5.9/10
164
4 user 2 critic

The Executioner (1975)

Permission to Kill (original title)
When the exiled leader of a free party decides to return to his own country and attempt to remove the dictator currently in place there, several western governments are determined to stop ... See full summary »

Director:

Writers:

(screenplay), (novel)
Reviews
Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Ad

Genius (TV Series 2017)
Biography | Drama | History
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 8.3/10 X  

A series which explores how patent clerk Einstein could not get a teaching job or doctorate in his early life, yet managed to go on to solve the secrets of the universe.

Stars: Geoffrey Rush, Johnny Flynn, Nicholas Rowe
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7/10 X  

The setting is the Riviera in autumn. A retired English businessman has just been through heart surgery but it has, apparently, done little to relieve his constant pain or improve his ... See full summary »

Director: Bertrand Tavernier
Stars: Dirk Bogarde, Jane Birkin, Odette Laure
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.4/10 X  

A South American quasi-revolutionary/guerilla/terrorist and a misled, admiring girl compatriot manage to kidnap the U.S. President during a diplomatic visit to Toronto. With a nondescript ... See full summary »

Director: George Mendeluk
Stars: William Shatner, Hal Holbrook, Van Johnson
The Serpent (1973)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

A soviet diplomat hatches a complicated plan to enable him to defect to the West.

Director: Henri Verneuil
Stars: Yul Brynner, Henry Fonda, Dirk Bogarde
Action | Drama | War
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

A clergyman leaves the priesthood over the church's indifferent position during the Spanish Civil War but finds himself attracted to a beautiful entertainer.

Director: Nunnally Johnson
Stars: Ava Gardner, Dirk Bogarde, Joseph Cotten
Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

Based on an ancient Scottish folk song, an older woman uses witchcraft to keep her young jet-set friends.

Director: Roddy McDowall
Stars: Ava Gardner, Ian McShane, Richard Wattis
Sextette (1978)
Comedy | Musical | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.2/10 X  

On the day of her wedding to her sixth husband, a glamorous silver screen sex symbol is asked to intervene in a political dispute between nations, which leads to chaos.

Director: Ken Hughes
Stars: Mae West, Timothy Dalton, Dom DeLuise
Drama | Romance | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

An expatriate British publisher unexpectedly finds himself working for British intelligence to investigate people in Russia.

Director: Fred Schepisi
Stars: Sean Connery, Michelle Pfeiffer, Roy Scheider
Agent 8 3/4 (1964)
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

British Intelligence sends an unemployed Czech-speaking British writer to Prague in a mission of industrial espionage.

Director: Ralph Thomas
Stars: Dirk Bogarde, Sylva Koscina, Robert Morley
Justine (1969)
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.7/10 X  

In Alexandria, in 1938, Darley, a young British schoolmaster and poet, makes friends through Pursewarden, the British consular officer, with Justine, the beautiful and mysterious wife of a ... See full summary »

Directors: George Cukor, Joseph Strick
Stars: Anouk Aimée, Dirk Bogarde, Robert Forster
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
Alan Curtis
...
Katina Petersen
...
Alexander Diakim
...
Charles Lord
Nicole Calfan ...
Melissa Lascade
...
Scott Allison
Klaus Wildbolz ...
Muller
Anthony Dutton ...
Jennings
Peggy Sinclair ...
Lily
Dennis Blanch ...
Brewer
...
Adams
...
MacNeil
Vladimir Popovic ...
Kostas
Ratislav Plamenac ...
Pavlos
Oliver Schott ...
François
Edit

Storyline

When the exiled leader of a free party decides to return to his own country and attempt to remove the dictator currently in place there, several western governments are determined to stop him. A group is assembled, consisting of old friends, former lovers and hired assassins in order to dissuade him from returning "before his time". This group is appalled at the lengths to which western intelligence will go to stop the man from returning, and they conspire together to allow him to leave. Their plans, however, are anticipated by western intelligence which will stop at nothing to stop him, no matter who gets in the way. Written by Kevin Steinhauer <K.Steinhauer@BoM.GOV.AU>

Plot Summary | Add Synopsis

Taglines:

This is Mr. Curtis. He has permission to bloody you, compromise you, blackmail you and if all else fails...

Genres:

Drama | Thriller

Certificate:

PG | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

| |

Language:

Release Date:

20 November 1975 (UK)  »

Also Known As:

The Executioner  »

Filming Locations:


Company Credits

Production Co:

,  »
Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Color:

(Technicolor)

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

The movie was entirely filmed in Austria particularly Gmunden in Upper Austria. See more »

Soundtracks

Mandoline
(uncredited)
Music by Gottfried Windholz
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Poor directing and editing make this nigh on unwatchable
23 March 2004 | by (United Kingdom) – See all my reviews

Don't listen to the other comments - Permission to kill has got to be one of the WORST films ever made, The directing from Frankel is appaling, The story is needlessly complicated and confusing, and the actors (especially Bogarde) look like they'd rather be somewhere else, but above all absolutely NOTHING happens, There's no one Iota of tension this is mainly down to the editing of Ernest Walter, the movie is chopped to pieces are we are left with Boring after boring scene when nothing of interest happens. With a title like 'Permission to kill' I was expecting a top-class spy thriller in the vein of Bond, But the producers forgot to add any action or suspense leaving this one of the most pointless movies ever made, Ok it's nice to see the Austrian landscape and classic film stars such as Dirk Bogarde and Ava Gardner and a young pre-bond Dalton, but this waste of celluloid sadly wastes everybody's time and talent

My vote 3/10


5 of 13 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?