Barnaby Jones (TV Series 1973–1980) Poster


Episode List


Season 8

13 Mar. 1980
The Silent Accuser
A promiscuous teacher at a school deep in the mountains is stabbed to death with a pair of scissors. Betty, an old friend of the victim, goes up to investigate. The victim was so disliked because of her ways that Betty reaches a stone wall. Betty realizes that the dead teacher was mentoring an autistic young girl, who never speaks. Evidence from the dead teacher's final walk leads Betty to believe the girl was with her and witnessed the murder. The unseen killer knows it too, and is a crazed maniac who chases the girl out into traffic. Betty calls Barnaby and J.R. for...
3 Apr. 1980
The Killin' Cousin
In this pilot for a possible spinoff (and a possible exit for Lee Meriweather as Betty Jones, who was thinking about leaving the show if it was picked up for a ninth season due to her commitments to her fiance'), Kenneth Mars chews scenery like it's candy as the head of a father-son private-eye organization. The loopy father and sensible son suspect Betty in the murders of two of her cousins. When they realize she didn't do it, they go after the real bad guys and offer Betty a job as their partner. The producers did not know at the time of filming (and, in fact, until...

« Season 7 |  Season 8 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page