IMDb > "Charlie's Angels" (1976) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Charlie's Angels"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Charlie's Angels" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 38 reviews in total 

31 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

One of the Best of the '70s!

Author: speedo68 (speedo68@aol.com) from australia
22 February 2004

One of the reasons why this show is still big and popular after all these years, can be attributed to the Angels themselves. I can't think of any other stars in the history of television who can actually enticed the viewing public more than the Angels, especially the MAGIC FOUR namely, Kate Jackson, Farrah Fawcett-Majors, Jaclyn Smith, and Cheryl Ladd (Of course, the other two angels, Shelley Hack and Tanya Roberts created a sensation too, but the "Magic Four" are the ones who started it all).

I didn't had a chance to see the first season when it was first broadcast, as I was very "young" then, but lucky me, it was a huge success and was re-played again and again, every year. Funny, because a lot of people thought the series lasted until 1983 or 1985 because it was like being re-played forever!

I must say, that the first season is the best of the rest and the chemistry of the original three are just wonderful. The second series with Cheryl Ladd was excellent too, but everyone knows that Jackson and Ladd were not in good terms, so, I guess, it affects the way the people look at them.

I started as a fan of Kate Jackson, I reckon, for she's the only known star before the series started. But the two other lovely angels are hard to ignore. Fawcett is so bubbly and appealing while Smith is the most beautiful angel you can think of. But,I am still surprised up to now, why Fawcett became the more popular angel during her time on the show.

She was even dubbed the sexiest of all the angels, where in fact, I believe, it is Jaclyn Smith, who's got the most curvaeous body of the three and looks great in that famous "white bikini" on the show. Even, in the hair department, I believe that Smith's hair is actually more flouncy and sexier than Fawcett. But then, I guess, Fawcett's popularity came right up with the released of her poster which was very timely for the show.But all in all, the original three are just wonderful.

Then came, Cheryl Ladd. She's a welcome addition to the show. She's sexy, beautiful and very charming. Her introduction to the show with ANGELS IN PARADISE is one of my fave episodes and one the best of the series. Who can forget the scene when they're about to rescue Charlie in the yacht? Ladd came out from the water in a bikini with Jaclyn Smith (in her tiniest in a "green" bikini). No wonder the second season became more popular than the first one. I called this, the BIKINI FEVER!

Then, Jackson, left the show. I believe, that Shelley Hack, did a wonderful job as the next angel, actually. Her characer speaks for her action in the show. Remember, the scene with Bosley in "LoveBoat Angels," when she told him that she's a bit scared to be part of the group because of what they have started already? Well, maybe her portrayal of her character was just too classy for the show but she's actually a stand out in the show. I also think that she's one of the two best-dressed angels on the show --the other one is Jaclyn Smith.

Smith and Hack are in they're best when they're together. I like their chemistry on the show. It's a pity, she only lasted one season.

The last of the Angels, Tanya Roberts is a fave, too. She's got this fabulous body and sexy eyes. Roberts, actually became more popular overseas and the bikini fever is back again. She was, obviously, given all the bikini scenes on the show. With Smith wanting to leave and Ladd, just happy to go along with the show, Roberts was given the responsibility to carry the show. Alas, the chemistry, didn't work out.

The show opened a lot of things to women on television. Sad, to say, none has the charisma of the angels. I think, that's one of the reasons, why television is not as exciting as before in the '70s!

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful does not mean weak

Author: kittykatkan from Canada
8 July 2003

I have seen complaints about the original Charlie's Angels series and how having beautiful stars in it negated any feminist notions about the series. I would like to disagree.

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, there were few enough female 'action' stars on television to be role models for young girls. The various women in 'Charlie's Angels' were (according to the OP) police officers before Charlie hired them -- and as female police officers, they were given stupid 'girl' jobs like handing out parking tickets, and handling switchboards, and so on. Charlie gave them jobs in which they could actually fight crime -- and they did fight crime, together. If one of them needed rescue, it wasn't a man that came to rescue her, but one of the other two 'angels'. They were independent, intelligent, single, employed women who worked well together and supported one another.

The show is dated now, given how strong feminism has become since then. Back then, however, it was more than enough for at least one little girl to see that she didn't have to grow up and get married and have babies to be happy in life. Charlie's Angels -- the original show, not the fluffy movies (which are fun in their own way) -- remains to this day in my opinion an excellent example of how women should look at life: it's a challenge; meet it head on, and on your own terms.

The fact that the women were all beautiful is irrelevant to the show except that it attracted a male audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Jiggle TV

8/10
Author: BumpyRide from TCM's Basement
7 July 2006

For those of you not around for it's original run, Charlie's Angels was not just a hit TV show, it was a phenomenon. Every magazine and rag magazine had a picture of "The Angels" on their covers. Incredibly popular, it all came down to Farrah and her 70's fly away hair, her dazzling toothy smile, her skateboarding pose wearing Addia's, her shampoo, her toothpaste, THE bathing suit poster of the century, and then she was gone. Exiting after only one season Charlie's Angels never was the same again. Bolstered by Jill's kid sister, Kris (Cheryl Ladd) and then others, Charlie's Angels never again climbed to the heights of sheer madness of its first season. Owing its popularity to episodes such as "Angels in Chains" and "Angels on Wheels," it fulfilled many a preadolescence male's fantasy and "Jiggle TV" was born. It may be a period piece today but it was a product of the fun, wacky 1970's that gave it birth.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Influential in Its Own Way

Author: Brian Washington (Sargebri@att.net) from Los Angeles, California
8 April 2003

When this show first came on, it was dismissed as nothing more than a jiggle show. However, this was one of the first shows that showed that women could go out and get the bad guys just like the boys could. Of course, I was a fan of the Kate Jackson era. The three years she was on the show were its greatest era. She definitely was the star of that show and when she left I stopped watching. But, it was her chemistry with Jaclyn Smith, Cheryl Ladd and of course Farrah Fawcett that made it one of the top shows of the 1970's.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Three Beautiful Detectives...What More Could A Man Want?

Author: Big Movie Fan from England
22 September 2002

I loved Charlies Angels very much. Okay, I could ignore the cheezy plots because in front of me each week were three beautiful young ladies working as private detectives.

The original girls were Farrah Fawcett-Majors as Jill Monroe, Kate Jackson as Sabrina Duncan and Jaclyn Smith as Kelly Garrett. They were my favourite line up in the show. Their bosses were John Bosley (played by the late David Doyle) and the faceless Charlie Townsend (voiced by John Forsythe).

Each week the girls happened to go undercover on a case which required them to strip down in places such as health-spas and holiday camps. They used their seductive (and detective) skills to bring down the bad guys.

It was fun throughout even when the line-up changed and there were some really weird and surreal episodes at times. But who cares-when you've got three lovely women on the screen, great plots matter little.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Landmark TV- show of the seventies

Author: mnau from Luxembourg
8 June 2005

It was my brother who got me launched on Charlie's Angels when I was at ground school, in 1976 or 1977. I was 9 or 10 years old. We both got equally hooked on it but after a few years my brother's interest fainted while I remain addicted to this day. Now whoever did the casting for the show, he (she?) proved to have good taste, for sure. Kate, Jaclyn, Farrah, Cheryl, Shelley and Tanya as they looked back then were not exactly the kind of girls you would have kicked out of your bed. The angel who got my attention from the start when I watched the show for the first time was Kate Jackson with her crushing personality and her exotic eyes but mainly because She was unique - so unlike the 2 other girls, She was the one who "wore the pants" in the team - and never pulled them down. Oh and she could be really funny and entertaining at moments. Jaclyn Smith in turn went completely stealthy to my eyes in first place but as the years went by with me watching the reruns again and again she more and more grew on me. Today easily hers is the face that I am identifying the entire show with. She is by far the coolest angel- and the prettiest of them all, with her warmth and her exotic beauty she comfortably eclipses Farrah Fawcett in my opinion. I never really got Farrah by the way - what's all that fuss about her hair etc.?( just look at actresses like Heather Menzies or Stephanie Powers and you'll get an idea of a classy feathered back hairdo). Now that said I have nothing against her, and - to give credit where it is due - she was looking nice, acting well and from her side came a substantial contribution to the tremendous success of the TV-show but she never really grew on me. She played a bunch of remarkable roles though in her post-angels period. (Extremities, Barbara Hutton....etc). The "newbie" angels aka Ceryl Ladd, Shelley Hack and Tanya Roberts all were OK in my eyes, overwhelmingly charming (and remarkably nice-bodied ) Cheryl Ladd turned out to be a fit replacement for Farrah Fawcett, Shelley Hack as Tiffany Welles somewhat struggled to get her way out of Kate Jackson's shadow but I happened to like Tiffany and her classy silhouette from the first time I saw her on the screen and it has never changed ever since. Season 4 came out with 2 of my all-time favorite's episodes besides (Angels go trucking and Angel Hunt). Together with Kate Jackson and Jaclyn Smith Shelley Hack is one of my favorite angels. As for Tanya Roberts I didn't get to see the episodes with her until recently but my mind is made up - she is gorgeous !!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Charlie's angels rocked!

10/10
Author: sdeeemarie from United States
22 October 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

By far, 3 of the baddest women of the seventies. They were endlessly amazing, from their ability to perform whatever undercover occupation they were given, to staying beautiful throughout all the fights. There was amazing things about all of them, how Kelly always managed to have that tiny camera that took pictures of everything, how Jill's hair never lost it's curls, how Sabrina's voice managed to crack in a funny, cool way. Sabrina was the intellectual , charismatic angel, there was no way you could hate Sabrina Duncan, they were all smart but she was the brightest one, her brains got them out of many troubles. Like in Angels in Chains, it was her idea to pour the gasoline to confuse the dogs. Kelly was the sweet, streetwise angel, she grew up in an orphanage and knew every trick in the book, including how to get to an informant. Like in Dirty Business, she had the guy making the Little Bo Peep porn eating out of her hands. Jill was the beautiful, athletic angel, like in Angels on Wheels, and numerous other episodes like Ladykiller, and The Mexican Connection, she was pure athleticism and breathtakingly beautiful. They were smart, resourceful women who weren't just beautiful, they were smart and efficient, and they always got their man(or woman). I think my favorite part of the show was when that "de de de deeee" music would play, that would signal that you have been had by an angel. I have most of the episodes on DVD. The movie was okay, but Barrymore, Diaz, and Liu don't do these women justice.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The Best Show Ever On Television

10/10
Author: garyldibert from United States
25 February 2007

Once upon a time, three little girls went to the police academy. and they were each assigned very hazardous duties, but I took them all away from all that and now they work for me. My name is Charlie. Those famous words started the all time greatest TV show in history Charlie's Angels. When the pilot aired in March of 1976, it starred Farrah Fawcett Majors as Jill who was the athletic angel, Jaclyn Smith as Kelly who was the streetwise angel, Kate Jackson as Sabrina who was the cool smart, multilingual leader, David Doyle as John Bosley, David Ogden Stiers as Scott Woodville and John Forsythe as the voice of Charlie. Kate Jackson was aboard from the beginning of the project, and was set to play the lead angel. Farrah Fawcett was the next to join; filling the blonde role, but then the producers dropped the hair color concept and brought in Jaclyn Smith to complete the trio. Many of the scenes used in the opening credits of the show are from this pilot episode. Then in the fall of September of 1976 ABC introduce the three stunning, sexy and young former police officers, private detectives working for the Charles Townsend Detective Agency with the entire crew back except David Ogden Stiers. In the opening sequence of the first season no one knew where the Angels went to the police academy. The wealthy Charlie Townsend, their never-seen boss, relayed assignments via a speaker telephone. The Angels worked with their trusty male counter-part, John Bosley. After only 23 episodes, Farrah left the show at the end of the first season. When Farrah Fawcett left the series, her absence was explained by having her character Jill become a professional racing driver on the NASCAR circuit. Along with a new Angel, the show received a new time slot. The Angels remained on Wednesday nights, but moved from 10pm to 9pm. This change in time opened up a whole world of new viewers who wanted to know what the big fuss was all about and kept the "Angels" right where they belong - on top of the ratings! The 1977-1978 season ended with high ratings, proved that Kris, Cheryl Ladd, was every bit as popular with the viewers as Farrah. In the 1979-1980 season, the answer came with Shelley Hack, a model who had been prominent in Revlon's "Charlie" Perfume ads and commercials. Shelley entered The Townsend Office as Tiffany Welles, an Ivy League scholar who also was a graduate from the Boston Police Academy. Spelling and Goldberg had the idea that with this new Angel/model at the helm, she could bring an elegant and classy touch to Charlie's trio! Kate Jackson's absence was explained by having Sabrina getting married and starting a family. The writers treaded lightly as they tried to figure out how to make Tiffany Welles the new "Sabrina Duncan". The 1979-1980 seasons' problem was the sudden decline in ratings. The series found itself in the top 20's instead of the top 10 were it had been for the last three years. The ratings drop was directed at the new Angel and at the end of the season, Shelley was let go of her detective duties. Thus, beginning, for another hunt for a new Angel! By 1980, Charlie's Angels was beginning to feel its age and was declining fast. Aaron Spelling and Leonard Goldberg wanted to go with a fresh new image. After careful consideration, they decided to hire virtually unknown actress, Tanya Roberts. This time around, the character would be a model-turned-detective, street-smart Julie Rogers. The new Angel showed her face in the three-hour 1980-1981 season premiere on November 30, 1980. High hopes were placed on Charlie's newest Angel to pull the series out its failing ratings. To help give it an added boost, the Angels were sent to Hawaii for the first six episodes. Hawaii wasn't only chosen to intrigue the audience but to keep the Angels scantily clad in swimsuits! Charlie's opening monologue has now undergone a complete overhaul. It begins, "Once upon a time, there were three beautiful girls. Two of them graduated from the police academy. The other graduated from a top school for models. And they each reaped the rewards of their exciting careers Bosley looks over brochures of Hawaii in anticipation of the Angels' possible assignment there. Charlie arranges for Julie to receive a probationary investigator's license and begin working with Kris and Kelly. Unfortunately, at this point, the audience was no longer keeping up with the Angels antics. In February 1981, the show went on hiatus and wasn't shown again until June of 1981. Charlie's Angels was not winning any viewers in the summer of '81 with its remaining episodes. The show that had made women crime fighters popular during the 1970's was taken off the air. Charlie's Angels was a huge success the moment it hit the airwaves in 1976. The Angels were on gum cards, doll boxes, T-shirts, board games, puzzles and posters. If you wanted to hire the Angels you had to call the office phone number was 555-0267. Kelly Garrett (Jaclyn Smith) was the only Angel to last the entire series. Kelly was an orphan. John Forsythe' was never on the set - his voice was recorded, and dubbed in later. The Angels all drove Ford automobiles. Jill (and later Kris) drove a Cobra, Kelly drove a Mustang, and Sabrina drove a Pinto. For the record, Bosley drove a Ford L.T.D. Although Charlie was never heard, he did actually appear in a couple of episodes, but his face was never shown. Kelly is the only Angel to have been shot throughout the run of the show. Sabrina was the only Angel that was previously married. She was married to a fellow officer when she was still a cop but the marriage ended in divorce.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Who didn't watch this show??

Author: elizabethbennett from United States
1 January 2003

OMG, I grew up watching this show! Well, at least the first 30 minutes each week as I was in elementary school and my bed time would not allow me to watch the whole episode unless it was the holidays or summer. However, this was my favorite show growing up, I loved it! There were Charlie's Angels dolls, bubble gum cards and stickers and on and on and on. We used to play Charlie's Angels in the neighborhood and at recess as I was like any other little girl in America during this period. I loved Charlie's Angels, played Charlie's Angels and wanted to be just like Jaclyn Smith when I grew up. I think it would be neat if they did a reunion at some point. Now my generation is bringing it to the big screen! Great stuff!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

I love Charlie's Angels!

10/10
Author: Diamond97 from United States
7 June 2010

Charlie's Angels is one of my all-time favorite shows ever. I fell in love with the adventures of the beautiful lady detectives and Bosley. Tiffany, Julie, Jill, Kelly, Kris, and Sabrina are the wonderful Angels. However, my favorite Angel team is Kris, Kelly, Sabrina,and Bosley. This is the Angel team that got me hooked on the show. The combination of sassy Kris, tough Kelly, brave Sabrina, and loyal Bosley was truly magical. Cheryl Ladd, Jaclyn Smith, Kate Jackson, and David Doyle had AMAZING chemistry together!

Back in the 70s, I remember my friends and I (as children) loved playing Charlie's Angels. I would take turns being Kris or Kelly. I also had a Kris doll and a Kelly doll, as well as the Charlie's Angels lunch box. I was really fascinated with this show!

I always remember the show being fun with lots of action and great characters. I love all 5 seasons, but Seasons 2, 3, and 4 are my absolute favorites.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history