Dragnet 1967 (TV Series 1967–1970) Poster

(1967–1970)

User Reviews

Add a Review
29 Reviews
Sort by:
10/10
The greatest T. V. series!
Mike3 January 2000
I love this show! It's dated, the humor is old, but who cares. The crimes committed are interesting, and Jack Webb is idealistic as a no-nonsense cop. I haven't seen the show in years though, because Nick at Nite doesn't run it anymore and I don't get TV Land (that sucks!)
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I love this show
SkippyDevereaux7 March 2001
OK, maybe this isn't the best show in television history, but it is a good one to watch. Even though I have seen every episode many times, I never get tired of watching it. After viewing the show all these years, it is fun to try and spot which of the many recurring actors and actresses appear in that episode--like the late Virginia Gregg!! She was a hoot to watch in many of the episodes.

It is also fun to see someone portray a cop or good guy in one episode and then play a villian in another episode. Now, even though this doesn't have anything to deal directly with any episode of Dragnet, I think that it was really nice how Jack Webb hired his ex-wife's husband in a few episodes and later was the producer of "Emergency" with his ex-wife Julie London and her husband Bobby Troup. I doubt very seriously that many people in Hollywood would be so mature and do that today.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It's Better Than You've Been Told
Michael-20216 November 1999
This series has taken a rap from latter-day critics, who can't stand that it's not "Dragnet" (1952). A few misguided souls actually view it as "camp comedy," and the terminally hip scoff at Sgt. Friday's rabid anti-drug stance.

What makes this series rise above such criticism is the sincerity of all players, its dead-on realism in every situation and performance, and the fact that each story is TRUE. As with practically everything Jack Webb did, this show was ahead of its time in many ways. "Dragnet 1967-70" preached "just say no" twenty years before it became fashionable. Friday's assertions about the addictive nature of drugs, and that marijuana users tend to move on to harder stuff, is still borne out by statistics. The absence of gunplay and wild car chases underscore what a cop's day-to-day life REALLY is. Best of all, the chemistry between Webb and Harry Morgan is unbeatable.

Yes, a lot of the same actors are used over and over, but that was just as true in the 1950's version. Members of the LAPD, and other police departments, assert that "Dragnet" and "Adam-12" (also a Webb production) are still TV's most realistic cop shows. Forget what you've read before and give this version of "Dragnet" a try.
26 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This show was solid
BaseballRaysFan20 February 2010
This show was solid, hard-hitting, and real.

I read the autobiography of Thomas Redden (I am pretty sure that was his name), the L.A. Chief Of Police when Draget was on the air. He said that Jack Webb invited him to the set one day. Webb asked Redden to let him know if anything was amiss. Redden said that he was astounded at what he saw. The set he mentioned was the set where Friday and Gannon sat at the tables, discussing cases, going over evidence, etc. Redden said that the set was 100% accurate, down to the location of the ash trays on the tables.

Jack Webb was a stickler for accuracy. That shines through in the shows. From what I've heard, the procedures shown in Dragnet are still pretty accurate, and were very accurate for those days. Dragnet hold up well, even though it's been almost 40 years since Jack Webb last appeared as Joe Friday.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
way underrated
MartinHafer4 June 2006
This was a great show. Unfortunately, it does appear a little dated today--almost 40 years later. Also, too many people have discounted this show because they have been warped by seeing crap like the DRAGNET movie starring Dan Aykroyd. For the time it was made, this was one of the very best cop shows on TV--if not the very best.

Unlike the earlier incarnation of the TV show that Jack Webb produced and starred in from the 1950s, this version is less violent and more subdued--showing a lot of the more mundane aspects of police work. And, the show was meant to be more entertainment AND public service work to build support for our cops. The earlier show was more important just for entertainment. Plus, in this series, Detective Smith has been replaced by Detective Gannon (played by Harry Morgan).

So why did I like it so much? Well, aside from its realism, I think that Jack Webb's interpretation of Joe Friday was probably the coolest square guy I have ever seen. Yes, he was rigid and by-the-book, but he had the absolute best lines in TV history. For every scumbag he had the greatest snappy comebacks--sometimes making the entire episode worth while.

While not every episode clicked (some were too preachy or dull), there were so many great episodes. For example, the several episodes starring Burt Mustin, the Blue Boy episode, the white supremacist (with perhaps the greatest Friday one-liner), the guy who stole superhero memorabilia and thought HE was a superhero, etc. are all wonderful examples of fantastic TV. If you see one episode and it doesn't win you over, try a few more--I can guarantee if you give it a fair try you'll be hooked.

By the way, the best of the four seasons is the first. Part-way through season 2 and continuing into the series the shows often were more desk-bound and often concerned more mundane things like public relations and the like. While not bad, these later episodes were a bit claustrophobic and lacked the zip of the earlier ones.

PS--while the style is VERY different, try to find a copy of the DRAGNET movie Jack Webb made in the 1950s. It's one of the best Film Noir movies and is a very tough and gritty film--and VERY different from DRAGNET 1967.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Thank you Jack
dtucker8629 September 2003
Jack Webb was being interviewed once about his show Dragnet and he said that he hoped that by creating this show and its portrayal of police work that it would make the public more sympathetic to our brave boys in blue and their job easier. The amount of abuse that police have to take is horrible and ridiculous Mister Webb said. Its is small wonder that the police were so fond of him. They once gave him an award from "the best real cops to the best reel cop". Jack Webb in fact is the only person to ever be given a policeman's funeral by the LAPD who was not a police officer. He served in the Air Force in WWII and began to work as a disc jockey and a small part movie actor after the war. It was while making a film called He Walked By Night that Webb befriended a Los Angeles policeman who introduced him to police files and a light went on in Jack's head and the rest is history. Webb used actual cases from the LAPD and the script went through several hands before it even went on the air from patrolman to captain. Webb even instructed his actors to "deadpan" their lines to add to the air of realism. He read his won lines off a teleprompter. I admit that if Webb had been any more wooden you could have made an end table out of him. Even his walk was like a man whose shorts were too tight. Joe Friday was really a very boring person who wore the same suit all the time. He didn't love his job but did it and served uncomplainingly. Dragnet tackled a lot of topics that were controversial at the time like teenage drug abuse. There was one episode once about a father who went to Friday and Bill Gannon and told them his daughter was smoking pot. There was one excellent scene where Friday angrily lectures the girl and her husband about thier addiction. This episode had a horrifying ending where they crash a party at their house and find that they have drowned their little girl in the bathtub. Gannon gets sick at the sight and it is the most powerful Dragnet that I have ever seen. Another episode has Friday engaging in hand to hand combat with a teenager holding a live grenade. Jack Webb was one of the true pioneers with this series and with Adam 12. He brought us all a lot of enjoyment and made the police out to be the heroes that they are. I often wonder what he would think of tv series like The Shield and NYPD Blue. He would probably be turning over in his grave.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A classic series
Hessian4992 November 2002
Viewers used to series today such as Law & Order and CSI probably won't enjoy this classic show from the 1960s, but if you need a break from gritty realism and hard-boiled dramas this is a great show to watch. The 60s version of Dragnet was somewhat like the original show in the 1950s, but dealt with the topics of the day like drug use, race relations, student unrest, etc. Jack Webb plays Joe Friday to the hilt again, maybe a little less authoritarian that back in the 1950s version but still quite a memorable character nonetheless. By contrast, Harry Morgan plays Friday's partner, Officer Bill Gannon, as just a regular guy who happens to be a cop. You get the feeling that Gannon could easily move to some other career if he wanted to without much difficulty, while Friday seems to be interested only in police work; it's hard to imagine Joe Friday taking a day off, let alone do anything like go to the movies, visit a museum, etc. The supporting characters come and go regularly, as others have mentioned, but do a good job with their limited roles. Also, the crimes that Friday and Gannon investigate are quite interesting, and most episodes are well written. There will always probably be a debate as to whether the 50s or 60s version of Dragnet was best, but either way this series has held up well and is still a lot of fun to watch today.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Still the Best
Brian Washington18 March 2003
This is still the greatest police drama that ever was made. When I was growing up, the second version of the show in the late 60's/early 70's was the only version I knew and it not only showed how police track down criminals, but it was also the first show that dealt with the day to day operations of the L.A.P.D.. Everything was covered from watching how a young man (or woman) becomes a police officer to community relations. This version really tried to hammer down the point that police officers are human beings and that they do have lives outside the squad room.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Strikingly Bourgeois
Robert J. Maxwell23 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I recently finished watching most of the 69 episodes from this series on DVDs. After recovering from the brief psychotic episode they induced I tried to figure out just what the subtext of this series was. I mean, what made it so very popular in the late 60s.

The series must have been dear to Jack Webb's heart. It's too consistent to be anything else. Webb and the show were one and the same. The stories were based on real cases from the LAPD. I understand that. But the presentation was all Webb's. And I thrilled whenever Webb said the words "Los Angeles" and used a "hard" g, as in the original Spanish name for the city.

The design of the program -- the sets, the people we meet -- there was hardly any variation. Every setting seems to be middle class, even the hotel for poor old people. the set design was sparse, the carpets apricot. Sometimes a perp may look weird. He may have painted his face half blue and half yellow if he took LSD, or he may be dressed as Captain Crusader, but everyone else is well groomed and neatly dressed. In Webb's L.A. there is no such thing as a slum or a dangerous neighborhood. All the neighborhoods look alike and Webb, as the narrator, has to tell us we're looking at a run-down house.

It's politically correct, and this has to be part of its appeal. There is the occasional homosexual -- in one episode a hair dresser who gushes that he "could do wonders" with Joe Friday's hair. He isn't ridiculed but the character is played for mild laughs. Blacks are sometimes present but they are always victims of racist comments by bad guys, and Joe Friday straightens the racists out quickly because it's not the American way. And the bad guys who insult them aren't ordinary people but Nazi freaks.

The values embodied in the program are straight down the line -- ordinary middle class, patriotic, law-abiding, respect for elders and authority figures, and thoroughly Republican in the old-fashioned sense of cautious about change and careful about responsibility. Dope is bad, and so is anything else that deviates much from the norm. The anthropologist Ralph Linton drew a distinction between "ideal" culture and "real culture." This program definitely leans towards the ideal, a world in which cops always leap forward to help anyone in distress. (See "Serpico" for a glimpse of the "real".)

Nobody gets away with anything. If you break the law, you pay for it. In a moment the results of that trial.

The format itself gives us a spurious sense of accuracy and attention to the verities. "It was 8:45 PM. It was hot and dry in Los Angeles. We were working the night watch out of Littering." How is it possible to doubt that this is what actually happened?

Acting. Jack Webb is good, and so is Henry (Harry) Morgan, although I wish the latter would make up his mind about his name. Maybe it's Harry (Henry) Morgan, come to think of it. That brief loss of contact with reality seems to have fused a couple of synapses. Anyway, Webb and H. (H.) Morgan had their roles down pat -- from the dramatic to the comic. For the most part, the rest of the acting was robotic. That didn't necessarily detract from the show's value, inasmuch as non-actors don't get in the way of the text. As far as that goes I'm not sure the performers can be blamed. The greatest actors in the world would have a tough time overcoming the stilted scripts. "Hah, Fuzz, you can't say that to me because I'm not under arrest." Webb: "You forgot one thing, mister." "Huh? What's that?" Webb: "Now you are."

I particularly enjoyed the episodes that were built around a dialog between Jack Webb and H. (H.) Morgan, on the one hand, and some rebellious spirit on the other. A Timothy Leary clone appears in one and the repartee is gripping. Leary himself, as I understand it, is now circling the earth in outer space, or at least a portion of his ashes are. The orbit will decay with time as, lamentably, did his attempt to transform the world into a virtual reality without the intervention of machinery. (PS: Kids, Timothy Leary was this ex-Harvard professor who took LSD and advised everyone to "tune in, turn on, and drop out," and -- well, never mind.) Curiously enough, there was a similar talky argument with a producer of pornographic films in another episode. In historical reality, baser human instincts have triumphed over the spiritual, as usual, and the internet is now awash with free videos that belong in an anatomy class, while no one remembers the meaning of the word "psychedelic."

It's enjoyable mostly because it's a trip backward in time. It's a Grandma Moses painting of reality. Webb is telling us what's what. It's like being Twilight Zoned back into a period before the center could not hold and things fell apart. The lines were clear and if you crossed them, well you had Webb and Morgan (H. (H.)) to cope with -- and you didn't win.

By the way, I don't mean to seriously suggest that during the illness I experienced after this marathon viewing, I was a danger to myself or others. The chief symptom was an inability to walk and swing my arms at the same time and an irresistible impulse to wear the same gun-metal gray sports jacket and dark slacks no matter what I was doing. I developed a tendency to nod emphatically too, but my shrink told me to stop it. If any nodding was done around here, he'd do it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sir Jack in the box....
millerman3782 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Jack Webb was to the establishment what Abbie Hoffman was to the counterculture. Watching DRAGNET transports the viewer to a time and place where conventional mores and ideals were being openly challenged by a bolder, younger generation of Americans. Jack Webb and his contemporaries obviously felt a sense of betrayal at this growing petulance, and DRAGNET was the perfect soapbox on which to denounce it's upstart-ideology. Friday and Gannon invariably encountered all manner of disaffected and misguided youth, but the mantra was always the same: CUT YOUR HAIR...MIND YOUR ELDERS...And above ALL else: RESPECT AUTHORITY. Friday was a decent enough sort. He was unsubtle and direct. His generation not only believed everything they were told, but perpetuated the self-delusional myth of American INFALLIBILITY. The sixties were a cold, hard slap in the face of the GREATEST GENERATION, and the wounds are still felt to this day.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
General Feelings about Classic Shows Like Dragnet
Mark8196117 June 2006
Somehow reading a lot of these comments about other classic shows like "Dragnet 1967 - 1970" can make me appreciate growing up during that time frame when shows made so much sense and taught a lesson such as on so many occasions that this version of Dragnet did. I guess I would have to rate a favorite episode as the only one where Joe himself had to be tried for shooting a would-be criminal in self-defense at I think it was a laundromat. It showed that NO ONE can be above the law, not even the cops themselves. It's a pity that the first season was not a big seller on DVD - I have checked with tvondvd.com and apparently there are no plans to release the remaining two seasons for that very reason...since now the show is only shown on one relatively obscure cable network that not all systems have, let's increase the sales of season 1 - I own a copy and enjoyed watching it....
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Campy Classic
MWNiese27 April 2013
*****Five out of Ten Stars*****

Producer Jack Webb was known as an extremely economical TV producer: His Mark VII productions routinely used minimal sets, even more minimal wardrobes (Friday and Gannon seem to wear the same suits over entire seasons, which minimized continuity issues) and maintained a relatively tight-knit stock company that consisted of scale-paid regulars who routinely appeared as irate crime victims, policewomen, miscreants and clueless parents of misguided youth. Which is pretty evident if you follow the show consistently. In fact I find it comical, in an annoying way, that some actors clearly play good characters in some episodes and criminals in other episodes.

In real life Jack Webb was a hard worker that had a great sense of humor, loved to drink, and smoke cigarettes. That being said, "Dragnet" is over-rated. PLEASE let me explain: Webb's decision to have actors read off cue cards and read their lines monotone isn't my idea of a method in making a TV show more realistic; which was Webb's reasoning behind this production decision. Also, the whole idea of these stories being real life depictions of actual events is somewhat misleading. These stories were BASED on real cases. Liberties were clearly taken in the writing department in an effort to make the stories more palatable to Webb's goals and the main TV viewing audience.

So, don't' get me wrong; I like watching Dragnet. Webb's introductory history lessons about Los Angeles are really quite enjoyable at the beginning of each episode. It's also great to see the location shots filmed in the Los Angeles area at that time in the late 60s: It's classic America before LA turned into the sess-pit it is now. Putting it into perspective, "Dragnet" has some endearing qualities, but Jack Webb's cue card production style gets an F from me.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This is the city... Los Angeles....Dragnet 1967 Starring Jack Webb as Sgt. Friday
raysond29 September 2002
As for its precessdor of one of the most influential cop shows of all time,Dragnet has stood the test of time. Jack Webb was a master at what he did to keep the audience on the edge of their seats with harrowing stories that came from the files of the Los Angeles Police Department. The stories and events that the show had were from actual files and cases that were brought to life by the cops and detectives who were out there on the beat everyday in the silmy and gritty streets of one of the most roughest and dangerous cities in America,and it shows this in grand detail.

Television viewing at its very finest.

On January 12,1967,Jack Webb introduced audiences to a new format of the show called,"Dragnet:1967"(which was basically the precessdor to the Dragnet show of the 1950's revised after Jack Webb yanked it off the air after a eight year hiatus),but this time around was in color)which originally ran on NBC's Thursday night schedule in Prime Time for three seasons and 98 Technicolor episodes airing from January 12,1967 to the final episode of the series on April 16,1970(when creator-producer- director and actor Jack Webb voluntarily pull the plug on this series after it received good ratings). "Dragnet" was produced under Jack Webb's production company Mark VII Limited and Universal Television.

Here is something audiences never suspected which was totally new at the time...a vision of Los Angeles that has never been seen before and gives an exquistite detail of some of cities most famous places as well as its gorgeous scenery shots photographed. It also gave audiences a realistic view of Los Angeles in the mid-to-late 1960's and early-1970's where in most episodes dealt with the social injustices that occur and the crime epidemic that was out of control as well.

Here,Jack Webb is still Officer Joe Friday always going by the facts and always preaches what he goes by and also on this new venture is his new partner Bill Gannon(played by Harry Morgan,who also was Colonel Potter on M*A*S*H)who was his backup on police patrol when they were in some sticky situations,but always come out of them in some of the episodes.

This older version maybe campy today,but back in 1967 it packed an emotional wallop that left viewers on the edge of their seats and it was very controversial in handling some of the subject matter.

Some of the episodes I managed to find or keep,but these episodes were some of the best from the first two seasons with some of them dealing with the subject of race relations,police corruption,armed robbery and kidnapping,teen runaways,juvenile delinquency,civil rights,and the deadly effects of kids using LSD and drugs.

The most harrowing episode was the one were the parents were high on marijuana and LSD and they left a little girl drowning in the bathtub as of the result. The other was one where Friday and Gannon stumbled upon a young man near a park chewing the bark off a tree high on LSD and pills. The sad part is that his parents didn't know that their son was high and it was up to Friday to find the supplier before it was too late who gave him lethal drugs. The other,from the first season was the one where Gannon and Friday stumbled upon a man bent on destruction of destroying the city where they find not only a ton of ammo and weapons,but papers on bomb building,Nazism,and other racist propaganda. Gripping drama at its very best.

The third season wasn't that good since most of the episodes focus on a comedy routine involving Friday(which sucked badly)that was the scene at the home of Bill Gannon,his partner. But that was one episodes,but the following episodes stuck mainly to the script which mostly police procedures and rules that were strictly by the book,and Jack Webb's character was that way. When the series was abruptly canceled after more than three seasons and 98 episodes on April 16,1970, the powers that be over at NBC replaced "Dragnet" with the short-lived situation comedy series "Nancy" on September 17,1970 where it was placed in its original time slot.

Originally written on September 28, 2002 and was revised on November 10,2016.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Television's Potential Fulfilled
Diane Ruth26 June 2015
Visionary television Renaissance Man, Jack Webb, succeeded in bringing to the small screen a police drama of unprecedented power and stunning realism. Webb broke new ground continually with his use of cameras and his scripts were both timely and cutting edge. During the incredibly turbulent and chaotic years of revolt, immorality, and rampant drug use, Dragnet served as an anchor, a cultural bulwark for a society under siege. A society threatened by lawlessness and vulgarity was centered by what Jack Webb offered in the format of a half-hour of sanity during insane times. With this production, the 1960's can now be viewed with a solid perspective that brings viewers the viewpoint of that Silent Majority who trusted the police to protect their way of life from drug crazed criminals masquerading as cultural revolutionaries. Dragnet and Adam-12 are more than television shows. They were important contributions to the American republic and moral compasses for a populace teetering on the edge of madness.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One Of My All Time Favorite Police Dramas
ralsalongi24 November 2002
This was one of my all time favorite police dramas. Jack webb was truly a great actor and a director; he knew how to play Friday with realism. I heard comments from people that they didn't like the show because the actors all seemed like they were reading their lines. To me, this is what made the show unique. Fridays dress(he always seemed to wear the same suit) and facial expressions were also a joy to watch. My all time favorite episode was the one when the couple let their baby drown in a bathtub because they were high on marijauna. This taught a valuable lesson that drug use can lead to tragedy. My second favorite was the one entitled "The hit and Run Driver." This also taught a lesson on what driving under the influence can do. Most of the shows taught a lesson and that's what I liked about it. The shows may seem dated to some, but to me, a great police drama.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Good show
I used to watch this show when I was a little girl. Although I only remember it vaguely, I must say that it was a pretty good show. Also, I don't think I've seen every episode. However, if you ask me, it was still a good show. I remember the theme song very well, though. Everyone was ideally cast, the costume design was great. The performances were top-grade, too. I just hope some network brings this series back one day so that I'll be able to see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I don't think I've seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, when and if this show is ever brought back on the air, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not quite as good as the original, but still excellent.
yarborough11 October 2001
This newer color version of "Dragnet" is not as hard-boiled or starkly real as the original black-and-white version, but it is still great in its own right. Though the format is identical to that of the original "Dragnet," the tone and characters are very different. With the help of the bright color photography, this "Dragnet" has a much lighter tone than the original. Joe Friday himself has lightened up a lot since the black-and-white episodes and seems to fit more comfortably with his humorous partner than he did in the 1950s. Harry Morgan's portrayal of Bill Gannon is very similar to Ben Alexander's Frank Smith (Ben Alexander was asked to be in this "Dragnet" but was unable to because of his commitment to "Felony Squad," which also featured another ex-partner, Barney Phillips). When this new version of "Dragnet" got serious though, it was every bit as gut-wrenching as the original series, especially in one episode in which a little girl is found drowned in a bathtub, the result of negligent parents under the influence of narcotics.

Outside of the lack of stark realism, probably another reason why this version of "Dragnet" is considered inferior to the original version is that Joe Friday, though older and wiser, seems to be a sort of parody of himself in the original version. He's physically stiffer than he ever was and his lectures are twice as long. In addition, the acting from the character actors is generally much less believable and more cartoonish. That said, the show still has plenty of fine moments and can still leave you as far on the edge of your seat as the original did.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"This Is The Story...."
Thor200012 May 2001
What Adam 12 did for criminals, this show did for drug pushers and users. Joe Friday (Jack Webb) and Bill Gannon (Harry Morgan) are buddies and partners in the Los Angelos County Police Force,Detectives Division. A top show in the Sixties, this series educated many watchers on the dangers of alcohol and substance abuse and provided a top notch drama at the same time. There was a bit of wry humor between Friday and Gannon that made the series and the characters so likeable, but there was also a lesson in it's warnings on drugs and how the law worked. The formula was so successful that it worked equally well in Webb's creation and Dragnet spin-off, Adam 12, and again for Emergency. A true classic in TV history, this is a series that everyone needs to watch.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Story You're About To See Is True, The Names Have Been Changes To Protect The
Terryfan9 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Dragnet is a classic pure and simple

Sure some may say otherwise but if you enjoy police shows and classic television then you will wants to check out Dragnet.

The series give you a look into the real work into being a police officer and Detective

Jack Webb reprises his role as Joe Friday with Harry Morgan playing the new partner of Joe Friday, Bill Gannon.

Most of the series episodes centers on stories that were a issue for the 1960s such as Drugs and teens who fall into the wrong crowds.

There have been episodes where the two Detectives look into kidnapping and murders.

The writing in these episodes give you what it means to be a real police Detective and with Jack doing behind the scene work with real police officers helps it.

The theme when you hear it you know it's time for Dragnet.

So all together if you want classic police TV Dragnet is the show for you
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Still looking for just the facts
bkoganbing19 June 2014
In the wake of the Los Angeles riots the LAPD decided it needed to refurbish its image. So what better way than to revive the show that gave the Los Angeles Police Department its image of the Fifties. This time it was even in color.

With a few more wrinkles on his face Jack Webb returned to the police beat as the no nonsense staccato speaking Sergeant Joe Friday LAPD's roving detective. Every week Friday and his new partner were assigned to a different squad be it robbery, bunco, homicide, juvenile, narcotics. In that way Dragnet 1967 could have several different kinds of stories showing the efficiency of the LAPD in all departments.

Webb's partner from the first Dragnet in the Fifties Ben Alexander was in another TV series at the time, Felony Squad. So Harry Morgan became his new partner Bill Gannon who occasionally said some funny things.

In both shows I always liked the scenes of alone time in the squad car with Friday and Gannon. Morgan was always talking about his wife and family and various domestic concerns he had. Webb was a good listener but in two incarnations of Dragnet we never got a clue about Joe Friday's personal life.

Fans who liked the show in the Fifties still liked the Sixties versions. But as one wise philosopher of the times put it "the times they are a changing". Patented nostrums of the Eisenhower era just did not fly well in a lot of the episodes.

Still it was the Dragnet that the fans knew and loved.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
just the facts
tomloft200019 July 2010
Warning: Spoilers
firstly,this is not so much a review as a review of a review.all the stylistic elements of the show have been quoted ad nauseum(the Friday walk,wooden acting,sometimes preachy dialogue).but this is still one of my favorite "older" shows,with some of the more entertaining story lines(especially the early years)seen in the crime story genre.no one could play Friday like Jack Webb,with his endearing one-liners and aforementioned stiff walk.Harry Morgan is his partner Bill Gannon,who provides any comedic relief this show has,and as Friday is always seen in the same suit.of course,being 40 years old this show appears corny to the younger viewer,but because of the stories is still pretty good.as an extra,try checking out the spin off Adam-12.it's just as good,with a little less of the wood.10-4.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Primetime in the Garden of Good and Evil...
Cari-820 July 1999
Dragnet is a classic, one of the last times when not only were the patrol cars black and white, the issues were, too. That may be what makes it so enjoyable to watch...no question of who the bad guys are here! Gannon and Friday--the Odd Couple on the job, and a perfect working combination. And where else could you see the guy who was Crimson Crusader one week be a stoned hippy student the next, then a worried bigamist the week after? Or the gun runner who becomes a doctor or a shop owner? And just how many times was Virginia Gregg on that program anyway? And hey, when was the last time anyone could drive from downtown L.A. to Toluca Lake in 6 minutes?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
OJ Simpson and Dragnet
karl anglin28 August 2007
One of the sadder ironies of Dragnet is that OJ Simpson made one of his first TV appearances on Dragnet playing a rookie cop! Another sad irony is that Jack Webb died from a combination of alcohol and tobacco cigarette use, drugs that are completely legal in our society. While one of the 1950's episodes dealt with the tragedy of driving under the influence, the 1960's series did not. Also, I believe that one of the sponsors of the 1950's Dragnet series was Chesterfield cigarettes. Jack Webb was a true TV production pioneer. May Dragnet live forever. A true TV CLASSIC I found out that Jack Webb graduated from Belmont High School in Los Angeles as class president. He was half Jewish and half Catholic. He once submitted drawings to Walt Disney but some how did not include a return address but later got to know Walt Disney. Every letter that Mark VII Productions received about the program concerning suggestions was taken into account.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the Best (spoilers)
michael_ghee1 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers - I really got a kick out of Dragnet 1967-70. Seeing Jack Webb act in these shows was indeed a thing to behold. He played the emotionally repressed and laconic Joe Friday. The way he played it was as if he was a parody of himself in the old 50's version. You never saw him with a woman either. I remember one episode whereas he was at a dinner party with his partner Bill Gannon (played by Harry Morgan)and his wife and Joe Friday's date got stuck in traffic and never showed up ! Therefore, you could never get a sense of what Joe's taste in women would be like.

That's what made this show so entertaining. you could see the private social lives of the main characters but most of the episodes were focused on fighting crime. I agree with one reviewer that the most harrowing episode was the one where the little girl drowned in the bathtub. still pretty strong stuff. One of my all time favorites was one when Friday and Gannon visit a cult whose leader was pro-LSD. There was no action in this episode like the typical ones which include few gun shots or a chase. It just consisted of a staccato type dialogue between the cult leader and gannon and Friday (mostly Friday) regarding the pros and cons of using illegal drugs. It was an unbelievable thing to watch ! This stuff will live on for generations. The acting is interesting, the stories always captivating. It is a classic formula that has been tried again but never exactly duplicated by any cop show since.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews