You're in Love, Charlie Brown (TV Short 1967) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
10 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
True love in 67'
Benjamin Wolfe26 November 2006
This was a wonder to behold!! From the moment I put it on the DVD player, I was astounded at how, all of the Charlie Brown features are not carbon copies of each other. The animation had that good feeling classic made in the U.S.A feel to it. Further propelled by the storyline of Charlie Brown and his red-haired love sick obsession with that little 'Red Haired Girl'. He was just out of his mind, when he first saw her. Thoughts of romance and kisses on his mind. Bashful and hopeful of the time that he would get to just be with her! But with thanks to friends like Linus, and of course Snoopy, he has a support team second to none!! This is a feel-good Charlie Brown that is well equipped with laughs and heart warming fun, for family and friends alike. This is a don't miss, for all Peanuts fans out there, be sure and catch the romantic vision, feel the frenzied heartbeat and find the love! You're in love Charlie Brown!! Recommended to all the ages.(*****)
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Hope
newkidontheblock28 June 2004
I guess you could say that I'm a lot like Chuck Brown, kind, caring, shunned by from my peers (gotten better over the years). But as a teenager, Your In love Charlie Brown and the one about the prom gave me much hope. Maybe I do stand a chance with the Girl of my dreams.

I very much enjoyed Your in Love Charlie Brown, It had a good plot (one all of us could relate too) and like in most Peanuts specials and films, good music. Charles C. did good with this special, all of us has that red headed girl we adore from a far but don't have the guts to talk to. This is one of my favorite peanuts specials, I had this one on VHS and I watched it all the time. The tape broke though, but I still have the memory, thank you You're in Love Charlie Brown, you gave kind nerds everywhere hope for the future.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Chuck's first crush
Shawn Watson12 February 2005
Charlie is in love with 'the little red-headed girl', the very one he fancied in 'Be My Valentine, Charlie Brown'. But he's not got the courage to talk to her and frequently makes a laughing stock of himself with every attempt. Plus, everybody is making fun of him and Snoopy is not lending a sympathetic ear, as usual.

The emotional turmoil Charlie suffers is alarmingly true. Everybody remembers their first crush and how awkward it made them feel. It's little touches of reality like this in the far-fetched but wonderful world of Peanuts that make it so timeless. Though it was made in 1967 there is nothing in this TV special that dates it in any way.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Sweet!!!!!!=o)
BROOKE11 October 1999
I used to pretend I was the little red headed girl....seriously=o) Who doesn't feel an "ouch" moment when thinking back to that first crush. Well Charlie Brown's life is one huge "ouch" moment. But that's why we LOVE him!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Typically fine Peanuts show
Woodyanders2 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The eternally hapless and bumbling Charlie Brown tries to muster up the courage to talk to a little red-haired girl who he has developed a massive crush on. The precocious Linus and scrappy tomboy Peppermint Patty try to help Charlie out, but only compound the severity of an already dire situation. Charles M. Schulz's sharp script astutely nails the bittersweet angst of unrequited love and shows in a realistic, yet humorous and lighthearted manner just how mean or nice kids can be to each other. Charlie's Brown's anguish and awkwardness about confronting the little red-haired girl is funny, touching, and totally relatable. It's this latter element of universal pathos which in turn makes this particular show so sweet and special. Who hasn't had a crush on someone, but was afraid to talk to that person out of the fear that you would make a fool of ourself? Schulz had an uncanny knack for tapping into stuff that we all immediately know and understand in a way that was humane, amusing, and engaging. Of course, we also get several nice gags (for example, Peppermint Patty is blithely oblivious to the fact that Snoopy is really a dog!), but it's Schulz's trademark wit and warmth which makes this show and the other Peanuts TV specials so effective and enjoyable. Kudos are also in order for Vince Guaraldi's jaunty jazz score. And the lovely upbeat conclusion is a joy to behold. Essential viewing for Peanuts fans.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Funny, engaging Peanuts video
rweourslvs8 June 2008
It's springtime, and love is in the air, as Charlie Brown tries to muster up the courage to talk to the Little Red-Haired Girl. This video is a laugh riot, due to physical humor and several good scenes. Lucy, told by Charlie Brown how the Little Red-Haired Girl's pretty face makes him nervous, goes on a tirade: "Why doesn't MY face make you nervous? I have a pretty face! Wasn't I the Christmas queen? You haven't answered me!" Also funny is an odd "tryst" between Lucy and Charlie Brown: Peppermint Patty, hearing Charlie Brown's frustrations over love, arranges a meeting between the two, mistakenly thinking she's Charlie Brown's object of affection. Upon seeing each other, the two, shocked, in unison, yell "YOU?! BLECCCH!!" (It actually seems as if this subplot was made just to write Peppermint Patty into the special, in her animated debut).

Though some (unintended) humor comes from odd animation: in one scene with children boarding a school bus, several characters can be seen boarding twice. More bizarre is a scene of Linus walking, as if he were a ghost, through 3 girls swinging in their schoolyard. I guess the animator though no one would notice.

At times the story takes strange turns, like with the previously mentioned Charlie Brown-Lucy tryst. Were it not for some sloppy animation, this would probably rank as a classic. Overall, though, this 1967 special, well scored by Vince Guaraldi, is cute, watchable, and often uproarious. I can't remember the last time a Peanuts cartoon made me laugh out loud!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The LRHG did NOT slip him a note at the end -- it was a prank!
tensaip5 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The fact it was a prank is more obvious in the comic strip storyline that sequence was based upon, but the dead giveaway in the TV special was the fact that the author ID'd herself in the note as "The Little Red-Haired Girl" (it would be 10 years before her name was revealed as Heather) and that the ending theme which plays over the credits is the same song which the mean girls at the school were using to mock Charlie Brown from earlier.

What made YOU'RE IN LOVE, CHARLIE BROWN so shocking (to the extent that it was never again aired on CBS after its 1967 debut) was the emotionally sadistic ruthlessness which Charlie Brown is subjected to. No other PEANUTS special is so brutally faithful to the psychotic self-loathing of Charles Schulz's 1960-70s PEANUTS strips when his chronic depression was at its worst -- and his artistry the best.

This remains one of the great artistic triumphs in US TV animation, because it teaches you something about the artist who made it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The First Non-Holiday "Peanuts" Special
cricharddavies23 November 2006
This third "Peanuts" TV special broke new ground -- the previous two, of course, were the classic "A Charlie Brown Christmas" and "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown", but this one doesn't deal with a holiday. Well, technically it does, as it's set on the last days before summer vacation, but while children doubtless view that as a holiday, it really isn't. Instead of being a new story, it was largely composed of adaptations of various "Peanuts" strips, including part of one that was also incorporated into "You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown".

Perhaps the most interesting thing about it is that it is clearly a "try-out" of sorts for "A Boy Named Charlie Brown". In both that feature-length animation and in this half-hour special, we see Lucy, Violet and Patty dancing around Charlie Brown singing a mocking song. I suspect that the dance in "You're In Love" was done to see whether the animators could make such a musical sequence "work". It's notably less effective here, but the practice made perfect.

This was also the TV introduction of the newest member of the "Peanuts" family, Peppermint Patty. In this one, as yet unaccompanied by Marcie, she's very much as she was in her introduction, and the other characters aren't quite sure what to make of her -- "Chuck?" wonders Charlie Brown aloud, while Lucy is perplexed by her reference to her as "Lucille".

Probably the worst part of it is the frankly creepy scene where Charlie Brown crawls, spider-like, over the school fence as he tries to sneak into school. This is a kid who's supposedly one of the worst athletes in history, and he's able to do that? Come on. Also, why does the Little Red-Haired Girl sign her note to him, "The Little Red-Haired Girl"? (On the other hand, considering the low quality of one of the few episodes that featured her as an active character, 1977's "It's Your First Kiss, Charlie Brown", maybe I should be more thankful that the animators didn't see fit to give her a name yet ...)
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Only sometimes entertaining
filmreviews@web.de6 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
"You're in Love, Charlie Brown" is a pretty early Peanuts short movie, from the 1960s already, and soon it is going to have its 50-year anniversary. The director is Bill Melendez and the writer is Charles M. Schulz as always. The title actually gives this one away already. This time Charlie is the protagonist and he is in love. Of course, his object of desire the little red-hair girl as always and he is simply too shy to come up with the courage to talk to her. There are a couple entertaining moments, but as a whole it is basically what I described and that is not enough for 25 minutes, especially as the other Peanut characters get hardly no screen time in this one. My major criticism is about the ending. I hate it when filmmakers sacrifice realism for feel-good factor and that is exactly what happened here with the final plot twist. Sadly, this really leaves me disappointed watching this short movie. Not recommended. Not among the Peanuts' best and the 3 Emmy nominations are quite a joke.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
It's Romance
AaronCapenBanner14 December 2013
Fourth animated special based on the Charles M. Schulz cartoon strips is a non-holiday tale about how poor lovesick Charlie Brown becomes enamored of the Little Red-Haired girl in his class that he doesn't have the courage to talk to. His friends Linus and Peppermint Patty try to help, but only make his embarrassment worse. Meanwhile, the school term is ending, and Charlie has only one more day to tell her before the long summer, assuming he doesn't botch it of course! OK story isn't one of the best, but does feature the debut of both Peppermint Patty and the Little Red-Haired girl, and is amiable enough to keep the viewer interested. Stay with it until the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews