IMDb > The Ugly Dachshund (1966) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Ugly Dachshund
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Ugly Dachshund More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 18 reviews in total 

22 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Such a Funny Film

10/10
Author: El Gringo from California
19 September 2004

This movie is excellent. Funny gags throughout the film and just a great comedic story. If you are a dog lover than you will be an "Ugly Dachshund" fan. The dogs are adorable and the actors do their part to make this wonderful family comedy. Totally under-rated.

I suggest sitting down a group of young kids and asking them what they think of it, I'll bet that the movie keeps their attention from beginning to end. This is a classic Disney movie on the same level as the "Love Bug" series and all of the other great film s released by the company during those years.

I recommend "The Ugly Dachshund" to anyone who loves family movies. *****

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Best live action film by Disney!

10/10
Author: CindyH from Mobile, AL
28 April 2000

As an adult, I watch it over and over again! This is indeed one of the cutest movies I've ever seen and not to mention the best. If your child likes dogs, this is a MUST see film. Some films involving animals have some terribly sad tragedy included but this film keeps it light and fun. It still contains a happy ending and you'll giggle all the way through!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A Disney Dog Delight

Author: Michael C. Wolkow from new e-mail barontroll@cs.com
19 November 2000

I first saw The Ugly Dachshund before I owned or shall I say a longhaired dachshund owned me. After seeing the movie the second time, I realized the dachshunds did not need extra training to totally upset a household. A delight to all dog lovers and dachshund enthusiasts in particular. Although the title pooch is a great dane, it is a "doxie" movie delight.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

As corny as it is, I adore this movie.

10/10
Author: Sean Lough from New York, USA
12 March 1999

A fairy tale update of the classic story, this beautifully art-directed Disney movie in glorious Technicolor, stars Dean Jones at the height of his comedic powers and a very young Suzanne Pleshette. Mark (Jones) adopts Brutus, a lovable oaf of a Great Dane, who, try as he might, can't fit in with Fran's (Pleshette) spoiled prize Dachshunds (think Lady and the Tramp's evil Siamese cats). The film is full of sight gags and slapstick from director Norman Tokar (The Cat from Outer Space, M*A*S*H). In true Disney fashion, the underdog wins out and saves the day.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

THE UGLY DACHSHUND (Norman Tokar, 1966) **1/2

6/10
Author: MARIO GAUCI (marrod@melita.com) from Naxxar, Malta
24 January 2010

Dean Jones' second film for Walt Disney came via this minor but lively family comedy co-starring another Disney regular, the late Suzanne Pleshette (as his wife) – plus veteran comic Charlie Ruggles (appropriately cast as their vet {sic}) and soon-to-be popular Asian actor Mako (as a cowardly caterer). Although the plot sticks strictly to formula, dog lovers should be able to get a satisfactory amount of enjoyment out of this lightweight farce about a Great Dane, who being raised with a litter of dachshunds, creates all manner of chaos when he grows too large for their company and, besides, suffers from identity crisis at the most inopportune moments (namely a competitive dog show). In fact, apart from the likable pair of leads, the film's trump card is the various slapstick sequences that involve the naïve but fiercely protective Great Dane chasing the amiably anarchic dachshunds around the house (especially during an all-important garden party). Apart from the Asian caterers, a regular victim of the Great Dane's harmless ferocity is an overzealous cop who, in the film's most amusing non-canine incident, gives Jones the mother of all tickets.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Favorite!

8/10
Author: halograce from United States
17 January 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Have loved this movie, since first seeing it 40 years ago. Sweet and charming, witty and fun. The dogs are of course adorable, and the plot simple and captivating. Mark Garrison, who is referred to in the summary as Jim, I believe someone has their movies mixed up, Jim Douglas was in the Love Bug. Anyway, Mark and Fran are likable folks, the movie is also a favorite of my Grandsons, 3 and 5. Love Bug, Swiss Family Robinson, Old Yeller and Ugly Dachshund, are repeated often. The movie opens with a race to the hospital for the birth of the Dachsie puppies. Danke has three little girls puppies, and a Great Dane is pawned off on Mark, to be nursed by Danke. Seems the Dane has too many puppies, and so this begins the story. The Dane is the dog Mark has been yearning for, so he conspires to keep him in the family, even after he is weaned. The yarn scenes and the paint scenes genuine comedic antics of the best kind, and the party scenes at the end, classic. Don't miss this one, if you enjoy the Disney movie greats.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Here come the dogs!

8/10
Author: trixie-k-88 from United States
3 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Ugly Dachshund is a fun family film for dog lovers, especially Dachshund or Great Dane fanciers. It is both a charming dog movie, as well as a romantic comedy.

Mark (Dean Jones) and Fran Garrison (Suzanne Pleshette) are dog lovers, with Fran's choice breed being Dachshunds. After Fran's blue ribbon dog Danca has a litter of three female puppies, Mark begins to feel overwhelmed by the "girly" dogs. But when Mark goes to pick up Danca and her pups, he finds the vet Doc Pruitt (Charles Ruggles) trying to feed a rejected runt from his Great Dane's litter. After some persuasive suggestions, Mark takes the puppy home with his wife's dog so she can wet nurse him. Even when grown, the Great Dane Brutus doesn't seem to understand he is any different from his adoptive family. Brutus' clumsiness and the doxies' mischievous natures regularly wreak hilarious havoc on the home and lives of their owners. The dogs often cause discord and conflict, as they both blame the other's dog(s) for all the problems. But eventually the entire family, human and canine, find a way to live together.

It's a fun and silly to watch, just a lighthearted family movie. A must for anyone who has a Great Dane or Dachshund!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

This movie is why I have 2 Dachshunds

Author: Warren A Noblick from Heath Ohio
20 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was 13 when I saw this movie in the theater in 1966.I fell in love with this breed and the movie.They are clever and mischievous and make you laugh every day.The movie is very accurate about Dachshund behavior.But it does have one major flaw that only Dachshund owners would know.Dachshunds do not yap.They have the wrong bark in the sound track.They have a very deep voice. And they can be very laud.But other than that this movie is a joy to watch.Especially with my Dachshunds.Poor Brutus. I can not help but feel sorry for him.And he isn't ugly either.Disney made very good family movies in the 1950' 1960's. But none of their newest movies measure up.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Dated but still a good choice for a Disney live-action film

7/10
Author: Atreyu_II from The world of artists
3 August 2007

Although I'm more a fan of the animated Disney classics, I must admit that Disney also used to do very good live-action movies back then. This is not one of them.

"The Ugly Dachshund" is a nice comedy, full of funny moments with 4 Dachshunds and a Great Danes very well named Brutus. It's so funny how those little "sausages" cause all that mess and the clumsy Brutus destroys everything while trying to stop the "little angels" (like Fran calls them).

The destruction of Mark's studio and the party's destruction are some of the funniest destructions ever.

Officer Carmody has got to be the funniest cinema policeman ever. Not even in the "Police Academy" movies the policemen are this funny. This character is wonderfully played by Kelly Thordsen.

Mr. Toyama and Kenji are the most amusing Japanese characters ever, especially when they panic because of the "lion" (that's what they call Brutus and it's hilarious that they say "rion" instead). Both characters are greatly played by the actors Robert Kino and Mako.

I also like very much the performances by Dean Jones, Suzanne Pleshette and Charles Ruggles.

This is an enjoyable classic to watch, but it is already showing its age. It looks very dated now, especially nearly at the end, during that sequence with the dogs's show.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Where It's Lacking As Great Cinema, It Compensates With Cute Doggies

8/10
Author: johnstonjames from United States
6 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

i don't think anyone but a hardcore Disneyphile would make a argument for this as great cinema. however there is enough adorable doggie scenes to make it memorable. hardly the outstanding family classic that 'Old Yeller' is, but it's still one of the cutest 'doggie' flicks produced.

when the movie begins with footage of the newborn puppies in a box at the vet's with their eyes still unopened, any true dog fancier is going to get to get hooked in a little. the cuteness doesn't end with the sleepy newborns, it just keeps coming in major doses. Disney always did make some of the most satisfying "animal lover" films of all Hollywood products. this film is most certainly commercial product then actual cinema, but it knows what it's selling and it does it with economy and efficiency. probably not as easy as it appears on screen given the extremely lightweight subject matter.

i saw this film a couple of times while growing up and was curious to see it again after many years. i was pleasantly surprised that it offered more for the adult viewer than i had remembered. there are no children's roles in this movie, which is a good thing since it mostly aims for a "kiddie flick" audience and it's taste in comedy is purposely low brow and slapstick in order to appeal to the younger set.

not that the slapstick chaos isn't funny. as a kid i always thought this film was a real hoot. now that i'm much older i was surprised that the "canine comedics" actually seemed funnier and even a bit more real. as a pet owner myself for many years, i can only attest to the destructiveness and trying behavior of household pets. especially undisciplined and untrained ones. the evolution of Great Dane Brutus from overgrown oafish slob to champion dog show society, was very amusing and all too real. especially in the hilarious moment when he leaps onto the bed with Suzanne Pleshette in order to gain attention from the little Daschunds she is coddling.

even though the adult relationship between Dean Jones and Suzanne Pleshette is one dimensional and superficial, it is adult enough to distract older audience from all the canine cuteness. there are even some good statements about sharing and equality in married relationships that are accurate and insightful enough as to be a learning experience for more mature viewers. not to mention Jones and Pleshette are likable and charming and very "human". their "humaness" seems especially essential to a film where the doggies are the true stars.

competently handled by Disney director Norman Tokar, the movie holds true even today and is a primed example of efficiency if not ground breaking cinema.

Disney always did warmth and sentimentality better than most of the other studios which tended to shy away from such congeniality. something essential when making a film not just about animals, but about our ever lovable, and sometimes annoying, household pets which are so near and dear to so many of us.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history