IMDb > Can I Do It 'Till I Need Glasses? (1977) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Can I Do It 'Till I Need Glasses?
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 13 reviews in total 

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

And yet I laughed

Author: jbels from Chicago
12 May 2003

This movie seems to have been made from a very old dirty joke book. You can see the punchlines coming a mile a way, and yet there is something strangely charming about this movie. Perhaps it's the fact that something like this could never be made today. All I know is that The Little Red Riding Hood skit made me laugh so loud, I had to rewind it and watch it again. If nothing else, it is only 70 minutes long, so if you hate it, it won't be two hours of torture like most movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fond Memories

7/10
Author: wjbrocker from United States
15 March 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

While the first film, "If You Don't Stop It...You'll Go Blind", was very funny, "Can I Do It 'Till I Need Glasses?" is far superior. As a movie junkie, I have had the privilege of seeing all THREE versions of this film in the theater. THREE versions, you say? How can THAT be?? Version #1: The original had none of the sketches that Robin Williams did. It DID, however, have three sketches by the comedy duo of Roger & Roger as the "Lone Stranger & Pronto." Version #2: The first re-release of the film had Robin Williams hyped as a featured player, although he only appeared in TWO sketches! A total rip-off! Not only that, but two of the original sketches were deleted from Version #2 to make room for the Robin Williams sketches. One of them was the third & final "Lone Stranger & Pronto" sketch. Version #3: After threats of lawsuits from Robin Williams (and others, possibly), the movie was again released in theaters without the Robin Williams sketches, but the two deleted original sketches were NOT included!! An even BIGGER rip-off!!

The first "Lone Stranger & Pronto" sketch was described by Theo Robertson in the User Comments, so I don't have to mention that. The 2nd sketch had The Lone Stranger in a saloon telling the bartender about the rattlesnake bite, how Pronto left him to die, and how he survived (that can still be seen). Here is the third, "Lost", sketch. The announcer states that The Lone Stranger has forgiven Pronto and are back together again. Hiding behind boulders, they are beset by large tribes of attacking Indians. The Lone Stranger points out the various tribes (using stock Western footage) charging from all sides. He then sees smoke signals, and asks Pronto to interpret them. After a few seconds, Pronto tells The Lone Stranger that the smoke signals say, "You going to DIE Kimmasabe!!" He then stands up an starts giving hand-signs to the attacking Indians(the Peace sign, the raised Power fist) while saying things like, "Don't shoot! Me Soul Brother! Peace, brother!", etc. FUNNY!! And LOST forever, unless the producers have the courage to release it on DVD. Just think; They could release it with ALL the sketches restored, including the lost sketches! Come on,guys! Other old movies are being revitalized, why not YOUR two masterpieces??

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Burlesque Redux

4/10
Author: Tomlonso
20 May 2002

An update of the skits and jokes you would have seen on a Burlesque stage in the first half of the 20th Century. It's a string of several jokes acted out. Some of them you could tell your Grandmother, some of them not, but it's a fairly safe bet she's heard them all before. For what it tries to be, it's not too bad. Before you rent it, remember that it's an older style of entertainment and has more value as history than as comedy or titillation. Robin Williams has a couple of bits, but he's interchangeable with the other players.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Old stale jokes

3/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
18 September 2008

No real plot to this one, just a series of short skits acting out some VERY old jokes. I chuckled once or twice in the beginning, much to my chagrin. But even at only 73 minutes this film wears out it's welcome before too long and becomes stale and tedious (with some nudity sprinkled in here and there to keep you awake). Still as bad as this movie is (and that's pretty putrid), it's a comedic gem compared to pretty much ANYthing by Aaron Seltzer & Jason Friedberg (Date movie, Epic movie, Meet the Spartans) Also the song is sadly kind of catchy in a sad way.

Eye Candy: 11 pair of tits, 3 bushes, 3 asses

My Grade: D

Code Red DVD Extras: Original trailer for this film; and trailers for "Beyond the Door", "Dead Pit", "the Farmer", "obsessed Ones", "Power Play", "Sole Survivor", & "Wacky Taxi"

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Low Brow But Amusing

6/10
Author: Theo Robertson from Isle Of Bute, Scotland
25 September 2005

I saw this when I was sixteen years old and perhaps this was the reason I found this sketch based film so very amusing and I can still remember some of the sketches more than half a lifetime ago

Man in nudist colony with back to camera hands two female nudists two cups

" Coffee ? "

" Thank you "

" Donuts ? "

" Thank you "

Guess where the donuts are being kept ? Ha Ha Ha . That sums up the level of humour and my favourite joke involved the Lone Ranger who is bitten by a rattlesnake while urinating ( Guess what part of his anatomy got bitten ? ) so sends Tonto to get medical help . He manages to go into town a find a doctor who tells him that the only way to treat snakebite is " to suck out the poison " so Tonto goes back to find find The Lone Ranger :

" What did he say "

Tonto sees his friend lying in sheer agony : " He said ssss , he said sss , he said you're going to die Kemosabi "

When asked most fans of this movie will admit the bus sketch is their favourite moment where a man sits on a crowded bus reading a porn mag . He unzips his pants and starts to masturbate . Yeah I know it's crude and near the knuckle even if the camera is locked onto a medium shot of the man's face but the joke works because it becomes long running . After the initial scene it cuts away to several more sketched then returns to the man who is more and more excited at pleasuring himself . Cut away to a couple more sketches then back to the bus which has now stopped with most of the passengers running out screaming . Back to a couple of more sketches then back to the bus with an overly excited man then back to the bus where he reaches a climax . In a state of sexual relief he pulls out a packet of ciggies and sticks one in his mouth . Thoughtfully he turns to the one remaining passenger on the bus , a priest and asks " Excuse me father do you mind if I smoke ? " The picture freezes and a caption and voice over is played - " You meet the nicest people on a bus "

Hey guys I saw this when I was sixteen . Don't blame if me if CAN DO IT TILL I NEED GLASSES hasn't dated well

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Wow... they made a movie of this?

2/10
Author: gfulda from West Virginia
12 May 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers... if such a thing is possible... . . . . . . . As a rabid Robin Williams fan, I felt it necessary to buy this film as first on-screen appearance. Wow... I could not imagine a more mind-numbing movie. Essentially, the movie takes one bad joke after another that your uncle Artie would tell you after dinner and dramatizes them. Robin Williams plays a lawyer in a 30 sec skit.

I'm all for bawdy humor, but this humor wasn't pleasantly vulgar, or ribald... it was just mind-numbing. There are no redeeming qualities to this film, other than Robin Williams fanatics, like me, who simply have to own every piece of film.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Old Ribald Jokes in the Flesh

Author: pimp4u from United States
1 May 2007

Right up there with Groove Tube and Kentucky Fried Movie, 'Till I Need Glasses acts out on every old ribald joke you've ever heard. Non-stop from the beginning to the end, there is never a moment's rest.

This is a sequel to the movie 'If you don't stop it you'll go blind'. Humorously titled 'Can I do it till I need glasses', the titles form a joke in themselves. There's not a frame that is not exposed with comedy.

I saw this when I was a teenager, and later married the girl I saw it with. I think this movie had a lot to do with that. But I like it anyway.

Plenty of sexual situations, mostly showing boobies.

This is a classic from the 70's, as the attire will attest. I'm going to rate it a MUST-SEE for anyone from 14 to 114. Find it on eBay or wherever and share it with your friends. You'll all truly enjoy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good

7/10
Author: Harriet Deltubbo from United States
30 August 2014

Here's a comedy comprised of short, sexually suggestive skits. Sounds corny? It's meant to be goofy. It's one of those films for which I could guess the plot exactly before I saw it. Never in my life have I laughed so hard! I really like this type of film, as it reminds me of Austrian comedies where it's more about the characters and their environment. It is simple yet effective and you'll likely like it at least a bit. Strong cast pulls the most out of mediocre material. I like all of the comedians. The people who put this one together really knew what they were doing. My final rating for this one is seven out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A joke-filled comedy on the adult world.

6/10
Author: Jason C. Atwood from Suffolk, Virginia
10 November 1998

Those skit-style comedy movies have been my personal favorites, and this is one of them, combining a variety show such as HEE HAW with MAD Magazine. I could not recognize Robin Williams throughout the entire program, and where did he come from? Well, you will certainly enjoy this one IF you are addicted to X-rated movies. If not, then you're not ready for this. The jokes are pretty outrageous if you can take them seriously. Watch the scene where a pervert rides on a bus and you'll get the idea! My biggest complaint is that it's way too racy and raunchy for my liking, which makes THE GROOVE TUBE (funnier!) and THE SEX O' CLOCK NEWS (not very funny!) mild in comparison. Be cautious when checking this title out!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Title tells all....

3/10
Author: gridoon2016
5 January 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

....as to the level of wit on which this comedy operates. Barely even reaching feature length, "Can I Do It....'Till I Need Glasses" is a collection of (mostly) dirty jokes. Many of them are so short that you can't believe it when you realize that THAT was supposed to be the punchline (example: the Santa Claus gag); others are so long that you can't believe it when you realize that they needed so much time to set up THAT punchline (example: the students' awards gag). And nearly all are directed without any artistry. Don't get me wrong: about 1 every 10 jokes actually manages to be funny (the iron / phone one is probably my favorite). There is also some wonderful full-frontal nudity that proves, yet again, that the female body, especially in its natural form, is the best thing on this planet (there is some comedic male nudity as well). And I agree with others that the intentionally stupid title song is actually pretty damn catchy! But none of those reasons are enough to give this film anything more than * out of 4.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history