IMDb > "Medical Center" (1969) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Medical Center"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Medical Center" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Truly a show that was ahead of it's time.

Author: kball99965 from United States
27 December 2004

Not only were the topics that were discussed out near the edge, the weekly cast of guest stars were top notch. Many of those are on todays lists of entertainments "Who's Who". But one episode sticks out in my memory plainly as being way out beyond the edge for 1970's TV. The episode was " Ghetto Clinic", guest starring William Devane. In a scene where Chad Everette was scolding William Devane for not treating a street criminal mortally wounded in an altercation, allowing him to die, Devane explains simply "He was a scumbag"....I literally sat on my couch in shock. "Did I really hear that?" I thought. Friends at work the next day confirmed that I did'nt imagine it. To this day, I have yet to hear that term used on network TV. Medical Center raised the bar for TV drama. The stage was set for the next best, "St. Elsewhere"

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A show way ahead of it's time

10/10
Author: leetallahassee from United States
7 May 2007

Not only did this show have a top notch supporting cast, a handsome, charming leading man, and outstanding "guest star" performances, but it took on issues and subjects and issues that were taboo on television until that time (some are still quite controversial even now). Male impotence. A lesbian doctor. Witchcraft. Drug overdoses. Gangs. Sex changes. Mental illnesses. Doctors practicing with no training. Racial issues. Feminisim. Child abuse.I still remember many of the episodes and even some of the dialogue. The issues covered in this groundbreaking series are still relevant to audiences today. This is a series that deserves more attention and needs a DVD box set made!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

I Would So Much Like To See These ReRun On Cable

Author: Unity_Bridge
11 September 2005

So I Could Collect Them On Tape, It Was A Great Show, But Most Of All Just Like Looking at Chad, The story lines Were Good And Especially Want the 4 or 5 episodes with Shelby Grant on them (His Wife of Now 39 Years) !!!!!!!!

I just read a comment regarding when Lily Tomlin walked off the Dick Cavett show, because Chad said Shelby was his Property,

But . . . I Also Have Tapes OF Chad & Shelby on Tattletales in 1975 when they had been married 9 years, had the two kids & Chad Was Loving And Respectful & Sweet & Affectionate To Her.

on the Dick Cavett Show, Chad Must have added

"But then, I'm her property also, It's Commitment at its Height"

OKAY TvLAND Channel, Get Medical Center ReRuns On Very Soon !!!

P L E A S E,

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Sure, it was a great series, but...

Author: kb6kgx from United States
24 February 2006

I loved "Medical Center" as much as anyone else here. BUT... unless I missed an episode, it seems to me that everyone, every patient... survived and ended up walking out on their own two feet, more or less. I don't recall "Dr. Gannon" ever losing a patient. Unlike, say, on "ER", where they actually lose quite a few.

Also, "Dr. Gannon" is listed as "Professor of Surgery" at the fictional university medical center. And he did EVERYTHING. In one episode, he'd be doing General Surgery. In another, Neurosurgery. In another, Orthopedic... he was a Cardiovascular Surgeon, he was a Thoracic Surgeon! He even did Psychiatry (there was one episode involving a girl with what turned out to be "Hysterical Blindness"). This guy did EVERYTHING!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

THE "ER" OF ITS DAY

Author: raysond from Chapel Hill, North Carolina
27 May 2000

Along side other doctor shows,Medical Center was one of the best. Chad Everett's character as Dr. Gannon was the George Clooney of his day. The show touch new ground on certain topics the were never discuss(or taboo)for TV back then,but its a rare opportunity to catch this seldom seen series being a milestone for others medical shows to follow.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

about medical center

Author: n_ruys from Belgium
13 August 2005

Medical Center was a very popular drama doctor TV. series in the seventies, Chad Everett and James Daly did an super starring role as doctor Joe Gannon and chief of staff doctor Paul Lochner. It also starred most well known actors from those days in guest roles,for instance, Jodie foster, David Cassidy, Michael Douglas, Cid Charisse, Richard Thomas and many more,

every episode had it's own touching medical story, the script writers did do an excellent job, by writing such touching exiting medical story's,about people and their medical problems, and how the doctors helped them to cure,

but it was Chad Everett in his brilliant touching role as clever, kind ,great looking doctor Joe Gannon, who brought the show to the top! There has never been any medical Dr. show on TV who was so perfect done like this one was! Hope the entire series will be released on DVD or home video soon! A lot of medical center fans, would love this to happen! We would all love to see a remake movie of medical center with Chad Everett nowadays! this would be great!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Medical Center: 1969-1976

Author: rcj5365 from Durham, North Carolina
21 December 2009

By the late 1960's,two brilliant medical shows made their debut on network television during the year of 1969. The other was "Marcus Welby,MD" for ABC,and the other great medical drama was "Medical Center" that was on CBS.

"Medical Center" was one of the great drama shows that premiered in the late 1960's,and continue onward toward that streak during the early and mid-1970's. The show was a CBS-TV staple for the seven years that it was on the air from September 24, 1969 until September 6, 1976. Produced by Frank Glicksman under executive producer Herbert F. Solow,the show focus on the medical happenings that were conducted at a large general hospital complex that was part of a large university campus(actually the University of California Medical Center at Los Angeles). Dr. Paul Lochner(James Daly)was the head chief of staff who was an experienced,professional,compassionate man who was very knowledgeable in the field of medicine and science.

His assistant,Dr. Joesph Gannon(Chad Everett)was the young professor of surgery and the close friend and colleague of Dr. Lochner. Dr. Gannon was also the head director of the student health services department which became an appropriate post for a young physician who could identify closely with the students and their problems not only within the medical establishment,but Dr. Gannon was also a liaison for those who needed his assistance outside the medical establishment. For the seven seasons that this show was on the air,"Medical Center" established some great acting and riveting drama for this series and it shows in some of the episodes that were woven into the personal and private lives of the doctors not to mention the medical stories of the doctors and their patients,as well as others to whom they came in contact with,when was the fuel for this series which in some episodes had explicit subject matter that was unheard of for a television series during the late 1960's and early 1970's. "Medical Center" push the envelope further and when into more depth then any other medical show before it,and then some.

The team of Gannon and Lochner embodied the youth versus experience tension which seems was the necessary ingredient element of every medical show back then,and the element worked here with the sheer brilliance of Chad Everett,who delivered his performances with astonishment and charm which made this show one of the most watched series of the early 1970's,not to mention cracking the top ten Nielsens during its seven year run. The guest star roster for "Medical Center" was basically a who's who of Hollywood's best ranging from Jodie Foster to Richard Thomas,Vic Morrow,Cyd Charisse,David Cassidy,Michael Douglas to Joanna Cameron,Martin E. Brooks,O.J. Simpson,and even Robert Reed that produced over 170 episodes,was a television staple during its day.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

This show used to creep me out as kid.

5/10
Author: blizzard-8 from United States
11 November 2006

I was rather young when this show ran and really do not remember a lot about it other than the tinted opening sequences featuring the actors in doctor's masks accompanied by the Wulitzer organ score. For some reason I found this to be unsettling and it made me quite afraid of hospitals. I eventual grew out of that but until then I used to leave the room when my mom had it on. Maybe not being able to completely see the actors was scary to me. Little kids get scared of some dubious things, right? I do remember the episode where Robert Reed wanted a sex change operation. I saw it years later rerun on TNT and I thought it was even funnier than I remembered. I am sure it was not supposed to be but the idea of Mike Brady wanting to be a women and the sight of him dressed like one was humorous.

Was the above review useful to you?

Loved medical center

10/10
Author: suzy3852-160-251338 from United States
10 January 2016

I was in high school when this aired in 1969. I watched every episode. I sure do miss it and wish memorable entertainment TV, antenna TV, or inspiration channels would show it. Chad Everett did an episode of supernatural few years back playing older dean winchester. Few years later he died. Only other show I saw him in was the nanny, of all things, playing a doctor. I never knew where medical center was being filmed when I looked it up on www.IMDb.com. When I was scrolling down thats when I saw where it was being filmed. I forgot what the episodes where about but one. Think Robert Reed was in it and he wanted a sex change operation and only Dr Gannon would do the operation. I have a few web sites to watch TV shows but its not listed on any of them. I even went on www.youtube.com and not there either.

Was the above review useful to you?

Dr. Joseph Gannon was the best looking doctor on television

7/10
Author: Bill Denert (yardbirdsraveup@yahoo.com) from United States
26 April 2015

Back in the mid to late 60's, the major networks were getting "hip" about current events which were affecting the attitudes of younger people. There was Vietnam, a growing concern for the environment, drug use, the Generation Gap and even, believe it or not, a focus on race relations.

Amidst all of these issues, the networks created a plethora of TV programs such as The Mod Squad, Ironside, The New People, Adam 12,and, of course, Medical Center. All of these programs came about after the death of Martin Luther King, Jr and one has to wonder if this event triggered an interest in both the networks and their sponsors. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that it was all about ratings and not about addressing and correcting the social issues of the times.

As a member of the baby boomer generation, I, too, was a naive teenager who experienced all of these turbulent issues, believing that my generation could change the world for the better. It didn't have to be me that changed the world; only someone else of my generation who could do it. The sad part was that everyone was like me and there really weren't any leaders, so to say, who would be able to change things for the better. Our expectations, although buoyed by such television programs, turned out to be one of disappointment; the world hasn't changed primarily because of obstinacy and compromise; the former being the way the world has always been and the latter being a trap the world had laid for us as we got older.

These television programs were made in order for the networks to cash in. Medical Center was no different from the other "cookie cutter" plots of The Mod Squad, Ironside or The New People. Medical Center focused on current issues affecting the mindset of my generation: the proverbial "generation gap" sticks out like a sore thumb in the episodes "The Deceived" and "Thousands and Thousands of Miles". The drug problem raises it's ugly head in the episode "The Crooked Circle". The naiveté of young people hoping to change the world simply oozes in the "A Duel With Doom" and, again, in "The Deceived" and of course the program has to touch on race relations with "The Last Ten Yards", but what television program back then would avoid that issue?

Television successfully capitalized on these issues, totally deceiving us that they were on our side and would do anything to correct the wrongs of the older generation. Unfortunately, the networks were only interested in profit, and not at all concerned for a cure of the problems we faced 45 to 50 years ago.

These issues have been quickly forgotten, replaced by a world that has worsened and unable to climb out of it's morbid and immoral abyss, let alone trying to address the issues of today which have totally dwarfed the problems we had as teenagers.

However, there is good news: Dr. Joseph Gannon was and is still the best looking doctor of any medical show.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history