Daniel Boone (TV Series 1964–1970) Poster


User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
A great show for all...
Dunsmore2 December 1999
"Daniel Boone" is a show that has flown out of almost every pigeonhole into which the TV critics have tried to stuff it.

It's not really a Western (most action takes place East of the Mississippi), but it has all the elements of a classic Western.

Action/Adventure? Sure, lots of it, but with plenty of food for thought provided by the family and social issues that are woven into most plots.

Drama? Yep, but with elements of humor that bring some episodes into the range of Comedy.

History? ahem Well, let's just say that this Dan'l must have lived in an alternate world (see, Science Fiction, too!) where time travel allows for episodes where President George Washington appears one week, while the next week the American War for Independence is still being fought.

Regardless of how one might label this series, "Daniel Boone" is a show that has something for everyone!
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Part history lesson,Part Western
raysond9 September 2002
"Daniel Boone" was a show for everyone...First of all this was part Drama,and part Western(since most of the action takes place East of the Mississippi).......Second,where can you have the President of the United States,George Washington appear one week,then the next week Daniel is fighting against the British in the War for Independence as well as dealing with Pirates and hostile Indians from other tribes,and the following week goes swordsman(like Zorro)against ruthless Spanish tyrannts and generals(which in one episode was Ricardo Montalban and afterwards you'll have a galaxy of villains who was Spanish tyrants that were played by actors Jose Ferrer and of all people Cesar Romero,aka The Joker on Batman)while maintaining peace and restoration of his beloved Kentucky homestead from individuals who were by all means out to destroy his valley?


All aide by his Indian sidekick,Mingo played by Ed Ames and his wife Rebecca(Patricia Blair),and son Isreal(played by Darby Hinton)and teenaged daughter Jemina(was played by Veronica Cartwright from Seasons 1 thru 3),and Dan's sidekick Yadkin(Albert Salmi in Season 1)Daniel Boone maintained the frontier with a mighty hand!

This was part history lesson as well but this show had plenty of non-stop action and adventure each week since it was a eyepopping show with lots of breathtaking scenery of the Mississippi valley where the show was shot but the rest of it was filmed on the backlot at the studios of 20th Century Fox,where the show was produced under Fess Parker's production company,Fespar Enterprises and under Hollywood producer Aaron Rosenberg(of "Winchester 73" fame). The series originally ran on NBC-TV from September 24,1964 until May 7,1970. Out of the 165 episodes that were produced,33 episodes from Season 1 of the series were in black and white from September 24,1964 until April 29,1965. Seasons 2 thru 6 produced 133 episodes in color that aired from September 16,1965 until May 7,1970. After its cancellation in the spring of 1970,NBC repeated all episodes of season 6 from May 7,1970 until September 10,1970.

However,the episodes I saw which are on videocassette are from the pilot episode(which was filmed in black and white and its first season consisted of 33 black and white episodes where the show originally ran on NBC-TV but the show made the transition to color during its 1965-70 run consisting of 133 episodes in Seasons 2 thru 6)where we are introduced to Daniel Boone,the pioneer frontiersman and his adventures along the Kentucky wilderness where each day was a fight for survival. One Great Show!!! Catch It!!!
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Classic television series detailing adventures and family life of well-known scout
ma-cortes26 October 2007
This is a generally well acted version of the famous frontier explorer . Fess Parker (he starred similar character in ¨Davy Crockett¨ ; in fact, he portrayed Boone wearing a Coon Skin Cap , a carryover from his portrayal as Crockett) is well cast in the title role , he's an idealized Daniel Boone who takes on outlaws , mean settlers and tangles skirmishes with Indians . As frontier hero Daniel Boone conducts surveys and expeditions around Boonesborough , running into both friendly and hostile Indians , just before and during the Revolutionary War . There appears Boone along with family , his wife (Patricia Blair) , children : Israel (Darby Hinton) and Yemima (Veronica Cartwright : future passenger in Alien) ; furthermore , his friends : the Indian Mingo (Ames) and Yadkin (Albert Salmi) . This is an enjoyable series produced by 20th Century Fox and famed producer Aaron Rosemberg , including gorgeous outdoors and stunning musical score by Lionel Newman . Entertaining action adventure detailing chapters in the stirring life of legendary pioneer , notorious for his leading some settlers from North Carolina into Kentucky . Throughly agreeable and full of kind of boyhood images and finely performed by all involved . There is also a compilation of various episodes that appeared originally on TV and were released theatrically . Other cinematic renditions about this historical character are the followings : ¨Daniel Boone (1936)¨ with George O'Brien and ¨Trail Blazer¨ with Bruce Bennett .

The episodes are adapted on fictitious deeds but someone based on true events , these are the true facts : Daniel Boone (1734-1820) , who wore a beaver hat with flat brim , was a long hunter , Indian fighter and trail-blazing pioneer . Daniel was born in Pennsylvania . Moving to North Carolina he settled in the Yadkin Valley , supporting his family by hunting , often making long trips for profitable animal skins. Boone was impressed by the Indians hunting grounds of Kentucky and determined to make his home in this unsettled, fertile land rich with game . In 1773 he left Yadkin with his own and several families and headed west. The journey was thwarted by hostile Indians who killed six of the party including Boone's elder son . Boone, however, vowed to complete the emigration and with a band of hardy woodsmen , he set forth and blazed a trail, through the Cumberland Gap of the Appalachian Mountains to the Kentucky River, where they built a fort named Boonesborough . The Wilderness Road became the main pioneer over which poured the first waves of migration to the West. In 1778 Boone was captured by Shawnee Indians but he escaped to warn Boonesborough of an impeding Shawnee attack . Later he moved on to Missouri, then part of the Spanish territory of Louisiana, but the purchase of 1803 by US deprived him of this land . He died aged eighty-six in his son's farmhouse in Missouri.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loved this one.
szanity3 October 2006
I loved this show as a kid and I remember it being on the air all of my childhood. It is full of historical inaccuracies but the fictional relationship between Daniel and Mingo, his half-English, half-Indian friend, makes up for it. Mingo was a unique character. I am watching the DVD's now of the first and second seasons and it's like going home again. The color episodes feature some really nice footage of authentic mountains and streams as you find them in Kentucky. This is a good series to share with young kids. They are not likely to see anything like it on TV again. I'm glad to see that many people agree and have managed to get Daniel Boone out on DVD. Let's hope the remaining seasons are to follow.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Enjoyable, Kid-Friendly & Refreshingly Non-PC!
wmarkley29 August 2006
The "Daniel Boone" series is uneven in its qualities, but overall its a good program. Fess Parker presents a stoic, humble and admirable Daniel Boone, who fights for fair play. Blood and gore is kept to a minimum, but there is still plenty of adventure and suspense. The acting by lesser characters is sometimes poor, especially in some of the middle and later episodes, but Parker, Ed Ames, Patricia Blair and Dallas McKennon keep things good. And the show is meant to be fun. While it often presents a moral, it doesn't have the dreary, preachy quality that so many shows from the '70s onwards have.

There are historical inaccuracies, such as Eastern Woodland Indians living in teepees rather than wigwams, Whites not always wearing the costumes of the time, a mixed-up chronology, and Daniel having the ability to quickly dash off from Kentucky to the eastern colonies almost at will. And some episodes with historical figures such as Lafayette, Aaron Burr, Beaumarchais and Patrick Henry are fictionalized. On the other hand, the show preserves some of the spirit of the frontier and the period, which is not often seen these days. Also, the real Daniel Boone was a humane, honorable man who was highly respected by many Indians and Whites of his day, as he is portrayed in the series.

Its very striking how different "Daniel Boone" is compared with current-day movies and TV shows. In "Daniel Boone," Daniel and his half-breed friend Mingo are definitely heroes. Mingo, who was taken to England as a boy and educated at Oxford, has a deep love for classical European literature, music and philosophy. The goodness of the American Revolutionary cause is assumed. While some of the enemy British soldiers and Indians are treacherous, several of them are also shown as being decent and honorable. Daniel and many of his friends believe in and fight for freedom, private property, law and civilization. Some of the white frontiersmen are bad, but some are good, and many are just trying to find a better life in Kentucky for their families.

If "Daniel Boone" was produced by the politically-correct and supposedly "open-minded, enlightened" Hollywood people of today, Daniel would be a psychologically-conflicted man, continually fighting his rapacious urges that stem from his white culture. Mingo would decide to go completely native and would be continually ashamed of his British education. Daniel's Indian enemies would be shown as wholly noble and innocent, and they would never commit any atrocities unless in retaliation for worse ones done by the Whites. The American Revolutionaries would get their only legitimate ideas from the Indians. And the worst villains of all would be the English, since in today's Hollywood the pre-Socialist English are considered the world's worst villains ever. Anyone who has closely studied history knows that these politically-correct stereotypes are far from the truth, but its shocking how prevalent they are today.

Therefore, with its flaws, "Daniel Boone" still presents entertaining stories, admirable characters, and some of the fighting spirit and concern for fair play of the past, and that's enough for it to earn good marks with me.
35 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Where have shows like this gone?
MovieBuffMarine21 March 2010
I just recently started watching the re-runs on the Retro Television Network. While I know it's mostly fiction, this is family entertainment at its finest. Again, while fiction, this show gets you interested in an American icon. I found myself looking up Daniel Boone on the net. My daughter even got interested and did a little report on Boone (not from material in the show, but she went to her school library and started reading about him)!

A shame I only knew of this show's existence recently, and as I got into the show, I was saddened to hear of Fess Parker's passing just three days ago.

Shows like this are gone as with Mr. Parker. But re-runs and DVD and Blue-ray have made it possible for future generations to appreciate this fine show for family entertainment.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Covered Quite A Range of American History
bkoganbing28 August 2006
If the real Daniel Boone ever saw this show from some heavenly perch, he would have been amazed to see just how much was attributed to him. Boone in fact did live a very long life (1734-1820) for his era. But he not only was on the scene for just about every event in American history from the French and Indian War to the Jefferson presidency, but he, his family, and friends, never aged.

I remember back in the day that had Boone involved in the French and Indian War right up to the Aaron Burr conspiracy of 1805. That's about fifty years difference. Boone apparently knew and met just about every important person in that time period. I thought he had enough to do just settling the state of Kentucky and keeping himself and his family alive in dangerous times and places.

But Boone was played with charm and modesty by Fess Parker who after essaying the role of Davy Crockett for Disney seemed like the only choice for this part. The real Daniel Boone by all accounts was a modest and retiring man who was startled by all the fuss made about him. He also lost two sons in fights with the Indians, tragedy dogged him in his long life.

Parker had a good cast of regulars to help him, most notably Ed Ames, lead singer of the Ames brothers who went out on a solo career of his own while the show was running. He made a never to be forgotten appearance on the Tonight Show demonstrating the art of tomahawk throwing and scalping somewhat below decks.

It was a pleasant enough show, but kids if you see the reruns on TV Guide Channel don't cheat on your history homework by watching this.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The whole series is excellent
happyjeanene7 June 2007
I am very pleased with the with the whole series of Daniel Boone. The first and second seasons were package very nice with only 2 disc in a case and a lot of information about the episodes on it. However, when I received the third season, all the disc were in the same case, with very little information. I was disappointed in the packaging, but still pleased with the show itself.It seemed like they cheap ed out on us and are not providing the same quality as was in the beginning. I used to sit with my daddy and watch Daniel Boone way back when it first aired. It is the only show that I know of with the setting of the frontier in the early Revolutionary days. We often forget the sacrifice those people made for us. If there is any other show like it, please tell me. I just preordered the fourth season, and I hope the packaging is better. A great show to watch with your family!!!!!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Historical accuracy? No but who cares.
yenlo30 December 2003
An interesting show that as another reviewer wrote was indeed part history and part western. Historical accuracy? No but who cares it was close enough. On top of all else had it not been for this show then one of the most memorable funny events in television history would not have been possible. The famous Ed Ames (who played Mingo) Tomahawk demonstration toss on the Tonight Show in 1965.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great adventure and excitement on the frontier!
kenobi717 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
One of the most memorable television series ever has not lost any of its charm over the years. That series is "DANIEL BOONE". It ran from September 24, 1964 until it was cancelled on September 10, 1970 for a total of six seasons and 165 episodes. Fess Parker starred as Daniel Boone, (which could be considered a recreation of his role as Davy Crockett) explorer, adventurer, and all-around family man. The beautiful Patricia Blair was Daniel's wife Rebecca, Ed Ames was the civilized, Oxford educated Cherokee named Mingo, Albert Salmi was Yadkin (first season only), Daniel's loyal sidekick, Veronica Cartwright was Daniel's young daughter Jemima, Darby Hinton was Israel Boone, and Dal McKennon was the hilarious Cincinnatus. The show was set in and around the small settlement of Boonesborough, Kentucky, and was basically about Boone's always exciting adventures. "DANIEL BOONE" always sported high production values in its casting, action pieces, stunts, special effects, and sets. But I guess that's not too surprising, since the producer was Aaron Rosenberg, who was also the producer for such great movies as "WINCHESTER '73". Both elements of the show - its action pieces and stunts, and its more family friendly values, are complimentary to each other. Without the action and stunts (particular examples would be in "CAIN'S BIRTHDAY" and "MY BROTHER'S KEEPER", two of the best episodes), the show would be boring and lifeless, but without the human element (such as one of the criminals wanting to be a teacher in "THE DEVIL'S FOUR"), the show would have no meaning to the families that have loved the show for the past forty-odd years. The show featured many guest stars in its first season alone, such as Brock Peters, Pat Hingle, Michael Rennie, Leslie Nielsen, Kelly Thordsen, Peter Whitney, and Walter Pidgeon. So join Daniel Boone as he battles hostile Indians, evil British, dishonest settlers and many other disreputable inhabitants of the land in and around Boonesborough. An absolutely great television show which is definitely one of the best.

7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Uncle Walt Wouldn't Let Them Do 'Davy'
John T. Ryan24 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
WE'VE HEARD THAT the procurers wanted to do a DAVY CROCKETT Series. Plans called for using former Walt Disney contract player and star of DISNEYLAND TV's DAVY CROCKETT Saga. There were, we believe, 5 hour long episodes telecast in 1955-56.

LEGAL PROCEDURES AND "the Suits" intervened on behalf of Disney and the law prevailed against the proposed new CROCKETT Series. So, would the production company's misfortunes would now number an unwanted Surplus of Buckskin Coats & Pants, Coonskin Caps and Flintlock Rifles?

ALAS, THEY WERE saved by a simple but effective change of venue and moving back a few decades in American History. Instead of Tennessee in the years circa 1820-36, we were now in Kentucky during the 1770's and the American Revolutionary War!

TO THEIR CREDIT, other than the Frontier setting and the plethora of deer hide and furry headpieces, the series is far different from the DAVY CROCKETT Saga on the DISNEYLAND Show.

THE EPISODES WHICH we have seen are more family oriented, widely constituted in subject matter and still action-full.

THIS SERIES GIVES us a more diverse cast of characters in the credits. In addition to Fess Parker (Daniel) and Patricia Blair (Rebecca Boone, wife) we have Darby Hinton (Israel Boone, son), there is great support from several top performers. In recurring roles we have Dal McKinnon (Cincinatius), Abel Fernandez (Little Turtle), Veronica Cartwright (Jemmima Boone), Roosevelt Grier (Gabe Cooper, Black Free Man) and Albert Salmi (Yadkin).

AMONG OTHERS WHO had multiple appearances as the same character were: country singer, Jimmy Dean and a young Curt Russell.

BUT FOR OUR money the most unique and scene stealing character was that of Ed Ames. In a sort of reversal of the Civilized Man's returning 'back to nature', as suggested by Rudyard Kipling's Mowgli (JUNGLE BOOK) or Edgar Rice Burroughs' TARZAN, Ed Ames' Mingo is a Native American Indian, who has been given a college education in England, before returning to the North American wilderness.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Davy Crockett, Part II
Gatorman926 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
DANIEL BOONE was star Fess Parker's production company's project to recapture the success and popularity of the DAVY CROCKETT episodes he did for the Disney anthology series of the 1950's. However, the Davy Crockett franchise was owned by Disney, and Disney was unwilling to sell their rights, so they had to come up with something else along the same lines, and thus DANIEL BOONE was born. Basically they recast the earlier character and much of the light-hearted, folk-tale-inspired stories and feel of the earlier show, and even appropriated the coon-skin cap he had made so popular in DAVY CROCKETT (I suppose Disney didn't have a monopoly on that mode of headgear). Then they updated the story concepts and themes to mid-1960's. Once you realize this (and assuming you've seen DAVY CROCKETT, OLD YELLER, or any of the standard Disney weekly television fare of the era) you'll understand where this series was coming from. In terms of story themes, it was mid-60's morality play TV, where good always ultimately triumphed over evil, the ending was generally a happy one, and traditional American idealistic values as well as some newer ones, like opposing racism, were upheld. Thus, it was no different than anything else of that era -- BONANZA, THE RIFLEMAN, THE BIG VALLEY, THE HIGH CHAPARRAL, you name it, and it was just as popular, with a rendition of the theme song expanded and sung by Fess Parker himself being played on Top 40 radio.

What was uniquely fun about this show, though, was the 1950's Disneyesque TV humor, some of which revolved not the least around Fess Parker's sidekicks, in particular, the inimitable Mingo, played by baritone singer Ed Ames. Styled as a Cherokee (and therefore, "friendly") Indian, Mingo was actually half-English and educated at no less an institution than Oxford, after which he returned to resume his Cherokee lifestyle while communicating with whites in the King's English. This became a running joke in the show, for when the pair met up with any of the vast population of guest stars portraying various strangers from week to week, Daniel or the other white frontiersman would say something like, "downright happy t' know ya", while Mingo, looking from head to toe like any Indian from James Fenimore Cooper, would in crisp, perfect English and a deep sonorous voice, intone something like, "the pleasure and honor are all mine, sir," often to the stunned amazement of the stranger. Moreover, he was not only an expert Cherokee tracker with a store of knowledge of other tribes, but a true classically-educated intellectual aware even of much of the latest scientific knowledge. Don't be surprised to see Mingo respond to some down-home philosophical question with a Latin metaphor, in Latin. He's practically the original Mister Spock (a whole year before Star Trek debuted).

Fess Parker himself was perfect in this, doing a classic portrayal of an easygoing, exceptionally cool-headed, and slow-to-anger backwoodsman who also has no problem decking somebody with a crashing right or mowing them down with "Ticklicker", his Kentucky long rifle, once events escalated to that level. Thus, he is most often able to defuse a situation and prevail by disarming his opponent in a competition of wits, avoiding bloodshed with down-home wisdom, wilyness, and manly eyeball-to-eyeball negotiating, true to the DAVY CROCKETT tradition. (For the uninitiated, Crockett was also played by John Wayne in THE ALAMO where Crockett's death at that battle in real life is portrayed.) Here Parker is the living embodiment of Theodore Roosevelt's admonition, "speak softly and carry a big stick, and you will go far." In this sense, he might remind the 60's TV aficionado of Andy Griffith in his show of the same name (even if the latter character and the show were typically better written. In this regard, the reviewer who attacks Parker's masculinity so prominently in this string is difficult to comprehend in her remarks.

Probably the worst thing about this show were some fairly contrived, not entirely plausible plot devices and even whole story lines at times, as well as a pace that was sometimes a little slow even by the standards of the day. Also trying to the modern viewer are the 1960's production values, which while perfectly standard then still didn't convey the outdoor sequences that made up most of the scenes in this show as well as one would prefer today, being that they were mostly shot indoors on a sound stage.

That said, I have a season of this on DVD and it really takes me back to my childhood to watch it. In fact, I still remember the Saturday night I was in church (the show was still current right about the time the Catholic Church decided you could go to mass on Saturday night instead of Sunday morning, your option) where the priest caught somebody looking at his watch and announced, "don't worry, everybody, I want to get home in time to watch DANIEL BOONE, too". Today I enjoy it very much as a classic example of mid-60's American action-drama TV.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Frontier as Seen By "The Great Society"
aimless-4629 February 2008
The 165 one-hour episodes (45 in B&W, 120 in color) of the frontier western "Daniel Boone" originally aired on NBC from 1964-1970. This was an extremely popular baby boomer show that may seem a little odd today due to an uncharacteristic emphasis on racial/ethnic diversity (insert Ed Ames as Mingo and NFL lineman Rosey Grier as Gabe Cooper). But the times were a-changing as the country tried to turn itself into LBJ's "Great Society" and network executives smelled an opportunity to cash in on the baby boomer's budding social awareness.

The series moved between a domestic focus on Boone's family (Patricia Blair as wife Rebecca, Veronica Cartwright as daughter Jemima, and Darby Hinton as his son Israel) to "one-with-the-wilderness"/"the British are evil" themes. The series focused on Boone after he had moved to Kentucky.

Daniel was played by Fess Parker who already had an established coonskin cap franchise from his mid-1950's Disney TV portrayal of Davy Crockett. Boone is played as an even tempered peaceful man who likes to chum around in the woods with Oxford educated Indians and runaway black slaves (see above), your basic 1770's flower child. Other than his confrontations with "the man" (represented by those nasty Redcoats) there is very little messy violence and lots of "Little House on the Prairie" moments.

Cartwright, the most talented of the ensemble, is frustratingly underutilized. Particularly given that the most celebrated event in the real Daniel Boone's life was the rescue of his daughter and her two friends from Indian kidnappers.

Cartwright bailed out after season two, Ames after season four, and Blair after season five. Budding sausage king Jimmy Dean was added as Josh Clements, a character in the tradition Chester and Festus from "Gunsmoke".

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A great show to bring your entire family together :)
gilligan196521 May 2015
This is a great TV show for all ages. The kind of show that 'should,' and, most likely will, among other things, teach children to respect their parents, and...elders, alike; and, how a functional family works when they 'work together.'

I remember watching "Daniel Boone" when I was about three (around the forth season) and how much I enjoyed it. Now, the "Inspiration" (INSP) channel has brought it back. I watched two episodes yesterday (May 20, 2015), and, it's as good as I remember it being. It's the kind of 'family-friendly' television that parents can allow a small child to watch alone without the fear of them seeing or hearing something inappropriate, vulgar, overly violent, and/or something that may give them nightmares.

What else is great about this show is the scenery. Wonderful settings with open fields and thick forests; as well as beautiful streams and rivers. Serenity and peace in a wilderness that is absolutely breathtaking. Anyone who likes the outdoors is sure to like this; and, with any luck, this show, and, others like it, will get more children to get off of their computers and into the wild.

The characters are played by good actors who people remember - Fess Parker (Daniel Boone), of "Old Yeller" (1957); and, Roosevelt "Rosey" Grier (Gabe Cooper), the man who broke Sirhan Sirhan's hand while taking his pistol away after he shot Robert Kennedy, thus, saving others from being killed. (I guess that's what happens to your han(d) when you have a name like Sirhan Sirhan!?!?).

It was television shows like this, and..."Grizzly Adams;" "The Waltons;" "Bonanza;" "The Big Valley;" "The Virginian;" "Little House on the Prairie;" "The High Chaparral;" "Gunsmoke;" etc., that made me want to spend a lot of time exploring various forests and all they have to offer; and, made me want to become a Cub Scout and learn even more. Plus, all of these TV shows are 'child-friendly.'

Bottom line - "Daniel Boone" is great family-fare; and, it's great for children of all ages. :)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great series!
drmsilver1 April 2017
My Dad and I watched this every week when I was a child. I absolutely loved it! I got hooked on it again when I caught a couple of episodes on a snowy Saturday afternoon a few months ago. This channel shows the series in a mishmash of seasons, so I decided to look around and see if I could find them on DVDS. I got lucky, and found the entire six season 50th Anniversary box set for 53 bucks. I've watched 2 discs of the first season and couldn't be happier! I don't believe there'll ever be anything like this again.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Deceptive, grossly inaccurate
duraflex5 June 2010
Beginning with one of the worst opening title sequences in TV history, this show is really a mess. The catchy title song started out fine but was needlessly revamped and ruined by the third iteration.

On the TV show, Boone starts out with two kids and after season 2, the daughter suddenly disappears and then he has just one son. The real Daniel Boone had 10 kids. Some of the scenes are very violent - especially for a show aimed at kids.

Although this series ran from 1964 through 1970, I didn't watch it much as a kid. Now, after seeing a dozen episodes on RTV, I know why. The writing is uneven and sometimes hard to follow.

The stories are often lousy and attempt to promote liberal social agendas of the 1960s rather than deal with historical facts of the era in which Boone lived.

Other issues: The Ed Ames and Rosey Grier characters are highly implausible and neither lasted through the run of the series.

Daniel Boone was 5'8" not 6'5". He never wore a coonskin cap (and certainly not purple pants) as he does in this show. Kids watching this series who think they're seeing a slice of American history are being sadly misled.
2 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews