IMDb > Skullduggery (1970) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Skullduggery More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

18 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

It's clear some reviewers weren't mature enough for this film....

8/10
Author: aromadon from USA
25 June 2005

This was not a film about "action", nor was it "boring", unless you are the type that requires external stimulation as a substitute for actually thinking. This was a very poignant film about human rights and what, exactly, being human means. As another reviewer said, the climactic ending brought me to tears. This is not a film that should be viewed by a bunch of kids at a sleepover... it will be totally lost and wasted on them. This is a film that should be shown in every political science and philosophy class for discussion. Don't let the pathetic reviews scare you away if you can find this movie... it was the viewer that was lacking, not the film...

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

An honourable, well-meaning premise that simply doesn't hang together as a film.

4/10
Author: Jonathon Dabell (barnaby.rudge@hotmail.co.uk) from Todmorden, England
20 April 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Skullduggery is a strange, strange film based on the novel "Ye Shall Know Them" by Vercors. To unleash criticism at the film feels really unkind, since it is a movie that deals with earnest themes like humanity, and pleas for upright moral standards and tolerance. But in spite of its honourable intentions and its well-meaning tone, Skullduggery simply isn't a very good film. For me, the main problem is the terribly disjointed narrative which can't make its mind up how best to convey its message. The first half of the movie is like watching a standard jungle expedition flick of the Tarzan ilk; later it teeters into sci-fi fable; by the end it slips into courtroom melodramatics. The differences in tone between each section of the movie are too great, too jarring, to overlook. They stick out like a sore thumb and remind you constantly that you're watching a muddled, disorganised movie.

An archaeological expedition into the jungles of New Guinea is led by adventurer Douglas Temple (Burt Reynolds). One of the main archaeologists involved in the excursion is attractive lady scientist Dr Sybil Greame (Susan Clark). After an arduous trek they stumble upon a tribe of strange ape-like creatures. These primitive, long-lost people are covered in hair and have survived for centuries without being in any way touched or influenced by the developments of modern man. There is some evidence that they may the ancestors of early man – the "missing link" in the evolution of apes into humans. Or perhaps a race of humans who simply look and behave differently from usual? Or even a race of animals that have begun to develop human characteristics? The archaeologists call the tribe "the Tropi" and are initially thrilled by the implications of their discovery. But things take a devastating turn when nasty opportunist Vancruysen (Paul Hubschmid) declares his intention to exploit the tribe and their idyll on behalf of developers. He questions whether the Tropi are truly "human" and takes his argument to the courts, where he hopes to be granted legal backing so that his own greedy ambitions can be continued.

This was a very early film in Reynolds' career, and he actually unbalances this movie by acting like he's in a comedy while the rest of the cast take it all very seriously. Not that Reynolds can be blamed – he has an impossible role, asked to play a charming adventurer who really belongs in a Tarzan flick. His character and the film are not relevant to each other. Clark fares much better as the earnest lady archaeologist, and there are nice supporting roles for British actors Edward Fox, Alexander Knox and Wilfrid Hyde-White. A major shortcoming in Skullduggery is the lame and ineffective make-up used to give the Tropi their strange hairy appearance. Rather than making the actors look like believable hominoids, the stuck-on hair merely makes them look unintentionally comical…. and that's just not the right idea. We're meant to feel great sympathy for these creatures, but that's awfully hard when they look so unconvincing. Skullduggery is a failed attempt to tell a story that could have been poignant, philosophical and stimulating. The honourable intentions are there for all to see, but the end result doesn't do them justice. A worthy failure it might be but a failure nonetheless.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

I have gravitated toward Darwinism ever since...

8/10
Author: inkedon from Austin Tx
11 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't really think I'm spoiling anything, but I ticked the box just in case...

I saw this film once and only once when it came on network television one night in the very early 70's, I was at most 7 years old and I have thought about the movie ever since.

Missing link upright bipeds, used as slaves and a court case to determine rights applicable to them.

Someone else's comment was that it was boring. What I recall of it is that the story and climactic finale made me cry until I threw up. I don't recall if the acting was good, or how the movie flowed. I just remember being highly affected by what I had seen and understanding that people also treated other people that way.

Yay for empathy, a new experience for me as a child.

I look forward someday to seeing it again as an adult.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Just a poor shadow of the original film

Author: Jeepster67 from Silicon Valley, CA, USA
7 August 2001

I must have unknowingly been in the test audience for the original version of this film at a local drive-in theater in 1970. I recently saw the current version on TV again, and was shocked at the mutilation of the original plot. The movie I remember was longer and the missing scenes and dialogue comprised a biting satire of race relations that still resonates in my memory today. The present version of the film has sadly had the best scenes and lines excised out, in the name of avoiding controversy in 1970.

We have come a long way since then. This film was far more entertaining in it's original form, and deserves re-release in a Special Edition or Director's cut DVD!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

very good film that seems misunderstood by the audiences of today

8/10
Author: mibmusic-1 from United States
24 May 2007

As another person has commented, this movie deals with some very important social and very HUMAN issues and should be viewed for what it is, not what you wish it would have been.

If you are looking for a brainless action film, look somewhere else. This film is more likely to generate a strong emotional reaction than to wow you with fancy stunts and cliché jungle adventure shtick.

People today are so used to excessive action films that gems like this one seem to be misunderstood or simply ignored. I am hoping this makes it's way to DVD so it can be appreciated in it's original theatrical format.

For the thinking person who can appreciate something with a lot more depth than the 'tomb raider' ilk it may get lumped in with it is definitely worth a viewing.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Jolly good little adventure

7/10
Author: wozcom
31 December 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

(Maybe some teeny spoilers)... A rollicking tale as anthropologists searching for signs of a "Missing Link" in New Guinea, discover a living group of them amidst the jungle. The expedition's villainous financier (Paul Hubschmid), upon discovering Phosphorus in the area, puts the little creatures to work as miners.

The film's ending court case regards the "humanity" of a child stillborn to one of the lead creatures, the alleged result of an indiscretion by Burt Reynolds.

Great cast includes appearances from Ausie great Chips Rafferty, Burt Reynolds, Wilfred Hyde-White. Some great creature make-up work by Bud Westmore rarely mentioned in the books.

Sadly, apparently not yet released on DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Skullduggery - En busca del eslabón perdido

8/10
Author: ppyo from United States
13 May 2011

I watched this movie in the early seventies, at my hometown in Mexico. I must have been 14 or 15 at the time. I liked the movie a lot not because of the acting, but because of the subject, which captivated me. The ethical and philosophical question of what constitutes humanity. Maybe the cinematographic quality of the film is not great, but having seen this movie only once and still remembering its impact on me after almost forty years is a tribute to its merits. I remember vividly the shock the climax scene caused in me, and the anger at the injustice done to the poor critters, and their unresolved fate, which undoubtedly would not be a good one if we go by the conventional wisdom of the time. I do believe this movie is much better conceptually than it is generally considered. I hope it will someday be released on DVD. I would certainly buy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Poppa Jack?

2/10
Author: coelacanth1938 from United States
31 December 2006

Once upon a time there was a science fiction author named H. Beam Piper who wrote a classic book named "Little Fuzzy" which was about a man discovering a race of adorable little fuzzy humanoids on another planet. Mr. Piper died in 1964, but Hollywood and many of today's authors starting looting his grave before his cadaver got cold. This is the book where they got the idea for Ewoks from.

Skullduggery is such a blatant ripoff of "Little Fuzzy" I can wonder why I'm the only who's ever noticed?

But don't take my word for it. Here's a link to Project Guntenberg where you can download a copy of "Little Fuzzy" for free: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/18137

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Truly an unbelievably rotten motion picture

Author: helpless_dancer from Broken Bow, Oklahoma
29 August 1999

One of the most boring, silly, insipid, badly scripted and acted things ever to come out of the entertainment field. Even for Burt Reynolds, this was bad news. If you are home alone and bored to tears don't watch this drivel. Avoid at all costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Boring

2/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
10 May 2003

Taped this late night movie when I was in grade 11, watched it on fast forward. I sugest you do the same. I though it would be and action film, but went to a cort tv type movie. In the end it fits in with the early 70's social activest type films. Glad I missed that era. 2/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history