IMDb > Candy (1968) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Candy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Candy More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 67 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A Strange Movie, But I liked It

5/10
Author: GorgonHeep from Buffalo, New York
20 August 2001

" Candy " is a rather strange movie, but at many times it is quite humorous and amusing. Ewa Aulin is simply delightful as Candy, with a childlike and innocent voice; she's very cute. And ofcourse, one can never go wrong with Marlon Brando either. In fact, his role as the mystic guru seems to be certainly one of his most different characters of his career. All in all, I don't think I completely understand this movie, but I enjoyed it nonetheless, especially because of its stars Ewa Aulin, Marlon Brando, Walter Mathau, and Ringo Starr.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

unique, must see satirical comedy

Author: tebird7 from north carolina
5 August 2000

Really enjoyed seeing again. Haven't seen since the late 60's and had forgotten how enjoyable the flic was. Would love to get it on video. So many stars were in it, hardly recognized marlon brando. Got to see it!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

The ultimate watching a car wreck movie

3/10
Author: johno-21 from United States
24 March 2006

I first this during it's theatrical release days. I was 14 at the time and had read the book by Terry southern and Mason Heffenberg from which this movie was adapted by Buck Henry. I saw this when it was making the Drive-In circuit and since there is nudity in this movie it must have been rated R but 14 year-old's had no problem getting into Drive-In features. I had mostly forgotten much about this and then a few years ago when DVD's started replacing videos I found a video of this in a nice hard shell case on wide screen format at less than half price so I bought it, watched half of it and forgot about it again. A few days ago I decided to watch it in it's entirety for the first time in 38 years. One of the most amazing films ever made in the fact that so many talented people could get together and turn out such waste of money, film, time and talent. Marlon Brando, Richard Burton, Charles Aznavour, James Coburn, Walter Matthau, John Huston, Ringo Starr, john Austin, Elsa Martinelli, Anita Pallenberg and Sugar Ray Robinson are among the cast with Ewa Aluin in her first film role as Candy. Haley Mills was offered but turned down the role as Candy. Actor Christian Marquand somehow got the nod to direct this mess. He had acted in European films and had been in several English language films like The Flight of the Pheonix, The Longest Day and Lord Jim but only directed this and another forgettable film in his brief directorial career before he returned to acting. Respected Cinematographer Giuseppe Rotunno brought a lot of credentials to this film. He had done cinematography for several Fellini films as well as for directors Stanlry Kramer, John Huston, Arthur Hiller and Edward Dmytryk. He must have had a mental lapse of the skills he had acquired while filming this or he just sold the filmmakers his name to put on the credits but one of the two must have happened. I can't believe he would want to sully his resume with this product. Douglas Trumball, who as a Special Effects artist would do 2001 A Space Odysessy, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Silent Running, Star Trek the Motion Picture and Bladerunner produces what can be passed off as special effects here. It is interesting seeing Burton and Brando in comedic roles. Burton in the films beginning as the poet has some good lines and it's funny hearing him talk about a "fearsome poetry loving tribe" in Africa. Brando as the guru who travels the country in a specially equipped semi trailer gives a pretty good performance with what he's got to work with. Coburn is in his In Like Flint character. Starr is over the top in his Mexican gardener role with the pigeon English speak and English accent and his natural comedic talent is misused. Walter Huston make a cameo. Anita Pallenberg is good. Sugar Ray Robinson is way out of place here but actually isn't too bad at his role. John Austin is typical John Austin in his dual role as "Daady" and "Uncle." Elsa Martinelli is forgettable. Charles Aznavour is in a Fellini-type character and is unfunny. Matthau looks lost and out of place and is unfunny. Buck Henry has a pathetically unfunny cameo role. Aulin is awful. The Dave Crusin scored soundtrack is horrible. The two Steppenwolf songs could have been utilized better or left out altogether. The original Byrds-Crusin closing song is forgettable. This movie is like a film school project gone wrong. If you saw this film while you were high it still wouldn't be funny and would probably scare you instead. The overall ineptitude of this film and the monumental waste of talent does warrant some kind of perverse redeeming value to it however.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Garbage rape fantasy

2/10
Author: vaultonburg from United States
31 July 2010

This is garbage. It's basically a series of rape fantasies. Any satire is merely incidental. I'm not sure what's even supposed to be being satirized here. People who find rape and incest offensive? Put me on that list. I tried to push through that and was waiting for some greater point to be made, but the girl literally goes from scenario to another where she is raped. And it's not a statement about rape, everyone in the production seems to really be getting off on the message. The sixties seems to have been a time when if you wanted to mock someone or someone else's values you just created a stereotype and threw stones at it. Nonetheless this is a really offensive movie, and not in the sense that someone is trying to bring some issue to the forefront by satirizing it. I get the legitimate sense watching this that someone really got off on issues like rape and incest and wanted to make a movie about it. Not entertaining. Bummer, man, bummer.

Was the above review useful to you?

Worst wonderful bad movie in Cinema history!

10/10
Author: Sky Diver from WV
20 April 2017

In my review, I will not get into the acting, production values or plot. You can babble on all day about that in ANY movie. No, Candy deserves more than just the typical cold review. Candy, for many of us was a point in time that both baffled us and left a lot of questions and memories.

I am rating Candy a 10 as the WORST wonderful movie ever made. I saw Candy 3 times when it appeared in my little town back upon release. When you're 17, and love the Byrds, Steppenwolf and later Dave Grusin, and the music pushes the movie no matter HOW bad it is, you've got a winner to a 17 year old. Don't forget, this was the Hippie era, and the psychedelic counterculture was all the rage, and this movie had it in spades! Now, flash forward 50 years and watch it again. Oh my God! It's SO bad that I bought a rare collectors DVD for a lot of money! Look, MANY movies are bad. There are more bad movies than good, and there many ways to judge what is a bad movie, like bad acting, bad production values etc. There's one other way also: Name the worst movie of all time with the most amount of Hollywood Stars. Think about it. Any ONE of the stars in Candy (except Candy herself) could and did make good movies. So you'd think that with ALL those stars, the movie couldn't fail right? WRONG. The movie was criticized so badly that it was pulled for over 20 years, and by that time, we had become adults and knew what a good vs bad movie really was. But I STILL love Candy. Why? Think of it this way: Did you love the Ford Mustang when it first came out? Wouldn't you love an original one today? We forget that the Mustang was nothing more than a new body on a cheap frame and had no power at all when it first came out. It was in fact, compared to today's cars a real dog. This doesn't matter to us in the least NOW, because that car reminds us of our childhood or teenage years. It takes us back, and for me anyway, so does the movie Candy. Yes it was bad.. the WORST considering the Stars in it, but I still love it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Low rent LOLITA? yep!

6/10
Author: JasparLamarCrabb from Boston, MA
1 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A film version of the notorious novel by Terry Southern & Mason Hoffenberg. Ewa Aulin plays the title role, a not-so-bright sexpot who happens to continually be in the wrong place at the wrong time, encountering one sex fiend after another, from Mexican gardener Ringo Starr(!) to military man Walter Matthau to creepy poet Richard Burton. It's not particularly funny but it is highly entertaining with an occasional glimpse of real wit provided by screenwriter Buck Henry. It's a rambling film and the cameos come fast and furious...Marlon Brando, John Astin (in 2 roles!), John Huston, Anita Pallenberg, Florinda Bolkan and Charles Aznavour. Directed (using that term very loosely) by actor Christian Marquand. It's photographed very lushly by Giuseppe Rotunno. It's low-rent LOLITA but still worth seeing.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not half as good as the book!

7/10
Author: JohnHowardReid
30 September 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Quite a few changes have been made in the movie version of the novel. Entirely new characters have been added (General Smight, Zero, Lolita, Conchita, Marquita), and others have been considerably metamorphosed (e.g. Doctor Howard Johns into an underground movie director and the sham philosopher into a genuine mystic), while others have been eliminated altogether (e.g. Tab Hutchins, who figures in Mephesto's amusing non-sequitur about war not accomplishing anything, and of course the Kingsleys who are the catalysts for Livia's account of a projected TV program – easily the most hilarious episode in the book – plus Peter Uspy of the Cracker Foundation, Jack Catt and Tom Smart). The plot of the movie, whilst it more or less follows the broad outlines of the book, has not only been considerably altered in details, but some of the best scenes are missing.

Was the above review useful to you?

A gloriously loopy and excessive psychedelic mess

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
24 August 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Sweet young teenage innocent Candy (credibly played with endearing wide-eyed naivete by the scrumptious Ewa Aulin) runs afoul of various kooks and perverts while embarking on a surreal and episodic odyssey of carnal self-discovery.

Director Christian Marquand, working from an uneven, yet witty script by Buck Henry, fails to make all the random outrageous incidents jell into a coherent narrative whole, but nonetheless still delivers a hugely enjoyable and often amusing four-sheets-to-the-wind delirious satire on modern society's mindless cult of celebrity worship, the swinging 60's sexual revolution and hippie counterculture, and, most of all, the dangerous lustful urges a delectable young babe in the woods easily incites in men both young and old alike. The cast have a field day with the wacky material: Marlon Brando as flaky charlatan guru Grindl, Richard Burton as pompous drunken Welsh poet MacPhisto (whose hair and purple scarf are always billowing due to some mysterious phantom breeze), James Coburn as arrogant brain surgeon Dr. A.B. Krankheit, Walter Matthau as gung-ho General R.A. Smight, Ringo Starr as dim-witted Mexican gardener Emmanuel (complete with dodgy accent!), John Huston as huffy hospital administrator Dr. Arnold Dunlap, Elsa Martinelli as the decadent Livia, Charles Aznavour as a crazed hunchbacked criminal, Anita Pallenberg as the smitten and jealous Nurse Bullock, Florinda Bolkan and Marilu Tolo as fearsome gypsy bikers, and, in a bravura dual role, John Astin as both Candy's uptight father and lecherous Uncle Jack. Dave Grusin's insanely groovy score hits the right-on happening spot. Giuseppe Rotunno's vibrant cinematography provides a neat sparkling look. Although a bit overlong and frequently rambling at a bloated 124 minutes, this singular 60's head-scratcher overall sizes up as a total absurd hoot and a half.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant Film That Has EVERYONE in it!

10/10
Author: Kitten Lyric from FL, USA
27 July 2013

I loved this film and getting to see it again when I was older only has me loving it more. I secretly watched it for the first time when I was way too young because I was a Ringo fan. I remember it well, sneaking into the midnight theatre when they had those and it was the thing to do. Imaging my innocent shock. Naughty naughty Ringo Starr. Watching it years later, I couldn't get over everyone they got to be in the film. Burton to Brando and Colburn to my Ringo, of course. It isn't Citizen Kane but then it wasn't supposed to be. If you like camp and like seeing SO many stars in one film, go for it. Loved catching the Great Tyrant as Colburn's nurse. If you know what I am talking about there, you will love this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Spoofing something that didn't really exist yet

4/10
Author: rokcomx (rokcomx@aol.com) from San Diego CA
5 November 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spoofing porn movies in the '60s was kinda like writing sci-fi in the 1800s - the genre in contention didn't really exist yet. Porn in 1968, pre-Throat/MissJones/Mona etc., hadn't yet developed the wah-wah guitar pizza delivery slo-mo money shot vocabulary we know and love to mock today. That said, tho, Candy has some funny moments, especially the ones taken directly from the Terry Southern novel the movie was based on.

Beatleholics seek the movie out to see Ringo Starr as the perpetually confused houseboy Emmanuel. Candy gives Starr a terrific catchphrase that, despite his irresistibly deadpan delivery, never seems to have caught on. Other than at my house, where I STILL frequently say, at any given opportunity, especially when confronted by anyone about anything I've supposedly done to vex them, "Emmanuel GOOD boy!"

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 7: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history