The Great Adventure (TV Series 1963–1964) Poster


Episode List



27 Sep. 1963
The Hunley
During the Civil War, an engineer working for the Confederacy develops a primitive submarine that can evade the Union ships blockading Southern ports.
4 Oct. 1963
The Death of Sitting Bull
The first of a two part episode, the US Government believes that Sitting Bull has joined the Ghost Dancers, a Sioux religious movement the government believes will lead to another Indian War, and take action that ends in a double tragedy.
11 Oct. 1963
The Massacre at Wounded Knee
The second of a two part episode. Days after Sitting Bull's death, the US Army's bungled attempt to disarm a party of Sioux results in the unnecessary deaths of over 300 men, women and children.
18 Oct. 1963
Six Wagons to the Sea
The attempt in 1894 by farmers from California's Central Valley to get their produce to market by wagon despite attempts by the Southern Pacific Railroad to foil their efforts and preserve their monopoly of transporting produce.
25 Oct. 1963
The Story of Nathan Hale
American Continental soldier turns spy against the British and gives all for a concept called Democracy.
1 Nov. 1963
Go Down, Moses
The excellent Ruby Dee plays the escaped slave Harriet Tubman and her attempts to rescue enslaved family members and friends through the pre-Civil War Underground Railroad.
8 Nov. 1963
The Great Diamond Mountain
In this humorous episode, two con men perpetrate the Diamond Hoax of 1872 in an attempt to swindle San Francisco banker William Ralston, played by Barry Sullivan.
15 Nov. 1963
The Treasure Train of Jefferson Davis
The Confederate Government of Jefferson Davis makes a futile attempt to escape Richmond and capture by the Union Army.
6 Dec. 1963
The Outlaw and the Nun
Know what this is about?
Be the first one to add a plot.
13 Dec. 1963
The Man Who Stole New York City
The rise and fall of Boss Tweed and his Tammany Hall political machine in 1860s New York City.
20 Dec. 1963
A Boy at War
The future seventh president of the United States, Andrew Jackson, is a 13 year old boy soldier struggling to survive the American Revolution.

 1963  1964  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page