Every Which Way But Loose (1978) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
cultural classic
bustercolon23 November 2003
Right turn Clyde. A man, a monkey, some hells angels wannabee's and some dude named Orville. What more could you want? Throw in some bare knuckle action of Clint breaking everyones face loose and its a classic. This is without a doubt one of the all time late night classics. The story, (its fluff), revolves around blue collar tough guy Filo Beddo and his buddies. One of which is Clyde, an orangatan and Orville, a greasey tow tuck driver. Which is worse is up to you. The gang gets into some bare knuckle boxing fights for cash and heads out on the road. Running into trouble with a hilarious wannabe biker gang and ending up with a showdown between Tank Murdock and Philo for some sort of tough guy championship. The movie is dated, has some cheasy music, (at least its not disco) lots of fight scenes, some great running gags at bikers, cops, rhinestone cowboys, and generally anyone clint doesnt like, but its very enjoyable and definitely worth a trip to blockbuster.
31 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Incredibly underrated
Stu-427 January 2000
I know what you're thinking- I'm such a huge Eastwood fan so my opinion isn't that significant. Honestly though, this has got to be one of the most underrated movies of all time. I laughed harder and had a better time watching this movie than just about any "comedy" I can think of. Clint did an excellent job in a different role for him as a guy who isn't so clever and great with the ladies. His best friend Clyde turned in an awesome performance as well. I also loved Geoffrey Lewis and the gorgeous Beverly D'Angelo and Ruth Gordon does a typically great act as the tough old lady. I agree with an earlier writer with respect to the one negative here- Sondra Locke's acting and singing. The only justification is that in the movie her character is just as bad. I have to believe that even people that aren't major Clint Eastwood fans would still like this one. Big fans should love it.
39 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Tons of fun from start to finish
vileone316-128 February 2006
I'm currently taking a Clint Eastwood course at UT Austin, and we recently watched this movie.

And its a bit confusing. I'm not sure what to make of this fun, wacky, and somewhat random movie. Eastwood himself seems to strive and always aims for ambiguity in his work. And it shows here.

There were a lot of dumb ass critics in the 60's and 70's that liked to bash Eastwood and used the popular buzzword of fascist and labeled him as such. So in response, Eastwood was very particular about what he did afterward and would do things that contradict (in the eyes of critics) his previous work or characters. This of course confused critics and ultimately forced them to look at his work again and see that they were being dumb ass idiots and were just going along with the popular liberal clap trap at the time.

So we have this movie, in which Eastwood is this hillbilly mechanic and competent street fighter and his adventures with his orangutan (not a monkey Afsheen, they have 12 ribs like us). And its this almost really weird PG comedy. It has these sort of random plots and events that are kind of incorporated into the story and well, not really sure how I can best put it into words, but its just fun. It shows that Eastwood can do this wacky road, comedy.

But it has some surprisingly dramatic moments as well. The audience is well aware of the Sandra Locke's characters true intentions before Eastwood's Philo. And when he does figure it out, its pretty brutal. And I really bought into that emotional confrontation and Philo's reaction. And then Eastwood throws a fight, and in some ways its bleak. But in other ways it isn't. Philo I think found a little bit about himself and learned who his true friends are, people like Clyde and Orville, and Orville's girl Echo(a young Beverly D'Angelo).

The character of Tank Murdoch I believe is meant as an allegory to Clint Eastwood and his celebrity status, his celebrity and his star persona. Philo wants to challenge Murdoch and beat him. Murdoch is a guy who everyone knows and has this huge reputation. And then Philo sees Murdoch who's really pretty sad. His friends turn on him and aren't real friends, and he realizes he doesn't want to be Tank Murdoch. And he doesn't want other people gunning for him. So at the end of the movie, it almost feels like it was Eastwood REJECTING his own star persona and choosing to stay in obscurity with his friends. Makes me wonder how Eastwood truly feels about his celebrity status.

Jeffrey "The Vile One" Harris
34 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Almost a plotless movie.
Aaron137526 March 2003
But I like it anyway. This one follows a kind of a street fighter played by Clint Eastwood as he tries to find this gal he had a fling with. Accompanying him is his pal and his pet orangutan. There is a plot to some extent, but this movie really just kind of goes from here to there. My favorites are the bad biker gang the Black Widows who constantly get the crap kicked out of them by whoever they fight. There are other very funny scenes as Ruth Gordon is also great in this one. This was in the time where Sandra Locke was in every Clint Eastwood movie and she is in this one too. That had to be a case of someone who got roles more because who she was dating. This one goes from place to place and fight to fight and there is no great super ending, but a nice simple one instead. All in all a nice, fun, comedy to watch.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
In Eastwood's top films!
John J Chapman12 March 2006
This is my childhood film of which I have seen hundreds of times. Although originally Clint Eastwood was told by many friends and co-workers not to play a part in this film, it turned out a success due to its down to earth humour and a well selected cast. Watch this film to see a different approach to Clint Eastwood's work, as he lives a relaxed and happy life with his ape 'Clyde'.

The sequel to this film is just as good as the first one, with new characters and well supported music that suits the period as well as the film. They have finally released both films on DVD in England and is worth the investment for a classic collection.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Rollickingly funny comedy with Clint
george.schmidt27 December 2005
EVERY WHICH WAY BUT LOOSE (1978) *** Clint Eastwood, Sondra Locke,RuthGordon, Geoffrey Lewis, Beverly D' Angelo. Rollickingly funny comedy with Clint as tough-guy Philo Beddoe and his best friend, Clyde the scene- stealing orangutan and Gordon stealing scenes from both as Philo's feisty ma. Plot is simple: Philo has fallen in love with country/western songstress Locke and entails some adventures in his pursuit. Lewis lends some able, amiable support as Philo's best bud and fellow beer drinking good ol' boy. Fine jukebox offering of C&W and filmed on location in sunny Bakersfield, California.

Redneck humor was never this pugnacious!
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Clint And Clyde
bkoganbing2 January 2009
In Every Which Way But Loose, Clint Eastwood not only shares the screen with lady love Sondra Locke, but with an orangutan named Clyde. He had to call on all his skills to keep the film from being stolen by an ape.

This and its sequel Every Which Way You Can will never be at the top of Clint's cinema achievements, but it's a nice rollicking comedy about a bare knuckle fighter. If it were set in today's times instead of the Seventies, Eastwood's Philo Beddoe would be on the extreme fighting channel.

Seeing Clint's living quarters reminded me of John Wayne's similar arrangements in True Grit with Chin Lee and General Sterling Price the cat. Clyde's quite a bit more the handful than a cat. He lives with Geoffrey Lewis who is his second and corner man in the bare knuckle fighting business and handles all the wagers and Lewis's mother a 'helpless' little old lady with a shotgun, deliciously played by Ruth Gordon.

Making his living as a bare knuckle fighter, Clint just seems to run into people determined to take him down. That includes an involvement with aspiring country singer Sondra Locke whom he spends a good deal of money on and who then takes a powder on him. She's heading east so Clint, Lewis, and Clyde are as well. Along the way they pick up sharp shooting Beverly D'Angelo who saves them on one occasion.

The legendary bare knuckle champion is Denver Tank Murdoch and as that 20th century philosopher Ric Flair opined, to be the best you have to beat the best. So Clint is heading to Denver to find both Locke and Walter Barnes who plays Tank Murdoch with his three amigos.

He also manages to arouse the anger of John McQuade and his Black Widow Biker gang. These people are the sorriest biker gang ever depicted on the big screen. Everyone and I mean EVERYONE manages to best this crowd of losers. But they never give up.

Best in the film are Ruth Gordon and Clyde, not necessarily in that order. I've often thought that the Academy Awards should have a best animal performance in a given year. That year the Oscar gold would have been taken by the orangutan. I wish the film had elaborated a little more on when Eastwood and Lewis break into a zoo to get Clyde's male needs satisfied.

For a lighter and brighter side of Clint Eastwood, don't miss Every Which Way But Loose.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sounds like something Burt Reynolds would be in!!
coverme69 June 2000
Clint Eastwood finally shows a funny, soft side to his macho persona in this humorous action/comedy about a good-hearted brawler who adopts a sneaky orangutan named Clyde and they embark in a funny journey for reasons God only knows why. With the gritty brawl scenes and the constant redneck humor, this would make the viewer wonder why did old Dirty Harry himself would be in a movie like this? It looks like something from the weird minds of Burt Reynolds and Hal Ne
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
great family film
ben-bayram28 March 2006
a truly classic film , which shows Clint in a different light and can truly act. very enjoyable family film, despite the fact that it is now 28 years old , the kids loved it. another generation now enjoying this funny film with the ape Clyde stealing most scenes. the fight scenes are very well choreographed, the film is fast moving and keeps you interested to see what happens.The film is highly recommended for family viewing , especially on a weekend. the music and songs will stick in your mind, especially the title song every which way but loose, which really goes hand in hand with the film and truly complements it. one definitely to watch.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
American Knuckle Sandwich
dunmore_ego20 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
A street fighter. A love story. An ape.

Disguised as a simplistic road story, *Every Which Way But Loose* is a paean to freedom; freedom from the strictures of routine, freedom to settle disputes like a man (If the problem can't be fixed with a fist or a monkey wrench, it ain't worth fixin'), freedom to fight for your ideals (even if those ideals hurt the other guy's chin repeatedly), freedom to choose love – or lust – as your Saturday Night Thing, and freedom to have interspecies BFF's.

Written by first-timer, Jeremy Joe Kronsberg, and directed by James Fargo (assistant director on five previous Eastwood movies), *Every Which Way* became Clint Eastwood's biggest hit at the time of its release.

Musta been that freedom thingy.

Clint is Philo Beddoe, a San Fernando Valley good ole boy and hammer-fisted, bare-knuckle street fighter, whose best friend is a gregarious, lovable ape, Clyde (a quirky orang-utan named Manis, long since dead at the time of this writing). Providing a uniquely bizarre buddy presence, Clyde steals the show. Though totally replaceable as a plot element, he becomes irreplaceable as a star in his own right.

*Every Which Way But Loose* finds Clint at a perfect fit 48 - not too old to appear frail and not too young to appear green - spending much of his time in Shirtless Kirk mode in illegal street fights that pad his trucker income. Falling hard for Lynn Halsey-Taylor (skeletal Sondra Locke, playing a country singer even though she can't sing worth a damn – yes, unfortunately that's her voice on the soundtrack), Philo traverses the American heartland with his pal, Orville (Geoffrey Lewis), to woo her, whilst moronic cops and imbecilic bikers tail him tailing her, both groups on a vendetta against Philo (for their chins repeatedly impacting his fist).

Populated with Eastwood regulars (John Quade, Dan Vadis, Bill McKinney, William O'Connell – "Thems black widdas!" - and a very young, very sexy, Beverly D'Angelo), *Every Which Way* is that type of homespun movie where a character can step up to a bar and order "a beer" – and get one!; where a barroom brawl breaks out and everyone starts fighting - for no reason and with the person they were sitting next to; this motley concoction of characters and contrivance could have slipped out of control very easily, instead exhibiting an easy grace that its star has become renowned for, and standing defiantly on its inspired silliness.

There is a throwaway scene where Ma (rocket-fueled Ruth Gordon) chastises Philo for Clyde's misbehavior, whereupon Philo approaches Clyde and points an imaginary gun at him. Clyde puts his hands up, Philo exclaims, "Bang!" and Clyde suddenly falls back flat on the tires. Funny and cute on the surface, only Clint aficionados will see the satire, as Clint assumes the relaxed lean of one of his avenger characters and - in a film where he never wields a gun – uses a pretend-gun to fire the punchline. (*Every Which Way* followed three movies where Clint's gunhand got a heavy workout - as Dirty Harry in *The Enforcer*, 1976, *The Outlaw Josey Wales*, 1976, and a film where more than a million rounds were expended trying to mow down his Ben Shockley in *The Gauntlet*, 1977.) Eternally unassuming about his "living legend" status, Clint is more inclined to crack a bemused, embarrassed smile over the effusiveness afforded him at awards ceremonies, rather than transform into Hollywood Ass. Willing to parody his own legendary characters, during a confrontation with the bike gang - the imperiously impotent Black Widows - we hear a snatch of the *Good, the Bad and the Ugly* theme.

The country music soundtrack is surprisingly fitting and uncharacteristically enjoyable, especially the nostalgic, poignant title track, sung by Eddie Rabbitt. To make nominal sense of the grammatically incorrect title, simply preface three words of the song lyrics: "You turn me every which way but loose…" Though the movie is played for laughs aplenty, it is a Queen song disguised as a Hansen song, ending on a very dark note – while the crooked cops and incompetent bike gang draw our attention as villains, it becomes apparent in the final scenes that the vilest villain is the woman who turned Philo every which way – Lynn Halsey-Taylor. There is no formulaic reconciliation with Philo, as Lynn maintains her stance as an unrepentant philanderer and turns her back on him. Philo then loses the film's final fight, for mercenary reasons. We don't often see these "types" on screen; like the incestuous family in *Chinatown*, these characters are socially-shunned "types" that slap us awake to the possibility of conclusions besides Hollywood pap.

I just hope that when I'm 48, I'll look as good as the shirtless Clint.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Every Which Way But Loose
Coxer9926 April 1999
Eastwood steps back from his macho action star image as he has a little fun in this first of two films (Any Which Way You Can is the other)that team the star up with an orangutan named "Clyde." It's not Hope and Crosby, but it is a fun pairing. The film doesn't take itself too seriously. It's having too much to do something silly like that.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loose, But Every Which Way?
Dalbert Pringle21 July 2013
*Possible Spoilers!*

This quasi-cute, off-beat comedy would be Clint Eastwood's first departure from Spaghetti-Westerns and Dirty Harry roles.

When it comes to the likes of Every Which Way But Loose (EWWBL), Eastwood's financial backers strongly advised him to steer away from this production for the sake of preserving his well-established movie-image. The squinty-eyed Eastwood, being the rebel that he was, naturally refused to take their unsound (?) advice and went ahead and produced this so-so modern-day cowboy movie, with mixed results.

Eastwood plays rugged character Philo Beddoe, a trucker and a brawler (with a definite soft-spot), searching, like an utter fool, for (of all things) lost love.

The ever-stubborn Philo drags along his pal, Orville, and Orville's pet orangutan, Clyde (for comedy relief), as he roams somewhat aimlessly around the American West, from California to Colorado.

As is typical in a comedy flick such as this - Philo, a brazen, bare-knuckle fighter, never-ever fails to cross everyone, everywhere he goes. Naturally, Philo manages to p-i-s-s the police right off, to the extreme. And he even ends up being angrily pursued by a biker gang called The Black Widows, who chase him in a ridiculous fit of tire-screeching revenge.

EWWBL's biggest disappointment is Philo's lost love - now found, who goes by the name of Lynn Halsey-Taylor. Philo spent so much time searching for this broad and all she ended up being was nothing but a little, trailer-trash, Country'n'Western singer who warbles away to all of the "deaf-anyways" drunks in sleazy, low-life Honky-Tonks.

It's too bad that Clyde, the orangutan, didn't get more camera-time in EWWBL. He was really about the only interesting character in the entire flick that was at all worth watching.

If you're a true Clint Eastwood fan, then you're sure to enjoy this mildly amusing flick from 1978.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This film was everything it was supposed to be!
People are writing things about this film like it was intended to win the academy award. Clint Eastwood has made several light hearted films about different things in his career that are supposed to make you laugh and they do. This film is both funny and entertaining. I just love when people act like they are the only ones whose opinion really counts when films like this make back 3-6 times their budget at the box office. They act like the entire world is not smart enough to decide what they like and don't like. They say things like `Inflated ticket prices' make the difference. Don't these people know that all things are relevant? If you look at dollar in and dollar out you can tell what is a success and what is not. One of the most successful films of all time is `Billy Jack' and if it sold the same amount of tickets today that is sold when it was released it would have made as much as `Titanic' or `Spiderman'. But dollar for dollar it still was a success. I have worked in the movie industry for 25 years now and don't like films being negatively criticized by people who don't know anything about film making and have obviously never made one. The trailer and poster does not in any way deceive the public as far as what the subject matter is and if you like what the film is about you will not be disappointed. `Bottom Line'!
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Poorly executed, unfunny crash of a movie
tomimt9 July 2005
Beer, country, fighting, Eastwood and a monkey, or is that an orangutan? Sounds great, eh? Well no. I don't know what they were smoking back then when they came up with the idea: Hey, Eastwood could do a movie where he's fist fighting truck driver and his best fried is an orangutan.

Well, okay, let's give this movie a benefit of a doubt, I liked it when I was a wee tiny lad, under ten or so. That was enough for me back then. Thought I don't recall laughing very hard when I watched this flick, but I did like it. But then I saw it again. And I was amazed. And not in the good way.

Okay, Philo (Eastwood in very poorly chosen role) is a truck driver, who makes money on the side by fist fighting. His two friends are an ape and Orville (Geoffrey Lewis). Philo fells head over heels for this purty little country singer named Lynn (Sondra Locke) who then disappears. Off to find the lost love. Then there's a mixed bunch of Nazi motorcyclist and some cops after Philo and co. The whole movie turns out as a headless run with no sense what so ever.

Every Which Way But Loose actually does have some good elements in it, it has the potential of a entertaining movie, but now it's barely even funny. Sure, it does cause couple of loose smiles but it hardly makes you laugh. And even the action scenes are relatively badly made, so even they wont be enough to keep up the interest.

Final judgment: If you really want to see Clint Eastewood in a bad flick this might be the one to start with. Sure he has some worse films under his belt, but this one is pretty close.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What Were They Thinking????????
hokeybutt23 June 2004
My reaction to this movie is the same as it was when i first saw it at the drive-in when it was first released: what in the name of all that's holy were they thinking when they made this thing??? I'm all for Clint Eastwood doing something different from his usual cowboy and cop movies... but why this? Why a stupid and barely funny "comedy" about a bare-knuckle brawler and his orangutan pal? And what's even more incredible is that this movie was a huge HIT when it came out... even spawning a SEQUEL!?? This is one of the most mind-stretching movie puzzles I have ever come across... how can so many people love a movie that is so freaking bad??? I mean, not only are the jokes lame and the dialogue ridiculous... the plot never seems to fully develop into anything... nothing is really resolved when it's over... the movie just *stops*. Nope, I just don't get it.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The most Under rated movie on here that I have seen
katy-247-15811327 December 2011
In the day when a movie had a lot to offer. I watched this movie today because it had been 25 years since I last saw it. What a wonderfully refreshing movie. Lots of action, tons of comedy, nice old vehicles, great fighting. Not Clints over all best but surely worth watching. Very light hearted story lines, but still very interesting all the way through. Clint has played a lot of westerns being tough with a pistol, but he has swapped his pistol out for fist fights, and oh boy is he tough. This movie blows away any movie on here with as low rating as it has. The most under rated one I have seen, and I know most are over rated. The whole movie concept was different in 1978, and ones like this were at the top of the list back then, because of people like me totally enjoying everything about this movie. A must see movie as far as I am concerned.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Why wasn't this awarded with multiple Oscars?
POGO (PogoNeo)3 August 2016
It is just unexplainable, why the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences did not award this film with Oscars for (at least) best direction, best screenplay and for the best actor

Because Manis The Orangutan did an extraordinary job in first writing down the script on a typewriter with a stick bearing a turd. And then he took the biding of a director, randomly grinding and farting on the set and thus apparently giving the "action!" signal to the crew. And also at the same time Manis delivered acting performance almost as good as Clint Eastwood did. Because do not be fooled by the official credits: as there is just no way, that this movie was written or directed by even the stupidest homo sapiens. Both tasks had to be done by Manis The Orangutan; or some other ape throwing cinematic feces at the viewers

In other words: if you are amid fan of metabolic waste of the film industry- then this picture will suit your exquisite taste
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What was Clint thinking?
FelixtheCat18 May 2000
Clint Eastwood stars in this incredibly dumb comedy that was successful enough to spawn the sequel, "Any Which Way You Can." Clint plays a bareknuckle boxer who takes care of his pet orangutan, Clyde, played by Manis. Clint falls for a country singer, Sondra Locke, who disappears after he has given her a large sum of money. He goes on a cross-country search to find her. It seems that wherever he goes, trouble is sure to follow, in the persons of a hick cop and his partner, and a "wannabe" gang of bikers. That is about the extent of the plot offered in this fiasco. The highlights come in the form of Clint's primate pal, and in the many bareknuckle boxing fights that our hero participates in. Ruth Gordon peps things up a bit as Ma, but her schtick gets old as well. The title tune became Eddie Rabbitt's first crossover Top 40 hit, peaking at number 30.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A film that's still hilarious, never boring, and much better than its initial reputation...
GrigoryGirl16 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
When this film was made, it was reviled (and I mean REVILED) by the critics of the day. How dare Clint Eastwood make a comedy! Yet, it was Clint's biggest box office success up to that time (and still might be). I saw it when it was out at the theater, and years later, not only does it hold up, but it's light years better, more realistic (honestly), and intelligent than most modern comedies combined.

This film was originally meant for Burt Reyonlds, but Clint liked it a lot and decided to do it, despite having his manager and just about everyone he was friends with tell him not to do it. Eastwood said he was drawn to the movie because it didn't have a conventionally happy ending. He doesn't get the girl, and ends up broke with the ape. I saw this when I was really young, and having watched too many sitcoms (like most Americans), I was sad when the film had an ending like this. I didn't expect it. There was a line in which Clint's character, Philo, says to Sondra Locke (who plays a hustling country singer) "I was hoping to go beyond your bedroom". If this film were made today, it would have a Jerry Springer like condescension towards the working classes (with an incest subplot, a grandma with no teeth, and the obligatory Deliverance references). This film is still funny and entertaining, even though the ape, Clyde, really doesn't fit in all the time. If they lost the ape, the film would still be good.

The film is also consistently funny. There are no real story lulls in it. And it was made in a time when people weren't so uptight and politiclaly correct. One of the early scenes has Clint in a bar and he talks to a girl, who gives a ton of lip and smug condescension. He asks her "what are you mad at?" with all sincerity. Clint was hitting on a PC chick years before political correctness came about. We have become much too uptight and rigidly humourless. Even the comedies nowadays aren't particularly funny. They're usually gross, smug, and childish, without any real trace of wit. A shame, but then, we have this film we can go back to.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
No Nonsense
helfeleather14 November 2002
I love Clint in this. He doesn't pretend to moralise. He just likes punching guys as hard and as many times as he can. He knows he's good at it, and he knows the women love him for it.

There are a few too many villains. We could have done without the stupid bikies. The real villain, of course, is the country music singer. Nice touch, that.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Loose" is the only way to turn this stinker
Brian W. Fairbanks23 October 2003
Having watched his buddy and competitor Burt Reynolds enjoy such terrific success with all those Deep South car crash movies, particularly "Smokey and the Bandit" (the "Citizen Kane" of the genre) jazz fan Clint Eastwood went country, too, in this wretched mess of a movie.

When released at Christmas 1978, this turkey didn't appear to have any stuffing, but when it emerged as the second biggest hit of the season (after "Superman") and Eastwood's biggest ever box-office hit (a status it continues to enjoy when inflation is taken into account), it was apparent that some folks don't require things like a plot, competent acting, or even a hint of professionalism in a movie and will line up at the multiplex, plop down their money and be "entertained." It's amazing that Eastwood's reputation, not nearly as glowing in 78 as it is today, survived the onslaught of bad reviews that justifiably followed the release of this film and its 1980 sequel. Did Ruth Gorden's presence redeem it? Not in my eyes. Loose is the only way to turn this stinker.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Eastwoods desire to laugh it up
Robert W.12 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Every Which Way But Loose seems like it had some history behind it. Eastwood jumped at the script despite the fact that they originally wanted his pal Burt Reynolds to do it, everyone tried to talk him out of it because at the time it was a far stretch from Eastwood's violent, dark, gloomy screen image and further more when all was said and done previewers said the film would tank but it didn't because it's fun. It was made to be fun, just a romp, a good time and heartfelt and all in all it's not that far of a stretch from Eastwood's image because he still kicks some major butt and shows a softer side for sure.

Clint Eastwood plays Philo Beddoe, a fun loving, crazy guy who happens to have a knack and love for street brawling. Along with his best friend/manager Orville Boggs they take in a good amount on bets including Beddoe's win of a rather large, sarcastic, trouble making Oranguatang named Clyde. Despite popular assumption the film really isn't about Clyde and Beddoe but more just about Beddoe and his cross country trip to find the woman of his dreams while being chased down by some folks he made rather angry...two off duty policeman, and a squad of Motorcycle gang members. Eastwood is good in his role because not only is he his typical tough guy, big screen icon but he has a softness to him, he's having a good time and it just makes it fun. Although you're kind of waiting for him to lose it and pull out a magnum on everyone. Veteran character actor Geoffrey Lewis plays Orville Boggs. He's certainly not as tough as Eastwood and yet they make a great team. Hilariously funny, stealing the show is foul mouth Ma Boggs played by Ruth Gordon. She only has a few scenes but it's downright hilarious. And then of course there is Clyde played by Manis. Manis does what you would expect a decent ape to do to make everyone smile. He certainly has some of the laugh out loud moments but he never steals the show the way you might expect. He's just another part of the whole crew. Sondra Locke plays Eastwood's love interest who he travels cross country to find. She's self centered and seemingly determined to outrun Eastwood and I think he could have done better but he was hooked on her. Beverly D'Angelo plays a small role as Echo, Orville's girl who he picks up from a vegetable stand. They make a cute couple and she has some great scenes.

The fight scenes are plenty, the country music is overwhelming and at the time probably a great soundtrack. It's a country film and the quint essential fist fight, street brawl movie. Eastwood is unstoppable and most of the comedy comes from watching him make fools of his rather foolish enemies along with his buddies. It's an adventure comedy that is worth seeing. It's not depthy, or important, or a real slam bang comedy...it's just fun...and that's why everyone loved it and why it's an Eastwood classic. 7/10
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Eastwood in the biggest mistake of his career!
emm15 May 1999
If there had to be one way to go for Clint Eastwood, it's down. Way down! You wouldn't want to see an all-time action film legend star in a cornball comedy that delivers plenty of bad taste. John Wayne probably went through the same situation, too. No wonder why this one did some outstanding business at the time of its release. A hefty abundance of C&W music meant that the culture was into a growing popularity by the late 70s, which brought in more country cornpone to the theater screens. It appeared that we wanted to see Clint do a comedy, but he sure wasn't the right man for the job. So what happened to the script? Our man Clint is in love with the Palomino country singer Sondra Locke (he was with her in several more of his Malpaso productions). That's the whole story, and it all goes every which way but loose until there's a big knot where the entire movie itself becomes nothing more but senseless junk. The orangutan made the perfect pairing for the guy who carries a .44 Magnum.....what an embarrassment! And then there was a sequel! Clint, how can we ever forgive you?
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Horribly Under-rated Eastwood comedy classic <3
oprlvr3311 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Eaztwood's fist-fighting, bare-knuckled Philo Beddoe does not disappoint, in this 1978 comedy classic.

Most of the supportive cast also does not disappoint. Once again, Eastwood casts former costars from his classic Westerns, in the supportive roles; most notably, the late-John Quade, as the biker-gang leader.

Sondra Locke, who quickly became "Clint's leading lady", out of respect to their former off-screen Relationship, is mediocre at best, here, as man-hustling, con-artist, country-singer wannabe, Lynne Halsey-Taylor. Most of her delivery falls flat; perhaps due her nervousness in working so closely and intimately with Clint; this being their second film together. The early critics slammed her as flaky and flat, when LHT is supposed to be a vixenish vamp. Perhaps it was because Clint allowed Sondra too much creative leeway. But alas.. one cannot turn back the clock and fix things. Thank goodness Locke's delivery in the sequel Any Which Way You Can redeemed her.

At this film's original premiere, some critics grazed Clint for steering away from his classic Westerns personae to do a little comedy for a change. Well that direction paid off; thought admittedly I am dearly surprised this under-rated film's overall average is 6.5. Eastwood is as epic as Coca-Cola and Taco Bell. And he is one of those genuinely versatile stars who built a career on Perfection. To-date, he has seldom disappointed.

The biker-gang; mostly composed of repeat co-stars, is deadpan hilarious. Headed by scruffy character-actor John Quade, traditionally, bikers are younger serious muscle-head guys with chicks riding piggyback. However, here, we get a bunch of middle-aged bungling doofus' who routinely get their butts kicked, in spite bearing Black Widow tattoos on their arms.

Geoffrey Lewis; lifetime friend and co-star of Eastwood, is deliciously delightful, and goofball, as Philo's brother and fight-manager, Orville; comically turning his hat backwards before Philo enters a fist-fight. What fan and Fem cannot resist his signature blue eyes and sexy shoulders?

The real stars and scene-stealers in this film, however - are frothy 'Ma' (Ruth Gordon) who can't seem to pass her senior's driver's test, then goes Annie Oakley on the biker gang. And Clyde; Philo's pet orangutan "12 ribs", with an Oreo cookie fetish, and a taste for action, and human beer.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews