The Dakotas (TV Series 1962– ) Poster

(1962– )

Episode List


Season 1

23 Apr. 1962
A Man Called Ragan
In the pilot for this series, which originally aired as an episode of "Cheyenne", Marshal Frank Ragan, who has already given his resignation, comes to town to learn what happened to his friend Johnny Wilson. But it is apparent that everyone in the town wants him to stop investigating, especially town boss Ben Stark, who is willing to kill to keep him from finding out too much.
7 Jan. 1963
Return to Dryrock
When J.D. Smith was a gunfighter, he was run out of town and only one friend stood up for him. Now that friend has been murdered, and J.D. is going to find who killed him and why.
14 Jan. 1963
Red Sky Over Bismarck
A woman whose son is part Indian asks Marshal Ragan for help because she's afraid of the local authorities.
21 Jan. 1963
Mutiny at Fort Mercy
Deputies Stark and Porter return Davids, an escaped prisoner, to Ft. Mercy which is commanded by the tyrannical Capt. Ridgeway. When the other prisoners riot, Stark is taken hostage and subjected to a life-threatening ordeal.
28 Jan. 1963
Trouble at French Creek
A female mine owner drives her workers so hard that they finally walk out. Furious, she hires a band of vicious gunfighters to keep the miners under control. Marshal Ragan is called in to set matters straight.
4 Feb. 1963
Thunder in Pleasant Valley
A wealthy rancher's daughter is kidnapped by an outlaw gang, and Marshal Ragan tries to stop him from paying the ransom while his deputies search for the kidnappers.
11 Feb. 1963
Crisis at High Banjo
Several years ago Marshal Ragan's wife was murdered, and he never caught the killer. Now he has--a man named Johnny Fox, who admits to Ragan that he was paid to kill her. Ragan is torn between his desire for vengeance for his wife's murder and his wanting to know who paid to have her killed and why.
18 Feb. 1963
Requiem at Dancer's Hill
Marshal Ragan and his deputies go after the leader of a posse that captured a wanted man, but instead of turning him over to the authorities, they hanged him on the spot.
25 Feb. 1963
Deputy J.D. Smith runs up against a local sheriff who runs his small town like a medieval kingdom, ruling with an iron hand and demanding obedience and tribute from his "subjects".
4 Mar. 1963
Incident at Rapid City
A cavalry unit tells Deputy Stark that rancher Lloyd Mitchell has sold them spoiled food and some of the troops were poisoned, and demands that Stark turn Mitchell over to them. Stark suspects that not everything is as it seems, however, and begins to believe that the "cavalry" unit may not be quite what they appear to be, either.
11 Mar. 1963
Justice at Eagle's Nest
A conflict is brewing in Eagle's Nest between farmers and cattlemen. The farmers bring in Judge Daniel Harvey to "enforce" the law, which outrages the cattlemen. Marshal Ragan, believing that the judge's methods will result in a range war, decides to look a bit deeper into the judge's past history.
18 Mar. 1963
A Walk Through the Badlands
While in the Badlands looking for a band that's been conducting raids, Ragan and the deputies join with a group of cavalry officers after the same men---a breakaway group led by one of their own captains. Soon the marshals begin to have doubts about the lieutenant in charge, and arguments over the use of the limited amount of water bring conflict.
25 Mar. 1963
Trial at Grand Forks
A visiting German countess is tried and sentenced to death in Grand Forks for the murder of her husband. Marshal Ragan finds it odd that she refused to defend herself at the trial and decides to find out why, but he has to hurry--there's not much time left before her execution.
1 Apr. 1963
Reformation at Big Nose Butte
J.D. Smith must choose between his responsibility as a marshal and his loyalty to his recently released but now dying gang leader.
8 Apr. 1963
One Day in Vermillion
Marshal Ragan and his deputies have to protect an Indian Chief from the wrath of an Indian hating town while the chief has to negotiate a peace treaty from the stern peace commissioner.
15 Apr. 1963
Terror at Heart River
Tensions arise between runaway railroad workers and the citizens of Heart River.
22 Apr. 1963
The Chooser of the Slain
Deputies Stark and Porter are forced to kill a man in self-defense, but no one believes them. Marshal Ragan has to find the only witness to the shooting who can clear the two, otherwise they'll be hanged for murder.
29 Apr. 1963
Feud at Snake River
Brothers Simon and George Deus decide to become wealthy entrepreneurs and go into business together. However, when Simon starts running farmers off their land so he can take it, George opposes him and trouble brews. Marshal Ragan tries to rally the farmers behind George and against Simon.
6 May 1963
Sanctuary at Crystal Springs
Deputies Del Stark and J.D. Smith are forced to shoot and kill the Barton brothers as they attempt to take over a church and hold the pastor hostage. A surviving Barton brother threatens to kill the preacher if Del and J.D. don't surrender themselves to him.
13 May 1963
A Nice Girl from Goliath
A girl's false testimony during a murder trial sent an innocent man to the gallows. Now she learns that the man's brother is coming after her, and she asks Del to protect her.

 Season 1 

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page