IMDb > Star Wars (1977) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Star Wars
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Star Wars More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 135: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 1347 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The film that shaped pop culture

10/10
Author: David (DaveInTheCave) from United States
27 December 2011

Star Wars is great cinema. One of the great things about it is the visuals, the opening shot where the Star Destroyer flies over while chasing the Rebel Blockade Runner is amazing. The music is also fantastic, it evokes early epic movie scores by the likes of Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Miklos Rozsa and also hearkens back to Classical music in the romantic period, especially to Wagner and Holst. The characters and story are somewhat basic but that's part of whats great about the movie, it has an archetypal, mythic quality.

Some have said that the only reason this movie is highly regarded is because of people who as as children and idolize it for nostalgic reasons, well as someone who saw for the first time at the age of 16, I can attest that it's stands on it's own very well.

It does have a few flaws. The dialogue can be corny at times. Luke's remorse over his aunt and uncles death seems rather short lived, particularly compared to his sadness over Ben Kenobi's death. Despite these flaws Star Wars is still an excellent film. Highly recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Don't Underestimate The Force

Author: Chrysanthepop from Fraggle Rock
18 December 2011

What can I say about George Lucas's 'Star Wars' that hasn't already been said? It's one of the most authentically shot films, whether we're talking about visual effects, cinematography, sound, music, art direction and of course Lucas's direction. Perhaps this was the movie that tagged Lucas as one of the all-time greatest directors. Revisiting this movie more than twenty years later brought back a lot of memories. Obviously it has a lot of nostalgic value.

More than two decades after its release, Lucas attempts to make its prequels and the consequences are disastrous. With CGI dominating sci-fi films since the late 90s, the look of Lucas's later Starwar films (movies 1,2 and 3 made in the 90's and 2000's) could not match up to the early classics. They lacked the authentic look and atmosphere and suffered from poor editing. Most of all they were so boring (lacking in energy, lacklustre story, dreadful performances etc) that they failed to engage the viewer.

Coming back to the movie at hand, it is easily sci-fi action adventure at its best. It's rich in dialogue. The level of energy and tension is excellently maintained. Even the quieter scenes have you engaged with beautiful visuals and what's also amazing is how simple they are, no complex or intricate designing but at the same time very detailed.

The characters are a delight. The casting is solid. Harrison Ford is charming and funny as the laidback and slightly self-centered Han. Carrie Fisher redefines bring a princess in films. Before that, princesses were cast as damsels in distress. Mark Hamill captures Luke's innocence and essence very well. Peter Mayhew, James Earl Jones, and Alec Guiness are great. Aside from the human cast who portray the characters so well, who could forget C-3PO and R2-D2 (voiced brilliantly by Anthony Daniels and Kenny Baker)?

I could keep going on and on but I'll leave it here to watch 'Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back'. So long...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The birth of a legend!

10/10
Author: SciFiSheriff from United Kingdom
16 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

There are many brilliant sci fi movies, but there a few that are as well written, well acted and well done as the Star Wars Saga. Action fantasy films that have been a movie inspiration for over 30 years.

This is my review on the fist classic hit- Star Wars Episode IV A New Hope.

The plot goes like this;

Along time ago in a galaxy far, far away, a viscous government called the empire controls the universe. A newly found rebellion stakes back at the brutal empire by stealing plans to their Ultimate Super weapon, The death star, which has the mechanical power to destroy a whole planet in a single second. As the empire hunts the plans down, A princess in charge of the rebellion is ambushed by an imperial battleship. She and her accomplices are captured, but manage to hide the plans in a small droid, recording a short help request to an old man on the planet below. The put the droids in an escape pod and send them down to the planet without the imperials finding out. The droids crash land on the dusty planet and bump into a young man and a old Jedi warrior. They watch the recording of the princess's plea for help. They 2 men set off to find and release the princess from imperial captivity.

The plot is rather simple, which is a change from the movie's sequels. The movie's plot is recognisable to other famous movies and is sometime cliché. However, this is not a bad thing. It is not cliché in the since that it is EXACTLY the same as other films, but instead is a sort-of homage the the classics and taking a different approach to the same idea. For example, in the John Wayne film, The Searchers, John Wayne returns to his encampment finding it burnt to the ground and all his loved one dead. The same thing happens in this film; The young man Luke drives home to find his farm is burnt to the ground and his adopted parents killed. It uses classic plot lines and forms them in a very smart way.

The acting is pretty good. It contains master performances from great actors like Peter Cushing,Alec Guinass and Harrison ford. All of whom are great, most notably Harrison's and Peter's performances. Harrison produces a grumpy, sarcastic gunfighter type character who always comes up with a droll comment to everything. You always find yourself waiting to see what he says back to a person in a conversion which is rare in film characters. Peter is already a A* actor but after this movie he I find that becomes an even better one. There is a sleazy feel to the character and as soon as he is first seen in the film you know that he is an evil character, which is a great achievement for a villain.

Of coarse, I cannot continue without mentioning the other villain of the film. The main one at that who just happens to hold the title of one of the best villains of movie history; Darth Vader! He is a heavy walking, heavy breathing, force choking, brutal killing type character who has death teeming off him. He is a cruel douche-bag but every time you see him you don't know wither to hate or love him. When he executes horrid directives like the force choke, He also adds a dark remark related to the offender's crime. Well written character with fantastic duologue and great lightsabre moves. He is NOT a force to be reckoned with!!

The film contains loads of creative Sci Fi elements that, in my opinion, make the film the great thing it is. In the cantina scene, there a A lot of strange creatures that only have a couple of seconds screen time, but really intrigue you. It's not a major part of the film, but it still makes the film seem more real. Now-a-days, directors shove CGI in your face and have no creative appeal to it at all. In the old films like these, they become really imaginative, making latex models and sometimes Stopmotion animation. This is the icing on the cake for me. Props to the animators.

The Plot never really drags throughout the film and flows at a steady pace. There are also some brilliant action scenes. In the death star scenes there are some tense shootouts and fights that keep you at the edge of your seat. The battles are fast paced; The heroes can be shooting one minute and falling into a trash compacter the next. The most notable battle in the film however is the battle over the Death star. This is when the rebels launch a massive attack on the death star. This was probably one of the first good movie space battles, with tones of explosions and cannon fire to keep your adrenaline rushing.

With Great acting, The best villain of all time and fantastic action this movie is really hard to beat. A Sci Fi classic that needs to be seen.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Star Wars EpisodeIV-A New Hope Review

10/10
Author: Sagle02 from United States
11 December 2011

Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker Harrison Ford as Han Solo Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia Organa Alec Guinness as Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi Anthony Daniels as C-3PO Kenny Baker as R2-D2 Peter Mayhew as Chewbacca David Prowse as Darth Vader James Earl Jones as Darth Vader (voice) Phil Brown as Uncle Owen Shelagh Fraser as Aunt Peru

The Star Wars (1977) film by Director George Lucas is a galactic drama which was an orchestrated musical that started with episode IV. The studio insisted that the episode numeral not be added until later after the film's success. The main plot begins with droid robots named R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) and C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) that help a young man named Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) and a cynical space pilot named Hans Solo (Harrison Ford I) and Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew) a hairy bigfoot creature rescue a rebel princess, Leia Organa (Carrie Fisher) that has been taken hostage by Darth Lord Vader (Dave Prowse and the voice of James Earl Jones' voice). The evil Emperor is determined to dissolve the Imperial Senate and crush the Republic Alliance. The Empire will then rule with fear of planet destruction by the Death Star Battle Station that will lead to intergalactic domination.

The theme is evil (dark side of The Force) versus good (The Force), with which human nature dictates the decision to do good or evil deeds. Luke is a young man that works on a farm and feels obligated to stay on the farm for another season to help his Uncle Owen (Phil Brown) and Aunt Peru (Shelagh Fraser). Luke is torn by this decision and is told by an old Jedi Knight, Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi (Alec Guinness) that his father was betrayed and murdered by a pupil of Ben Obi-Wan Kenobi (Alec Guinness). The Empire attacks the farm and kills his aunt and uncle, so Luke decides to avenge his family's death and learn The Force and train as a Jedi warrior like his father for the rebellion against the evil Empire. Eventually, Luke becomes familiar with the good side of The Force and saves the princess. He then uses his piloting skills to shoot a virtually impossible vent shaft, destroying the Death Star and becomes the hero for the rebel forces.

The thematic ideas and visual designs used were camera techniques and angles, including panning and tilting in a montage that creates hyperspace to get from one place to another at a super speed, similar to Star Trek. The high tech look has camera views that use the idea of World War II bombers to give the viewer a cinematic feel for the atmosphere, which conveys spaceship views unveiling the motion control camera. Stop motion is used along with puppets for the introduction of a creature named Jabba the Hutt.

The film's sounds effects are groundbreaking for the time with the environmental tone of each spaceship having its own high or low-pitch tone that creates a specific sound for the dramatic feel of being in the each aircraft cockpit for the scene. The cockpit voices of the pilots are recorded over an actual shortwave radio, which gives the illusion that the transmissions were natural broken radio talk.

Costume design was complicated and difficult to pull off due to the budget that was originally assigned. The C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) and R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) robot costumes were so loud that they had had to use voice-over to cover up the sound during editing.

The thematic ideas were depicted as a futuristic montage of images and sounds for the technological aspects of space battles. Lucas also studied motifs of Greek mythological creatures to design the aliens, sets and robotic character shots of many of the fictional characters. These ideas compare to Raiders of the Lost Ark in theme by saving the girl and saving the day for the natives, which is also a cliffhanger action film that he created.

Therefore, these styles of thematic elements were carried into many other space action creations that Lucas has directed in future films, including the Star Wars Trilogy.

References

Star Wars, Episode IV, A New Hope., Director and Writer George Lucas, DVD, Twentieth Century Fox and LucasFilm Ltd., 1977 and 1997 versions.

IMDb., Trivia – Star Wars (1977) retrieved Dec. 11, 2011 from http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076759/

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Is it as controversial as they say?

10/10
Author: Tcole94 from United Kingdom
10 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

By reading the title, you immediately think, what? But let me expand on that, there are continuous debates of forums everywhere. Is New Hope the only good Star Wars movie, and has Lucas ruined it with of the new CGI effects. I have to say I don't think so. Now of course I understand the fact that CGI has ruined the nostalgia of the original, but I still feel that the other Star Wars movies are great, especially the 6th movie.

I realised that I had side tracked a bit, but let me return to the main point. The movie is great and I feel that it was a brilliant idea by Lucas to make the 4th movie first. It gave the movie a quirk that will always make it stand out.

The cast are all excellent, but you can tell there is friction in the movie. Especially concerning Harrison Ford. Watching the Justin Lee Collins show years ago, I remember him saying that there were often arguments about the fact that Harrison thought he should had been Luke. But is it really bad that it wasn't? He not only got to play the well respected and well liked Han Solo, but he also got to make out with Carrie Fisher in her prime.

There is almost nothing to faultier, the effects of the original seemed futuristic and the story is so deep that if you're not careful you may lose yourself.

I would love to have been old enough to remember when this movie was first released and I would recommend it to almost anyone.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Still awesome to watch

10/10
Author: ebiros2 from United States
22 November 2011

The ground breaking visuals never seen on cinema was a shock to many of us who's seen this movie for the first time. After over 30 years, it's still the best movie of its type.

I didn't notice this when I first saw this movie but Ben Kenoby does mention about the "Clone Wars" in this episode. If this was a far reaching foresight on George Lucas' part, my hats off to him. This movie has more visceral impact compared to the CG filled episodes 1-3. It just shows that you can't beat the real thing. More I saw it, more I was in awe of all the fine details that was put into this movie. Each of the scenes were directed precisely without a flaw. George Lucas was an awesome director when he made this film. Ben Kenoby also mentions about Darth Vader who killed Luke's father - as we find out in the next episode, this was only a metaphor. The movie is both simple and complex at the same time.

There's no word to describe this movie. Made on a relatively modest budget, it's still the finest movie of its kind. It shows that money is no substitute for talent.

It's a miracle that we have this movie. I'd say it's one of the crowning achievements of human civilization.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Exciting Space Adventure!

Author: courtneyec90 from United States
16 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Star Wars IV: A New Hope is a movie depicting a battle between the Rebels and Galactic Empire for control of the galaxy. Movie critics have defined the term theme as a central insight revealed in a film. The theme of Star Wars is centered on the character Luke Skywalker who becomes involved in the struggle between good and evil. Luke Skywalker, played by Mark Hamill, purchases two droids and discovers the connection between their previous owners, Obi-Wan Kenobi, played by Alec Guiness; and Princess Leia, played by Carrie Fisher. The droids reveal the kidnapping of the Princess by the Sith leader Darth Vader, voiced by James Earl Jones, and his plot to destroy planets with the powerful armed space station, the Death Star. With Obi-Wan's help, Luke and spaceship pilot Han Solo, played by Harrison Ford, set out to rescue the Princess from Darth Vader. The story of these characters and their ventures is continued in two more films, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi.

The musical score of the movie is very effective in communicating the theme in many scenes. For instance, there is a scene where Luke is gazing at the horizon during sunset. He has just had a disagreement with his uncle about attending the academy before the next harvesting season. It is implied that he is thinking about his desire to leave the isolated planet of Tatooine and join in the Rebel's efforts. The instrumentation of the music in the background becomes the focus of the moment – the melancholy notes seem to communicate his miserable situation. At the same time, the music is also building, indicating the significance of the decisions he will make. During this moment, Luke realizes that he wants to change his future by leaving behind his minor existence.

The costumes and makeup used in Star Wars were very effective in enhancing the storyline. The bar sequence on Tatooine is a great example of the skills of the makeup and costume departments. The alien characters there represent an array of personalities. Also, Darth Vader's entire persona is mysterious because he is completely concealed throughout the movie. His black suit alludes to his being the bad guy of the film. His height also suggests that he is a figure of authority. Star Wars IV: A New Hope is only the beginning of the battle between Darth Vader's forces and the Rebels. The Empire Strike Back, the next movie in the Star Wars saga, has a similar theme. It continues the story of Luke and his friends as he learns more about how his personal history is intertwined with that of Darth Vader and Obi-Wan Kenobi.

In the beginning of Star Wars, Luke Skywalker is an inexperienced crop duster who has never left the planet of Tatooine. Throughout the course of the film, his character matures because of his experiences with the opposing Rebel and Galactic forces. I would recommend this film to anyone who wants to be entertained by an exciting adventure with distinctive characters and an interesting plot.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the Best Movies Ever Made

9/10
Author: Brooklyn Sherman
16 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'll admit it: I'm a Star Wars geek. When I was ten, I decided I was going to go watch Star Wars one day, and now I'm in love. Sure the movies are long, but I do not understand how they're uninteresting. Anyone could fall asleep while watching it-- I have before-- but that can happen to ANYONE. Anyways, this movie starts a story about great perseverance. Luke keeps working on trying to be a Jedi, save his friends, and help the rebels triumph over the Empire.

I'm also going to rant about others who slam Star Wars. Maybe the effects are cheesy, but look at the time era. I've seen effects ten times cheesier in movies made in the 2000's than this. Yes, it's not real, you can tell, but it's not bad for '77. It's pretty convincable, actually, after you get past the whole science-fiction/space theme.

As for the space opera, I love it. This, of course, is only the beginning. I might be reviewing the whole original trilogy, but I love how Lucas started Leia and Han so spiteful towards each other and then blossomed that into love. That is my favorite relationship of all times. :3 People are slamming John Williams for music. First of all, I own the soundtracks to Episode IV, V, and VI, and I say it is excellent, along with critics. It totally suits the movie. People are also complaining about Lucas blasting the "Imperial March" every time Vader comes on the screen. I noticed that, but that was in Episode V, when that song was actually invented. It might've had a brief part of it in IV because it was new, but it didn't REALLY come around until V.

It's very addicting, and I applaud Ford's acting the best. This movie is what started my love for him. He did an awesome job bringing Han Solo's personality to life, and he's the reason Solo is one of the characters I wish were real.

That's about it for now. "Star Wars" is a great movie that will never EVER be forgotten nor lose fans.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

This will be a day long remembered - a review 33 years in the making

9/10
Author: cosmorados from United Kingdom
17 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away a young farm boy named Luke Skywalker encounters two eccentric droids, gets attacked by sand people and is then saved by an old wizard by the name of Ben Kenobi. After a brief chat the farm boy discovers that Ben and Luke's father used to protect the universe as Jedi Knights until his father was killed by the evil Darth Vader. After his aunt and uncle are killed Luke realises his destiny has been chosen for him and he and Ben are going to have to take on the empire, and from this point movie history will never be the same again.

Much has been said about this movie and it almost feels redundant to discuss it, but, as it was the first film I saw at the pictures I feel almost duty bound to add my two penneth to the mix and so I will. This film was groundbreaking in terms of effects, but what we have learnt since Star Wars is that all the good effects in the world can't save a poor movie. The thing that makes this movie as damned good as it is, is the mixture of urgent direction, wonderful performances, a damned good script, that often gets blasted as being terrible, (If it was the film would also be terrible ...it isn't, ergo sum ...), a pioneering use of sound effects that really reinforce the more alien characters with a real sense of emotion (specifically Chewbacca and R2-D2) but of course the last big star of the movie is John Williams sweeping epic score, which even today is probably one of the greatest pieces of movie music ever.

These days I understand why a film like "Casablanca" and "Citizen Kane" cannot be appreciated by a modern audience because they are so hailed for their enormity on their first appearance that it often cannot be re-experienced by viewers after that. The first time we watch Star Wars we don't actually know that there is anything but Jawas on Tatooine, or that Obi-Wan Kenobi (That wizard's just a crazy old man) is a secret bad-@ss or that Han Solo, good for nothing mercenary, is seen right through by Jedi Knight Ben Kenobi. We who experienced it the first time will always feel it again, but the modern audience, who know so much about the film, cannot.

The film is full of classic moments, from Ben Kenobi's reveal, R2-D2's fall, Luke switching off his targeting computer, Han's constant irreverent humour, Ben's "that's no moon", and a dozen more, but even after all these years my favourite moment is that knowing look that Ben gives Luke at the end of his duel with Vader. His wry smile and the blend of music and performance by both Hamill and Guiness is sensational and still gives me goose bumps now. Amazing.

Since then the impact of the original three may have been watered down by the prequels, but as much as you can't polish a turd, you also cannot dim the brightest star. Which is why the term "May the force be with you" will always mean so much to so many.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Time Passes....Things Change

Author: seraSmi from United States
4 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was in my early 20's when the First Star Wars movie came out. Unless you were there, experiencing this new type of movie magic (because, up until then, we didn't have any kind of movies like this) it's hard to understand why it became the sensation that it did.

The original promotions for this Star Wars was a full page ad in all the major newspapers with mock-up's of a unidentified young man and a girl (Drawings in black and white on a white background that ran for WEEKS before the movie premiered. There was no indication of who they were or what the movie was about other than the Title. It cause a HUGE reaction of excitement and people were talking about it for weeks before the movie was released. I had to arrive at the theater 3 hours early and wait in line around the entire theater with hundreds of other people just to purchase my ticket and then sit another 2 hours in the theater waiting and wondering what it was going to be about. Up until that time, special effects were in their infancy. This movie reached a new level for the entire viewing audience in the world. We watched a new dawn of entertainment begin.

People have to remember that back then, there were no cell phones, no CORDLESS phones, no computers, gas was 57 cents a gallon and phone calls from a pay phone (which was your ONLY option unless you had access to a land line corded phone) were 10 cents. Video games weren't available in the old stand up versions yet. It would be years before play at home video games were invented. There were no CD's, vinyl records had to do.....cassette tapes were on the forefront....nor had DVDs been invented. 19 inch TV's were considered LARGE. No cable, no satellites. FM radio and color TV's were only a few years old.

Anyone under the age of 30 has no idea of the pure magic this first Stars wars was. And as one of the other users mentioned, George Lucas loved the old time Saturday kids serials and he NEVER, in his wildest imagination had any idea how he would create one of the most incredible franchise's in the world. Both he and Steven Spielberg changed the course of modern history. Had their movies never been made, today's special effects would not exist.

Today's youth have grown up with everything at their beck and call...cell phones, computers, incredible video game graphics, and extraordinary special effects in action movies. A lot of them have little or no respect for anyone who is older than 40. They have no idea how George Lucas and Steven Spielberg affected today's world. My generation saw the future before it existed.

If you look at the technology in the Episode III, it is near perfect; and if you watch the 4th original episode (the first movie), you'll see that even 30 years ago, the way the world was viewed we STILL don't have the actual technology in real life, NOW in 2008 that George Lucas created more than 30 years ago.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 135: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history