IMDb > Taxi Driver (1976) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Taxi Driver
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Taxi Driver More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 92: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 917 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Perfect movie making

10/10
Author: Jason-Phillips
15 April 2003

Perfect movie making, that includes a great lead actor, director and scored with perfect music. Some can relate to either the narrative or/and the character development. My father believes the film meant a lot to him in the seventies coming back from a war he didn't want to fight in, so its interesting to see how reverent it is today. The ending confused me.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

DeNiro at the peak of acting excellence

10/10
Author: Maniac-9 from St. Louis, MO
17 January 2013

Robert DeNiro gives a tour de force of acting excellence in this movie. One of the best acting performances of all time. This is a period of DeNiro's career when he was consistently churning out Oscar calibre performances one after another. He had this movie, Godfather Part II, The Deer Hunter, Raging Bull all within the same basic time frame. When DeNiro and Scorsese were teaming up to make movies it was the best actor/director combinations in movie history. You had the best mind for movies in Scorsese working with the best on screen performer of his time.

It's a study of a man who's completely alone in the world even when surrounded by other people. What DeNiro was able to do just looking into a mirror asking "Are you talking to me" by himself is one of the best movie scenes in movie history.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

De Niro was outstanding!

9/10
Author: lastliberal from United States
27 April 2007

I actually saw this for the first time this morning. I couldn't sleep and it was on at 4am. It was every bit as good as I was led to believe.

Comparing the two, I cannot see how this lost to Rocky at the Academy Awards. Scorsese fans will also agree that he deserved a directing award for this film. While De Niro and Foster were fantastic, I feel that Cybill Shepherd was equally good, and should have been recognized for her performance. This film won 18 awards out of 27 nominations. Basically only the Academy didn't get on the bandwagon. But, in all those nominations, none for Sheperd. I really think that was wrong.

Great film, and I will watch it again and again.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Martin Scorsese's masterpiece.

9/10
Author: paolo_pap2000 from Italy
1 January 2005

It's a beautiful and violent story that talk about a lonely man, Travis Bickle,and the city where he lives in.Driving by night, the protagonist meets the strangest people in the world. He hates New York because he think it's a dirty city with bad people. But at the end of the film he saves a 12 years old prostitute and kill her pimps, so he becomes a hero. The story, that is written by Paul Schrader, is full of violence, and bad words but at the same time it is also sad and a bit romantic. Robert De Niro is fantastic and Bernard Herrmann's music is good too. Taxi driver is one of the most beautiful films in the history of the cinema.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Bleak and Depressive

8/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
24 August 2015

The former marine Travis Bickle (Robert DeNiro) is insomniac and decides to work as taxi driver in the night shift. Travis is a lonely uneducated man that spends his leisure time watching porn films in the theaters. When Travis sees the gorgeous Betsy (Cybill Shepherd) working as a volunteer in the campaign for president of Senator Charles Palantine (Leonard Harris), he has a crush on her. He invites Betsy to drink coffee with him and later he dates her. However he takes her to see a porn Swedish movie and she feels offended and leaves him. Travis unsuccessfully sends flowers for her but she rejects him. Travis meets the young prostitute Iris (Jodie Foster) that is trying to flee from her pimp Sport (Harvey Keitel) in his taxi but Sport takes her from the car. Travis also buys several weapons from a dealer and practices shooting. When he meets Iris again, he is resolute to help her. Will Travis succeed in his intent?

"Taxi Driver" is a bleak and depressive film directed by Martin Scorsese about lowlifes and losers in New York. The lead character is an unstable taxi driver poorly educated and capable to bring his date to watch porn film since he does not know any other genre. Robert DeNiro has magnificent performance and Jodie Foster is amazing in the role of a twelve year-old prostitute. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Taxi Driver"

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

De Niro masterpiece...

10/10
Author: sslupu from Romania
4 January 2008

this could have been only a "good" movie, but De Niro's interpretation makes a very good one out of it. the first half of the movie i was still in expectation of something. there are a few longer scenes, that could be not that tasteful for one or another. to be honest, i had expected more from Scorsese on this movie, but my expectations regarding Robert De Niro were fulfilled. thats why i consider that De Niro "saved" this movie with his interpretation. otherwise, i saw a rather pale Cybill Sheppard, and a pretty convincing Harvey Keitel. i like the created atmosphere in "taxi driver", the theme is very in actuality these days also. well done, Robert!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Suck On This!

5/10
Author: Dalbert Pringle from New Zealand
27 February 2015

If you ask me - I think that Taxi Driver is one of those truly puzzling films that has been seriously over-rated (way-way-way out of proportion). It really has.

With me giving Taxi Driver 5 stars, I think that I am actually being quite generous with that rating - 'Cause, at best, this film was an average production that seemed to contain an almost endless stream of filler-scenes where absolutely nothing of any interest ever happens.

Now 40 years old, Taxi Driver (which contained some of the most inane dialogue and preposterous situations imaginable) certainly doesn't hold up very well today.

And fresh-faced actor, Robert De Niro, as the psychotic vigilante, Travis Bickle (and his double-talking, dime-store philosophy) was pretty dull stuff, for the most part.

And, speaking about Taxi Driver's climatic final showdown - I actually burst out laughing as I watched how badly this sequence was staged. And the over-dramatization of the violence, after the fact, was one of the worst examples of bad directing that I've seen in a mighty long time.

All-in-all - This highly-praised picture barely managed to rise above mediocrity on only a few occasions.

P.S. - If you want to see a real stand-out performance worthy of a "Razzie", check out Cybill Shepherd, as Betsy, the airhead political organizer.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A Disturbing and Powerful Masterpiece

10/10
Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
13 February 2000

Martin Scorsese's Taxi Driver is a riveting, disturbing and powerful masterpiece of a film that gives new meaning to the word "snapped". The scenes, quotes and characters are legendary and so is this film giving breakthrough performances to Albert Brooks, Jodie Foster, and of course, Robert De Niro.

De Niro plays Travis Bickle, a disturbed taxi driver who drives his taxi all around new York City going crazier every day. He also meets Iris (AKA Easy) played by Foster who is also disturbed, but in a not as good way. And what the story leads up to is one of the most memorable pieces of cinema ever. The film is great, the score by Bernard Hermann (his last) is excellent, and the feeling, and atmosphere is perfect. So, "are you talking to me"?

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Traffic

Author: tedg (tedg@filmsfolded.com) from Virginia Beach
22 December 2001

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoilers herein.

Readers of my other comments know that I believe that there are different types of films, depending on whether the skeleton is the writer's, the actor's, or the camera's. The more I use it, the more confidence I have that in general, one drives out the other. Just before reseeing this, I worked on `One-Eyed Jacks,' which is probably the touchstone of the actor driving out the eye.

But here, we have a happy accident of three talents that don't step on each other: DeNiro, Schrader and Scorsese. Of these, Schrader is the strongest and every deviation from his vision weakens the fabric. The one main example is Keitel's dance with Jodie.

The key device here is that the narrator is Bickle. Everything is/must be something he personally witnesses (until his death) and reports to us. The idea is far from novel. Why it works here is Scorsese's intuition to play the camera OFF of Bickle, while De Niro works to keep the attention on him. That tension (which Schrader intended) is what makes this work.

But this is not perfect. Keitel, like De Niro doesn't get this dynamic; we don't want De Niro to, that would ruin the main device because we want him to pull to himself against the camera. But when Keitel does his stuff, it has a negative effect because there is no narrative countermeasure..

Foster's presence was good enough when this film was new because the very idea of a 12 year old whore was enough. But seeing it a quarter century later, you can see her thinness compared to the rest of the cast. They really understand their characters and crawl into them. She has no idea, none at all.

Another problem is the cab metaphor. Paul didn't quite center that one. He did get it right later with the ambulance in `Bringing Out the Dead,' which used the same energy of selfish actor pulling one way and camera pulling another way. But that time, they fought over the vehicle at the same time they fought in your mind. And of course that had De Palma's eye.

Finally, the camera we see here has energy, but far less than what Scorsese's buddy De Palma was doing at this time. Imagine what De Palma (or Hitchcock) would have done with that angel shot after the massacre.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Unrepeatable

10/10
Author: neca9996 from Serbia
2 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My Favourite movie. Number one. Such a film is once seen in life. Unique experience.Something that can not be described.De Niro definitely demolished it. The man gave an unsolvable homework to other actors.I am also amazed by the man who devised this story.You just have to watch the movie.I do not know what else I would say !

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 92: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history