Damien: Omen II (1978) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
154 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
A must to see for anyone who liked THE OMEN.
Christiancrouse10 November 2001
This sequel to THE OMEN is a "fun" film. It continues the story of the anti-Christ Damien into his teenage years and his years in military school. Now adopted into the family of his father's brother, an unsuspecting Damien is unwittingly at the centre of a plot to bring Satan's son to the threshold of power. Everyone around him is at risk as the secret of Damien's birth is under threat of exposure by forces emerging from around the world - and at the root of this threat are the mad depictions painted on an ancient wall that reveal the very face of evil.

Jonathon Scott-Taylor gives a commanding and creepy performance as the ultimate misfit son. Looking particularly significant in his military outfit, Scott-Taylor captures - as much as the script allows him - the torment of self-discovery as the truth of his existence is revealed to him. The script could have demanded more from such a fascinating scenario, and tried to make Damien more of a Miltonic Satanic Hero, but the film chooses to go for as much shock value whenever it can. Mysterious and violent accidents - linked by the ever-present shadow of a raven of death - dominate this movie from beginning to end. The scene involving an ill-fated lady on a deserted country road is one of its most grotesque. As death and destruction mount, Damien goes from self-possessed orphan to self-recognized supreme power in the span of two hours.

William Holden and Lee Grant play Damien's surrogate parents, Richard and Ann Thorn. They are not really allowed to display their incredible talents in this film, but Holden does fine trying to duplicate Peck's memorable performance in the original. Grant does what she can with this supporting role, but has a great moment in the film that proves worthy to wait for. The always wonderful Sylvia Sidney makes a memorable appearance as one of Damien's greatest "thorns" - the troublemaking menace Aunt Marion. And the ending is a bit of a shock if you watch the film closely, particularly if you listen to the exposition early on in the film about "The Whore of Babylon."

Another highlight is Jerry Goldsmith's title score - empowering, commanding and downright evil, the opening score is one of my favorites.

Although not as creepy as the first film, DAMIEN: OMEN II has its moments, and is worth seeing for anyone who likes to have a fun time with all this biblical stuff.
40 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
"She pollutes the air with her craziness"
roh322026 March 2005
"She pollutes the air with her craziness", gotta love that line near the film's beginning. Damien:Omen II is an ambitious and entertaining sequel to the classic Omen. This film is an almost perfect stepping stone in the Omen trilogy, focusing on Damien Thorn becoming a teenager. The film obviously lacks the fresh originality of the first film but it still deserves credit for maintaining a sense of dread and menace when somebody crosses the young Damien Thorn. The death scenes are both chilling and creative and the film's trademark score is brilliant. As far as sequels go, Omen II is a solid effort, leading the pathway clearly open for the third chapter. In terms of comparison Omen II doesn't surpass the original but if you enjoyed the Omen then Damien:Omen II shouldn't disappoint.
30 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Damien hits puberty.
kneel22 November 1998
If you liked the first installment, you probably will like Damien-Omen II. It still has the creepiness involved in the first movie and the theme of good vs. evil. But like the first Omen movie, it is quite predictable. Some of the kill scenes are good though, especially the elevator scene.

Take a shot and rent this one. Just don't expect to see a classic.
35 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
An excellent sequel to the Omen
ozthegreatat423302 April 2007
Beginning again with the mad dash of Bugenhagen(Leo McKern) through the Haifa port under the very fitting theme of Jerry Goldsmith, this film contains all of the chills of the original as Damien learns about who he really is. It has one thing that I particularly liked that moment of indecision,when Damien, in a mirror of Jesus asks himself, why is it me. The moment when whatever innocence is in him is finally lost. William Holden and Lee Grant are excellent as his aunt and uncle, and there are several actors who cement their acting careers in the parts they play in this film. I am referring to Robert Foxworth for one, and Lance Henrickson for another. Silvia Sydney is one of of her last roles as Aunt Marion (smelling of Lilac or lavender) and the one really weak role was Nicholas Pryor as the director of the Thorn Museum. I am truly sorry for those people who did not care for this film, as it is head and shoulders above most of the Anti-Christ movies made. If you liked the first one this is a must see.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Nowhere near as good as the original but surprisingly entertaining
Superunknovvn30 March 2008
I'm an avid fan of the original "Omen". I think it was everything that "The Exorcist" is made out to be by fans and critics all over the world: thrilling, intriguing and incredibly creepy. With it's apocalyptic open ending a second part could only take away from the original's ending.

The truth is, "Damien: Omen II" is by no means as bad as it could have been. Sure, the excitement and the perfect structure of the original aren't there. Basically, this plays out like an early ancestor of the "Final Destination"-franchise. Characters become aware of who Damien is and from this point on we know they're doomed and anticipate their gruesome death. Most of all the movie is muddled with bad character development. Lance Henriksen's character, for instance, is never elaborated on. It doesn't make him any more mysterious, it just feels incomplete.

A good portion of the movie is spent with nothing much going on except for a few people dying around Damien while he just keeps on living a completely normal life unaware of who he his. Then, all of a sudden everything happens way too quickly. Damien finds out about his destiny and immediately accepts it. The same goes for his father, who is infuriated at first when someone suggests that his son might be Satan's spawn, only to accept that fact shortly afterwards. The final climax and ending arrive just as quickly leaving you wondering why the whole thing was so unbalanced.

Still, as long as it's running "Damien: Omen II" doesn't fail to entertain. Like every "Omen"-movie up to and including "The Final Conflict" this one has this nice 70's UK-flair that you can get lost in for a few hours on homey evenings in front of the television. It may not be enough to make the series go down in history as one of the best, but these movies are all very watchable in one sitting, making this one of the most coherent franchises of the horror genre.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A good sequel
Kristine14 March 2006
Well, it wasn't great, but I have to admit that the second Omen was pretty good and in some ways just necessary. Necessary, I mean because this story is of course not finished. Before seeing "The Hills have Eyes" on Friday night, they had trailers, and one was *shudder* a remake to the Omen. Another one, another remake! Oh, well, this just isn't going to stop. So, anyways, I saw The Omen last year and figured I should finish the trilogy. I am curious and frankly, a bit creeped out that the new Omen is being released on 06-06-2006, "666", get it?

The story itself is pretty good actually, now that Damien has been under the care of his aunt and uncle, strange things are happening again. It seems like anyone who is getting to close to finding out the truth about Damien is getting killed in some freak accident. This is a very good sequel that should be given a second chance.

6/10
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
An enjoyable sequel
Jamie Spraggon19 January 2014
Damien:Omen 2 is a very enjoyable sequel to The Omen in my opinion the first is better but i did enjoy this also. This film was released in 1978 2 years after the first and it tells the story of Damien the Anti-Christ who is now age 12 he is starting to understand his duty in the line of Satan whilst a strange crow eliminates any people who know his real identity and are seen enemies in the eyes of Satan. This film is not the best in the Omen series but it is a very watchable film, it isn't a film that will bore you to death and it isn't a film that will keep you on the end of your seat for 100 minutes but i do recommend it to the people who are interested in these films it is a clever entry in the omen franchise

***/*****
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Surprisingly Superb Sequel
Mr_Censored14 June 2010
That lovable little rapscallion from "The Omen" has returned to raise more Hell in "Damien: Omen II". No longer a toddler, Damien is closing in on his 13th birthday. While most pre-teens must cope with puberty and the confusion that accompanies it, Damien (portrayed by Jonathan Scott-Taylor) is more pre-occupied with his destiny, which is that of the son of the Satan, The Anti-Christ. He is now living with his Uncle and attends a military academy where he is quick to put his peers in his place and is encouraged by a sketchy teacher (the one and only Lance Henriksen!) who encourages him to read a passage in the Bible that tells him all he needs to know about himself. If only every teenager were given such guidance!

The film faced an uphill battle when its original director, Mike Hodges, was swapped out for Don Taylor, but thankfully, the end results aren't as compromised as one would expect. On the contrary, "Damien: The Omen II" is a rather solid companion piece to the Richard Donner original, with death scenes that are every bit as ground-breaking for their time and still shocking today (all about the crow pecking out the eyeballs) and a great cast that includes William Holden, Lee Grant and Elizabeth Shepard. Scott-Taylor seems born to have played Damien, managing the dynamics of being a sympathetic character turned a bone-chilling menace quite effectively. The film may rush a bit to its ending, which is perhaps its only flaw, but on the whole, it's a worthy follow-up that is almost every bit as mean and memorable as its predecessor.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Good movie
atinder15 January 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I really liked this sequel and some good gory deaths in this movie.

I love scene where the women is attack by the crows one of best scenes in the movie.

which i could not leave out, The others deaths are good too not as gory as the first movie but these deaths scenes did have some great atmosphere.

This not as scary of as good as The 1st Omen movies, This acting in this movie was really good.

It stared of really well and start with it but near the end and the ending for me just felt a little flat for me, i could have had better ending.

It's a really good movie
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Near-worthy sequel to a horror masterpiece
The_Void13 June 2006
The original Omen left itself wide open for a sequel, and even though I personally don't think it particularly needed one; I have to say that this second part, to my surprise, is actually very good! Don Taylor's sequel, of course, has nothing on Richard Donner's original; and even though the film often gets too convoluted and is more than a little bit silly, The Omen II follows on from the original nicely and is an overall worthy sequel. For the sequel, the action has expectedly moved to America; and the film delivers more of the uncompromising gore that helped to round off the original as an all round horror masterpiece. Logically, the film picks up the story of Damien seven years after his father, Robert Thawn, tried to kill him under mysterious circumstances. The film starts off with the revelation that Damien Thawn is the antichrist, and from there we follow him as he joins military school, comes under the guidance of one of Satan's disciples and violently disposes of anyone who stands a chance of discovering his real identity!

Jonathan Scott-Taylor is the actor given the honour of portraying the son of the devil this time around, and it has to be said that he does a really good job with it; even though the actor has hardly been seen since. William Holden is no Gregory Peck, but he does well in the older lead actor role; and he receives good backup from Lee Grant in the role of his wife. The cast is rounded off by cult stars Nicholas Pryor and Lance Henriksen. The plot pacing can be a little hard to follow, and not all the plot threads (the ones involving Thawn Industries in particular) are able to come through properly. However, director Don Taylor combats this by adding in an over the top and gory murder sequence every time the plot looks like it's going downhill. Here we have people burning to death, freezing to death, having their eyes plucked out and - of course - being cut in half in an elevator! The film just about carries off a mysterious religious tone throughout, and I was pleased that the film didn't get bogged down with theories surrounding Damien. The film ends with a nice little twist, before once again leaving the series open for a sequel - which, of course, it got three years later. The Omen II isn't a classic or must see; but it's a nice sequel.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Predictable, But Good Sequel!
jbartelone1 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Damien-Omen II picks up with Damien now being sent to live with his Aunt, Uncle, and cousin, in Chicago where he attends military school, and discovers who he is. Johnathon-Scott-Taylor is excellent as 13-year old Damien Thorn. There are some good suspenseful scares along the way, but instead of Rottweiler dogs foreshadowing that something evil is soon to happen, we get some menacing crows.

Injuries and deaths occur in several different places; one to a reporter on a deserted highway, a man who falls through the ice while playing hockey on a frozen lake, a chemical plant, and a hospital doctor who gets "graphically" electrocuted by a suddenly malfunctioning elevator. The predictability is exactly what the audience would expect. Those who get too close to Damian in discovering who he is or anger him in any way usually suffer serious consequences, that most often involve death.

Despite its predictability, the second Omen movie works because of young Johnathon Scott-Taylor's portrayal of Damien. There is a calmness within his character that gradually builds to anger when Damien is provoked or questioned. But Damien also sends a message that he "feels bad" after he has killed or hurt someone, and even worse, because he can't do anything about it. This is where Omen II is the only area where it is better than the original Omen. In the original Omen, Harvey Stephens played Damian amazingly well. However, because of his age, didn't really talk or converse his feelings about why he killed or hurt others. In Omen II, after Damian discovers who he is, he runs through the trees as if trying to escape the horror inside of him. You can feel the emotional impact, "Why Me???!" "Why Me???!" he cries.

Being a teenager gives Damien more groundwork to explore his identity. I would have liked him to further discover his background. Adding additional dimensions to the "why?" element of Damien's personality would have made the film better. Unfortunately, the downside is that after the "Why Me? Why Me?" scene, nothing is answered, and Omen II goes back to Damien killing people who get in his way, without the substance that the movie could have had.

The acting of Johnathon Scott-Taylor is very good, and there are enough suspenseful moments to make Damien-Omen II, better than most sequels of the horror era.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A failure on many levels.
glenn_ebooks9 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
*Minor spoilers, maybe*

First of all, I have no allegiance to the original movie. I thought it was at worst fairly competent and at best pretty entertaining.

That being said, the way that this movie absolutely tarnished the legacy of the first one, and the legacy of movie making as a whole, is very unfortunate. Gone is the mystery and the flavor of the first one, replaced with a by-the-numbers plot and laughable death scenes.

Yes, why don't we talk a bit about those death scenes? Supremely awful. In THE OMEN, the death scenes were sporadic (at least until the end) and actually meant something. There were really only two (the Priest and Nanny) before the the very last part of the movie. The Nanny suicide was strange and the justification behind it was not clear. The priest's death was a bit more ridiculous, but there was at least a mild buildup for it.

In THE OMEN II, it follows this pattern: 1. Introduce character(s) 2. Have them realize Damien is the antichrist (and this is not even followed in a few cases) 3. Kill them, quickly.

Now, I'm being purposely glib about my description, but it really isn't much more than that. A doctor is introduced to the story through his discovery of Damien's apparent invulnerability. Two minutes later, he's killed by a falling elevator in a scene so predictable that even children in the audience were sighing (or cringing). The deaths just keep coming and coming, as a substitute, I believe for an actual compelling story.

The story, what there is of it, is essentially the same as the first film, with a little more leeway given to Damien to make evil looks. Like his brother, Damien's uncle takes until the very end of the film to realize that something is amiss and he comes to this decision based on practically no evidence -- as opposed to Gregory Peck, who scurried about the European countryside in search of the truth about the boy and who DIDN'T have multiple people instructing him on the reality of the situation.

We get three evil helpers and a crow in this movie, instead of one evil nanny and a dog (aided my multiple dogs, later) in the first. And although all that evil might sound infatuating initially, it's quickly evident that more evil does not equal more complexity. The movie doesn't even make more than a token effort to allude to the allegiances of these characters -- although no doubt the progressives among us applaud the distinction of the very ardent capitalist and pro-globalization thug as aligned with evil. But that's not enough to make up for the rest of the film.

In summary, this film has all the heart and depth of a Friday the 13th sequel (perhaps excepting the fourth installment). It's really not much more of a slasher flick, with the slasher being very unfortunate coincidences and timing. Stick with THE OMEN and stick DAMIEN: OMEN II where it belongs: in movie hell, with the devil itself.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What a piece of garbage
Christopher Mercurio19 August 2002
Warning: Spoilers
I wasn't that fond of The Omen, but I can't say it was terrible. I've seen a lot of bad movies in my time, but this one takes the cake. The movie is just more violent and grisly ways to kill people, William Holden being a bad actor instead of a good actor and William Holden trying to find out what the hell is wrong with his brother's son.(Pun intended)Damien's mother wasn't killed for nothing. Damien's father didn't try to kill him for nothing. Maybe Peck should have just stabbed him already and saved us the trouble of seeing this piece of garbage sequel. What I hate the most in this movie is the end. It took the idiot the whole movie to finally figure out his nephew was something out of hell and you would think he'd get the job done and not stall like his idiot brother in the first Omen. But of course by the time he's on to Damien it's too late and he, along with his wife, ends up just like the first couple. In such a stupid way too. Spoiler. Damien makes his aunt stab his uncle and then blows her up and walks out of the building. Wow what a great movie. Can I have my money back. 2 questions. Why was this movie made? Why where four Omen movies made? Where people dumb enough to keep going to see them. I could see the draw for a sequel. Especially a sequel to a big hit like The Omen. But you people can't always be fooled. Just watch the first Omen and stay away from this stupid movie. By the time you get to Omen 4 it'll already have gotten worse. Stay away. They get worse and worse as the series goes on. Stay away.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A very good sequel.
bigpappa1--230 May 2000
Damien returns after his parents are killed in the original to live with his uncle, while he continues his reign of terror over man. Holden and Grant are good, the score remains very effective, it features great effects, and it has plenty of chills and memorable scenes. Not as good as the first one, but one heck of a sequel. Rating: 8 out of 10. Followed by many more sequels, but they are all inferior. Stick with the first two.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It commits the sin of boredom
Jimmy-4224 February 1999
I didn't mind the first Omen picture. Despite the flaws in internal logic, (why is it that Satan can only kill the people who spill their guts about Damien after they've blabbed?). It's also worth watching Billie Whitelaw and Gregory Peck in damn near anything.

Damien: Omen II is a terrible drag by contrast. Every five minutes someone finds out that Damien is the Anti-Christ, then dies in some messy way. It takes William Holden's character an incredible amount of time to notice the corpses piling up around the teen ager, (during which we have to go through the irritating I'm Trying to Convince You scenes that are standard issue in these kinds of movies. They always end with something like, "If you don't do something, I will." The character uttering this line has to die, of course). By the time he gets religion it is so obviously too late that the ending is a fait accompli.

It would have been more interesting if they'd stuck to something the script gestured towards for a second. Damien finds out he's the Anti-Christ and that he's destined to do all sorts of horrible things and he runs screaming, terrified of what prophecy demands he become. It would have been an ironic twist if Damien were a good person who discovered that it was his ultimate, irresistible fate to be evil. That conflict could have had real drama and a meaning beyond the slaughter.

Instead, Damien went and committed the worst movie sin; the sin of boredom.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
If only most sequels were this good. There's not a minute of the film that isn't watchable.The end result is an effort that'll satisfy fans of Richard Donner's original
badfeelinganger27 September 2014
David Seltzer, who wrote the first film's screenplay, was asked by the producers to write the second. Seltzer refused as he had no interest in writing sequels. Years later, Seltzer commented that had he written the story for the second Omen, he would have set it the day after the first movie, with Damien a child living in The White House. With Seltzer turning down Omen II, producer Harvey Bernhard duly outlined the story himself, and Stanley Mann was hired to write the screenplay.

After Bernhard had finished writing the story outline and was given the green light to start the production, the first person he contacted was Jerry Goldsmith because of the composer's busy schedule. Bernhard also felt that Goldsmith's music for The Omen was the highest point of that movie, and that without Goldsmith's music, the sequel would not be successful. Goldsmith's Omen II score uses similar motifs to his original Omen score, but for the most part, Goldsmith avoided re-using the same musical cues. In fact, the first movie's famous "Ave Satani" theme is used only partially, just before the closing credits begin. Goldsmith composed a largely different main title theme for Omen II, albeit one that utilises Latin phrases as "Ave Satani" had done. Goldsmith's Omen II score allows eerie choral effects and unusual electronic sound designs to take precedence over the piano and Gothic chanting.

Richard Donner, director of the first Omen movie, was not available to direct the second, as he was busy working on Superman. British film director Mike Hodges was hired to helm the movie. During production, the producers believed that Hodges' methods were too slow, and so they fired him and replaced him with Don Taylor, who had a reputation for finishing films on time and under budget. However, the few scenes Hodges directed (some of the footage at the factory and at the military academy, all of the early archaeology scenes, and the dinner where Aunt Marion shows her concern about Damien) remained in the completed film, for which Hodges retains a story credit. In recent interviews, Hodges has commented sanguinely on his experiences working on Omen II.

Academy Award-winning veteran actor William Holden was the original choice to star as Robert Thorn in the first Omen, but turned it down as he did not want to star in a picture about the devil. Gregory Peck was selected as his replacement. The Omen went on to become a huge hit and Holden made sure he did not turn down the part of protagonist Richard Thorn in the sequel. Lee Grant, another Oscar-winner, was a fan of the first Omen and accepted enthusiastically the role of female protagonist-later-turncoat Ann Thorn.

Ray Berwick (1914–1990) trained and handled the crows used for several scenes in the film. Live birds and a crow-puppet were used for the attack on photojournalist Joan Hart. Berwick also trained the avian actors in Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds (1963).

This more-than-competent sequel to The Omen raises some interesting questions about the nature of free will can the Antichrist deny his birthright? Jerry Goldsmith who won an Oscar for his work on the first film in the series contributes another marvellously foreboding score. As the teenage Damien, Jonathan Scott-Taylor works wonders with the role
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Classic sequel
willbranca6 April 2012
Blockbuster sequel to the 1976 smash horror hit has the anti-Christ now 13 and living with wealthy relatives beginning to understand his ungodly mission while plotting to take control of his uncles billion dollar business empire with the help of satanic minions, meanwhile anyone attempting to unravel the secrets of his sinister past meets with a chilling freak accidental death. Has a first rate cast headed by Oscar winners William Holden and Lee Grant and they are perfect , but newcomer Jonathan Scott Taylor gives a superb performance as Damien that you think he was born to play this role.The real stars however are the spectacular death sequences which hold up to this day.Production values are solid and Jerry Goldsmith who won an Oscar for the original delivers an even more powerful and spine tingling score. Time has proved it to be arguably one of the best sequels of it's genre and a great follow up to its classic predecessor.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
All Time Classic!!
Enforcer68610 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Some movies affect me in a way that defies rational judgment. I've seen some reviews here and elsewhere that bring up legitimate gripes, but I simply don't care. I love this movie and that's all that matters, it is high on my list of all-time favorites and I still often watch it once a year during winter, much like The Shining and other classics. The mood is appropriately foreboding throughout, and I've never seen another actor in my life that could so perfectly portray Damien as Jonathan Scott-Taylor---he was BORN to play Damien!! This is one of the first truly creepy movies I saw as a kid.

It's fascinating to see the opulence in which Damien is raised and how he still feels empty in spite of it, knowing he is part of something bigger that hasn't been revealed. This is especially well conveyed in the lake house scenes where everyone is happy for Damien's brother's birthday on what should have been an ideal vacation as enjoyed by a privileged class, yet Damien knows something is......wrong. He still feels only emptiness, loneliness. I also enjoyed the sense of sheer dread in the elevator scene and the cackling raven in the roadside scene.

You absolutely MUST watch the original Omen movie before this one, it is essential to the storyline and even better than this superior film. Unfortunately, Omen III totally dropped the ball and left a hideous black mark on the series. It's a shame someone couldn't have done a better job of completing the trilogy, perhaps someone will eventually....but not through excessive CGI, through mood and clever writing, as seen in the first two films.

Highly recommended! Make sure to watch The Omen first...
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An excellent sequel and Jonathan Scott-Taylor was the best Damien
horrors_R_us1 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I have to say that as fan of horror movies (whether they be new or old), I loved this sequel. I remember watching they original and being very intrigued.

When I recently heard about the sequel, though it's very old, I jumped on the opportunity to watch this. Now, I'm only fourteen, but I just loved this movie (and Jonathan Scott-Taylor). This is definitely a movie that I'm going to record on video to watch again, and again.

On to the movie itself. It was very well acted and had good graphics for it's time. People rag on some of the death scenes, but I have to say that I was impressed with what they had. Maybe Joanne's death was a little silly, but I liked that you could even have a little bit of a laugh.

I thought all of the characters were well acted, and that Jonathan Scott-Taylor was, in my opinion and a decent amount of others, the best Damien to hit the screen. With his eyes and black hair, he really set the feel of being the Antichrist. He was really, really good. The thing that I loved was how Jon made you almost feel bad for Damien. Like, when he killed Mark and then let out a strangled yell. There were even tears. It was especially heart-wrenching that Damien didn't even know he was the Antichrist until half-way through the movie. It was so sad when he screamed at the top of his lungs why it had to be him that was born of the devil and a jackal.

Overall, it was a strong movie and I highly recommend it to people who enjoyed the first film, have an open mind and aren't to hard on things like this. Afterall people, it's just a movie. It's mean't to be fun and enjoyable. Just relax and be a little less "RAWR!", 'kay? ^ ^

~Haley~
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Class, we're going to learn why films need subtleties...
mentalcritic26 July 2004
Those who have read my comments about the first Omen film will know that I tend to see it as a kind of comedy rather than any kind of powerful horror or statement about mankind. So Omen II is starting off behind the eightball, and in spite of its best efforts, it never really gets out of there.

The acting is deadpan enough, but shifting the focus to Damien rather than those who deal with him was a mistake. However, there was a chance to recover from this. Damien goes through most of the film seemingly unaware of what he is. This could have worked to the film's advantage. We could have had a catastrophic event that makes Damien decide to embrace rather than shy away from his origins, for example. With the rampant accusations of paedophilia and rape being levelled at the clergy nowadays, playing out such a scenario here would have done the film wonders. Instead, we get a thirty-second character arc with some of the worst acting in the history of cinema. Oh well, if there is one thing you can count on Hollywood to be, it is undaring.

Gone too is the mystery or detective element. The film pretty much erases any doubt the viewer has from the very beginning, and using one of the silliest substories you can imagine at that. The film basically begins with all of its cards on the table, and that is what kills it in the end. With a total absence of interesting plot twists, the whole thing becomes so by-the-numbers that one can guess what will happen next without the barest of hints.

Another element that shatters the film's credibility is the number of amazing coincidences that happen around the titular character. One relative cacking it under suspicious circumstances, I can deal with. But when people keep dying over and over with the only common link between them being "they had something to do with Damien Thorn", the obliviousness of the people Damien needs to gain influence from is a hard pill to swallow. This is where my summary comes in. It is a well-known theory of film that if you don't get your audience to believe in one part of your plot, they're going to be disconnected entirely from the rest.

Ultimately, Omen II, like its companion films, exists in a vague fantasy land where a secret plot exists to eliminate the Christian empire. This, ultimately, is what destroys their credibility. As the films get more and more fanciful, they forget to give the story enough mooring in reality for the viewer to go with the rest. This secret underground Satanic conspiracy that exists in the Omen series must be very, very secret indeed, because the people who are the most likely candidates to become members generally have never heard of it.

So when the chips are down, Omen II is basically nothing more than The Omen with the mystery element firmly removed. Given that this mystery element is the only thing that made the original interesting, I can't even recommend this turkey for a viewing at 0400 hours. Two out of ten is about all I can give this in good conscience.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Terrible sequel to a good movie (may contain spoilers)
lthseldy16 November 2001
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was bad. This movie takes off where "The Omen" left off. Damien is now an orphan and he is now living with his aunt and uncle and cousin and is attending a military school. There are still strange things that happen as Damien passes by but not as creepy. The stupidest parts of the film was in the military school during an argument between Damien and another schoolmate. As well as Damien getting back at whoever gets in his way as he learns more and more of his powers. After awhile, Damien acts more like a spoiled child with a temper tantrum that The Antichrist. I found this film to be long and boring and nothing like the original.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Bad sequel
siderite12 June 2006
Come on, this was hilarious. It was like Final Destination with a Christian Chorus soundtrack. People must have liked The Omen so much that they asked for an improved one, with more killings and explosions.

This time there are no Rotweillers, but there are crows. They are just as evil as their canine counterparts, but they only "star" in the first part of the movie. The second is full of human devil acolytes, protecting and grooming Damien.

This story has the seed of a good movie, because you have a child that is the son of the devil, but also he is the loved (and loving) child of the families that raised him. The inner conflict and powerful struggle that could have been portrayed here are reduced to a single scene when the boy realizes who he is and cries "Why me?". Afterwards he's totally OK with it.

And in this part all kind of people die in the most imaginative ways. People that didn't need to die, were less than a threat and were really ridiculous. I mean, you have your basic two sides, good versus evil; the good ones are represented by hysterical people talking gibberish and immediately dismissed as total lunatics; the bad ones have cunning men and women, infiltrated in all relevant positions, and they have dogs and crows on their side. Tough choice, isn't it? Hysterical lunatics or nature loving people in positions of power... :)

Anyway, compared with the first movie, it is crap. And to think I had so fond memories of this film from my childhood.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Slasher Pic in Clerical Robes
Putzberger3 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
It's hard to discern which genre this film spawned, or begat, if you prefer -- lousy 80's horror pics like "Friday the 13th," or lousy 90's fundamentalist thrillers a la "Left Behind." One one level, it panders to a viewer's voyeurism and bloodlust. Lots of characters get killed, some of them in rather creative ways, and there tends to be plenty of splatter (don't eat before the scene where the lady reporter in the fake fur buys it). Now, that's sick, but it has its own sort of integrity. What makes "D:O2" especially hideous, however, is its hypocrisy. In this movie, only the crazy characters are right about little Damien, and after proclaiming the truth -- that he is the Anti-Christ -- they are destroyed by a vast, sinister conspiracy. So Christianity, a global religion that preaches selflessness and love, is turned into an underground movement defined by paranoia and revenged. It's a survivalist's wet dream.

You have to work hard, though, to be disturbed by "D:O2" since the film-making is so laughably bad that you don't notice the rancid ideology. Bill Holden is a great actor, but somehow he's made his share of bombs and "Damien: Omen II" is his thermonuclear blast. His trademark cragginess and churlishness don't suggest a man being overwhelmed by dark forces so much as a man who wants to punch his agent. And who can blame him? In one scene, he gets into bed with wife Lee Grant, kisses her goodnight and lies there, looking disturbed. Is he wondering whether his stepson is the Anti-Christ or pondering the sad decline of his career, as evidenced by the sad decline of his co-stars? From Audrey Hepburn and Gloria Swanson to Lee Grant and Jonathan Scott-Thomas . . . it's a precipitous arc downward. If Holden is embarrassed, his co-stars are embarrassing. Lee Grant has two facial expressions, mildly amused and mildly menacing, and should sue whoever costumed her, although you'll finally learn where Boy George got his fashion sense. And there are a couple of scenes that wouldn't make it into an undergraduate student film -- the long shot of William Holden's cab driving into Chicago's Cabrini Green housing project, which is doubling for New York City (!), and a scene at a military academy in which you can see the headmaster squinting at the cue cards. Oh, this is poor.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A guilty pleasure that will entertain if not enlighten!
MartinHafer28 October 2007
While I will be the last one to say that this is a great film or a must-see, it certainly is very entertaining though you might be embarrassed to tell your friends you liked it! That's because it has a silly plot involving the spawn of Satan, occasionally lame and overwrought dialog and a style that just needs to be seen to be believed! But, despite its many shortcomings, this is still a fun little film and not nearly as awful as I'd first suspected. That's because the previous film (THE OMEN) was panned and placed in Harry Medved's "Fifty Worst Films of All Time" book. However, after having seen both films I can definitely say that there are hundreds or perhaps thousands of worse films. In fact, since they entertain and keep your attention, they really aren't bad films but more guilty pleasures!

The film begins with budding teen Damien seeming a lot like a normal boy--not acting at all like the result of a mating with the Devil and a Jackal (wouldn't that make him a son of a .....?). But, slowly, it is revealed that some around the boy are well aware of who he is and are there to serve him without fail. When he is finally told who he is, Damien suffers a short existential crisis before he ultimately gives in to the dark side....no wait, he IS the dark side! Along the way, there are countless exciting to watch and very silly deaths--some orchestrated directly by Damien and his followers and others created by either an unseen force or a nasty crow who seems to be the one behind all the mess. Because the deaths are so bloody and creative, the film reminds me a lot of the low-budget Vincent Price film, THE ABOMINIBLE DOCTOR PHIBES. The dumbest death was the lady who is hit by a truck and the most interesting and disturbing is the man who was sucked under the ice (a nice touch).

While you will be entertained, please do NOT stop to think or reason this out as this is NOT a well-constructed plot. The Biblical passages are wrong--being twisted and misquoted and the film was not meant to be anything other than a silly little exploitation film. While this may offend some religious fundamentalists, if they actually sit still and watch the film, they, too, will probably find the whole thing ludicrous yet oddly entertaining.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews