Dr. No (1962) Poster

(1962)

User Reviews

Add a Review
406 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
"That's a Smith & Wesson, and you've had your six."
JFHunt16 October 2006
I recently embarked on a mission of my own. To watch all the Bond films in order. Believe me, it's not as easy as it sounds. Finding all of them is nearly impossible. Blockbuster's weak collection hardly does any justice, so I ended up buying most of my favorites.

I'm sorry to say, but to me Sean Connery is the only Bond. With the single exception being Craig in "Casino Royale". When I was growing up, I did enjoy Moore's villains, but now his portrayal seems almost goofy. Moore was just an old guy in a tight suit.

Connery seems to be the only actor that understands who or what Bond is. He is a well-paid assassin. But he is not simply a murderer. Not afraid to close fist punch a woman in the face or hold the door open for her. Later actors too often forgot that Bond is supposed to be graceful yet brutish. Approachable yet cold hearted.

"I admire your courage, Miss...? Sylvia Trench: I admire your luck, Mr...? Bond. James Bond." This could well be my favorite line in cinema history. Not the often lame interpretations, but during the opening scene at the card table. It still gives me chills.

I just wish they would get back to the basics. How many explosions and car chases does a person need to see. I thought he was a spy, they went and turned him into Rambo.
142 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Twenty installments later and what's better?
uds325 March 2002
Commenting on DR NO is a little like being asked to review 'Genesis" or "The Gospel According to Matthew." It IS what it is! Connery WAS Bond from the instant he appeared on screen and remember Ian Fleming, his creator was still alive at this stage. (Fleming in fact saw the first three Bonds but died before the release of THUNDERBALL)

DR NO set the standards, albeit with a limited budget, for the entire series. Action, pretty girls, one-liners and impossibly cashed-up enemies. My own father was a confirmed Bond addict (having worked in army intelligence during WW2) and had been greatly looking forward to the release of this film. Cruelly, he died just a couple of weeks before its premiere in London in 1962. I made up for it however by seeing it four days running. At the time, just about as exciting as films got, it was an enormous box office smash and vindicated the studio's decision to sign Connery. Fleming in fact had wanted Roger Moore for the role, who was then riding high with THE SAINT worldwide and was unavailable for filming. Connery, who's only claim to fame at the time was as a part time male model and bit-part actor, his biggest role having been as a truckie in HELL DRIVERS three years earlier.

Of course DR NO is dated now - its 40 years old! and deserves to be looked at from that standpoint The action sequences were raw in parts, pretty good in others. Sure the car chase scenes in Jamaica with the laughable back-projections are a cackfest now but none of this matters. The sets were imaginative, the fights good stuff, Ursula Andress enough for any young man's wet dream and Wiseman as DR No himself probably the best villain of them all, despite his very limited screentime. Very imaginative sets for the time and pyrotechnics to please.

When it came to my home-town I took several days off college and watched it with fellow students. This was way better than Latin and calculus!
105 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Smashing Debut of 007 in Innovative Adventure...
Ben Burgraff (cariart)13 April 2004
DR. NO, the first of the "James Bond" film series, was a dazzling adventure that would change the 'look' of action films, forever. While the film's 'plot' would become 'Standard Bond' (a maniac attempts to 'heat up' the cold war by provoking America, in this instance, by crashing it's rockets), and reappear in many incarnations over the years, the story behind the first film is still fascinating.

From the completion of his first 007 novel, "Casino Royale", in 1952, 41-year old author Ian Fleming believed that movies and television would be the best 'forum' for James Bond. But deals usually fell through (one that didn't, resulting in an American TV adaptation of "Casino Royale", in 1954, was a flop), and failed screenplays would be rewritten into best-selling short stories and novels, instead. Not surprisingly, the novels impressed many film producers with their cinematic sweep and potential. Two of the producers, American Albert (Cubby) Broccoli, and Canadian Harry Saltzman, would become the key players in bringing DR. NO to the screen.

Saltzman had managed to obtain an option to most of Fleming's work, but the move left him too financially strapped to produce them. Broccoli had wanted to produce the Bond novels, himself, but didn't own the rights. When Saltzman refused to sell, but offered a partnership, instead, Eon Productions was created, and United Artists, impressed by both men's enthusiasm and vision, agreed to bankroll their proposed "Bond" series. DR. NO was chosen as the first to be filmed, and, after several directors (including future Bond legend Guy Hamilton) passed on the project, Terence Young, as smoothly elegant as 007, himself, signed.

Who would play James Bond? Fleming jokingly suggested 52-year old star David Niven (who would, in fact, later play Bond in the spoof, CASINO ROYALE). Broccoli wanted Roger Moore, 34, but he was under contract for "The Saint". Then, independently of each other, both Broccoli and Saltzman heard about Scottish actor Sean Connery, 31. After viewing DARBY O'GILL AND THE LITTLE PEOPLE, Broccoli arranged an interview, was greatly impressed, and hired Connery, assigning director Young to teach the 'rough-edged' actor some style and sophistication. Connery was a quick learner, and soon was so impressive that even Ian Fleming would call him perfect, and would, in fact, incorporate elements of Connery into the Bond of the novels.

New York actor Joseph Wiseman was chosen as Dr. No, after Noel Coward refused the role ("Dr. No? No! No! No!"), and Fleming cousin, actor Christopher Lee, was unavailable. Future "Hawaii 5-0" star Jack Lord, a protégé of longtime Broccoli friend Gary Cooper, was cast as C.I.A. agent Felix Leiter, and Swiss bombshell Ursula Andress became Honey Ryder, Bond's first leading lady (her voice dubbed, because of her thick accent). With Bond 'regulars' "M" (Bernard Lee) and Miss Moneypenny (Lois Maxwell) in place, the Bond legend began.

A few bits of trivia: the 'gunbarrel' introduction, created by 'Opening Credits' designer Maurice Binder, featured stunt 'double' Bob Simmons, rather than Connery, as it was added after shooting was wrapped; Ken Adam's futuristic sets would not only become Bond highlights, but would influence 'real' interior design styles for a generation; and the film's score was by London theatrical composer Monty Norman, with John Barry's participation consisting of conducting the orchestra, and orchestrating Norman's "James Bond Theme"...which Barry did so well that he would become THE Bond composer for over twenty years!

DR. NO was a hit, particularly in Great Britain, and it received a HUGE boost in the U.S. when it was discovered President Kennedy was a 007 fan (FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE was chosen as the second film, in part, because it was a favorite novel of JFK). While the film lacked the 'overabundance' of gadgets and style elements of the later Bond entries, it was a remarkable debut!

And James Bond WOULD return...
51 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Dr. is in.
TheBabblingFool1 January 2004
No matter whether or not you like this film in the end...if you don't get some feeling of joy the first time Sean Connery says "Bond. James Bond." at the card table, I feel sorry for you.

This Bond film has a lot less stuff going in it than most, but for what it's worth, and what it has inspired, it's a classic.

People who can't tolerate and appreciate older cinema from the 60's might laugh at the action scenes, set and costume design of the movie, but if one considers the year in which this was made, it's all rather exquisite. The film is also full of things that would be considered politically incorrect, and the way Bond and Moneypenny flirt in the office would ensue mass sexual harassment lawsuits in this day and age.

The film has an underused villain in Dr. No. Joseph Wiseman sets the standard on how Bond villains, and the majority of how other movie villains, act. One of the things that I love about Bond films is that you will see things that you will never see in other movies. I mean where else but a Bond film would a half Chinese, half German man with metal hands and a compulsive paranoia about radiation, with metal hands live on an island with a "dragon-mobile"?

Dr. No is a definite good start to the Bond series. Ursula Andress as Honey Ryder may only be there for eye candy...but she's great eye candy. Sean Connery is Bond, and pure enjoyment while in this role. So if you are looking for a classic enjoyable movie, this is just what the doctor ordered.
47 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Sean Connery is the perfect actor to bring Bond to life...
Nazi_Fighter_David24 February 2000
Warning: Spoilers
At the Chemin De fer, European Bacarat, Bond has his back to the camera and remains unrevealed until that precise moment when the very first Bond girl, Sylvia Trench portrayed by Eunice Gayson, uttered her first line of dialogue, "I admire your luck, Mr. ...?" and he is seen for the first time lighting his cigarette and announcing himself as "Bond. James Bond."

Bond has dark, rather cruel good looks and a slight scar down one cheek... Tall, handsome, well-dressed, exquisitely mannered, and enormously charismatic, Sean Connery had all the bravura of Ian Fleming's secret agent... He has powerful sex appeal, and is a real lady killer... He drinks a lot of Smirnoff vodka, but prefers Dom Pérignon'53...

Bond—licensed as 007 by his superiors to kill—is an embodiment of pure fantasy... He frequently travels under his own name, making no effort to hide his taste for luxury rivals, and his loves for sensual pleasure... He continually provokes his superiors, and ignores common sense and danger in his combat with villains...

Characterized as a cultivated gentleman and good officer who knows his wines, paintings and weaponry, Bond must often take a back seat to the super-spy hardware with which he is equipped... The technology exhibition play an important part in any Bond films...

With an essential Chinese look, Canadian actor Joseph Wiseman brought to life Dr. No—the first megalomaniac super villain of the atomic age…We first see his black steel hands when he pulls back the bed sheets covering a sleeping 007—Bond's code name… Wiseman looked the perfect combination of crippled scientist and criminal: From his heavily staffed underground base and using atomic energy, Dr. No—on behalf of the SPECTRE organization—was operating a device on the tropical island of Jamaica that massively interferes with the critical rocket launchings from Cape Canaveral...

The plot concerns a British agent, John Strangways, missing in Jamaica... Bond is sent to investigate… He discovered that Strangways was on the track of a certain Dr. No, owner of a mine on the nearby island of Crab Key… The locals avoided Crab Key, believing it haunted… Bond landed there, but instead of ghosts, came upon a girl named Honey on the beach… He was soon caught up in a deadly battle of wits with Dr. No, who planned to destroy the entire US space program…

Ursula Andress coming out of the water on Crab Key, dressed in a skimpy bikini, is the most famous introduction for a performer in screen history—paralleling Omar Sharif's arrival on camel in David Lean's "Lawrence of Arabia," the same year…

Jack Lord was the first to portray CIA agent Felix Leiter...

Bernard Lee established himself as the perfect authority figure in the first eleven James Bond movies...

Anthony Dawson had the memorable role of Grace Kelly's attempted murderer in Hitchcock's 1954 thriller "Dial M For Murder." As the chief agent of 'Dr No,' this lean-faced Scottish character actor planned numerous assassination attempts to eliminate Bond...

Lois Maxwell is the tall, distinguished-looking woman who portrayed M's secretary, Miss Moneypenny, in 14 James Bond films...

Eunice Gayson is the extremely sexy brunette Sylvia Trench who seduces our hero...

Zena Marshall is the seductive Miss Taro, who appeared fresh from the bath, wrapped in a towel in the hallway of her Blue Mountain cottage... She is the quintessential enemy agent—voluptuous, deadly and expendable...

Peter Burton made his one and only appearance as armorer Major Boothroyd who replaced Bond's gun, the .25 Beretta by the Walther PPK... In following films, his character was renamed 'Q' and was given to Desmond Llewellyn, who made the role his own...

If you really like mystery spoof, this is your chance to see the first and best adaptation of an Ian Fleming spy fantasy, mixing sex, violence and campy humor against expensive sets and exotic locales...

"Dr. No" had great Calypso ballads: the romantic, "Underneath The Mango Tree", the animated "Jump Up Jamaica", and the calypso version of "Three Blind Mice" to introduce the three blind beggars...
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Simple but one of the best Bond movies ever!
Sharkey36030 December 2004
The James Bond franchise has so many films in its library, so many that one can get confused as to which film to watch, which story to pay attention to and which star to be seen.

And with the current trend of making action films (big budget special effects and tons of action) today, mystery, suspense and character-driven plots have all suffered badly in the 007 franchise.

As for the original Bond movie Dr. No, I can start by saying that its simplicity as well as Sean Connery make it one of the BEST BOND FLICKS ever! Why do I like Dr. No better than most other Bond flicks?: 1) There is no overload of explosions or special effects or action scenes. These elements never overwhelm the story telling.

2) The story is simple yet more detailed and more enjoyable to watch than that of other flicks like Man With The Golden Gun, Tomorrow Never Dies and Licence to Kill. In addition, Dr. No's story can be taken seriously.

3) Story is character-driven and the use of mystery and suspense is VERY refreshing after watching too many explosions and special effects happen on screen (Die Another Day anyone?).

4) Sean Connery's performance is no less amazing and his use of charm, coolness and cruelty truly defined James Bond. No matter how hard others tried, Connery will always be the king of Bonds.

5) Ursulla Andress, similar to Connery, is STILL the queen of all Bond Girls not only because of her hot look but also of her excellent portrayal of Honey Rider. On screen, Ursulla has both the appeal of a fighting lady, the helplessness of damsels and the beauty that satisfies viewers. If Bond were to marry again, Honey is number 1 for him.

6) Director Terence Young succeeded in keeping the pace right (mostly moving in medium-pace) which effectively balanced the presentation and prevented it from boring or exciting the viewer too much.. There are lots of details to pay attention to plus the characters are very well told.

7) Dr. No is definitely one of the best Bond villains, probably the best. Joseph Wiseman's performance as the half-German/half-Chinese villain is great to watch and like Connery he had coolness and cruelty on screen…note how cool Dr. No was when he resisted Bond's attempt to provoke him. To check things carefully, Bond and Dr. No are essentially as bad as each other. One works to kill and destroy like the other. The makeup work on Wiseman is excellently convincing. Performance-wise, Wiseman's Dr. No is better and more appealing than that of villains Gustav Graves, Stromberg, Largo and others.

8) Dr. No's production values, despite the movie's age, still stands up well until now. The interior sets are very well designed (Dr. No's chamber where Bond and Honey had dinner with him plus Bond's Jamaica hotel room) and has mostly good props (some props look dated though).

Dr. No is worth viewing not only as a classic spy movie but also as a historical art piece of motion pictures! No matter what nay-sayers say, Dr. No will always be the model Bond flick for all sequels to be compared with.

And let us not forget that 007 creator Ian Fleming himself was greatly involved with this movie's production. Dr. No has a plot that can be told clearly, be taken seriously and enjoyed from start to finish. And it has a cast of characters greatly delivered by the actors. Many other Bond films failed when compared to Dr. No on these categories.

Highly recommended viewing!
91 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A good introduction to James Bond
asdodge12 December 2008
Dr. No begins the entire James Bond film saga, and yet barely fits any of the pre-conceived ideas of what a Bond Film is. What it does do is introduce the public to the basic tenets of who James Bond is and what he does and it does this very well.

We meet Bond playing his card game of choice (Chemin de Feur, a form of Bacarat) and as suave and confident as he will ever be. It is also in this first movie (though the book was much later in the Bond series) that Bond is assigned the Walther PPK from Q Branch by orders of M.

Bond is asked to investigate some problems in the Caribbean by the US (someone is messing with radar transmissions of US rockets in Florida) after a British agent in the area is killed. The investigations hint at a mysterious Dr. No (played brilliantly by Richard Wiseman) who owns a small island off the coast of Jamaica.

What is so great about this movie is that, though a Bond movie, it lacks many of the silly contrivances of the "Bond Formula" which would be introduced piecemeal through later films. Bond is a detective... an agent... not some super-human hero who can pull down evil empires with a button on his magic watch. He's cool, calculating, and even cold-blooded when he guns down a potential assassin who he has already disarmed (though, the scene inferred here has 2 filmed versions- one in which the assailant reacquires his gun- albeit it, with an empty chamber...) The interplay between Bond and Moneypenny are here from the get-go, as is the irascibility of M towards Bond (which Dame Judi Dench has brought back brilliantly in the Brosnan-Craig Bonds).

What's missing are the famous pre-titles sequences, although Maurice Binder's famous titles get a subtler beginning here (before they became the nude extravaganzas in later years). The requisite big-budget chase scenes are not here (though a car chase is offered), nor are the multi-continent gorgeous locales here... everything occurs in or near Jamaica.

The most famous element of Bond movies (outside of Bond) are the famous "Bond Girls." Eunice Gayson as Sylvia Trench comes first, then, the iconic and legendary scene- Ursula Andress (as Honey Rider). SPECTRE, the infamous crime organization, is also mentioned in this movie.

Again, this movie is not unlike many detective/spy movies of its era- it is the name "Bond" that makes it stand out. The fame that the Bond series later achieved was not here- the movie is solid and enjoyable but not "Casablanca" quality good. It is a 9/10 for Bond films because it is done well, fairly faithful to the book, and did not hide behind gadgets and gimmicks as later Bonds do. Bond here is an agent, who must be detective, lawman, and killer all rolled into one- and it does it well.

All in all, a fine movie, made on a shoe-string budget that accomplishes what it was meant to do- ably and properly introduce James Bond to an international audience.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
The Beginning of Fifty Years of Bond
gavin694218 August 2013
A resourceful government agent (Sean Connery) seeks answers in a case involving a missing colleague and the disruption of the American space program.

After fifty years of James Bond movies, I finally watched my first one now (in August 2013). There was plenty of what I expected -- vodka martinis, nice cars, women with unusual names. But there was also some I did not -- far more detective work than your average spy, and fewer explosions and action scenes than I would have thought.

A great movie? Maybe not quite. But definitely a pretty good one. I was most amused by Sean Connery's attempts to suppress his accent, and how it was not always successful.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The first cinematic taste of James Bond, and boy does it taste good!!
Jonathon Dabell30 November 2004
Still going strong four decades later, it is sometimes hard to recall where the James Bond franchise began. Dr. No was released in 1962 with the relatively unknown Sean Connery in the leading role. The original Bond author, Ian Fleming, was still alive at the time and wasn't very pleased with the casting of Connery, though he soon warmed to the actor's interpretation of the role when he saw the film.

The big question is: how does Dr. No hold up over forty years on? Personally it has always been my favourite Bond movie and probably will never be surpassed. Even now, it is a step ahead of its counterparts. Connery never appeared in a better Bond flick (some were close), much less Lazenby, Moore, Dalton or Brosnan.

James Bond (Connery) of the British Secret Service is sent to Jamaica to investigate the death of an operative named Strangeway. He learns that Strangeway was looking into alarmingly high radiation readings generating from a nearby island called Crab Cay. Bond heads to the island and learns that it is a suspiciously heavily guarded place, patrolled by gunmen, dogs and armed boats, and none of the local islanders dare venture near because of rumours that a dragon also guards the area. Aided by a Jamaican agent called Quarrel (John Kitzmiller) and beautiful diver Honey Ryder (Ursula Andress), Bond searches the island's interior for answers. He discovers that the island is run by the deadly Dr. No (Joseph Wiseman), a visionary megalomaniac who plans to disrupt the American space programme by sabotaging their shuttles from his secret island base, using gyroscopic interference to bring them down mid-flight.

As the series went on, it became less and less related to the Bond of Fleming's creation, and increasingly akin to a comic book. Part of the strength of Dr. No is that it is faithful to its source. I've read Dr. No, and it is such a good book that it didn't really need altering beyond all recognition in order to be filmable - so, it's nice to report that scripters Richard Maibaum, Johanna Harwood and Berkely Mather have adapted it accurately. The performances are excellent: Connery confident and masculine as Bond, Andress jaw-droppingly gorgeous as Honey, and Wiseman fabulously sinister as Dr. No. Terence Young directs with urgency, getting plenty of excitement as well as some lovely location photography into his film (hard to believe he would go on to make such inept bombs as Poppies Are Also Flowers, Bloodline, and Inchon). Dr. No is a milestone in cinema history. It is the film that gave us our first big-screen 007; it is the grand-daddy of all globe-trotting adventure flicks; and it is a classic action film in its own right to boot.
36 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Had It Not Succeeded We Might Be Goldfingerless
Lechuguilla6 April 2006
"Dr. No" is not my favorite James Bond film. But I'm glad it succeeded, because it led to subsequent 007 films that were really very entertaining, especially "Goldfinger". Everything about "Dr. No": the story, the music, the special effects, the dialogue, even the acting is so ... tentative. The film lacks the self-confident flair and cinematic flamboyance that characterize later 007 films from the 1960s. That is not a criticism, given that "Dr. No" was the first Bond film, and was low-budget. No one knew how the film would be received.

Through the years Sean Connery is the only actor who has done justice to the James Bond character, in my opinion. Although his acting in "Dr. No" is probative at best, he still manages to convey an aura of intelligent charisma. And that charisma would become less restrained in later films.

The visuals in "Dr. No" are very dated. What seemed futuristic in 1962 seems stodgy now. All that engineering design, those clunky computers, and that modernistic interior decor, all included to wow viewers then, seem, half a century later, quaint, obsolete, even archaic. The film's story, about an evil genius out to scuttle the U.S. missile program and dominate the world, likewise seems dated. I must admit, however, that Joseph Wiseman, as the villain, is well cast, with his passive face and those eyes that seldom blink.

That the James Bond character and his adventures have survived all these years demonstrates the enduring appeal of cinematic heroes who, like superman, embody all that is good and strong, in their successful efforts to conquer evil. I just wish that contemporary 007 films had the cinematic credibility of those 1960's Bond films: "You Only Live Twice", "From Russia With Love", "Thunderball", and of course "Goldfinger", all of which owe their existence to the success of "Dr. No".
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Good... But doesn't age quite as well as other movies
kikvadze0329 November 2015
Dr. No was the first Bond film ever made and is based on Ian Fleming's novel of the same name. Even in Dr. No, which was Sean Connery's first Bond film, I'm still surprised by how good he is in the role. He has the looks and charisma of James Bond. He is my second favorite actor to play to the role. The villain in this one is Dr. No, who is a menacing, classic villain. He has some great speeches. But his henchman is very forgettable. The special effects are very outdated by today's standards, it's funny even. Later films have aged better. This movie introduces recurring characters such as James Bond himself of course, Moneypenny, M and Felix Leiter. Ursula Andres plays the very first Bond girl - Honey Rider. Her entrance is amazing and she is overall an interesting character. In the end it's a good movie, but most movies after it feel like they improved something. A great start to one of my favorite if not my favorite movie franchise of all time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Film That Started It All
Ryan Neil31 October 2013
Bond. James Bond. One of the most well-known cinematic icons of all time, Agent 007 has lit up the silver screen and wowed audiences for over 50 years, and this franchise shows no signs of slowing down. The character first appeared in author Ian Fleming's 1953 novel "Casino Royale," but he's best known for the long-lived film franchise by Eon Productions. James Bond has since been ingrained as a major component of popular culture, redefining the film industry upon the release of the early films. Audiences hadn't seen anything like it at the time, and they couldn't get enough of it. Bond has since blown up on a global scale, and it all ties back to this first film, "Dr. No."

Despite being the first film in the series, "Dr. No" is actually based on Fleming's sixth novel in the series. As the inaugural Bond film, director Terence Young had a blank slate to work with. The clichés and archetypes that are instantly connected with the franchise today had not yet been established. Fleming wanted David Niven to play Bond, but the studio ultimately went with Sean Connery, who played a major role in defining what the popular view of Bond would become. He simply exudes confidence through his voice, appearance, and attitude. From that genre- defining first moment where we're introduced to Bond, he instantly slips right into the character. It's no wonder people often cite Connery as the definitive Bond, because his performance laid a lot of that groundwork for future incarnations. He's easily one of the best aspects of the film.

The film sends agent 007 on a mission to Jamaica to investigate the disappearance of a fellow MI6 agent, Strangways. While there, he teams up with CIA agent Felix Leiter (Jack Lord), a native fisherman named Quarrel (John Kitzmiller), and eventually, a woman named Honey Ryder (Ursula Andress) to investigate the goings-on at a mysterious island called Crab Key, owned by the sinister Dr. No, played with an eerie calmness by Joseph Wiseman. The plot itself is relatively standard Bond fare by now, but Dr. No makes for a satisfying villain, his plan is suitably evil ("World domination. Same old dream"), and his affiliation with the criminal organization SPECTRE leads to their recurring involvement in subsequent installments.

"Dr. No" has a unique, naive quality about it. There's no tongue-in-cheek self-awareness here, this is the first glimpse that audiences had to all the different tropes that would develop in the series, and they're done supremely well. I've already gushed enough about how perfect Connery is as Bond, but his supporting cast is also suitably talented. Ursula Andress sets the bar high for all subsequent "Bond girls" that would follow suit, and to this day, she's still one of the best. The production design by Ken Adam, while not yet achieving the grandeur of later films, is still brilliant, establishing the iconic island lair that has since become a staple of the series. Dr. No himself, while underused, is a suitably formidable foe, and Joseph Wiseman makes the most of his limited screen time.

The film is incredibly dated, and in many respects, it doesn't hold up well. However, I don't necessarily fault the film for that. It's definitely a product of its time, and if looked at through the proper context, it functions as a brilliant time capsule film, giving audiences a unique look into the cultural and geopolitical beliefs of the time. I would have loved to see audience reactions to this movie back when it first came out. It's a really revolutionary film, and at the very least, it's worth checking out if only to see where it all started.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
THE LEGEND IS BORN...
Matija Trost10 April 2004
Ahhh...let's go back to the year 1962. What was going on than? Well, Marilyn Monroe was found dead in her L.A. home, the Cuba crisis, racial integration in U.S. and yes, the first 007 was released in London. The legend was born.

They launch into the orbit until till than fairly unknown actor, and they hit the jackpot. Stalwart, confident, cool under pressure and witty. Sean Connery was all that and more. Beside him, was gorgeous and talented Honey Ryder (26-years old Ursula Andress) as the main "love bird" beside Sylvia Trench (Eunice Gayson) and villain Miss Taro (Zena Marshall). And as always trusty allies from Q (this time played by Peter Burton and only appeared for 10 seconds) to CIA and of course M. Thus, we can't forget his Jamaican friends Puss-Feller and Quarrel (a nice play from John Kitzmiller).

On the other hand we have interesting villains in this one. Though we have seen toughest and better opponents in other Bond movies, Dr. No have some class and helpful friends such as "funny" three blind assassins and Professor Dent (great scene by the way in the cabin).

So, is the first also the best in series? No, but it definitively ranks in top 5 Bond movies ever. It got best Bond actor (Sean Connery), great woman (Ursulla Andres) though we have seen better chemistry, superb jazzy score by Monty Norman with nice Jamaica sounds, witty bond humor ("i think that they were on the way to a funeral" or "make sure that he doesn't escape"), dreamy locations (Jamaica) and the component director who made the timeless classic. For this reasons, although not the best in the series, it still deserves a highest possible rate

10 out of 10.
33 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Americans are fools. I offered my services, they refused. So did the East. Now they can both pay for their mistake.
Spikeopath11 April 2012
Dr. No is directed by Terence Young and co-adapted to screenplay by Richard Maibaum, Johanna Harwood & Berkely Mather from the novel of the same name written by Ian Fleming. It stars Sean Connery, Joseph Wiseman, Ursula Andress, Jack Lord & John Kitzmiller. Music is by Monty Norman and cinematography by Ted Moore.

And so it all began here, what was until Harry Potter arrived on the scene, the most successful film franchise in history. James Bond, a name that would become synonymous with suave spies, deranged villains, beautiful women, exotic locations, gadgets, cars and sex. Ian Fleming's James Bond novels were big come the end of 1961, yet producers Cubby Broccoli and Harry Saltzman met some resistance from studios. It was never plain sailing, even after release the film garnered mixed reviews, but word of mouth and condemnation by the Vatican and the Kremlin propelled it to being one of the surprise hits of 62/63. At the box office it made £60 million Worldwide, this after being made on a budget of only £1 million.

Plot basically sees Connery's Bond flying out to Jamaica to investigate the disappearance of agent Strangways (Timothy Moxon). Once there he finds a case of murder is to be investigated and evidence points to the mysterious Dr. No (Wiseman), who resides on Crab Quay island, a place feared by the superstitious locals. Bond must keep his wits about him as he gets closer to the truth, for there are many obstacles in his way and not everyone can be trusted. Cue the suave and athletic Mr. Bond getting involved with lovely ladies, dicing with death, making friends, making enemies and just generally being an all round awesome anti-hero.

SPECTRE: Special Executive for Counter-intelligence, Terrorism, Revenge and Extortion.

There are a number of changes from the book and some censor appeasement was required to get the film a certificate enabling youngsters to see the film with an adult. What Dr. No rounds out as is a jolly good spy/action movie yarn. Some of the hints are there for what would make Bond such a profitable and well loved franchise, but there's no sign of the gadgetry, tricks and japes that would fill out so many of the titles that followed Dr. No. Here Bond is just armed with his Walter PPK 7.65MM pistol, Sunbeam Alpine car and his bravado and nouse.

Some future stalwart characters are given modest introductions (M, Felix Leiter, Monneypenney) and Ursula Andress sets the marker for all future Bond girls to follow. Ted Moore's capturing of the Jamaica location is sumptuous, something that really comes to the fore on the remastered DVD edition of the film. Connery is supremely cool and fearless, the theme tune and gun barrel opening are already in place, and Terence Young, who directs three of the first four Bond movies, keeps it zippy and suspenseful when story gathers up a flame throwing tank, car chases, fights and a quite brilliant tarantula sequence.

Quite a debut, uneven at times as it begins to find its feet, but even if it wasn't the first James Bond movie it would hold up as an entertaining bit of secret agent shenanigans. 7.5/10
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
If Only All Bond Films Were This Good
Theo Robertson8 December 2002
Watching DR NO after all these years the first thing to strike me is how gritty it all is . The villains are cruel and not below shooting unarmed women in the back so who better to take them on than an equally cold hearted killer namely James Bond 007 . Bond must have shocked cinema audiences in the 1960s , no one described as a good guy in pre Bond cinema ever shot one of the bad guys in the back no matter what the provocation . John Wayne didn`t do it and neither did Errol Flynn but here we see Sean Connery doing it even though he didn`t have to .

And I`m making no distinction between Sean Connery and the character he plays , James Bond is Sean Connery . Try saying " James Bond " out loud . Done it ? Notice the slightly slurred Scottish brogue . Try it again . See it`s impossible not to say " Bond. Jamesh Bond " Let`s not forget Connery made Bond a cultural icon and Connery was at one point the world`s most famous and highest paid movie star .Not bad for a man who started off life in an Edinburgh tenement and whose first paid job was as a milk boy

One final thing I noticed about DR N0 is how tightly written and paced it is. Plot point is followed by murder attempt followed by plot point followed by murder attempt followed by plot point. At no time does any of this seem forced and at no time do we see 15-20 minutes padded out with a ridculous stunt sequence . If only all Bond films were as good as this or GOLDFINGER
64 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The born of a cinema symbol
Filipe Neto29 September 2015
In this film, the first of the Bond franchise, we see how the British secret agent going to the Bahamas in order to investigate the mysterious Dr. No, which believed to be responsible for the disappearance of several people, including another agent.

This film is much simpler than other movies that followed, but contains one of the most iconic scenes of the franchise: the first appearance of Bond, sitting at the table of baccarat, saying his staff "Bond ... James Bond". Since then, we repeatedly hear this presentation that everyone (even those who don't appreciate the character) associate today to the British agent. Directed by Terence Young, the film features Sean Connery as Bond, in a role that will immortalize him. The actor shares the scene with Ursula Andress, the first "Bond-girl" (It was the biggest role of her career, followed by a series of participation's in B movies and in another Bond film, made on the sidelines of the official franchise). Bernard Lee and Lois Maxwell also here begin their passage through the franchise as M, head of British intelligence, and his secretary, Miss Moneypenny.

This movie, despite being simpler and not having the commercial apparatus of next films, is still a classic that is at the heart of any Bond fan. Thus was born one of the longest, lasting and fruitful film franchises ever.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A OK start to a legendary franchise
willcundallreview14 April 2014
Rating-6/10

Dr No is the start of a massive spy franchise that is still going strong today, with a fun new man named Mr James Bond and his charisma to match is known notorious name, Dr No provides essential viewing for any fan wanting to see every film. Is it a good start? ,well that in the end is up to you but as for me I felt it was strongly a kind of good film, I know many absolutely love this but some find it lacklustre, just sit back and see, here is why I felt it was a strongly OK film below.

The story kicks off with a bang, and a beautiful location to go with it, and with also joining in a sinister looking villain, what else could you really need to see from Bond. Although I don't think this is executed perfectly it still makes for good viewing and can still entertain fans and not particular fans a like. The story is somewhat predictable toward the end but with a middle part that I found especially thrilling it makes up for lost time with a great bunch of scenes where Bond is in trouble.

Connery starts safely and firmly brings us a taste to come from his era as Bond, with a suave suit that can dazzle the ladies, to a swimsuit that can well, also dazzle the ladies Connery oozes charm. The rest of the cast take a much further back seat to Sean and Ursula Andress as the Bond girl is good but not perfect and I felt she seemed a little lost in this. Other characters such as Quarrel a local Cayman Islander make fun work too and definitely help this films rating go up a little.

Terence Young kicks Bond off under his guise and makes a good if not sometimes odd selection job, but overall he does well, The reason it is odd is simple things like physics, the stunts could have been done a certain way but they insist on being ridiculous, and I think Young did this. Written well though and introducing things that are still seen today in Bond the writing creates a sense that Bond was always there, and we always knew it. I loved the location to it, it doesn't really help the films mark but it looks stunning and sets off the adventures Bond goes on.

The film isn't a super solid piece and with slower parts and bits that seem pointless, Dr No is a film I feel is overrated but nevertheless a kind of good one. It can sometimes lack the thrills we expect and I am not sure if that is down to it being a light 60's film, or the writing or directing just screwing it up, anyway it is the film still manages a lot of positive away from such things as thrills and drama that may lack here.

Bond fans well, I am not saying you should watch it as it is the best, but you have to see it to call yourself a true fan with most of the things Bond does originating from this film. Those wanting a more dark Bond will still be disappointed and a dark Bond doesn't really come round the corner until way off in 1989, so stay off if you dislike charm and style, and want big bucks guns and effects.

Overall I give this a 6/10 meaning It is Strongly an OK film, near to be being good but just misses out with the criticisms I gave it. It is still a fun film and worth a watch as the story is basic like but serves to let you enjoy it, but don't feel you have to like it because others say so much good stuff about it. On that point to any critics, never feel pressured to rate this lower even if everyone seems to love it, the film is far from flawless.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Creating the foundation for the biggest movie character of all time
Movie_Muse_Reviews30 June 2013
Ian Fleming's James Bond character's humble on-screen beginning is just that — humble. "Dr. No" is more of a mystery than an action film, so despite being the film that introduced the world to the most successful movie character of all time, it's not often considered a favorite of Bond die-hards.

Yet the foundation for the Bond franchise's DNA is all here. The famous Bond theme, the opening down-the-barrel gunshot, "Bond, James Bond" the Walther PPK, banter with Moneypenny — all originated in "Dr. No." Albert R. Broccoli and Harry Saltzman honed the essence of Bond the first time through, including casting the best actor to play the role the first time in Sean Connery.

Connery isn't the only thing that makes "Dr. No" work, but it's hard to imagine James Bond becoming the icon he is today without him, and more specifically, his performance in the film. That starts with the look. As Bond is a ladies man (and more than a few women get all out of sorts around him in this movie), Connery had to have a natural sex appeal and natural is the best way to describe it. Simply, he's a man's man, far from a pretty boy, and he cleans up like a boss. And while he's pretty smart and skilled, Connery adds some grit into the performance. Bond gets put through the ringer in this movie and he doesn't always look good doing it.

"Dr. No" introduces Bond as a playboy, but one whose duty to country calls. A fellow 00 agent who was investigating the jamming of Cape Canaveral's rocket launch signals has gone missing (permanently, a.k.a. he's dead) in Jamaica and so MI-6 sends Bond to investigate. From the moment he lands he finds he's being closely watched and everyone he tries to question won't talk. He soon collaborates with CIA agent Felix Leiter (Jack Lord) and a boatman named Quarrel, where he learns of the reclusive Dr. No and his heavily manned island of Crab Key. Bond and Quarrel travel to the island where Bond discovers the beautiful Honey Ryder (Ursula Andress), but not without finding himself a bit trapped.

A good deal of "Dr. No" is slow-going, and the script relies on our curiosity about the title character in order to maintain our interest. Dr. No (Joseph Wiseman) is revealed late in the game and he's worth the wait, even if we don't get nearly enough of him. Creating the mysterious aura around No is one of the best things about this movie as it set the stage for the grandiose Bond villains to come. Most of the film is steeped in reality, but once we get onto the island, we see a bit more imagination and Bond gets rightfully larger than life.

Wiseman and Andress are also examples of top-notch casting decisions. Andress is absolutely magnetizing despite her character's complete and utter lack of importance to the film. She is something for Bond to do (in all senses) and something for the audience to look at (and she rocks that bikini). As much as she started the great tradition of Bond girls, she amounts to a shell-collector who found herself in the wrong place at the wrong time. Oh well, it was the early '60s.

"Dr. No" has to be considered a wild success, however, because it introduced us to a character who clearly caught our interest. No matter how you feel about "Dr. No," it ends leaving you wanting to see more of this Bond, James Bond fellow and what beautiful women he might sleep with next while saving the world at the same time. The foundation this film builds is rock-solid, embodying nearly everything about the Bond character that we know today.

~Steven C

Thanks for reading! Visit my site moviemusereviews.com
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Bond's First Adventure Sees Our Hero Testing His Own Character
Sean Lamberger18 April 2013
James Bond dons the training wheels in his first appearance on the screen, heading off a surprise threat in Jamaica... where everyone speaks with a British accent. Without the kind of galactic-sized budget or recklessly eccentric touches that would come to define the series in later installments, I was impressed with the film's ingenuity in filling those holes. Though Bond lacks his usual cache of gimmicks and gadgets, that time is instead spent inspecting the finer points of his espionage work, which I appreciated. There's something to be said for firing lasers from a pocket watch, but I was just as captivated watching Sean Connery booby trap his closet with a single strand of hair or set up a would-be assassin by rolling his bedsheets into a bundle and laying in wait. It loses touch with that grounded sensibility in the third act, though, which is much more in-line with what one would expect from the series. Bond's dastardly eponymous foil is comically run-of-the-mill, although he doesn't truly get enough screen time to explain himself and seems far too easily defeated. This is such a Connery showcase, though, that I doubt there'd have been room for such elaborations to stick anyway.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A solid start for Bond.
BA_Harrison27 May 2012
I've been a Bond fan nearly all my life, but being born in '68 I didn't get going until after Connery had hung up his Walther PPK (not counting Never Say Never Again). The quips, crazy stunts and high-tech gadgetry of the Roger Moore movies were what I grew up watching; in comparison, Connery's earlier films seemed like a lot less fun and, a few drunken viewings on Christmas Day notwithstanding, they've remained unseen by me. Until now...

At last, I've decided to catch up on the Bond films that have previously escaped my attention—starting with the very first in the series, Dr. No, which might not boast the same production values, level of escapism or explosive action as Moore's Bond escapades, but which still proves to be a more than reasonable opening assignment for the agent, putting into place many of the elements that would become standard for the series.

Dr. No starts with what can only be described as very groovy titles, bold multi-coloured 60s graphics which transform into gyrating figures backed by a bongotastic calypso beat, before the silhouettes of three blind men take us into the movie proper. The story starts in Jamaica, with these three men, who are not as blind as they pretend to be, assassinating a secret agent and his secretary. The murdered spy had been on an assignment investigating the sabotage of US rocket launches, and Bond is sent to the Caribbean to find out who was responsible and why.

Connery's being Scottish has always made it difficult for me to accept him in the role of Bond (moreso than Lazenby, Dalton and Brosnan, whose accents were less obvious), and the size of his eyebrows are a little off-putting, but I have to admit that he's actually pretty good in the role; whether getting into a fist fight with a bad guy or a clinch with a scantily clad babe, he is certainly convincing as a deadly, womanising super spy (as much as I enjoy the impossibly suave and unflappable style of Moore, Connery's macho style is more believable).

And although there is none of Moore's wry innuendo and sexist remarks to lighten the mood, the film does provide some unintentional laughs: the 'dragon' that scares the superstitious locals could never be perceived as anything other than an armoured vehicle (try not to giggle when Ursula Andress points out tyre tracks and calls them dragon footprints); the atomic power plant on Dr. No's island is straight out of Austin Powers, particularly the perilous walkway over the bubbling liquid, the extra large red blinking light, and the handy over-sized danger-level indicator (perfect for those intending to blow the place up); and the bright red T-shirt worn by Bond's pal Quarrel (John Kitzmiller) screams out 'I'm over here, please kill me!'.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
You have to start somewhere
hall89523 February 2010
The James Bond franchise is one of the most successful and lucrative in film history. When you look back on Bond's first film salvo, Dr. No, it is a little hard to imagine that all that success would follow down the decades. Because truth be told this is not a very good movie. It may work as a nostalgia trip, as a bit of film history. There is an undeniable curiosity to seeing the first Bond film. Watching this film may satisfy that curiosity but that's about it. If you ignore the billion-dollar franchise it spawned and take the film on its own merits Dr. No just doesn't work.

Perhaps the movie's biggest flaw is that the story is incredibly simple and not particularly interesting. Our villain, Dr. No, is, from his Jamaican lair, using radio waves to jam American rockets. If this doesn't strike you as being that big a deal you're right. There's very little sense of drama here. Bond villains in films to come had grand plans with undeniable high stakes. This villainous plan, and the villain himself, come off as a bit of a dud. So, lacking that drama any good movie needs, the movie slogs along towards its finish. There are some good moments sprinkled throughout. But in this case good moments do not a good movie make. And in the end comes a big letdown. Because for all its failings you hold out hope throughout that perhaps the movie will at least have a smashing conclusion. But sadly that is not to be. The big climactic final scene is more farcical than powerful. It all comes off as being a little silly. And silly is not really the effect you're looking for in a James Bond movie.

Yes, Sean Connery is a terrific James Bond. And it is interesting to see so many Bond firsts. There's the first appearance of that now so familiar musical theme. The first appearances of characters we would come to know and love in the films to follow. The first "Bond, James Bond." The first shaken martini. The first Bond girls, with bonus points for the famously memorable way in which Ursula Andress, as Honey Ryder, is introduced in the film. And so many other firsts, too numerous to mention. So go ahead and watch Dr. No for its place in film history, for the nostalgia trip it provides. And then go watch a better James Bond movie.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The First, but second best!
Mark Nurdin16 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Warning! Spoilers lie within!

the first film of the James Bond 007 franchise is perhaps one of the greatest adventure films ever made. It has everything from gorgeous locations to gorgeous girls, sinister music to sinister villains. And yet some would argue that it has grown dated for it's time.

My response to these critics would be nonsense. As a long-time Bond fan my opinions are somewhat different to those who just watch the film for a bit of a laugh. And although i do not believe it is the greatest film in the series, i still reckon it's a cracker of a film.

Sean Connery is perfect in this movie. the first time we see him - the coolness of the character just makes you want to light up with him and play baccarat - and shows the right mixture of tough man versus playboy bachelor that is needed for the movie Bond. I do not feel that Ian Fleming's idea of what James Bond should be like as a person works on the big screen. they are two different characters and the audience warms better to the Bond portrayed in this film than the Bond portrayed in the book.

The plot has been altered slightly from the book's original storyline. Gone are the ideas of bird guano and perverse physical tests. Instead we have a much more sixties' storyline involving the beginning of the Space race. This is a smart move, for even today the threat of a rocket been used as a missile still haunts us.

We are automatically made aware that the women in this film are tough and sexy in a different way to the English madams of the post-war fifties. The sneaking in of Sylvia Trench, the femme fatale of Miss Taro, and, of course, the legend that is Honey Ryder - at first a sex object coming out of the sea, then a tough and courageous woman with a knack for using poisonous spiders to reap vengeance. Although dubbed through the film, Ursula Andress is fantastic. Looks good, too.

The island on which Bond and Honey meet is the lair of Doctor No. His presence as the title character is made even more aware by the fact that he appears only in the last third of the movie. A calm, almost machine like genius working for SPECTRE and with metal hands which prove rather useless at the end of the film. Joseph Wiseman is perhaps a little too cool under the focus, and I feel we do not see enough of him for him to become a considerable threat to our hero.

But the end of the film is where it really grabs the edge of your seat. The merciless escape by Bond through the pipes, the final fight with Bond and Doctor No - in which a gruesome death underneath bird guano is replaced with boiling hot heavy water, equally as nasty - and the hurried escape by Bond and Honey just before the base blows up. It leaves you smiling, cheering them on, and wanting more Bond. Thankfully, the latter has proved to be quite easy to get a hold of...

8/10
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Wow, I don't know what to say...
theonewithallthecontacts29 November 2012
Talk about a legendary classic of a movie! Dr. No... The very first James Bond film of all time! Everything you know about James Bond, even if you're not a fan, started here! Well, if you doesn't count the 1954 TV episode "Casino Royale" from Climax, that is.

The film set the standards for many movies to come, and the Bond universe has been parodied so many times over the years since! The film was based on one of the bestselling James Bond novels of the same name by Ian Fleming. There were so many people that contributed, to makes this film so memorable: Ian Fleming's excellent novels, Sean Connery's brilliant portrayal of James Bond, the stylish and tireless direction by Terence Young, John Barry's brilliant theme tune, Richard Maibaum and Johanna Harwood's fantastic script, Maurice Binder's brilliant main title opening, Peter Hunt's rapid and professional editing, etc. It's just all so brilliant! Connery as James Bond was able to charm both critics and moviegoers from the premiere, and it became an instant hit!

The story centers around this British agent for MI6 names James Bond (codenamed 007), who is sent to Jamaica to investigate the mystical disappearance of another British agent named Strangways and his assistant. Bond is almost immediately tried to get rid off, and Bond is quickly lured into a darker and more sinister plot! The plot is in fact very simple, though it gets kinda complicated at the end! Terence Young's brilliant direction is clearly visible right at the start! I don't think any other Bond director (expect Guy Hamilton with Goldfinger) has achieved to make such a sleek and stylish movie which matches Sean Connery's portrayal so far!

Sean Connery is imo the best Bond ever! He was the first and the original of course, but his performance is just so stylish and so memorable that whenever you think of Bond, you'll think of Connery! He expertly and smoothly blends into the role of James Bond, like he has been playing the character for years. It's interesting to note, that Connery drew a lot of inspiration for his interpretation of Bond from Terrence Young! And that Young apparently had Sean Connery sleep in the special tailored suit he wears in the movie. Connery agreed, and when he woke up the suit was still as comfortable as the night before! Connery owns the role, and will for many be the first and best James Bond, including me! Ursulla Andress plays the first EON Bond girl, and boy does she look good in a white bikini, phew! She's never been my absolute favorite Bond girl, but if I were to make a top 10 she'd probably be nr. 3 or something. She isn't given much screen time, but when she makes her entrance... it was worth the wait! She gets the most iconic Bond girl intro, when she walks out of the sea with her white bikini! Andress isn't that good an actress, but considering she's got no prior acting experience, she does a decent job. Joseph Wiseman plays the first EON Bond villain. I've always liked this villain. He has a nice build up, he has a nice, calm and laid back performance, which is a lot of fun to watch! He kinda set the standards for all Bond villains to come... Too bad he doesn't get much screen time, neither. He is also the first to introduce us to SPECTRE! You'll hear more about them in the other movies! He'd probably be my nr. 6 or something, on my top 10! We also have Jack Lord as Felix Leiter! Lord delivers the definitive performance as Felix Leiter. He's sophisticated, suave and calm in all of his scenes, and seems like a capable agent in his own right! More than you could say about the other actors to portray Leiter! Bernard Lee and Lois Maxwell takes on the roles of M and Moneypenny, and both does a fantastic job!

Dr. No was never one of my absolute favorites. Don't get me wrong it is one of my favorites, but not one of my absolute favorites. I would have liked Andress and Wiseman to have more screen time, so that they could do more with their characters. The film hasn't got any real memorable action set pieces. The "action" consists of a regular car chase, people trying to shoot Bond while he sleeps, and some brawls in the end. That's kinda' it. Some might argue that this movie is boring. That is completely nonsense. The films pacing is slow, but this movie is meant to introduce viewers to Bond. Who he is, how he operates, who he works for, how he lives etc. The film does a pretty damn good job with that!

I guess, I have been pretty unfair with my verdict. It is the first Bond movie and therefore it is almost to important to rate! But here it is. Forget whatever critic I might have had against this movie, and watch it! Probability says you're gonna like it, and wanna go check the other Bond movies out! This is the first real James Bond movie... and it's absolutely friggin' awesome!

9/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
"...world domination, the same old dream..."
elvircorhodzic17 May 2017
DR. NO is an action thriller and the first movie about a popular British secret agent.

A British Intelligence (SIS) Station Chief in Jamaica, is ambushed and killed, and his body is taken by a trio of assassins. After that, they have broke into his house, killed his secretary and stole a very important documents. In response, MI6 agent James Bond is summoned to the office of his superior, M, in London. Bond is briefed to investigate the Station Chief disappearance. Upon his arrival at Kingston Airport Bond has met enemy agents. He has began his investigation with the help of a strong boatman and a charismatic CIA agent. However, scientists, double agents and beautiful women are on his way to the main enemy and to solve a mystery...

This movie has set certain standards in terms of a character and habits of this main hero. This average fiction is pretty exciting. It balances between actions, mystery, science fiction and sexy situations. The pace is very fast, therefore, obvious flaws are almost not visible, between attempted murders, car chases, poisonous insects or even more toxic beauty in this film.

Opening credits is very impressive. An exotic scenery is in contrast with topics in this film.

Sean Connery as James Bond, A British MI6 agent, codename 007 is a tall, charismatic and handy man. He is a murderer and seducer at the same time. Mr. Connery has offered a convincing performance.

His support are Ursula Andress (Honey Ryder), a local beauty, who deals quite good with a dominant man in the second part of the film. Joseph Wiseman (Dr. No) is the main antagonist. He is a constant threat, but too short phenomenon that could be taken seriously. Jack Lord (Felix Leiter) is an American "counterweight" to the British agent. John Kitzmiller (Quarrel) is a strong and scared boatman. Zena Marshall (Miss Taro) is a toxic beauty and a double agent.

This is quite unreliable, however, is exciting and watchable.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Nice To Meet You Mr. Bond
slightlymad223 May 2017
Having completed my look at Clint Eastwood's acting Filmography, I have decided to move on to the legend that is Sir Sean Connery.

Dr.No (1962)

Plot In A Paragraph: James Bond (Sean Connery) a resourceful British government agent seeks answers in a case involving the disappearance of a colleague.

Our introduction to 007 is classic Bond. The first shot of him was at the gaming tables, only his fingers and the cards are visible, followed by a close up of his face as he lit a cigarette as the soundtrack played his signature tune. Agent 007, licensed to kill, but not be killed, thought all villains single-handedly, surviving bullets, water, fire and even electricity. He was a comic strip hero, a Superman or a Captain America. An immensely good-looking and immensely well groomed 1930s hero updated to the 1960s. He was cool, sharp and cunning.

Thoroughly professional at all times, fast with his gun, nifty on his feet, nifty in bed, and always had time for sex, even if he was about to be murdered. He was the sort of hero who made love to a woman just before he handed over to the police. And with his tongue firmly in his cheek Connery played him perfectly.

Jospeh Wiseman played the title character very coldly, but he doesn't leave much of an impression. Unlike Ursula Andres as Honey Rider. The original 'Bond Girl' and one often most imitated. In my youth, I spent many an hour, slowly pausing the radio active shower scene on video (long before DVD made this process much easier) hoping to catch it just right, to see if she was really nude or not. Oh the memories.

Sadly the movie has not aged well, the fight scenes often look clumsy, over rehearsed and at worst poorly co-ordinated.

On a $1.1 million budget, Dr. No grossed $16 million at the domestic box office, to end 1963 as the 9th highest grossing movie of the year.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews