Flåklypa Grand Prix (1975) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
51 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
A masterful piece of work!
solan_gundersen28 November 2001
This movie made quite an inpact on anyone who saw it in the 70's. A masterpiece. Pioneer work, first rate stop motion animation. The director and producer Ivo Caprino, invented a whole new 'multi camera system', and the brilliant result is this classic movie. To this date 5 million(!) tickets sold at the boxoffice in Norway alone! Thats more then there are people in Norway. The fact that this movie surely inspired the Podrace (filmed 25 years later) in Starwars Episode I, should be proof enough for anyone that this is a movie ahead of its time. More info at www.flaklypa.com
75 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best impression of my childhood!
stanislav6719 February 2001
I saw this movie in Russia, Moscow in 75-76 when I was 8 years old. It was showing in a specialized cinema for children "Orlenok". The movie was on screen for about a week and I went to it every day - i.e. 7 times or so.

You DON'T have to be Norwegian to understand subtleties of this movie (maybe you just need to be a kid, even though grown up :)

This piece was superbly translated into Russian and I remember some of them till now. I can't say how much I love this movie. It was such a pity that I couldn't see it for so many years. I was in Norway once, but it was in spring and I missed your X-mas show :)

Can you picture my excitement, when I suddenly found Flåklypa Grand Prix on IMDB.com? I feel like if I found a childhood friend that I lost long ago.
72 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I cannot describe how well done this movie is...
Ghydda19 April 2001
...however let's try.

I'm not gonna sketch the plot, couz' plenty other people have done it, but:

The humor is outstanding, the action is tense, and one can not help getting sucked into this world filled with nutcases, daydreamers, villains, plain goofy looking types, and hopelessly stupid inventions and the characters likewise way of thinking.

The music score is absolutely perfect, the dialog is sharp and fun, the scenes are extremely well done. It simply doesn't get any better than this.

Just my two cents
54 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The best norwegian animation of all times!
Nution11 March 2000
The number one cult movie in Norway still attracts full houses with its naive and wonderful tale of the bicycle-repairman Reodor Felgen and his two trusted companions; the porqupine Ludvig and the bird Solan Gundersen. Authentic characterisation of norwegians and their uniqueness in the Scandinavian picture. For full appreciation add either kids, norwegians or alcohol for maximum viewing pleasure. This is the norwegian answer to The Rocky Horror Show, with no similarities what so ever beyond the cult status and the average norwegians need to apply commentary and reciting of the script...
33 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A must see for all generations
kdskicat29 September 2004
I just bought this and watched it again for the first time in 10 years, such great memories, it is truly a timeless piece of art by Caprino. The humor hits all levels for all generations, every detail has been considered in its making. I heard when it came out on DVD in Norway it shattered a lot of DVD records, anyone know when/if it is going to be released in US? my bootleg DVD copy I bought on ebay is nice, but would love a version that had some history on the film.

I'll never forget how my father would get my brother and I so riled up by insisting this was the time that Gore Slimy was going to win. Everyone who likes to cheer for an underdog should find a way to watch this film
39 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Quite Simply, An Outstanding Film
sam_11717 November 2005
Flåklypa Grand Prix is the biggest selling and most watched film of all time in its homeland of Norway. In fact, its ticket sales in Norway is greater than the population of Norway: which should tell you a lot. It is a cultural phenomenon in Norway that is just as popular 30 years after its arrival, which was proved by the video game based on the film that became the biggest selling video game of all time in Norway: 25 years after the films debut. OK, enough "Hype and Wonderment", lets talk about the movie.

Set in rural Norway in the mid 20th century, it tells the tale of a bicycle mechanic and his friends who wind up entering a car race with a homemade automobile. It is a story of wonder, adventure, charm, "getting by against the odds" and most of all friendship. It is a family film, enjoyed equally by teens, young-lings and adults alike. The humor is accessible to all ages and types of people, and the emotions that emanate from the screen are always moving the story forward and deepening your involvement about the characters and their environment. It is quite simply, an outstanding film, that should not be missed.

To balance my obvious admiration for this piece of work, I will now look on the flip side of this shining coin. Firstly, the film does stereotype slightly, and does so from a 1970 point of view. This makes some characters and jokes seem outdated and "inappropriate" nowadays. However, this is a minor flaw from which most all films of age suffer. The second and final "critisism" is this question: why was a (proper) sequel never made???

This film has had influence on Hollywood without the major public knowing about it. From Back to the Future to Star Wars Episode I, which pod racing scene is almost an exact copy from Flåklypa Grand Prix. If you are an avid film enthusiast and want to have light bulbs appear over your head in regards to finding our where things came from in some major Hollywood productions, then you should watch this film.

What more can I say but go and see it :)
26 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A perfect movie!
backstr30 January 2002
Flåklypa Grand Prix is a wonderful piece of art. This movie is, to put it in simple words, perfect. I saw the first time as a kid, and I can still watch it over and over again without any loss in pleasure. It is a children's movie, in a way, but I'm over 30 and I still love it. The scenery is absolutely beautiful, with the mountains of Flåklypa and everything. The puppets are amazingly alive in spite of the relatively small number of moving parts. The technological marvels of Reodor Felgen, including but by far not limited to the monstrous car Il Tempo Gigante, evidence a very skilled craftmanship and an eye for details. The car competition towards the end really feels in your own stomach, too. The story line is quite simple and not really original, but that's the way it should be in a children's movie (even for kids above 30).

Flåklypa Grand Prix is my absolute favorite of all movies ever made in the whole world!
32 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Pinchcliff Grand Prix
jcondon20 June 2000
I always knew this film as Pinchcliff Grand Prix in the United States. I loved this movie as a five-year-old child in 1977 but now it is impossible to find anywhere. I have been looking for years and have had no success. Can anyone out there help me get a copy? This movie was very ahead of its time and in my opinion could compete with some of the latest high tech computer animation movies out today. NOTHING has even come close to what Pinchcliff Grand Prix did for me. It even inspired me as a young child to become addicted to fast cars as an adult!
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This is a classic in Denmark!
Lysgaard30 October 2000
This is an animation classic in Denmark! Unfortunately, it has been a while since it was shown in national television, but everybody my age (22) know it and love it. Just whistle the first few notes of the tune and people above twenty whistle along.

This is a must see in Scandinavia. In Denmark a radioshow ran a campaign a couple of years ago so this movie could be shown in national tv.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent restored edition available (pal)
henrika13 April 2004
This excellent movie is now available in crisp colors and with restored sound. Being made i 1975, the stop motion animation is surprisingly good, and the story still hold to the ones we have been served in more recent animation flicks. It also contains a behind the scenes documentary.

The car in the movie (Il Tempo Gigante) was made in full scale (actually a guy from the Ferrari factory in Italy helped out on the bodywork), and can be seen on display and driving at "Hunderfossen" park in Norway.

I remember seeing it when it was first released, but seeing it again as an adult revealed lots of details:

1: Look at the eyes of the moose when the main caracters are watching tv.

2: The car registration HB 4596 as anounsed on the loudspeaker before the race refers to bootlegging booze: HB - Home Brewed, 45 (as in 45% proof, available in norwegian stores) - and 96 (as in 96 proof, what all bootleggers aim for)

3: And the game of chess played in the tent of "Ben- Redik - Fy Fasan" (actually a euphemism for "fy faen" - norwegian swearing meaning "the Devil") is a spanish play which you'll find in many books on chess.

and the list goes on
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Pod Race
kebman27 April 2006
Two words: Pod racing. I haven't payed much attention to the end titles of Star Wars Episode I, but there really should be a "thank you Caprino" in there somewhere. Of course that's an entirely different picture, but still the racing scenes are conspicuously similar to the ones in the thirty-some years older Pinchcliffe Grand Prix.

Yeah, this film is what makes me proud to be Norwegian. Reading the other comments on this film simply fills me with joy. I see it's hard to find abroad, but I'm sure it's possible to order an English version on the internet, and possibly the latest Caprio Collection DVD set with the ingenious short films that predates this full feature masterpiece.

If only the the up and coming Norwegian filmmakers could make something like this... It doesn't even have to be better, so long as it's close. But then again, that's why masterworks are masterworks, and everyone else are mere mortals.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Norwegian Masterpiece
Old man from scene 243 September 2000
This film is the best norwegian film ever made!! It is impossible to get tired of watching this film... I've seen it many times and it's only getting better every time.. But you have to be a Norwegian or understand the Norwegian language to fully enjoy this masterpiece..

This film took five years to make and was finished in 1975.. and it's been translated into 13 languages..
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
It is Norwegian when it is best
loleralacartelort789015 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This is the best and most original piece of pop-culture from Norway ever. I love this movie. It is unique. It is a doll-movie. The motor-race in the movie is really good and well filmed. The dolls are well-made and filmed very well - with stop-motion. All the inventions and mechanics in the film are very good designed.

It is a work of genius - I love it.

The whole start is good. The music in the start starts it all.

If you are from Scandinavia: watch it.

If you are from the rest of the world: also watch it.

I love this Norwegian film WATCH IT

10/10 - Nuff said.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Incredibly charming even after seeing it again and again
quakeulf31 March 2006
I remember first seeing this movie at a showing at Rockefeller in Oslo, Norway. I was about 7 years then. I remember how funny all the characters were, and how I loved the cars and the racing action in it. After that I have seen it a lot of times at home with friends and family, but I never got tired of it.

Then I watched it again, age 20, thinking this movie would sadly be "one of the childish past", but I was wrong. I laughed, and I got this really good feeling inside me, and I was amazed at the great attention to detail in this movie. There are so many things I didn't catch as a child that I could relate to this time, like the moonshine brewery kit, the moose on the wall with its moving eyes, the living fur, and the incredible "burnt asphalt" speed start of Il-Tempo Gigante. Of course, had this been anything near realistic, the Il-Tempo Gigante would have failed for lacking a streamlined profile and having too much gadgetry on it. But that is not what I see this movie for.

It is for me pure escapism to a small village in Norway's mountains filled with all sorts of quirky, funny devices and an excellent array of charming characters. It is among the five best movies I have ever seen, and the best puppet-animated movie yet, and is well overdue a place among the top 250 here on IMDb.

10 out of 10. "There is no question about it." -HAL
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A masterpiece
tt1031 December 2005
This is simply a masterpiece. It is the most seen Norwegian movie ever, seen by 5,5 million people in a country of only 4,5 million. It is considered to be the best Norwegian movie ever, and with reason. I've seen it around 20 times, and I can't get enough of it. It's one of very few movies out there which can appeal to a five-year old and an eighty-five-year old at the same time, on different levels.

Caveat: it is doubtful, however, that one can truly appreciate the ingeniousness of this movie without being brought up in a traditional Norwegian way. This movie reflects in many ways Norwegian culture, and partly makes fun of it. If one doesn't know Norwegian culture by heart, this aspect is lost.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Best animation movie ever.
frostdk19 January 2005
I first watched this movie when I was about five years old (already at that time it was old) and I've seen it many times since. It's just about the best animated movie ever, forget Finding Nemo (which is a great movie) or the Toy Story-films, this is simply sublime.

To all who haven't seen this movie: Go watch it, it's perfect. The story, the characters, the villains, the cars, the animation and just how to get the ideas behind this 'still stuns me. The only problem is that i've never seen the original version (only the danish version). However, should I ever get the chance to see the original I'll certainly not hesitate.

10 out of 10.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Masterpiece
kjartan-nilsen18 January 2005
People get really impressed of movies like "Team America", but this 30 year old movie doesn't even give space for competition. That something like this could be made 30 years ago is fantastic itself. They even started the shooting as early as in the late sixties. What makes this movie different from other movies in the same genre, is the characters. The details takes your breath away.

I can't imagine how much time and effort Ivo Caprino has spent on this movie project. It is really a genuine masterpiece.

Just see this movie. I haven't seen the translated versions, but if they are 10% as good as the original, it's worth it.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
fell out of the chair, and proud of it.
annitta-kim27 July 2002
I first saw this movie when i was 11 years old, and it was love at first sight. In 1977, I bought it on super-8. Before VHS or any other home movie standard, that was the only way to own a copy. Sadly it's only about 20 minutes. The DVD double disk version brought me right back to the first time I saw "Bjergkøbing grand prix" (as it is called in Denmark), in the cinema. I'm proud to say, that back in 1975, in that little cinema, I fell out of the chair during the final race scenes. I often wish that the same thing would happen to day. But they simply don't make films like this anymore, and that's a shame. Then of course, the cinema chairs today are much more comfortable.

It is very "Norsk" -very Norwegian. That's why I loved watching it in it's original language, on the DVD.

Kim.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Norwegian Childrens Classic of all times!!!
aaa-819 March 2000
First: As I am Norwegian, and have lived with this film since I was about six years old I am biased!! I also expect that it's US/UK translation will lose some of the 'Norwegian' humor, hence it may seem less interesting in it's international release.

I do however rate this film very highly on account of the following:

* The animation is brilliant (for it's time), with unique style and very distinctive puppets.

* Stereotypes of Norwegian small town characters are on display, and shown as only Kjell Aukrust can create them, and Ivo Caprino make them alive.

* Though the storyline is quite basic, the film is well paced, and the racing scenes is exiting, hence neither childrens or adults need be bored.

PS! Watch out for the 'Burnoff' scene. Michael Schumacher - eat your heart out.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An Immortal Masterpiece
Paladin Steelbreaker14 December 2004
Well, this one is a true diamond! Ever since I watched it the first time as a 7 year old, I have loved this movie. I am now 29 and still do. I don't know how many times I have seen this movie, but it manages to catch me every time.

This simply has to be the best animation movie ever made! Yeah, i am aware that recent animation movies are a lot more technically advanced. but the fact that it took more than 20 years, and a heck of a lot more technology, for the rest of the world to duplicate what Ivo Caprino did with his dolls, stands as a bullet proof testimony that the guy was an incredible genius. Ad to that the marvelous script written by Kjell Aukrust, an equally genius man, and you have a movie that will continue to amuse people young and old, for decades to come.

Yes, I have been impressed by the good animation on recent animation movies, and some of them even have a darned good plot, but they don't even come close when it comes to sheer entertainment value. And even when it comes to animation, this movie,despite it's age, are better than some of the new ones! It should not be possible, but it is!!!

There is something about that low key humour and warmth of heart, that lack in recent kind movies. Nowadays it is just full throttle action from start to end. The plot often seems to come second or third. Flåklypa Grandprix makes you fell strongly for or against the characters, whom are so wonderfully described, that you feel you know them personally.

Now, there certainly are plenty of action in this movie, but even the Action sequences is made with a twinkle in the eye.

I realize that much of the humour of the movie is very "Norwegian", and as such may be difficult to translate. And sadly I have been told that Norwegian is one of the hardest languages to learn in the world. This is probably the reason that it is relatively unknown outside Scandinavia.(shakes my head sadly) but I know there is both an American and German version. I have not seen any of those, but still I urge you all out there, if you ever get the chance to see this wonderful movie, then DO IT!!! I am fully convinced that you will have a fond memory for the rest of your life.

I apologize to all Americans that read this, but Disney Company could never make an animation movie half as good as Flåklypa Grand Prix. Not now anyway. Disney's latest productions looks like they don't even care making an effort, and keep resting and snoring on Walt's laurels. That was a man, which genius even Ivo Caprino had to look up to.

Well, thats it for now.

PS! The Car Race at the end of the movie, are so good that you actually find yourself forced to the sides of your chair by the G force.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A Must See
gfc2812 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Please give this a shot if you speak only English, it really is a hidden gem. There are dubbed versions and subtitles available ( you will enjoy the dubbed version better as you will be able to watch the animation more and read less). It will be especially enjoyable if you are British, a motorsports fan or a fan of the newer Wallace and Gromit series by Aardman ( whose characters may well have been modeled or inspired by these ).

The animation may seem a bit crude by today's standards, but keep in mind how long ago this was made. When compared to the popular Rankin-Bass animations of the time, it is easily comparable if not superior.

Motorsport fans will appreciate the level of detail on the cars and the humor, as well as the fine sound effects used from various racing engines. Especially enjoyable is having Murray Walker announce the race. For Americans that aren't familiar with Murray, he truly is a living legend among motorsports enthusiasts in Britain for his exciting and distinctive call of Formula 1 on the BBC and ITV through the years. He retired in 2001, but still makes occasional appearances. ( It would be similar to having someone like Cubs announcer Harry Caray do the call of an animated baseball game or Bob Cole of the CBC doing hockey).

The only minor complaint I would make is that the dialog and vocabulary is a bit advanced for young viewers ( especially in the opening sequences ) even though the film seems to be more aimed at kids than adults. This may not apply in the original Norwegian version and just be a matter of translation. Once the action begins, the kids should be glued to the set though.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Fantastic Fun for all ages
kwijibo-39 December 2006
I first saw this when I was at Universitet i Oslo and I went to the film festival in about 1990.

I'd only just arrived and so my norwegian wasn't up to much at the time, however, I knew that what I was seeing was something special.

I spent about six years trying to remember what exactly it was called until finally the wonderful internet helped me to find it again.

Now, having shown it to my five year old, I know that this film is timeless as she adores it too.

I recommend this film to anyone who wants to see something the equal of anything produced by Aardman - my little girl likes the hedgehog best.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A film for kids between six and sixty (at least)
emmpe29 November 2004
This film immediately reached cult status when first released in Sweden, and has held its position ever since – that is to say, every little boy between 35 and 65 smiles when he hears the word 'Flåklypa'. Its (mainly) low key humor, its characters and their funny names, its fascination with technical things (there actually is a full scale working specimen of the car) and its simple archetypal plot, together with the craftsmanship behind the models used all continue to attract new generations. Maybe the animation technique isn't as outstanding as it once seemed, but that's all right – it does the job but doesn't steal the show in this everlasting little masterpiece from our Norwegian neighbors and rivals.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant movie
axelgutt27 May 2002
This is a must-see. Technically impressing in the 1970's, but still a charming and excellent movie now in 2002. The charachters are especially funny and charming, and gives entertainment both for the parent and the kid... Flåklypa has given me many happy hours, if you have a chance checking it out, do it!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Has Star Wars: Episode One got the racing scene from this film?
Phoenix-227 November 1999
Flåklypa Grand Prix is the best film in Norway ever. And if anyone wonders where "Star Wars: Episode One" has got their racing theme from just look at FGP :) In the racing scene you first have an outstander that want to be racing in his own machine. And there has ofcourse been some sabotage on the machine he is driving that occours later in the race. In the race you have spectacular camera-views that makes you dizzy and you feel like your inside the machine. And after he almost loose the race because of the engine trouble he suddenly got the machine together and wins the race in the last second. Any other that see the similarity ? :)

Otherwise FGP is outstanding animated and is the best of Caprino's animated films.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews