2  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page