IMDb > "Anne of Green Gables" (1979) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Anne of Green Gables" More at IMDbPro »"Akage no An" (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Perfect depiction of Atlantic Canada!

Author: Marc Gagnon (marcG106) from Canada
3 October 2004

Being an animation fan, I'd heard about this show before. I knew that Hayao Miyazaki had worked on it before founding Studio Ghibli - who wouldn't be curious? I never thought I'd see it, since it's only been released on DVD in Japan. But, thank the Net, I've found a way to watch the original, subtitled version. What a wonderful series! I've only see the first four episodes, but they've definitely captured my imagination.

Being from Atlantic Canada myself, I was thrilled to see my region depicted so beautifully in anime. It's all accurate, let me tell you (although I'm not sure if they have Japanese sakura trees in PEI...) I have to admit that I've never read the Anne novels, but watching an anime adaptation is the next best thing.

It's hard to believe this series was made in 1979... it's a masterful series of paintings, character animation and sweeping music.

Please, do whatever you can to find this gem of TV animation!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

One word... WOW

10/10
Author: Donica (blossom114@aol.com) from St. Louis MO
9 June 2008

I've been a fan of the 1985 Anne of Green Gables series, loving it as a child and watching it on PBS growing up, and reading the books. Recently I stumbled upon this gem, thanks to the internet.

The drawings are excellent, and one is not even bothered by the subtitles. The story is so faithful to the books that you get swept up with the story. My heart just about broke watching Anne so upset and heartbroken at the thought of leaving Green Gables. I just wanted to hug her so badly, and it's anime! I laughed, cried, smiled my way through this charming series, and highly recommend it to any Anne of Green Gables fan.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely amazing adaption of the novel.

Author: memoryofyourface from Vancouver, Canada
9 December 2003

I never realized that this animation was made in 1979. I watched this series, every single episode, when I was ten. And let me just say that this animated series is incredible. It captures every emotion the novel delivers, from Anne's first depth of despair to last bend around the corner. Anne's chatters, Marilla's scornful love, Matthew's unconditional love, the rivalry romance between Anne and Gilbert, they are all there. It does not miss out anything, and I do mean anything. It is truly a masterpiece. The characters are drew beautifully, especially Anne and Gilbert. And the sceneries are breathtaking. You would never imagine this was made in 1979 if you saw it for yourself. And the music. Oh, the music is also just incomparable. The music will be remembered for such a long time. This series is incomparable to Anne of Green Gables animation series that's being made these days. If you have access to this animation, give it a chance. Just one episode and you'll fall in love with it forever.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

the definitive film version of Anne of Green Gables

9/10
Author: (bumpy@lainschell.com) from Brooklyn, New York
18 May 2006

I tend to be against adapting books into movies, because you generally don't have time to be at all faithful to a book in such a short running time (the first couple of Harry Potter films were quite long because they wanted to hit so many plot points, but they still cut out all the character development). The popular Canadian miniseries from the '80s was a perfect example of this. It got a sense of the story across, but only just.

This is different. Fifty episodes are enough to do justice to a 38-chapter book. There's only one incident of any note that was cut, and several that were much fleshed out or added (plus one or two dull episodes that were mostly clips of earlier shows). You can be assured the creators really understand the characters and interpersonal dynamics of the story.

But is the story worth your while. You bet! A lot of folks link this series with Miyazaki, though he only worked on the first 15 episodes. More important were fellow Ghiblies Takahata and Kondo. But it FEELS like Miyazaki: strong, young, imaginative female lead steeped in the magic of Nature, learning to be loved by a grouchy but kindhearted elderly couple. All it needs is some flying machines!

It is worth digging on eBay for the possibly semi-legal region-free English subtitled DVDs. Don't mistake it for the recent Canadian animated series (which boggles the mind--surely it would've been cheaper to license and dub Akage no An!). This is, and surely always will be, the definitive film version of Anne of Green Gables. (You even get used to the "Konichiwa, Diana!")

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

You don't know what you're missing.

10/10
Author: Greens758758 from United States
29 July 2009

"Akage no an" is simply the best piece of 'book to film' adaptation you will ever encounter. No other movie or television show even compares to this enchanting masterpiece. Why this has never been properly released in the states is beyond comprehension, but a captioned box set can be found online at Japanese and anime DVD sites.

The exquisite animation and drawings are truly works of art, much better than the computer generated graphics of today. Each character and setting is drawn to perfection will all of LM Montgomery's small subtleties incorporated into picture.

Each episode is nearly a page by page account of the actual book and 99% of everything is here. Every character, every special moment, all the tragedy, comedy, romance, and relationships are played out just as Montgomery would have intended.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Truly Awesome Series

Author: SincerelyMichael
13 February 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This comment has a spoiler at the end.

Wow! I am so happy I found this on YouTube, it's just amazing. Akage no An captures the story of Anne of Green Gables perfectly. The characters in this Japanese series are really cute, and the landscapes are absolutely beautiful. I really like the theme song as well. It's really hard to believe this was made in the 70's, it feels so new.

I can't get over how well this series depicts Prince Edward Island. I've lived on the island all my life, and let me tell you, they have it all down pat down to the red roads. The only thing is, PEI is more treed than depicted in Akage no Ann. Sometimes the landscapes look almost prairie-ish. They even have the old train stations and houses all right! The patchwork of fields, clumps of trees, birch forests, winding streams, and rolling hills are all perfect. The show makes me want to take a vacation in my own province LOL

At first, when I watched the theme song I thought Anne was flying through Japanese cherry blossom trees, but when I looked again I saw that the blossoms were actually apple blossoms! That detail made me love the series even more. Because "sakura" blossoms are such a prominent symbol in Japan, it's only natural for it to be replaced for something very common, fragrant, and beautiful on PEI. In fact, there is an apple orchard on my property, and it is very beautiful in the spring.

My favourite part of the series so far is when Anne smashes the slate over Gilbert's head when he calls her "carrots" because of her braids. Working at a museum, I know that the reason there are so many Japanese tourists on PEI in the summer is all about Anne of Green Gables. I think the book is actually part of their grade 6 curriculum. Fitting, since Anne is 11 at the beginning of the book.

Overall I think the show is really cute and I recommend it to anyone who's read the Anne books or who lives in the Maritimes. (Just to see the landscape)

Happy 100th Anniversary, Anne! See you this summer!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful anime adaption of "Anne of Green Gables"

10/10
Author: chribren from Norway
29 September 2013

"Akage no An" is an 1979 anime adaption of Lucy Maud Montgomery's novel "Anne of Green Gables". This anime series was directed by Isao Takahata and produced by Nippon Animation, and consists of 50 episodes.

Basic plot: This anime focuses on Anne Shirley, an orphan girl who gets sent to Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. The problem is, Marilla and Matthew originally requested a boy to be the new member of the family, leading to one problem after another in the beginning...

I normally don't read books, but I have heard people telling about this anime being just so true to the book, compared to many other movie/series adaptions of the same novel. Having watched this series a few years ago, I can say this anime altogether is realistic made, dramatic, beautiful, and sometimes moving. I was even about to almost cry in at least one of the episodes. I could have go on telling you about scenes having been pretty well made, some of them including Anne's relationship with Gilbert Blythe and her great friendship with Diana.

As I have said earlier, I normally don't read books. But if you have read the book and wanna watch a good movie/series adaption, I highly recommend you find this animated series. Sadly, this anime doesn't seem to exist in Norway at all. Believe me, you won't regret one second of this.

It is also interesting to know that, not only the anime itself, but the novel it is based on is pretty much beloved in Japan.

Some of the other notable works from Isao Takahata to be mentioned include: "Horus: Prince of the Sun" (1968), "Only Yesterday" (1991) and "My Neighbors the Yamadas" (1999).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

my childhood movie

10/10
Author: esysss from Iran
21 November 2014

First I want to apologize for my language.English is not my main language so i know i'm not good at this but i love Anne so i write it for my heart so sorry for it . I spent my childhood by this movie I love it where we nice which movie describe their way of life and tell you the bolts it girl life name Anne. She's a nice girl and she have a hard time life she is spend her life her life hard. Then hair godmother send hello to college four educated and she find out most be in home. After all this story she married by a boy who hate it . end of story.... First I want to apologize for my language.English is not my main language so i know i'm not good at this but i love Anne so i write it for my heart so sorry for it . I spent my childhood by this movie I love it where we nice which movie describe their way of life and tell you the bolts it girl life name Anne. She's a nice girl and she have a hard time life she is spend her life her life hard. Then hair godmother send hello to college four educated and she find out most be in home. After all this story she married by a boy who hate it . end of story....

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history