New Fists of Fury (1976) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
20 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
6/10
Comeback movie (well first comeback) for Jackie
Shawn McKenna6 June 2005
After co-starring in Hand of Death, Jackie Chan was forced into an early retirement because of the shift in consumer tastes in movies. The Hong Kong audience was dissatisfied with the action films after the death of Bruce Lee, leaving an ever-widening amount of unemployed stunt-men and bit-players. Since Jackie was one of these casualties he retired to Australia to be with his family. There he did construction in the day and worked in a Chinese restaurant at night. Then he received a telegram from Willie Chan wanting him to work in a new film called New Fist of Fury – a sequel to the beloved Bruce Lee film Fist of Fury. He told him that the movie would be for the newly formed Lo Wei Productions and that the film would be directed by Lo Wei himself. Jackie would receive 3000 Dollars (HK) per month for acting (he would later receive 9000 for being the stunt coordinator.) Little did anyone know that this unknown actor would become a big boon to the industry; though, this would not happen for a while and would not happen (directly) because of this film.

New Fist of Fury is typical of a Lo Wei film, it lacks cohesion and character with an overuse of plot elements. The film starts after the destruction of the Ching Wu School in Shanghai. The remnants of the school, led by the delightful Miss Lee (Nora Miao), are forced to flee to Taiwan to avoid persecution from the Japanese. She will stay with her grandfather Su Onli who is the head of a martial arts school. Unfortunately, the Japanese are ubiquitous in Taiwan too. When her group arrives, they are the target of a thief Helong (Jackie Chan) and his companion Old Chin (Hon Siu). Helong (Ah Lung in some translations) steals a wooden box containing the prize weapon of the late Brother Chen (Bruce Lee in the superior Fist of Fury) – nun-chucks.

Later, after Helong is found in a ditch beaten half-to-death by the students of Chin Ching Kai, he is found by Miss Lee's group and is nursed back to health (with the help of his prostitute mother's money, whom he does not know.) For all of this help and their forgiveness of him stealing their property, he refuses to learn Kung Fu so he can continuously be beaten up. Miss Lee has bigger problems than trying to get Helong to learn Kung Fu – the Japanese occupancy.

Akumora (played by the muscular Chan Sing) is the Japanese provincial leader who wants to combine the Chinese martial art schools under his Di Wah school. There is a great scene with him catching a knife in his teeth and then throwing it from his mouth killing an attacker. It is so hard to take this scene seriously, but it reminded me what Ed Wood might have done if he directed a Kung Fu film. Akumora is an interesting character that starts off semi-decent and then ends up completely anti-Chinese ("I kill Chinese, just like I kill dogs.") This is another annoyance with the film; it is completely ethnocentric with one-dimensional Japanese characters. This annoyance is especially evident when Akumora challenges a staged Kwong Gung, stating that the Japanese heroes are much better than Chinese's heroes. This infuriates Master Su during his 80th birthday celebration and leads to his death (when he jumps over a large crowd of people and apparently has a heart attack.) With the death of Master Su, Miss Lee decides to revive the Ching Wu School. This leads to an obvious clash with the Di Wah School.

One of the biggest problems with this film (yes even worse than the ever-yelling Jen Da So, the kiai spewing daughter of Akumora) is that Jackie is misused and miscast in this film. He constantly gets beat up by both Japanese and Chinese and yet refuses to learn Kung Fu. He does not get a decent fight scene until at least three-fourths of the film is over and yet he obtained his skills in just a few days (it is amazing what anti-Japanese sentiment can make you accomplish). When he does fight, his skills are quite evident. Jackie is very acrobatic and his fight scenes flow well though he is relegated to using actors who are weak in martial arts (with a few exceptions like Han Ying Chieh) and they slow down many of the action scenes.

I am a fan of Jackie Chan (and many of the HK films of this era), but this is not a film that rises above mediocrity. While it is not worse than many films during the 70's it has a few negative attributes that will doggedly follow it -- New Fist of Fury followed one of the most beloved of Bruce Lee films with a weak sequel and misused a future Hong Kong Superstar. Useless Tidbit: look for a small cameo role for Lo Wei where he portrays an inspector.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Jackie Chan stars in this disappointing follow-up to Bruce Lee's Fist of Fury.
BA_Harrison31 August 2008
The first of several movies directed by Lo Wei to feature up 'n' coming martial arts star Jackie Chan, New Fist of Fury was devised as a sequel to Bruce Lee's popular film Fist of Fury (which was also directed by Wei).

Chan plays Lung, a layabout thief in Japanese-occupied Taiwan who hates the Japs and enjoys a brawl, but has no interest in learning kung fu, meaning that he regularly gets his ass handed to him by his opponents.

After being discovered left for dead in a ditch after one particularly severe beating, Lung is nursed back to health by the students of a local kung fu school run by kindly Master Su and his pretty grand-daughter, Miss Lee (Nora Miao). Lung is invited to train at the school but refuses, unwilling to give up his freedom as a thief.

However, when Akumora (Chan Sing), the local Japanese official, takes his bully boy tactics too far, eventually causing the death of Master Su, Lung has a change of heart, becomes a highly skilled martial artist overnight (or so it seems) and kicks some major Japanese butt (before being shot to death in the film's closing frames!!!).

With the star spending most of this film as a punching bag for his enemies, and very little evidence of the innovative slapstick comedy/fight action that one generally associates with his later movies, New Fist of Fury is bound to disappoint many Chan fans. Unless you are a rabid fan of JC and wish to see all of his early work, you would probably be better off giving this one a miss (or watch either the Bruce Lee original, or the excellent Jet Li version of the story, Fist of Legend).
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sal
sal-2922 February 1999
This is the first film for Jackie as a new Kung-Fu star after the miss of Bruce Lee. Jackie has kept being very popular in Japan since late 70's. When I was a kid,I saw the picture of original Hong Kong made poster of this and dreamed to see this film in the theatre someday -- because this is "part-2" of that Bruce Lee's masterpiece, and the director was Lo-Wei, the same guy who directed original Fist of Fury!!!!...But this one has never shown in Japanese movie theatre at all. Some of Jackie's Kung-Fu films in 70's are so shabby, they are almost garbages (Mostly because of Lo-Wei).But Jackie's Kung-Fu actions in this one is one of the best in his 70's. But if you are Bruce Lee fan and will see this as "Part-2" of his masterpiece "FIST OF FURY", DON'T TOUCH THIS!! Maybe you will be mad and burn this video.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
not for Jackie Chan fans
miketh20 March 2001
1970s kung fu movies have never exactly been known for outstanding (or comprehensible) plot. So, if you're anything like me, you were expecting this movie to be like the rest of Jackie Chan's early career: silly, unrealistic, and largely nonsensical, but fun nevertheless just because of Jackie's sheer force of personality. And, of course, his incredible stunts and fight scenes.

Unfortunately, New Fist of Fury fails even to meet that modest standard. The entire first half of the movie is apparently dedicated to the development of the plot. Bad move on the filmmakers' part. A kung fu movie is about kung fu, not lots of boring... *talking*. Jackie doesn't even start to learn kung fu until the movie is nearly over, for pity's sake! This would be forgivable, I guess, if the resulting plot were at all interesting. No such luck. Besides which, most of it simply becomes irrelevant by the second half of the movie, when everything hinges around a straightforward martial-arts-school showdown. As for the ending... well, I don't want to give anything away, but let's just say it's incredibly abrupt and surprising. And not in a good way.

This isn't to say there aren't fight scenes. There are several of them pointlessly interspersed throughout the tedious plot development, and one big one at the end that *almost* makes the rest worthwhile. But when the fights do break out, even when Jackie is actually involved, this isn't the almost cartoonish, balletic violence we see in his other movies. Rather, it's fierce and bloody -- the actors in the final fight scenes chomp down fake blood capsules like M&Ms -- and seems to hinge around the frequent use of kicks to the groin. (The guys kicked in the groin, inexplicably, are all given lingering closeups.) The fight scenes are still incredibly cool, of course, but not worth sitting through two hours of cheesy dreck.

In brief, this movie is too ridiculous to work in terms of plot, and its fight scenes are too nasty and spaced-apart to redeem it.

A few particularly ridiculous things to look for, if you watch this movie anyhow:

1. The high-pitched whoops and screeches during the old kung fu teacher's speech. (I don't know if that was a loon being tortured to death, or the cries of agony from one of the groin-kick victims.) 2. The old kung fu teacher's leaping-and-shouting related death, and the fact that his body still stands there looking annoyed afterwards. 3. The Japanese army captain's dubbed-over voice. "Weaselly" is a vast understatement here. 4. Jackie's Fist of Fury technique -- described on the back of my VCR tape case as "a new and deadly art, never before revealed on the screen" -- which involves waving his arms up and down slowly during funky 70s hypno-music. Deadly indeed.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
No Mr. Nice Guy Chan here...
Paul Magne Haakonsen15 August 2012
First I will say that, yes I did enjoy Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury", but I also enjoyed this pseudo-sequel as well. There wasn't all that much reference back to the first movie if you look at it, sure Chen Zhen was mentioned, as was Jing Wu, but beyond that, then there wasn't all that much reference. And I found that "New Fist of Fury" was actually an adequate movie in itself. Watch it for what it is, a Kung Fu movie meant for entertaining.

The story is fairly simple, a young man living as a thief comes to be forced into learning Kung Fu at the Jing Wu academy during the time when Taiwan was occupied by Japanese troops. And this young man embodies the Taiwanese spirit and fights for an independent Taiwan, standing up to the Japenese occupational force.

Bear in mind that this is an early Jackie Chan movie, and it was before all the slapstick comedy became his trademark, so this is a more serious Kung Fu movie compared to most other of his movies. Being a movie from 1976, you of course have the odd sound effects during the Kung Fu scenes and fairly questionable acting compared to today's standards.

There was a good amount of nice fighting throughout the movie, however I think the last showdown, the climax of the movie, was actually a little bit too much drawn out, taking a bit too long to finish. And then the scene when the movie ends was rather anti-climatic.

The movie in itself is a well worthy addition to any Jackie Chan fan's DVD collection, especially because it is outside of the usual slapstick comedy genre of Kung Fu.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I highly recommend this flick.
jon144k10 June 2002
(this text is from an email i wrote immediately after watching the movie)

Wow Nate, I just watched a Jacky Chan movie called New Fist of Fury. This movie is the sequel to Bruce Lee's Chinese Connection (known in Asia as Fists of Fury, I think?)!

This is another one of those Jacky Chan movies that is not so funny at all. Actually the movie was downright depressing and infuriating. It's a great movie; it takes the Bruce Lee classic one step further. Just watching the Japanese disrespect and even kill the Chinese made me so upset during the whole time that I just started to lift weights and work out as an outlet for the hurt I felt.

It's hard watching racial discrimination on this scale... the setting here was Taiwan and the Japanese were in total control of the island. It's hard to believe but the prejudice in this movie was even worse than in the Chinese Connection. The treatment of Chinese in this movie was brutal, to say the least. Jacky Chan turned in another passionate, violent, un-humorous performance; the kind of which he is not known for nowadays.

I highly recommend this flick.

On another note, at the end of the DVD they had a bio of Chan and it said he moved to Australia at a very young age, and he studied martial arts there! I had no idea; I find that amazing.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A terrible Kung-Fu Film
caspian197814 September 2001
Ok, call me crazy but I think good Kung-Fu films should have a lot of fighting.....don't you? In the first hour of this film, there's about 30 seconds of fighting. Why? What's the point of this film? This film is said to be a sequel to the original. It is not. This movie is a waste of time if you're looking to watch some good Kung-Fu action films. This movie is a drag. There's no character development, no good action sequences, and no story line.

Leave this one on the shelf and rent the original Fists of Fury instead.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
An early starring role for Jackie Chan.
alexanderdavies-993822 October 2017
It was a mistake in trying to model Jackie Chan as the new Bruce Lee. There will only be one Bruce Lee. "Golden Harvest" attempted to make Chan's character in "New Fist of Fury" another version of Chen Chen (Lee) from the previous "Fist of Fury" movie. Chan is angry, hard-edged and determined but none of that suited him. Jackie Chan needed a chance to develop his own personality and identity in the Asian film community. Eventually, he succeeded. The plot picks up where "Fist of Fury" left off and the narrative here is a rambling mess! There is poor continuity and the film's depressing tone doesn't help. It is rather obvious that Chan and the school he belongs to, haven't a chance against their Japanese enemies. The film may have a generous dose of location shooting but that doesn't compensate for much. The fight scenes are still pretty good and at least they provide some distraction from the film's weaknesses.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Jackie's first starring role is also one of his worst films
Leofwine_draca3 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Jackie Chan's first leading role is in this disappointing follow-up to Bruce Lee's FIST OF FURY, although sadly it bears little resemblance to the former movie. Instead it is a long-winded and slowly paced movie, with a threadbare plot dragged to boredom point at frequent intervals. The story involves the Japanese ruling over the Chinese in Taiwan, but for the first hour and a half there is little action to recommend things and the production values and dubbing are as terrible as ever.

However, things do definitely pick up for the film's finale, which is the only saving grace really. It sees a newly-trained Chan battling against various Japanese killers and assassins. The finale does indeed offer plentiful violence and lots of cool martial arts moves, and to make things better there's a twist ending which comes totally out of left field and will make your jaw drop to the ground. Other than that, this is threadbare entertainment indeed, and the stuffy direction from Lo Wei makes it a really hard watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Authentic! 5/10
leonblackwood6 November 2015
Review: This is a very authentic Kung Fu movie which I found quite amusing because of its funny dubbing and old skool storyline, we're a pupil is out to revenge his master. The old ones are always the best! Jackie Chan was a young looking 22 year old when he starred in this movie and his martial arts skills wasn't as polished as they are in his latter movies but the epic showdown at the end was still quite good. Chan plays A Lung, who steals from the rich with his father, who he also lives with. After turning down many Kung Fu schools because he doesn't like the fact that he would have to change his lifestyle, he finally joins a school because he is fed up with the way that the Japanese are putting down the Chinese way of training. One of the Japanese Kung Fu school leaders, wants to make all of the Chinese martial arts schools come under his umbrella but all of them want to stay independent so the conflict turns to violence. He offers all of the schools to a battle for power but his elite squad easily take out the Chinese top fighters. When he finally gets to challenge A Lungs school, an epic showdown between there top fighters takes place and the Japanese leader uses underarm tactics to try and take out A Lung. I just admit, the action scenes were not the best and some of the fighting was really slow but the determination from Chan in the final showdown was great. There was a hint of silly comedy at the beginning but once the movie gets going, the politics between the Japanese and Chinese schools was quite interesting. I doubt they could make a movie like this in this day and age because it's not really politically correct but with that aside you can really see how much Chan stood out from the rest at such a young age. I can't really see how it's connected to the original Fist of Fury, which Chan also starred in and I do think that people will be a bit disappointing because they might be expecting something close to the original, which starred the brilliant Bruce Lee. Anyway, you can't fault this movie for its authenticity and believable cinematography but the action scenes were a bit weak. Watchable!

Round-Up: This movie was made a few years before Chan hit it big with Drunken Master but he still had a few movies behind him so he wasn't new to the big screen. His acting was quite impressive, for that day and age and the straight forward storyline was interesting throughout. The director, Wei Lo, who died in 1996 of heart failure, also directed the original Fist of Fury and the Big Boss which both starred the great Bruce Lee, so he was one of the lucky directors to have worked with the best in the martial arts world. He had made over 60 movies in his career, most of which I can't pronounce because they were made in China but he will always be remembered for the movies that he made with Bruce Lee which have become timeless masterpieces. 

Budget: N/A Worldwide Gross: HK$456,787.20

I recommend this movie to people who are into their action/martial arts/dramas starring Jackie Chan, Ming Cheng Chang and Shen Lin Chang. 5/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Jackie Chan evoking the spirit of Bruce Lee.
mylimbo8 February 2013
Somewhat a sequel (really in-name-only, although there are minor character references and the dangerous title name method gets used without the same affect) to Lo Wei's "Fist of Fury" that starred martial arts legend Bruce Lee, Wei would go on to direct having Jackie Chan on the main mantle, in what is a virtual remake in the political theme of China vs. Japan and certain story plots. Chinese academies fighting to stay alive against Japanese martial arts school. Spirited, but the impact and charisma of Chan just doesn't feel right. A young Chan is quite raw, in a more aggressive and vengeance-filled role. But it's far from a Jackie Chan vehicle, as he doesn't really come into play until midway through due to his character's reckless and carefree attitude that sees him constantly being beaten up. Still there are some outstanding martial art sequences, namely the final long-winded confrontation where it's brutal and bloody (and those nun-chucks get a work out) with an out-of-the-blue payoff that tries to be as iconic as the film it's wanting to be. Pacing can be a little uneven (excluding those kung-fu slow-motion shots), but director Wei keeps the story straight-forward adding enough interest and tension with Chan Sing making a terrific deadly opponent for Chan and Nora Miao is good too.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Oh, so Great !
ebiros229 October 2011
This movie is not made by the Golden Harvest, but by a company called Lo Wei Motion Picture Company Limited. Lo Wei is the director who directed the original "Fist of Fury". A director who purportedly didn't get along so well with Bruce Lee, because he was listening to horse races while he was directing. He's the director in this movie as well.

Good of this movie is the very beautiful Nora Miao, and young Jacky Chan. There's more comedic touch in this movie compared to the intense Bruce Lee's version. Jacky Chan is not the almighty kung fu expert, but more of an average good guy.

Story is similar to the original Fist of Fury. Japanese karate school is harassing the Chinese kung fu school. At one point, grand master dies from heart attack caused by the Japanese. From that point on, everyone at the Jing Wu school unite to defeat the Japanese, with similar result in the end.

This movie out does the original Fist of Fury. Production is better, and the story is exciting. It's one great kung fu movie, and definitely makes it to the A list.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
China vs. Japan - The Ultimate Showdown.
Guardia11 July 2007
Fairly drawn-out and sometimes frustrating Kung Fu film about the Japanese occupation of Taiwan. This film is not too bad, you just have to make it to the final reel - something that I expect only enthusiasts of this genre will do. So why is it frustrating? Well, Jackie (or Jacky as credited here), does virtually nothing until fellow Chinese literally drag him into a Kung Fu school in the last quarter of the (2 hour) film.

Sure, he has one action scene early in the film, but he succeeds only in getting pounded nicely by two Japanese fighters. A nice motive for him to learn Kung Fu, I thought. But I was wrong. He does nothing about it...

Anyway, this is one of the more coherent Wei Lo films, and the tension builds fairly steadily. The main villain played by Sing Chen is a believable and decidedly confronting and dangerous man - he's great.

The references to Bruce Lee are tastelessly rammed down your throat, but the final fight is great and suitably brutal. It's a good revenge story, with an unusual ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good movie, but not your typical kung fu or Jackie Chan flick
taleo15 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
"New Fist of Fury" is a sequel to Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury" (also known as "The Chinese Connection"). Bruce Lee's movie takes place in Japanese-controlled Shanghai, where Bruce Lee's character (whose name I've forgotten) tries to take revenge on the Japanese who poisoned and killed the leader of his Chiang Wu kung fu school. Bruce Lee eventually solves the murder and gets his revenge, but with severe consequences - both his and the Japanese schools are destroyed, and he is killed in the end.

"New Fist of Fury" starts out with the police inspector from Shanghai smuggling the three remaining members of the Chiang Wu school to Taiwan. At Taiwan, these three plan to take revenge on the Japanese, and the story goes on from there.

In this movie, Jackie Chan plays a petty thief who initially has no kung fu skills and has no interest in learning martial arts or fighting against the Japanese. With time however, he gets fed up with the Japanese oppression, and joins Chiang Wu.

If you are expecting a typical Jackie Chan movie, you won't find it here. "New Fist of Fury" does NOT have much fighting until the latter half of the movie. Additionally, this movie does NOT have the usual goofy Jackie Chan-type humor.

Note that in "New Fist of Fury," the Japanese are portrayed as jerks, and any Chinese that cooperate with them are jerks AND traitors. If you can't handle the extreme one-sidedness, you may not like this movie or Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury," which has a very similar vibe.

For you Girl Power types, it is worth noting that Nora Miao plays a strong female protagonist as the leader of the revived Chiang Wu school.

All in all, I liked this movie, even more so than Bruce Lee's original. It's not a great movie, but good nonetheless. It has some good martial arts action, including some nice weapon fights. And the story is actually not that bad compared to the horrid stuff in other films of the genre.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
New Fist of Fury
kurciasbezdalas6 December 2008
I've watched this movie for three reasons. The first one is, because this movie is a sequel to Fist of Fury (my favorite Bruce Lee's film). The second one is because Jackie Chan is in this movie. The third reason is because I wanted to see some good Kung Fu fights. I wasn't disappointed. This movie is not a remake of Fist of Fury (not like I expected), it's a real sequel, even Nora Miao and her character returned in this film. Jackie Chan was pretty good. The fighting scenes were great, though the real fights begun only at the second half of the movie. This movie has a similar plot with Fist of Fury, but I think it's good, I would be disappointed if this movie was very different from it's prequel.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Classic martial arts film with interesting plot and plenty of action.
roberts44128 January 2005
I just finished watching "New Fist Of Fury" and I found the plot to be interesting and the martial arts action entertaining. Jackie Chan does a commendable job in one of the first films of his successful career. Unlike "Rush Hour" and other films that have followed it, Jackie's demeanor is mostly serious. The martial arts action is fast and intense. In addition, the plot draws the action together nicely. The familiar themes of revenge and bitter discourse between the Japanese and Chinese are present throughout. I have seen the original "Fist Of Fury" with Bruce Lee and I feel that this film is a worthy successor. If you like classic martial arts films of the 70s and 80s; this film is for you.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Stupid not a good Chan movie
ctyankee129 March 2017
I did not watch all of it. I downloaded it awhile back. It seemed foolish. Three Chinese people hate the Japanese. There is a woman and 2 males one male is to fat to do any of this Kung Fu stuff. They are in Shanghai and get help going to Taiwan with the intent of revenge to fight the Japanese.

Jackie Chan is in this and his name is listed as Jacky Chan not Jackie Chan. "Detel Choi and Alan Linn" are not listed. "Nora Miao" is listed on this sight. Also the music name in the beginning of the movie is "Tong Wah" not the one listed on this page with I think this version is in a different language and they try to make it sound like the characters are speaking English. This movie was produced by "Alpha Films". So I don't know if this is the same movie but when it starts it says "New Fist of Fury"

Chan gets into a fight with two men. In other films he always comes out a winner. Well not in the beginning of this film about 9 minutes in he gets beat up by 2 men. He wants to act brave and talks like he is brave and says things like: "You bastards", "I hate your guts","Kiss my ass go on".

It does not sound like Jackie Chan's voice. Later there are a group of men and women getting drunk. Just seemed like a very tacky movie

I did not waste my time watching the rest of it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
solid fist of fury followup
daworldismine17 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
i am a huge chan fan but i knew what the movie was about so when i watched it i watched it as a sequel to one of my fave movies fist of fury, and in that respect i thought it was a great sequel and followed from the original very well. chan was great in it occasionally showing what would later make him a star. i feel this is a very underrated movie that people should view before they bash it. a solid kung fu movie,although chan does not really fight during the beginning of the movie but the build up is worth it believe me. some people don't like the ending but i thought it was a powerful ending to a powerful movie. as a chan movie it may not deliver on all levels but as a follow up to fist of fury this is a very good companion.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
confusion (?)
benisaloser15 June 2005
Alright. so i feel like i should clear some stuff up first...i have this movie called...new fist of fury, which is the sequel to the Chinese connection, also called fist of fury, but the big boss (which features many of the same actors as new fist of fury) is also called fists of fury (the DVD i have of this movie is called fists of fury). Confusion is also aroused by the fact that the villain of the big boss is part of Ching Wu school in this movie. I don't know, i just thought i should mention this since it is really funny to me.

Alright so, if you like Kung Fu movies...and by Kung Fu movies i mean bad Kung Fu movies, you will like this movie. It has all the elements: bad dubbing (by the people who seem to do every Kong fur movie EVER), shots that got cut up really horribly so you only see someone's ear and Another really funny thing is how there is a Japanese flag clearly present in the background of most of the scenes featuring Japanese characters.

What i actually liked about this movie is that Jackie Chan is not trying to be funny for once, kind of. I mean the whole not knowing Kong fur forces him to act a certain way, but it's okay i guess. For some reason though, i thought Jackie was above the whole posthumous Bruce Lee cashing in phenomenon, but if you think about it, it makes the rest of his career make a lot more sense.

So if you watch this movie as a normal horrible Kung Fu movie, and don't somehow elevate it because it's Jackie Chan (which in reality, you shouldn't) then it's AWESOME. and the fight scenes where Jackie starts to get intense don't feature him throwing baskets and flowerpots at people for once (another thing i hate about Jackie Chan, but that's just me)...and i have a little crush on Nora Mao.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Am I the only one?
me-4626 February 2002
Am I the only one that likes this film? I got this for 5 bucks and was extremely happy because I didn't want to waste good money on a bad film. This was anything but. I got the dubbed version, but the voices were standable, expecially Jackie's. His is done by the same man that does many of his other early dubbing. I'll admit that I haven't seen the original, and I'm not really planning on it. If you are a fan of Jackie (a big fan, not casual viewer) then you should check out this film; realize that it was his first starring role.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews