IMDb > Texas Across the River (1966) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Texas Across the River
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Texas Across the River More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 17 reviews in total 

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

you have to remember the times

Author: shipes_j from vernon florida
13 October 2006

the mid sixties...back before we were so culturally/politically correct...this movie wasn't ever meant to be correct was a spoof of course and anyone who comments on it negatively without considering that needs some help.....Texas across the river is a signature film for dean....westerns that he loved so much...also a comedy which he was famous for...(many confirm that off camera he was far funnier than jerry lewis back in his earlier days)

Texas across the river is a perfect example of a spoof done in the sixties...and if you consider it as such you will find it to be excellent!....some have commented about joey bishop (jew) playing an Indian...well (hello) that is exactly why it was meant to be tongue in cheek! should have little wonder as soon as the organ spits out a 60's rhythm and melody every time the indians are seen...or the surf sounding guitar also used in the soundtrack....I love this movie for what its worth....escapism....during a time (1966) of tragedy....the Vietnam war.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A tongue in cheek spoof about everything that is a typical western

Author: bpocock-1 from Lucan, Canada
4 March 2006

You need to park your brains at the door, put your tongue in your cheek and fully engage your funny bone for this film. This spoof is just that a spoof on everything that you find in a typical western and Texan. There is cows, oil, calvary, natives (I seriously doubt if there is a genuine North American native in the cast), good and bad guys and girls (mostly erring toward the good side). Nobody and nothing is spared from the writers' wit. This film is just good fun and a good laugh. I seriously doubt if it would meet any of the more modern standards for tolerance to racial groups and consideration for their feelings but this was the 60's and things were just beginning to change. Watch and enjoy whenever you see it coming. Do expect too much and you'll enjoy it more.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Painfully funny!

Author: spratt-8 from United States
15 October 2005

The first and perhaps, only time I saw this movie was a day or two after having hernia surgery in 1975. That viewing gave new meaning to the phrases "busting a gut" or "being in stitches." I couldn't stop watching despite the pain from the laughter and would love to see it again. It was silly but hilarious nonetheless. Who says movies have to be anything but? Then again, I was/am a big fan of the "Pink Panther" movies, too. As one other review stated, maybe I won't find it as funny the next time around, but I still chuckle remembering Peter Graves and his unintelligible military commands and Joey Bishop's facial expressions. It certainly can be watched with the entire family, and you can't say that about too many movies these days.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Great Western Spoof

Author: gdlance from United Kingdom
22 October 2006

This is a great fun movie that was released during the mid sixties wave of western spoofs. It has some jokes which fall a bit flat with 40 years of distance, but all comedy has a very short shelf life. In fact, there are gags in this film that not only stand the test of time, they amaze me at how well written and ahead of there time they seem to be. I love the cavalry orders being unintelligible. I love the Indians not getting anything right. I love Joey Bishop. The writers were very hip to western clichés, and took some brilliant unexpected turns with the script. It may not be a perfect movie, but if you love a good western spoof, then this is a great movie! Uh - ruhr - hur!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:


Author: Big Movie Fan from England
23 February 2002

I'm not a big fan of most Western movies but I do enjoy comedy and as this was a comedy Western I found myself enjoying it.

As with most comedy movies, I am reluctant to give details about any of the scenes because if I were to tell you now then you wouldn't find them funny once you watch the film.Let's just say that Dean Martin (as Sam Hollis) and Joey Bishop (as Kronk) make quite a team. In fact everyone involved in the movie provides plenty of laughs. Everyone is playing a total buffoon.

If you don't like Westerns but do enjoy comedies then I strongly recommend this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Actually hilarious!

Author: fine_ass_white_boy_39307 from United States
10 January 2008

I generally hate westerns because they bore me to death within seconds. But I started watching this movie with my father, who loves westerns, and I actually never got bored watching it. It kept my interest the whole time and constantly made me laugh. I didn't give it a 10 because of some of the "editing" practices they had so long ago but other than that it's a great movie.

I couldn't believe how well the writers were back then. To be able to come up with such comedy so simple and so fluid without having to make it "stupid" funny, like most of the comedies we make now, it's very refreshing and amazing to see.

A+ movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Breezy, Hilarious; a Classic Romantic Comedy Western

Author: silverscreen888
23 July 2005

Don Andre de Baldasare was set to marry Pheobe Ann Naylor of Louisiana; after an affair of honor goes wrong, he has to flee across the river, into the wilds of Texas. Once arrived, he meets encounters Sam Hollis and his Indian sidekick, the Karonkawa Indian, Kronk, who are transporting rifles to the town of Moccasin Flats. Don Andrea rescues an Indian maiden, Lonetta, uses Spanish skills to tame longhorns, becomes Sam's rival for Phoebe's affections, heads off a band of angry Comahces and runs continually from the cavalry (who have come to Moccasin Flats to celebrate Texas' statehood but mostly charge after him in gallant groups). At the end of the film, the man Sam calls "Baldy" saves the town and also gets his girl--but which one wins him? In this cheerful and frequently hilarious screenplay, Alain Delon is very funny and understated as Don Baldasare, Dean Martin is a bit too-old as Sam Hollis perhaps but shows his excellent comedic timing in the likable role. Rosemary Forsyth is vivacious and very pretty as Phoebe Ann, Southern accent and all; Peter Graves and Andrew Prince lead the cavalry, to whom Graves continually issues orders such as "To the rur, har!" which no one understands any more than they can penetrate Kronk's Indian sayings, delivered deadpan and rather beautifully by Joey Bishop. Others in the large cast include Tina Aumont as the Indian girl, Michael Ansara as the Indian chief pursuing them, and Linden Chiles as his physically- inept son, Stuart Anderson, Roy Barcroft, George Wallace, Don Beddoe,.Kelly Thordsen, Nora Marlowe, and John Harmon. Director Michael Gordon kept the action and the laughs coming despite much of the film being filmed out-of-doors. the bright cinematography was supplied by veteran Russell Metty, the script by "Maverick" TV series alumnus Wells Root and Harold Greene, and the art direction was done by William D. DeCinces and Alexander Golitzen. Set decorations were supplied by John McCarthy Jr. and  James Redd; the vivid costume designs were created by Helen Colvig and Rosemary Odell. This is a personal favorite of mine as a writer, breezy in dialogue and attractively colorful and often amusing. I recommend it for repeated viewing, for its spaciousness and its intelligent comedy, its style and its infectious and fantasy-free good humor.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

So funny

Author: Lilibetp from east orange, nj
30 September 2003

I remember seeing this the first time when I was about 12. I nearly passed out from laughing so hard. Maybe it's not highbrow comedy, but in my opinion, it's still one of the funniest movies ever made. I especially enjoy Joey Bishop's "Indian" character. Watch it with your kids.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

God, I love this movie!

Author: Cards_fan from United States
8 November 2007

I saw this movie at the theatre as a kid and, thanks to regular television airings, multiple times through the years. I practically have the film memorized. And yet, I bust a gut laughing every time I see it to this day. There are so many memorable scenes and lines that will immediately bring a smile to anyone's face who has seen it; "Texas isn't even a state, how big can it be?", "The coward attacked him from the rear", the slapping scenes, the arrow in the rear, Joey Bishop as an Indian, Rosemary Forsyth in a wet blanket, "No Comanche is a friend of mine", that '60s guitar music whenever the Comanches are around, "Only read Kronk", and the oft quoted "ARUHROAR HAR!". Simply put, this film is funny. It's a horrible injustice that this film has not yet received a studio DVD release. I long to see this film again in a wide screen presentation without the awful pan and scan.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

First Western Parody I can remember.

Author: ( from League City Texas
18 September 2012

When this film was made back in 1966,I don't think there was a "genre"of film parodies,I guess they just called them "comedies".Well welcome to the earliest western comedy I can remember.Even before"Blazzing Saddles"which I consider the gold standard of western comedy.Except for some very poor editing and super imposing,its a well made film.That might be my only complaint.There are many funny Texas jokes and some funny if a little politically incorrect,lines as well. But the real fun is the casting of Dean Martin and Alan Delon,both of whom played serious roles in major westerns.Martin earlier in "Rio Bravo" and Delon later in "Red Sun".You also have to LOVE Peter Graves as Capt. Stimpson in a hint to the comedy yet to come from this fine actor.Even Joey Bishop as a Indian named Kronk is low key funny.Finally Michael Ansara as Iron Jacket,a Comanche chief is funny.The rest of the cast works well also.So if your looking for a good funny western parody and have already seen "Saddles"check it out.It's worth a few laughs. Especially jokes about that"poison black water"

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history