The Mayor of Casterbridge (TV Mini-Series 1978– ) Poster

Episode List


Season 1

3 Sep. 1978
Episode #1.1
Michael Henchard sold his wife and daughter when drunk 18 years ago. Now, his wife has come for him with their daughter, only to find out that he is now the mayor of Casterbridge. She is reluctant to meet him but he wants to see her.
10 Sep. 1978
Episode #1.2
Michael remarries Susan. He hires Donald Farfrae to manage his business but there is tension between them. Michael's standing goes down and, unable to take any more, Donald leaves him to set up a business in opposition to Michael.
17 Sep. 1978
Episode #1.3
After Susan dies, Michael tells Elizabeth-Jane about he being her father. However, he then finds a letter explaining that Elizabeth-Jane is not his daughter, which he keeps this secret. Donald's business rises just as Michael's slumps.
24 Sep. 1978
Episode #1.4
Michael's business reaches rock bottom. Lucetta and Donald become serious so Michael extracts a promise from Lecetta to marry him by blackmailing her with her past. However, Donald and Lucetta marry anyway.
1 Oct. 1978
Episode #1.5
Michael is declared bankrupt and he sinks back to where he was 21 years ago. Michael starts drinking again and threatens Donald physically, and also plans to expose Lucetta's past to the Donald.
8 Oct. 1978
Episode #1.6
A drunk Michael disrupts Prince Albert's visit to Casterbridge, which angers Donald. Jopp discloses some of Lucetta's and the townspeople decide to humiliate her. Shocked, she collapses and dies. Newson turns up looking for Elizabeth-Jane.
15 Oct. 1978
Episode #1.7
Newson unexpectedly returns to Casterbridge and Michael promptly decides to leave the town. Newson and Elizabeth-Jane are reunited and then she and Donald get married. Elizabeth-Jane is angry when Michael appears at the wedding.

 Season 1 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page