The Other Side of the Mountain (1975) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
We watched it and lived it, sort of.
Deputyj3579 December 2006
My girlfriend and I watched the movie, a few years later I even swiped one of Dick's lines from the movie, I told my girlfriend "I don't care if you walk, crawl or slither on your belly like a snake up the isle." It was a few years later that she went up the isle in a wheelchair, she had MS when I met her and took her from me twenty five years later. I would like to thank Jill and Marilyn for their story and performance to help us along. I am a cross between her cowboy and Mad Dog and we had a good time together while it lasted. We knew each other for twenty five years and were together for nineteen, I took care of her as a caregiver for seventeen of those nineteen until 1997 when I lost her to the MS. Again, thank you Jill and Marilyn you helped us a lot. Steve
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Moving portrait of adaptation to quadriplegic life
roghache17 April 2006
This movie is a touching human interest story and gives the average viewer a better appreciation of the overwhelming challenges faced by those who must deal daily with disabilities, particularly adjustment to quadriplegia. It also brings sharply to mind that this young girl, Jill Kinmont's fate could so easily in a split second be our own, resulting from a sports injury, car accident, or whatever. Jill's story reminds me of another lovely & famous quadriplegic, Joni Eareckson Tada, who suffered a diving accident as a teenager but went on to become an accomplished artist, and has a remarkable faith which is an inspiration to many.

This film is based on the real life story of Jill Kinmont, an eighteen year old skiing champion & Olympic hopeful, who suffered a severe fall down a mountain, which not only ended her skiing career but paralyzed her from the shoulders down. Jill's struggles are poignantly chronicled as she learns to cope with life as a quadriplegic and regain a hopeful spirit, assisted by her devoted family. Eventually she even finds a love interest in the form of Dick (called 'Mad Dog') Buek.

Marilyn Hassett is convincing and very sympathetic in her portrayal of the vibrant & determined young Jill, and Beau Bridges wonderful as the warm & adventuresome Dick.

A strong recommendation for this film. It paints a vivid portrait of the realities faced by those who must depend on others for personal care and simply daily tasks, also their struggle for some measure of independence and the same respect granted able bodied individuals. Hopefully, this movie might tend to impart to those of us not disabled a little more gratitude for abilities we take for granted every day. Also, this story has a very appealing heroine and a touching romance.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too much of a good thing...
Nazi_Fighter_David8 July 2000
Oscar Wilde wrote: "In this world there are only two tragedies. One is not getting what you wants, and the other is getting it."

To rephrase his thought, Jill suggests there are likewise only two joys... One is having God answer all your prayers, the other is not receiving the answer to all your prayers...

The four words: Your injury is permanent' slam into Jill Kinmont's consciousness like a bullet... She was a ski champion, full of life, action and beauty... Now, almost totally paralyzed after a bad fall...

Being Quadraplegic, means that every aspect in her life is different from that point on... Her total care is left up to other people: She cannot bathe herself, feed herself, or dress herself... Jill automatically suffers the effects of having no arms and no legs, and becomes incontenant as well...

Marilyn Hassett makes Kinmont a fighter whose determination initially explodes and inspires some to have unreasonable expectations of her limited recovery... She tries to reach a state of empowerment, the right to feel proud of herself, and what she is, and what she does, and to have that pride recognized as acceptable by her love ones... The tender romance between her and Beau Bridges provides some fine moments...

The film, a tearjerker based on a real case, is altogether too much of a good thing...
22 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
a heart felt movie
lbain-955-46269620 January 2011
I became a paraplegic at the age of 23 on May 10th. 1979. When I came home from the rehab center the movie The Other Side of the Mountain came on. I had no idea what the movie was about. My girlfriend and I watched and cried through the whole movie. I could not believe how close it hit home and what my family and friends were going through. It is and always will be one of my favorite movies. I taped both one and two, but through out the years the tape is hard to watch and would love to get a new version of the movie. I wrote a book ( Rolling through Life )about my life after 30 years as a paraplegic, married for 25 and two beautiful children latter, life is good :) Sincerely. Lorraine "Scott" Bain

RR#1 Arcadia Box 4660

Yarmouth Ns Canada

5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excellent :)
Lluvy10 September 1998
I am disabled and I could not sleep one night. I was flipping through the channels and I found this movie on. It brought tears to my eyes. This movie made me realize that now matter how bad things get, there is always someone worse. An excellent movie :)
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Good human interest film.
yenlo17 September 1999
Even though about three quarters of the way through, this movie begins to run out of steam it still is an exceptional film. The ski equipment and clothing were dead on for the time period and adds much to the picture. Even though it was partly about skiing a person watching this doesn't have to be a skier or have ever skied to enjoy it. Superior to the sequel. A must see as far as human interest movies go.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A 20 Handerkerchief Movie!
liddlepaint2327 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I have loved this Movie ever since it's release in 77 i believe. I can not say enough in terms of touting this story's appeal to all those looking for that one movie that shows a Womans courage and determination. Beau Bridges set the standard for what I think a True Man is like. He gave a Very Fine performance! The part that truly had me crying my eyes out was when she/Jill was waiting for Dick to give her that call,but it never came. And I will not say why the call did'nt come because if I did, I would actually feel tears welling up in my eyes. The ending was VERY Poignant and also left me with a feeling like This Woman is gonna be OK. She has conquered the most devastating of Tradgedies and has emerged from it with the Courage of a True Hero! God-Bless YOU Jill Kinmont.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very good
Monika-52 August 1999
I really enjoyed this movie. I felt the best part of it was Marilyn Hassett's performance as Jill, and the supporting cast was very good. Based on a real life story, it was well-acted and well-scripted. The theme song sung by Olivia Newton-John is excellent, too.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Worth another look for fans of 1970s flicks
jTube16 September 2009
The early to mid 1970s were an interesting time for movie-making and some of the films from that era can be fun to re-visit. While not on a par with Summer of '42 or Love Story, this film has some charms that make it worth another look.

Made to reach for some of the box office success of the syrupy romance Love Story, The Other Side of the Mountain tells the true story of Jill Kinmont, the teen-aged downhill skier with Olympic gold in her sights who's dealt a full Kleenex box worth of tragedies.

Beautiful cinematography (although the prints I've seen lately have been dirty) takes us through her 1950s teenhood in the Eastern Sierras, full of boys, BFFs and her steely determination to win in high school ski meets.

Although the tale of a vivacious girl becoming crippled is one of the biggest clichés in movies, Jill's paralyzing injury, the result of a ski race, is still memorable. In a fall on the slopes (staged unconvincingly by turning the camera on its side) Jill goes from hard-charging athlete to high-level quadriplegic, paralyzed from her chest down, left with no use of her hands, and dependent on others for every basic and intimate task.

We see her imprisoned in traction, straining to move her wheelchair, helpless in a swimming pool, fretting about the medical corset that keeps her upright before a visit from her then boyfriend. But through Marilyn Hassett's portrayal, we see the same strength and determination that made her a ski champ re-emerge as she learns to live her new life on wheels. She pushes to complete her education and fights to become the first paralyzed teacher in the state. Throughout, she's supported by her family and the James Dean-ish hot-dog skier, Dick Buek, played by Beau Bridges in a likable performance. Buek spares Jill the hand-wringing weepy treatment over her plight and instead challenges her to make a life with what's she's got left. Which, it turns out, is a lot.

This movie overall is not one for the ages. Larry Peerce and the scriptwriter (David Seltzer, whose next film was The Omen!) never stray from the formula, and give their actors some very stilted lines to work with. But instead, look in the corners – look at Marilyn Hassett's moments of flint underneath the pink sweaters and girly vulnerability. Look at Beau Bridges's squinty grins and twitchy physicality. Think about what it takes to turn the page on an athletic life and live in a body that you can't feel, facing each day in an electric wheelchair. And reflect that it's the story of a real person.

Unfortunately this Universal release seems to have dropped off the face of the earth: I haven't seen it on any TV schedule in a long time, the VHS release is out of print and there's no DVD in site. I'm beginning to think it was a casualty of Universal's film vault fire in 2008, although the studio claims it had copies of everything. This movie was the 9th top-grossing film the year it was released, just ahead of Tommy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A touching true story...
I saw this picture in 1983 on TV and then never forget for so touching true story and now this DVD just come out officially in brazilian market with a dubbed original version,yesterday l revisited this amazing story with a fine performance of Marilyn Hasset and Beau Bridges,besides has Belinda Montgomey the star of Man from Atlantis,good memories from the past....marvelous movie!!


First watch: 1983 / How many: 2 / Source: TV-DVD / Rating: 7.25
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The BEST movie ever made on this subject
cliffcarson-131 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film is so beautifully crafted that it deserves to be recognized as one of the most inspiring and uplifting films ever made. You cannot watch The Other Side of the Mountain and possibly feel sorry for yourself. The film demands the viewer to find his or her own strength within no matter what his circumstances are. THE OTHER SIDE OF THE MOUNTAIN was a surprise hit for Universal back in 1975. With no advanced publicity, the studio hurried it into movie theaters after a private screening at Universal that left all it's top executives in tears. I remember it as "the film that would not go away". Word of mouth spread about how effective and moving it was keeping The Other Side of the Mountain playing in various movie houses off and on for years. This new DVD transfer under the VAULT SERIES collection is GORGEOUS. The sound crisp and the widescreen colors intact. I think the film holds up better today than it did in 1975. It may not be a critics picture but The Other Side of the Mountain works in the way THE SOUND OF MUSIC works or TITANIC or even Douglas Sirk's IMITATION OF LIFE. Yes, it's glossy, but the story touches on all the elements that a person going through this experience would face in reality. Only the hardest of heart will not be moved. Without giving too much of the plot away, the main character is forced to deal with an accident that leaves her paralyzed from the shoulders down. There's the ineffective parents who can only give her love and little else. The best friend that reminds her of how bad everything is. The boyfriend who dumps her because he cannot come to terms with her handicap and then the man who re-enters her life to reconnect her with the spirit she thought she had lost. THE OTHER SIDE OF THE MOUNTAIN is a movie about the individual, a loner on her own path and the struggles she must endure and overcome in order to find her true spirit. This film contains Beau Bridges best performance. The entire film rests on the shoulders of Marilyn Hassett who holds the film together triumphantly. It's a stirring performance that inspires hope, not pity. A lot of top notch supporting work her also, Dabney Coleman, Nan Martin, Belinda Montgomery and the wonderfully funny Dori Brenner. The effervescent score by Charles Fox is one of his best and enhances the beauty of David Walsh's stunning cinematography and the emotion of Larry Peerce's sensitive direction. This film should be in the library of every veterans hospital in this country, that's how important it is. Definitely deserves to be reevaluated. I recently showed this film to a friend from Lebanon and even though he figured out the ending before the film was over, he still ended up crying like a baby. And just for the record, NOBODY makes crying look more beautiful than Marilyn Hassett.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
John Denver tracks remembered
Italo Rulli14 July 2008
I have read all the comments posted here and I am surprised to see that no one of you ever mention John Denver as part of this movie music track, only Olivia Newton-Jones is mentioned. Don't you guys ever remember..."Lady, my sweet lady.." I saw this movie in mid 70' while living overseas. The tittle was "A window to the sky" subtitled "Una Ventana Al Cielo".

My friend Fernando Tabilo and I were on the phone talking about this film and he said to me that he has not been able to get a hold of a DVD of this film, or seen it played on a movie channel. Frankly, me neither, and I have not even looked for one, for I was the movie house projectionist and I saw the movie enough times to remember about it many years to come.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bland uplift; schmaltz with a saintly hue...
moonspinner559 June 2006
The true story of skier Jill Kinmont, processed through a Saint Machine. Well-scrubbed young woman, an Olympic hopeful, is paralyzed in a terrible skiing accident and has to learn to adjust to life as a quadriplegic. In hindsight, writer David Seltzer was certainly an odd choice to adapt this story (his next project was "The Omen"). Larry Peerce was another strange pick for director; having had success earlier with the benign "Goodbye, Columbus", Peerce followed that up with "The Sporting Club", which featured orgies and biker gangs. Here, he guides lovely newcomer Marilyn Hassett (later Mrs. Peerce) through one excruciatingly tender moment after another, but neither the director nor the actress can break through the film's plastic coating. It's so overtly sincere that it isn't sincere anymore; it's swill. ** from ****
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews