IMDb > Scorpio Rising (1964) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Scorpio Rising
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Scorpio Rising More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

27 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

He's a rebel

Author: matthew wilder (picqueur@aol.com) from los angeles
14 April 1999

Ever sit there looking at a Michael Bay movie, or a Martin Scorsese movie, or a Portishead video, or a CK1 commercial, and think, "So where did this come from, anyway?" The answer is Kenneth Anger's remarkable 1964 short film, the barbaric birth yawp of modern (and postmodern) cinema as we know it. Ostensibly a fetishistic self-generated porn reel, made, as Genet wrote his fiction, for the maker's masturbatory pleasure, SCORPIO RISING pulls together unlicensed pop songs with obsessive images of hunky guys, leather, chrome, comic strips, and death, to create a code for the programming of music, picture, and unspoken content that would go on to inform everything you see from Nicolas Roeg to VH-1. God knows where poor Anger is rubbing two nickels together, but tonight, say a prayer of thanks for the guy who made all your culture, the good, the bad and the ugly, possible.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

One of the best experimental films ever shot

9/10
Author: CoreyBoy86 from United States
28 March 2006

Kenneth Anger's "Scorpio Rising", set to the tune of thirteen 1960's pop songs, ranks as one of the best films ever shot in the experimental genres, which to some people might translate as the best pile of dog poop ever made, but in terms of visual imagery, context, and use of music, it ranks up there as one of the most important films of the 60's. Kenneth Anger's trademarks (outsider as protagonist, homosexual iconography, pop culture looked at in a different light) are at their most poignant here with most memorable scenes set to 'Blue Velvet", "I Will Follow Him", and "Wipe Out". Also classic is the use of clips from Cecil B. DeMille's "King of Kings" of Jesus and his disciples walking superimposed between shots of gay bikers. A classic piece of Americana.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Gains a certain rhythm

Author: Itchload from Mass
17 December 2002

Homoerotic bikers, nazism, suicide, 50's/60's pop songs, Jesus, pulp cartoons, mustard, and quite a bit of leather, i.e. everything I look for in a movie. This had me questioning "This Kenneth Anger guy achieved notoriety?" at the first 3 minutes, but by the end, the whole thing gained a certain rhythm and I began to understand what it was trying to do. This is for fans of experimental underground/midnight cinema, anyone else I would recommend staying far away.

As for the guy below who claims this inspired Martin Scorsese, Calvin Klein commercials and Michael Bay...Okay, Martin Scorsese, yes, to an extent. Calvin Klein commercials...maybe. Michael Bay? What? If the comment was sarcasm, than I accept you as an evil genius, otherwise you might belong in an asylum. Although I guess you could argue his last two movies are far more depraved than Scorpio Rising.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Butch bikers or closet queers?

Author: MWadman (mwadman@hotmail.com) from Vancouver, BC
30 March 2001



What is significant about this text is that Anger got many of the shots from the initiation rites of American biker gangs. As such, the butch ruggedness of these ostensibly "straight" men is conflated with the none-too-subtle homoeroticism of their rites--which leads the viewer to question the rigid dichotomies of "straight" and "gay" that dominate North American social discourse.

Also of significance is the extent to which, by appropriating "butch markers" such as leather and motorcycles, the homoeroticism undermines the stereotypicality of the "nelly" homosexual male.

Not a terribly accessible text, but it becomes pregnant with significance for the viewer who does a little background reading first.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

challenging film

Author: lost1-1
17 June 2003

I saw this movie in a community college film study class filled with dopey surfers, jocks, and hicks. Our professor was from a more cultured area and decided we needed to experience experimental, underground film-work that helped shape the way we view films today. The lights went out. The projector went on. We were brutally raped by images that we'd never seen before, only heard about. Many of the students were offended by it and didn't return to the class. The few of us who stuck around afterward learned about Kenneth Anger, what he was trying to say and the way he used film as a tool of expression rather than a story telling medium. This movie I will never forget as it reached out and smacked the viewer in the face and still does even by today's standards.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

A film of Perversion, Sub Culture, and Brilliance

Author: mr.smith-2
12 October 1999

When Jonas Mekas, Alfred Leslie, etc sat down to compose the mainfesto of "The New American Cinema" in 1961, the amount of films made under this artistic statement doubled. Out of this period, we see the creation of some of the greatest underground films the world has seen. Taylor Meed's The Flower Thief, Bruce Conner's A Movie and Report, and most importantly Kenneth Anger's Scorpio Rising.

Scorpio Rising's devices are fundementally simple-didactic montage, ironic sountracks, and archival footage. What seperates SR from the realm of mediocre is its deep underooted message of sexual perversion, S&M, and the cruelty of sexuality to a point of Nazist ideology. Scenes such as young man with a smile on his face being "raped" by leather clad bikers is a point of sadio-estasy. To say that SR is not a 22 min. perversion is to ignore its fundemental principles and the principles of its filmmaker Kenneth Anger. Anger has emerged himselfin both the terror of the haunte monde of Hollywood in the 30's (hence the birth of his hugely read Hollywood Babylon- a study as perverse as SR) and the drug and sexually illusioned world of the 50's/60's lower bohemia.

Scorpio Rising is a film of a generation. As Allen Ginsberg put it: "a generation starved on madness". It's signifigance ranks up there with Keroauc, Ginsberg, and Burroughs. Anger's film is a portrait of a world so far from our 90's train of thought- yet so strikingly fimiliar.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

King of Kings Reference

10/10
Author: mondocane69 from United States
28 February 2008

During the early 80's I attended many screenings where Anger was present to introduce "Scorpio Rising." The clips of Jesus are not from "King of Kings" as one viewer wrote,but according to Anger, the clips are from a religious instruction film that he received by mistake one day while he was editing the film. He took it as sign to use some clips in the film. This is a great work of art and one of the best and most influential underground films ever created. It's influence on the modern music video and other aspects of popular culture cannot be dismissed. I urge everyone to get the 2 volume DVD set that's out now. Check out Anger's other films among them "Puce Moment," "Rabbit's Moon," and "Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome."

"It's my happening and it freaks me out!"

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

More of a straight forward documentary than other Anger films.

5/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
5 December 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is from the second DVD of a set called "The Films of Kenneth Anger"--a collection of avant garde films by this odd film maker. I found the first disk to be more satisfying--the second has a lot about Aleister Crowley and Satanism that I found a bit dreary.

The synopsis listed on IMDb is incorrect. I watched this film and listened to Kenneth Anger's commentary and the bikers are NOT meant to be gay Nazis. While they might appear to be homosexuals to some, Anger explains that you don't see their girlfriends who are off camera because the bikers didn't want them in the film. And, incidentally, the Nazi imagery and paraphernalia that appears later in the film was the property of the film maker---not the bikers. And, incidentally, Anger did not say he was making a film about gays or Nazis--the swastikas were there more for a sense of alienation and contempt for social norms.

The film follows a biker nicknamed 'Scorpio' as he does some of his normal routine (such as getting dressed and hanging out with his cats--the feline type). In addition, the biker and his friends put on a show for Anger--dancing about and acting up in a soon to be demolished church. Afterwords, you see scenes from a motorcycle race in which a guy is killed right in front of the camera (he breaks his neck). Anger chose to keep the footage as well as a closeup of the dead man's face as a shocking ending to the film.

While the film has a lot of artsy touches, this is a mostly documentary style film set to 60s biker music and with no dialog. It's not high art or something that the average person would enjoy, but it's moderately enjoyable and well filmed.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Simply put, one of the most important pieces of cinema ever made

10/10
Author: TheMarquisDeSuave from Worcester, MA
17 April 2006

As another reviewer stated, this is as revolutionary a film as "Breathless". While there was certainly innovation in the 60s mainstream cinema, a lot of groundbreaking went ignored. Some of the most important and innovative films of the time were made in the underground. Films such as "The World's Greatest Sinner", "Scorpio Rising", and "Flaming Creatures" presented images that Hollywood wouldn't dare show for many years, used filming techniques that were inaccessible yet innovative and made the most of the film medium, and touched upon themes that would still cause controversy even today. Warhol's films of the same period were also innovative, yet are incredibly boring and worthless as films themselves. "Scorpio Rising" employs many original film-making practices and is captivating for the film's brief duration. The latter can not be said for Warhol's films. If the film was full-length, it would become dull and repetitive. However, Anger is a filmmaker of intelligence, and manages to say all he wants to in little over a half-hour.

One of the most creative and new ideas the film had was to use pop music (unauthorized of course) for ironic moments. Through out the film, the images are visceral and assaulting on the senses, with brill-building pop tunes in the background. For instance, "Blue Velvet" is used to show a homo-erotic shot of a biker wearing blue velvet. Another interesting aspect of the film is the constant homo-eroticism. Anger questions the camaraderie of the bikers. They are shown engaging in activities that question their sexuality. The party scene is the biggest example of all this.

The budget of this film is non-existent, and with a few examples of background sound, there is no dialog. All Anger needs to convey his point is the images. The film stock is grainy, but it all adds to the underground atmosphere of the film. Also, he takes footage from "The Wild One" and a cheap religious film. The incorporation of the Jesus walking with his disciples footage with the bikers going to the party had me on the floor. Quite frankly, it was one of the most amazing sequences I had ever seen in a film. Also, the use of Nazi imagery was quite shocking yet like all other elements of the film it managed to blend in. The film accumulates with what seems to be a race and a subsequent suicide of a biker, all set to "Wipe Out".

Film is an art form, and you don't need resources to create an amazing film. This short proves that point. Despite all the experimentation, the film is accessible, and is a recommended started point to anyone interested in 60s underground cinema. It should be as much a mainstay for college film courses as for midnight movie showings. The cult following this short has gained proves that fact. It is one of the greatest cult classics and experimental films of all time. For sheer vision, it's hard to beat this. Due to the unauthorized use of popular music, it is commercially unavailable. However, bootlegs do lurk around, and see it if you are ever presented with the opportunity. It is the greatest short film I've seen, and is highly recommended. I can't say enough good things about the film, so I'll just leave you with this - see it. (10/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

"It's like a HEATWAVE!"

9/10
Author: MisterWhiplash from United States
10 May 2016

I know I'm not the first person to point this out, but I'm fairly certain without this uncanny, sort of experimental short film (I say 'sort of' since it's experimental mostly in it having a lack of a clear story and definable characters, but more on that just a moment), we wouldn't have Martin Scorsese. It may seem obvious to some, but it's confirmed when reading the book of interviews he did with Richard Schickel several years ago, when he recalled seeing the film when it was first released - in an underground format, as it was that kind of picture, on someone's rooftop or in a basement or other - and that it really made an impact that he couldn't articulate.

Seeing this today it's somewhat easy to see why: the rock and roll music, the emphasis on montage that cuts in flow and sync with the image, and how the image of a man is based on how he looks (we see in Mean Streets and Taxi Driver how a man looks will define him, both in clothes and in style, i.e. Travis Bickle or, on the comedic side, the awkardness of Pupkin). There may have been some influence on Lynch too, if only through the 'Blue Velvet' song, though somehow, someway, I think Anger comes away with using the song in a more iconic way: a soothing tale of a woman putting on and being beautiful in a dress juxtaposed with a man putting on his jeans and jacket and being in front of the camera like 'yeah, what?' It's probably in a mocking tone that Kenneth Anger shows his figures in biker garb, and yet it's hard to tell exactly what the intention is. This is not a bad thing; the way it's presented different people will take away different aspects. If it is satirizing the culture of rebellion it's that it's like, 'well, this guy thinks he's tough and manly and yet wait until that erect genitalia comes out' (and if you look close enough it's not hard to miss, no pun intended).

The majority of this film is really about its style, if that makes sense. The first 16/17 minutes is simply seeing set up. We don't know what for since there are no characters and there's no dialog: the soundtrack is made up of songs (really great ones by Elvis and Ray Charles and Martha and the Vandellas and the Crystals and so on) and sometimes the sound of motorcycles revving up. So it's all about ritual - how to put together the bicycle, how a little kid (who is only there briefly) plays with his toys, and how the men put on their jackets and rings and stand in front of the camera like any moment they might just start masturbating to their own image. As if by some happenstance as well (according to Anger this was a coincidence by some miracle) The Wild One is on TV, which lends this to being akin to Godard's Breathless as far as figures trying to attain their ideal images.

Only this isn't Brando; these bikers are, I think gay Nazis(?) It's hard to tell exactly, but then the substance in this case *is* the style. I'm still pondering over what the religious symbolism means as well, as Anger cuts in shots from some other black and white film showing Jesus (I think it's him, he had the beard and all). Is this meant to be mocking as well, as if to say 'well, you think YOU got a crew?' This was lost on me as I was watching it, but it's fine to think about it later on too.

The whole experience of Scorpio Rising is just one of total fascination. There's nothing as far as there being a concrete story - maybe there is one and I just missed it - but as far as simply showing us things, it's an excellent example of how to marry image and music. Without the songs this wouldn't really be all that much, just a lot of well-shot but randomly and at times very wildly cut together images of male perversity and hedonism (and sometimes just showing us shots of bikers riding around is simple). But you get the sense that in a weird way this is almost like a documentary of how men who go into the world of dangerous rebellion see themselves, and to go one further how if you do happen to be a gay nazi motorcycle man who gets in leather and rides around and does things with other men... well, do these guys even exist? Probably, or probably not.

For Kenneth Anger there's some satire to mine in the ritual of getting ready, the image of over-hyper-WTF-masculinity, and how far the world of Marlon Brando and his "What are you rebelling against" "Whaddaya got?" can go. It's sophisticated and daring and campy and deranged, and it feels still fresh today in its craft that it almost doesn't feel like it's from 1964, rather that it's from the 1990's and it's looking back at that period - it's post-modern to the core.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history