IMDb > Moon Zero Two (1969) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Moon Zero Two
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Moon Zero Two More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 43 reviews in total 

31 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Brings out the kid in me

8/10
Author: ubercommando from London
20 January 2004

First saw it when I was 12 and it has a place in my heart still after all these years; unlike a lot of other movies I enjoyed as a kid but can't stand today like "Battle of the Bulge" and "Raiders of the Lost Ark".

Anyway, back to the movie. Today, it's the kitsch value that I really like, I mean, there's something incredibly cute and sexy about 60's women in futuristic garb. There is a conflict in the movie about the tone; is it a sci-fi thriller with action and danger, or a tongue in cheek effort (with Moonopoly even)? The effects are good in some areas and really poor in others; but apart from 2001 you can say that about most sci fi films of that era. It shares something else with 2001 that other more famous sci-fi movies don't and that's no sound in a vacuum. Full credit to the film makers that they paid attention to their science. In fact, the movie script has some basis in real science about conditions on the moon and in space (groovy sequence of a spacesuit puncture causing the crushing of a hired goon). So we have no noise in a vacuum, but do they give us just silence? No, they fill the soundtrack with what can be only described as the kind of music known as Porno-Jazz. No matter, I actually like that kind of stuff. C'mon everyone "Moooooooonnnnnn Zero Twooooo, let's all go to the Moon nowwwwwwwwwwwww, Mooooooooonnnnnnnn Zero Twoooooooooo".

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

It May Not Be A Classic, But It's Fun!

8/10
Author: ClassixFan from USA
16 August 2003

OK, I've read several reviews of this film in books, online and from sci-fi fans and usually the overall feeling of the film is split down the middle. I really enjoy this film, it has a very good cast; James Olson, Catherine Schell (Who would go on to star in the classic sci-fi series; Space: 1999), Adrienne Corri, Warren Mitchell, Michael Ripper (Hammer regular) and Sam Kydd, it had some great looking sets, a very capable director in Roy Ward Baker and the opening tune is one I can't get out of my head for days, after watching the film or listening to that track. Hailed as the first space-western, the film does it's best to combine a futuristic look with the ideals and wild ways of the old west. To sci-fi fans looking for something really serious and up on the technical feel of a straight-from-the-hip science fiction story, chances are you're going to be disappointed with the overall effort of the film, but if you like a film that can be serious at times and still poke fun at itself, then this is a film you're probably going to enjoy.....just don't go into viewing this in a serious mood! Have fun with it and relax.....the anti-gravity fight scene in the saloon is not to be missed!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Loads of fun, sexy 60s outfits and hair styles

8/10
Author: roland-sinn from Sydney, Australia
11 July 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I taped this film when I was still at school in 1990. I loved it then, and still haven't taped over it, though of course, the quality of the tape is degrading. The very day it comes out on DVD (please God) I'll be at my local outlet happy to pay full retail. Moon Zero Two has to contain some of the most Far-out-man!! Yeah-baby!! ladies fashion and hair sculptures of the late 60s. This point alone demands the film be brought back to life on DVD. The story itself is an adventurous romp (it doesn't try to be deep) and has been billed by many critics as being the first Space Western. What struck me the first time I saw MZ2, was the fact that all the actors appeared to really enjoy playing in this film. This is just one of many reasons why the film immediately endeared itself to me and continues to do so. As for the special effects?

POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD ...

Well, they're not too bad. There's a scene in a moon canyon where a moon buggy's driving along and it's obvious beyond reason the buggy's a Tonka Toy. But really, there's a lot of impressive attention to detail in this modest budget film. Some of the sets are truly fascinating.

Overall, I'm very surprised that this film has received such low ratings overall. MZ2 is a unique science fiction film which I believe would be included in serious sci-fi fans DVD collections (when it does come out on DVD, please God). The story is original (how many of todays sci-fi films can serious claim this??) and - I have to say it again - the ladies fashion and hair sculptures are so good they take on a life and personality of their own.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Austin Powers set in space

6/10
Author: doctardis from United States
1 November 2003

I saw this movie once on TV years ago, and loved it. It has a good cast with sci-fi credentials like James Olson from the Andromeda Strain and Catherine Schell from Space:1999. It had a great over the top 1960's pop score. It was one of the first movies I saw that tried to turn space into a western except with women in miniskirts and everything in bright euro 60's colors. Olson plays a down and out astronaut who once was famous for commanding the first mission to mars. He and his Russian partner run a charter space ship business on the moon. Their space ship, moon zero two, is old and barely up to code. But Olson is an old hand on the moon. He accepts two jobs that turn out to be related. A beautiful woman from Earth wants him to find her brother who is missing from his mining claim. Second a rich bad guy with a plan to crash an asteroid into the moon. This movie more then anything else was fun with a great deal of style.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Groovy SF/western from Hammer

Author: (jenkinsm@cch.com) from Chicago, Illinois
12 April 2001

"Moon Zero Two" was the most expensive film ever produced by Hammer Studios and is one of the oddest they ever created: a psychedelic western set on the moon in 2021 complete with claim-jumping, gunfights, zero gravity bar fights, candy colored space suits and go-go dancers. SF fans will enjoy early appearances by James Olson ("The Andromeda Strain") and Catherine Schell ("Space 1999"). Also Hammer alumnae Warren Mitchell as the chief villain, Adrienne Corri as a cop (loved her boots), Bernard Bresslaw as a heavy and, of course, Michael Ripper scarfing up distilled rocket fuel at the saloon. The special effects are not that bad. Great '60s kitsch and fun if you don't take it seriously, "Austin Powers" fans may dig it.

When you see Eddie Murphy's upcoming "Pluto Nash" you'll be surprised just how many ideas were taken from this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

A unique SiFi movie

9/10
Author: (bielatpj@aol.com) from Arlington Heights, Illinois, USA
29 June 2002

The storyline was a realistic tale about mining on the moon. Why else would people go there and live long-term?

The things I look for in a SiFi movie are unique concepts not presented by other films. This movie is filled with unique concepts. My favorite part in this film is the bit where James Olson and Catherina Von Schell travel across the moon surface by bug (moon car) to investigate what happened at a remote mine. During the trip, cold from the dark, heat from the sun, and worry about loosing environmantal systems were realistic. Also other unique items included a moon city with periodic shuttle flights from Earth, moon bar with dancers for entertainment, quick trips into space in a lunner lander space ferry, gun fights in space, and ultimatelly attempting to fly an asteroid made of sapphire to the moon surface where it could be mined. In 1969 there was limited technology available to implement special effects and the technical details of this space western plot of May 9 2021. The calculator (box) was adding machine like, and ship controls were simplistic.

It would be interesting to see plot enhanced with new technology.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Saw it in 1969 when I was 11 years old...enjoyed it a lot.

Author: Ross Warren from Statesville, North Carolina
11 August 2001

Ah, the year was 1969. Apollo 11 had landed on the moon. I was 11 and eating up any science fiction I could. When I saw the advertisement for this movie I HAD to see it. So I had my mom take me and a friend to see it.

Yeah, it was kind of hokey, but I didn't notice that when I was 11. I simply thought it was plain cool. Besides, the larger Lunar Module looked pretty darn impressive. And the main actor, James Olsen, had been in Andromeda Strain a year earlier.

So, is it worth checking out now, circa 2001? Yeah, if you can catch it on cable or maybe the Sci-Fi Channel, it'd be worth a look. Just to see how events were extrapolated from the reality of 1969. Sadly, the politicians killed Apollo just when they were getting good at going to interesting places on the moon, i.e. Apollo 17 at Taurus-Littrow - incredible scenery. So we never established a moon base like the one in the movie. Sad.

It is indeed a "Western" set on the moon. You'll love the bar scene and all the women. Sorry if that sounds sexist, but hey, this was the sixties, and even 11 year old boys liked girls in mini-skirts. So, if you ever have a chance to catch it, grab a six-pack, sit down, and enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Another "above average" Hammer Film.

9/10
Author: grochomarx2002 from United States
16 January 2009

Hammer Films had a uncanny ability of making good movies cheaply, ( or making cheap films of good quality,), and Moon Zero Two is a fine if for them somewhat offbeat example of their craftsmanship. Billed as a "space western" it hit's it's bullseye "dead on", with just the sort of Hammer "budget quality" you have come to expect in their costume horror features. Yes it is dated somewhat, and the costumes look somewhat silly today, but the plot is a good one and the entertainment value of the film is still high. If you enjoy the Hammer style of film-making you should add this feature to your must see list. If Peter Cushing or Cristopher Lee, ( both Hammer contract players), had been cast for this project it might have been a minor classic - as it is however - it's just good fun - and there's nothing wrong with that.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Fun film to screen...

7/10
Author: 16mmfilms.com from Fredrick, MD
16 January 2006

If you ever get a chance to see this film, don't miss it. The whole look of this film is itchy & dated, but that's what makes watching this film so much fun! Thank god that special effects have improved greatly over the past 35+ years, but considering what they had to work with, I think they did a great job. Some of the special effects folks went on to work on numerous films such as Superman, X-Men and The Bride of Chucky. Sadly, I don't think this title was ever available on video... (going ALL the way back to the Beta days.) It WAS available as a 16mm rental back in the early 70's. Warner Bros or Seven Arts handled the US distribution, so it's most likely in Ted Turner's holdings. It would be nice to see this on TCM someday.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

A Hammer SF Horror Movie?

6/10
Author: Michael Jacobs (michael@jacobsworld.com) from London, England
22 August 2003

Yes, it's credited to Hammer, who gave us all those wonderfully poor horror movies made on a budget of three shillings tuppence happenny back in the 1960s. It's not meant to be Star Wars, and it isn't. But for its time (and we have to kind about such films) it's actually technically very accurate (no sound in space, etc.) and if you can ignore the kitsch design and costumes, it's actually quite good fun. I can imagine that the Moon of Moon Zero Two was a realistic and plausible view of human colonies on the Moon as seen from 1969, and why it might be a lot like the wild west. Every plot element of the film is lifted from cheap westerns, but it's a favourite of mine, perhaps because I was a child when I first saw it.

Just remember, it's actually more intelligent than many of the brainless (and plotless) movies which people seem to accept today without question!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history