Family (TV Series 1976–1980) Poster


Episode List



9 Mar. 1976
Pilot: The Best Years
Nancy walks in on Jeff and finds him with another woman and moves back home. Buddy overhears something Kate says about her children, and runs away.
16 Mar. 1976
Monday Is Forever
The family is stressed out and Kate is nervous as she must continue to wait for news from the doctor on Monday, whether or not she has cancer. Buddy may lose her friend Laura, whose family may have to move to Detroit.
23 Mar. 1976
A Special Kind of Loving
Willie meets Salina McGee and falls in love, leading to Buddy's jealousy, who needs him to help her overcome her fear of diving.
30 Mar. 1976
A Right and Proper Goodbye
Hattie, Kate's headstrong mother, pays a final visit to the family. She attempts to hide a serious illness, but takes Buddy into her confidence. Kate eventually realizes that Hattie can no longer live independently and considers moving her in with the Lawrence family, though Doug and Buddy are resistant to the idea for very different reasons. Ultimately, Hattie returns to her Oregon farm, accompanied by Willie. Weeks later, Willie phones with the news that Hattie has died peacefully.
6 Apr. 1976
Thursday's Child
The family relives painful memories of Timmy Sr.'s death as Timmy Jr.'s christening approaches.
13 Apr. 1976
Point of Departure
During a string of burglaries that sweeps through the neighborhood and tests the family, Doug resents Willie's attitude towards life and work.
6 Oct. 1976
Coming Apart
When Buddy gets a part-time job at a bakery, Willie is smitten with the owner, Big Al. Meanwhile, Nancy finds herself in a romantic triangle between Peter, her former college professor, and ex-husband Jeff, anxious for a reconciliation.
19 Oct. 1976
Such Sweet Sorrow
Willie's relationship with Big Al is complicated by Salina's surprise reappearance in his life. Doug considers relocating the family to New York.
26 Oct. 1976
Home Movie
Willie annoys the family when he decides to film their lives for a documentary. In a school assignment, Buddy ponders how she'll leave her mark on the world.
9 Nov. 1976
Coming of Age
Buddy begins puberty. Nancy finds herself torn between Peter's proposal and her attraction to a stranger.
16 Nov. 1976
Jury Duty: Part 1
Kate confronts fear and prejudice when she's selected for jury duty in the trial of a young Latino man accused of the rape and murder of a girl the same age as Buddy. Buddy tries to win T.J. Latimer and a skateboarding competition.
23 Nov. 1976
Jury Duty: Part 2
After Rudy Cortes is freed, Kate doubts her decision when another young girl is murdered. Buddy is stalked by the killer.
30 Nov. 1976
The Cradle Will Fall
The family is drawn into a custody battle between Salina and her daughter's married father. Kate accidentally discovers that Elaine's husband Fred is being unfaithful.
7 Dec. 1976
Skeleton in the Closet
Doug must face his sister Emily's alcoholism. Buddy tries to help a senior citizen she spots shoplifting food from the supermarket.
21 Dec. 1976
On the First Day of Christmas
Doug and his father are at odds when James introduces the family to his younger fiancée Constance, a woman with a lurid past. Jeff angers Nancy by insisting that Timmy accompany him on a Christmas cruise.
28 Dec. 1976
Rites of Friendship
Willie experiences difficulty accepting his childhood friend Zeke who is arrested in a gay bar. Buddy seeks dancing lessons from a disinterested Nancy.

 1976  1977  »

See also

Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page