IMDb > Clambake (1967) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Clambake
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Clambake More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 4: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4]
Index 38 reviews in total 

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Elvis half baked

4/10
Author: funkyfry from Oakland CA
8 October 2002

One of Presley's most disappointing features, due mostly to a poor script and really, really bad songs that Elvis has to limp through trying not too look embarassed. The song with the kids in the playground was, I think, the worst song I've ever seen in a movie. Seeing Elvis in his ridiculous Texan yellow suit at the beginning is possibly the most thrilling moment in this tepid Cinderella tale. Fabares is wasted as a really one-dimensional character -- she's actually a lovely and talented actress, but you wouldn't know it from what she gets to show off in this film concoction.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Wooden and difficult to enjoy

Author: bob the moo from United Kingdom
17 August 2002

A young, attractive heir to an oil fortune is frustrated by the fact that girls only seem to be attracted by his money and cars. Meanwhile water skiing instructor Tom Wilson is annoyed that a girl he's been chatting up loses interest when she sees Scott's car. To see if he is really attractive to women without the money Scott trades places with Tom and goes to work in a hotel resort while Tom becomes a millionaire.

Elvis films are almost always star vehicles rather than great plot driven movies. However this really takes liberties. The plot is a very basic `trading places' setup but it isn't thought through and is really full of holes. That wouldn't matter so much if it was fun, but it isn't. There are no laughs at all and it really feels like the cast aren't enjoying it either. The musical numbers are all average songs at best are lack any kind of life or spark.

Elvis merely walks around whatever set he's singing in while 1960's girls dance independent of him. Elvis is very wooden here and clearly doesn't try too hard – even when singing. Fabares et al are very average love interests while Hutchins mugs away like he's in his own movie.

The back project is terrible and it's used way too often, numerous driving scenes I can forgive but the water skiing scene is just plain laughable. Overall Elvis fans will probably still love this but to be honest I found it very wooden and difficult to enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Poor

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
27 February 2008

Clambake (1967)

* 1/2 (out of 4)

Very weak Elvis film has him playing a millionaire's son who wants to meet people on his own so he trades places with a water ski instructor. There's really not too much to say about this really bland romantic comedy because there isn't any romance and not a single laugh. Even the music is pretty poor, which is a shame because you'd think they could have at least came up with one good single. Elvis seems bored and uninterested throughout the film and Shelley Fabares is oh so annoying.

Get an Elvis CD instead.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Positively awful

2/10
Author: kuringai-1 from Australia
14 February 2006

An awful, idiotic Elvis movie.

The acting is wooden, and the only laughs that come are unintentional.

For example: we're in the middle of a bland musical number, when suddenly the screen is tipped upside down. It stays like that for a while, then goes back to normal. None of this happens for a reason.

Even my drunk cousin was confused by this.

The story was nice and original when it was The Prince and the Pauper, but by the time Clambake was made, it had been done to death.

As for Elvis' acting: either he based his performance on an ironing board, or he was drunk.

I personally hope for the latter.

You could replace his character with a plank with a mopey face and you wouldn't be able to tell the difference.

Avoid.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Fatty

1/10
Author: eamon-14 from Ireland
6 April 2005

Elvis has obviously been tucking into the cheeseburgers during the making of this rubbish. Elvis looks overweight with piggy eyes. His hair looks dyed off his head and is wig like. Its hard to believe that less than 1 year later he was strutting his stuff on stage at NBC studios in his black leather outfit looking better than he has ever looked at 33 years old. Thank God for the '68 comeback special. However I did read somewhere that he was taking speed to suppress his appetite up to 3 months before the cameras started rolling for the '68. It worked coz he looked slim and fit and dripping with charisma. He also looked happy and relaxed which I reckon was the direct result of not having to make any more crap movies like Clambake.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Smellaroo

Author: kwbucsfan from Florida
20 August 2001

This is without a doubt the WORST movie that Elvis ever did. Considering the strong supporting cast of Shelly Fabres, Will Hutchins and the late Bill Bixby that is quite a statement. The plot was pathetic, the songs were atrocius and acting was terrible. I hoped that Bill Bixby would turn into The Incredible Hulk and make it somewhat interesting. It had one or two good scenes and everything else was crap. What were the producers thinking? What were they smoking? I give this movie half a star, a very generous rating on my part.This movie isn't worth the film they used. Avoid this movie unless you want to be bored to death.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

BURY IT ELVIS!

1/10
Author: shepardjessica-1 from United States
17 October 2004

One of the absolute WORST of Elvis' masterpieces. There is the lovely Shelley Fabares, but give me a break. Throw in Bill Bixby, who could be amusing on TV shows, and you've definitely got the worst songs in Elvis flick history (especially "Clambake"). I don't know how he slogged through this one in 1967.

I rarely give a film a 1, but this one for sure. Best performance = Shelly Fabares. Along with TICKLE ME, SPINOUT, and a few others, this hits a new low, even for The King. Nothing to recommend, even in Ed Wood land. Don't bother. Pure Junk from beginning to end, with less of a plot than usual (if that's possible).

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Awful

1/10
Author: ClarkF1 from London, England
12 August 2002

Just plain awful....do describe what was bad about it here would be too much.

Oh well....

They only dragged it out of the store cupboard cause of the anniversary

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 4: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history