IMDb > Foul Play (1978) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Foul Play
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Foul Play More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 86 reviews in total 

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

What a great film

Author: ( from bangor, wales
26 October 2003

I wish they would show this movie more.It doesn't get enough credit.I loved every minute of it. It has such a good storyline. The charecters were played really well.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

goldie's gem

Author: Andrew Hutchings from Calne, England
9 October 2003

No doubt in my mind that this is Goldie Hawn's best film. She does the dumb blonde thing brilliantly here and she has never looked better. The whole cast is good, although it is definitely very 70s in appearance, which is always a drawback!This is both funny and quite exciting. Very lighthearted and Hitchcockian, it moves along at a fast pace, and is always entertaining. The scenes with Dudley Moore and Goldie are absolutely brilliant and the villains are like those of Bond movies but adapted for screwball comedies. I don't quite know why I like this film so much. Perhaps it's because it's not available on DVD, and things always seem better when you can't have them. For any fans of Goldie out there, this is definitely the film to see, and, if it were available, to own. Can someone please release this on DVD?! For all aspiring dumb blondes, just watch Goldie's gem of a performance. And did I mention that she has never looked better....nor, possibly, has anyone else...ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Ready to take a chance?

Author: Tom Bixby from Whohahhhhhhhhhh
24 July 2003

I love Foul Play because as it is a brilliant little Comedy Mystery Adventure that uses every availible elemnts to make itself work. The casting is spot on. As the female lead we have the never sexier bubblier or cookier Goldie Hawn as our heroine. There is just something about Hawn that we are able to project ourselves into her bumbling predicaments. Hawn is at a carrer high ponit with this film wich is one of her finest. There is also Chevy Chase as the dorky inevitable love interest who works so fantastic with Hawn and the two make a fantastic double act. On the support front there is also the ever green ever reliable and loveable Burgess Meredith, fresh from success with Rocky under his belt, and Brian Denehey who shows up as a kind of Cheif Wiggum from the Simpsons Police officer.

The best of the support players is Dudley Moore. Moore plays Stanley Tibbetts, an accident sittuation prone English Orchestra conducter living in San Francisco. Dudley's chemistry with Goldie is so rich that he very nearly acts Goldie off the screen. The movies funniest moments involve Dudley as sex mad Stanley. The first being were Goldie asks him to take her home. Mistaking this as a once in a life time call for a one night stand, Stanley dances around in his under wear to the strains of the BeeGees Staying Alive, sex toys at the ready and blow up dolls in mid flight and Porno films in mid climax - all while Goldie isn't watching. You can imagine her shock and horror when she turns around! Goldie later encounters Dudley at a massage parlour, much to his anxiety. This role is very typical of the confidence in Dudley Moore at the time (1978), and he is as every bit as good in this small part as he was in the likes of 10 and Arthur and very worthy of his Golden Globe for best newcomer.

Foul Play is an affectionate send up of Murder mysteries and crime capers and as an adventure comedy movie it has every thing. Car chases, albino eyed villains, intrigue a great musical score and lavish direction from writer director Colin Higgins.

A Must see 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable Comedy. Goldie Hawn and Chevy Chase at their best.

Author: pachin
21 March 2003

I have always had a soft spot in my heart for Foul Play. It was Chevy Chase's first movie and in my opinion, to this day, his best. Goldie Hawn and Chevy Chase have a wonderful chemistry today. The movie has a wonderful blend of comedy and mystery. Side note, Farrah Fawcett originally was offered the Goldie Hawn role.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It has it all.

Author: Hans-Peter Hindelid from Vaxjo, Sweden.
23 July 2002

I must say that Foul Play is a masterpiece in my mind. It is a true laughteaser which includes a well balanced story and also plenty of distance towards both the tough guys and the helpless Gloria Mundy (Goldie Hawn)to make it credible as a comedy. It holds all the typical gestures and bodylanguage that reveals the characters personality in a funny way thanks to director Colin Higgins. The carrace through San Francisco in that black limousine is a classic scene in film history. I remember on a flight between New York and Copenhagen in 1979. I was trying to get a nap without success because my neighbour passenger was laughing so hysterically. When I was trying in my microsleep to see what made him so loud I saw this Chinese couple laughing their heads off in the backseat of a car. First one year later I decided to go and see Foul Play in order to investigate if the movie was so funny after all.

Last night I saw it for the fifth time and I must say: It's still worth paying for.

HP Hindelid, Sweden.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:


Author: juliegi from U.S.A.
22 March 2002

A truly funny film with lots of action and romance as well. I can watch this film over and over and never tire of it. True, it does have a seventies' feel, but the way everything works together is amazing and funny. Enjoy it!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of Goldie Hawn's best.

Author: callaspadeaspade
25 September 2001

I love this movie for Goldie Hawn when she was cute, Chevy Chase when he was charming and witty, and Dudley Moore when he was just down right funny. I wish Chevy had more to do in this, but luckily he would do Fletch later. When ever I want to see Goldie at her best I put this in.

Yes, it seems to be a little "paint by the numbers", but as of 1978, how many times had those numbers really been painted? And the energy of the entire cast keeps the movie moving and highly entertaining even if it's a little predictable. I also like the way that the '70's mind-set is purely captured in this film. The way drugs were more casual, some woman were so obsessed with being raped, and the hair and clothing styles. It's dated, but it's really fun to go back and visit that time.

So, if you're in the mood for funny and don't mind going back a little ways to get it, this movie should satisfy.

***1/2 out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Thankfully this is now on DVD, but where are the extras???

Author: weho90069 from United States
12 February 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Foul Play" is an all time fave of mine. Goldie Hawn was cute as a button, Chevy Chase underplays the comedy beautifully in one of his best roles ever, and the rest of the cast is fantastic from beginning to end. Add to that all the plot twists and turns, not to mention a knock-out spectacular rollicking hi-speed car ride through maddeningly hilly San Francisco and you've got an involving, tongue-in-cheek spy caper. Hawn has all sorts of wacky things happen to her like albino gangsters chasing her, people turning up dead beside her in movie theaters, and various Hitchcockian moments when she stabs a hit man with knitting needles -- all played light and comedic. In fact, this film comes across clearly as fanciful homage to the Grand Master of Suspense himself, Hitchcock. Lots of great set pieces like Hawn mistaking little person actor Billy Barty for the dreaded "Dwarf" who is chasing her down to recover some incriminating evidence; Goldie shoves the poor little guy out the window of her second story Victorian apartment and swats him down with a broom. Turns out he's a bible salesman! In another terrific scene, she imposes on Dudley Moore in a singles bar for help, and he mistakenly believes Goldie is hitting on him -- he takes her back to his passion pit apartment (complete with disco ball, closet full of sexual paraphernalia, quadraphonic sound system, dirty movie projector, and exotically furnished Murphy bed) only to embarrass himself when Goldie catches on to his attempts to seduce her. It's a gas! There's never a dull moment, and everyone appears to be having a blast. This is a feel-good movie if ever there was one; despite the cloying strains of Barry Manilow's various hits like "Ready to Take a Chance Again," Truly, the music appears appropriate for what is obviously a dated flavor about this film (made in 1978). IMPORTANT: Leonard Maltin is frequently OFF BASE with his reviews, and this is one very good case in point. He gives the film only two and a half stars (it deserves at least three), and and whines "protracted story, tasteless comedy, and Hitchcock plagiarism detract." Not At ALL!!! Every twist and turn of the plot is a delight with chuckles to spare; the comedy is far from tasteless, especially when compared to today's fare; and he obviously confuses Hitchcockian "plagiarism" with the kind of imitation that is the Finest Form Of Flattery. Hitch would have had some great belly-laughs from "Foul Play", and so will you! Alas, the DVD contains no extras like commentary, but it's nice to finally have the movie on DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pure Class. THE BEST FILM EVER - Why is this not on DVD???

Author: murray-24 (
7 October 2002

Why this wonder film is not on DVD yet I'll never know. Its probably the most under-rated film ever! Foul Play combinines genre's of Comedy, Romance and Thriller. There are many things that you may not get away with today included, which only adds to its quality. You get a classic array of villans. The "Albino", the "Dwarf", the Archbishops twin brother, Scarface!!...

In this and Silver Streak (Gene Wilder/Richard Pryor) Colin Higgins has 2 masterpieces! Why are both not out on DVD, its criminal!!

This one of Chase's first (if not the first?) of his feature films. Goldie Hawn (Gloria Mundy)is in great form, and the late Dudley Moore (Stanley Tibbets) adds some sly comic wit. But the combo of Chase and Hawn is superb! As also in the (not quite as great) 1980 film Seems Like Old Times. Unfortunately not a sequel (despite the title!)

This simply is a must see. Fans of both Silver Streak and Fletch will like this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

a follow up to SILVER STREAK an unusual film ...

Author: ROOK TAMURA (Literaryshootist)
31 March 2002

COLIN HIGGINS did a follow up to his 1976 screenplay SILVER STREAK. Both films exude quality in the sense that as comedys they also have moments of seriousness. One of the strengths of these films is when a person dies it is never done for laughs. FOUL PLAY weaves a tale of murder, sex humor, and pope imposterism. The tale revolves around a bumbling police detective who must assist a witness to a crime. In the process of the investigation they stumble onto a criminal plot that goes deeper. FOUL PLAY was comedy as well as a serious crime drama. the comedy of this film was different from many of the daffy offerings of today. I suppose both Higgins 1976 film and this one bear a realtion to comedy and drama as they do to violence. (perhaps that is unwise of me to write this) I enjoy this film as it comes from a era when movies (of this type) moved slower than they do today and much thought went into every aspect of them apparently. (today this is no exception, yet, these films look different) A great comedy, fans of FLETCH will enjoy this film yet, it is slightly on a different par as CADDYSHACK as it is part drama.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 4 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history