Dick Turpin (TV Series 1979–1982) Poster


Episode List



16 Feb. 1980
The Fox: Part 1
A dying highwayman named Joe Cutler asks Dick Turpin to honor his last request. Unfortunately, Dick and Swiftnick are captured by the very men who were chasing Cutler. They are brought before the sadistic Lord Manderfell, who decides to hunt down Turpin as if he were a fox. Only if Dick manages to elude the hunting party until sunset, will he and Swiftnick be set free.
23 Feb. 1980
The Fox: Part 2
Swiftnick manages to escape from Manderfell's dungeon on his own and speeds off to find Dick, who is still on the run and all but exhausted by now. Still, Turpin insists on honoring Joe Cutlers last request by finding his hidden loot at the so called 'Devil's Chimney' and finding out who the woman is Cutler stole it for.
1 Mar. 1980
Blood Money
Wanted for High Treason against King George, Sir John Glutton returns to his desolated Rookham house to find letters containing the names of his fellow traitors. Glutton plans to buy his own freedom by turning in his fellow betrayers. Dick Turpin and Swiftnick are interested both getting their own back on Sir John, as well as the reward of 100 guineas.
8 Mar. 1980
Deadlier Than the Male
Dick Turpin has saved a young serving wench from the clutches of scrupulous nobleman Edward Faversham and his two friends. Shortly thereafter he helps the Catherine Langford and her serving girl Wimple, who's carriage has overturned. Dick is distressed to learn the beautiful Catherine is engaged to be married to Faversham. When Wimple returns to the forest requesting Dicks help, little does he suspect he is walking into a trap.
15 Mar. 1980
The Elixir of Life
Dick and Swiftnick are waiting for their accomplice Harry Sims at The Fox Inn when the Dr. Mandragola, a sight seer and alchemist arrives. He is soon followed by Captain Venables who has captured Sims. Dick poses as the Doctor and is ordered by Venables to use his powers of foresight to locate Turpin.
22 Mar. 1980
The Thief-Taker
Lord Fordingham has put a bounty on Dick Turpin's head. Realizing they can get even more money out of the Lord, Turpin and Swiftnick pose as a pair of thief-takers, Jeremiah Snare and Jonathon Hardy and fool Fordingham into believing Captain Spiker is actually Dick Turpin.
29 Mar. 1980
The Judge
Turpin intercepts judge Lambsfoot and takes his place in order to help local landowner Johh Radstock and Swiftnick escape their sentences.
20 Sep. 1980
Sentence of Death: Part 1
After serving six years imprisonment in Jamaica, Barnaby Husk wants his revenge on Dick Turpin. He turns to an old acquaintance, Poll Maggot. Meanwhile, King George's young cousin is wandering the woods after an attack on his guardian's carriage. Old Isaac Rag bumps into the boy and, calling him 'Todd', takes him under his wing.
31 May 1980
Sentence of Death: Part 2
Barnaby Husk has collapsed with sickness and Dick surmises it is the yellow plague. Isaac Rag ignores Dick's warnings and flees the Fox, while Husk recovers just in time to try and kidnap the German aristocratic boy.
7 Jun. 1980
The Godmother
Glutton's Godmother, the Dutches of Durham is coming for a visit. Since his letters have let her to believe Glutton is married, his accomplice Simon Gooch proposes his sister could pose as Lady Glutton. By an unfortunate order of events, Turpin and Swiftnick are robbing the Gooches just when Glutton's men come to fetch his pretend wife, and Dick ends up in drag.
17 May 1980
The King's Shilling
Swiftnick comes to the aid of a pair of young lads who have been tricked into joining the King's army. The recruiting officers, Captain Willard and his posh accomplish Newell, double back "The Bell" inn to get their revenge on the young highwayman.
14 Jun. 1980
The Hanging
Turpin and Swiftnick come to the aid of a woman calling herself 'Mrs Brownlow', who is being blackmailed by Captain Spiker. Unfortunately, Turpin gets caught and is sentenced to death by hanging.

« 1979 |  1980  1981  »

See also

Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page