IMDb > The Little Shop of Horrors (1960) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Little Shop of Horrors
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Little Shop of Horrors More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 13: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 121 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Kind of cheap and lame but also funny and original at the same time.

7/10
Author: Boba_Fett1138 from Groningen, The Netherlands
14 December 2011

This is a bit of an odd movie. On the one hand its being entertaining but on the other it's also being a quite poorly made and simplistically written one. In other words; this movie is pretty much the perfect definition of a fun campy B-movie!

No, it obviously is not as great as the 1986 musical version of this movie but that's all because this movie was pretty much being a very fast, simple and cheap one to make. Just like any other Roger Corman production! And Corman did not only produce this time, he also co-directed the movie, no doubt to make sure this movie got done quick and cheaply!

I sort of still wish some time and effort got put into it, since the movie its main premise definitely deserved a better and more thought out treatment. Something that did happen for the 1986 Frank Oz movie. It also truly could had benefited this movie, since now instead some of the story developments only work out half and don't seem to be fleshed out fully. It's a movie that seems to be filled with half ideas. Good ideas! But half ones nevertheless.

But obviously it doesn't harm the movie all too much. The movie does still has plenty of good comedy in it, which mostly comes from its fun characters. Some of the stuff is pretty random but that's what's making it so fun. It's concept also makes the movie a quite original one to watch. What is it? A comedy? A science-fiction movie? A horror? A little bit of all, which gets beautifully and effectively combined!

The cast doesn't really impress all that much. You have the feeling that with a bit more star-power behind it, or some actors with a better sense of comical timing, this could had turned into a far better and also more successful movie, at its time. Just imaging what would had happened if someone like Jerry Lewis played Seymour Krelboyne. The movie would had been huge!

But there actually still is a big star in this movie; the 23-year old Jack Nicholson. It wasn't his first movie appearance but it's definitely the earliest one I have seen by him. He's already being very Jack Nicholson-like in this and even though he only was 23 at the time, he's much older looking already. His role is actually really one of the most fun ones and forms one of the highlights of the movie, even though he is only in it for a couple of minutes.

Despite everything, this movie still remains a perfectly good and fun one!

7/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great film

Author: j-catanzaro from United States
18 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wow. This movie was great. Disregard the fact that it debuted in 1960 and it is a black and white film. This was a hilarious film anyone could enjoy. I loved the humor- everything about it! The crazy dentist who loves inflicting pain- The man in the beginning of the movie who eats flowers as a delicacy- and Mr. Mushnick, ohhh Mr. Musnick was the funniest of all. I do not know if it is considered classic right now, but when Mr. Mushnick (refering to the plant) says, "It grows like a cold sore on the lip" I think I died from laughter and came back to life only to listen to what he says the rest of the movie. I had heard of this film before, but never got around to watching it, and I'm glad I made the decision to finally view it! Absolutely hilarious! I think the best part of the movie is that even though all the dialogue was written over 50 years ago, the humor still applies and even seems fresh in parts. Silliness is prevalent throughout the movie but they way the filmmakers present this wacky situation is flawless. Loved it, go see it!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The definition of a B movie.

Author: a-ferrera from United States
16 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you told me that this movie is why they call a B movie by that name, I wouldn't be surprised. This movie has one of the lowest budgets I have ever seen. But of course that doesn't make it bad, in fact this movie is actually really good. The writing was really good in this movie, it was exceptionally witty and smart. The acting was really good in this movie too, especially for a bunch of no name actors (at the time). The plant in this movie is also pretty good looking, especially towards the end of the movie. I'm guessing majority of the budget was spent on the final stage of the plant. This is a classic movie and I recommend everyone to watch it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Little Shop of Horrors

Author: dmdmikrut74 from United States
16 November 2011

At first I didn't know what to expect I just picked it off a list and was thinking lets see what this ones about. The way it started I wasn't quite sure what was going on and then I caught on. The movie was kept simple and with that was funny and smart. Jonathan Haze was perfect he kept the character boyish but also had a hint that he really didn't know what was going on. The plant was hilarious it made me laugh through the whole movie it was not what I expected. Myrtle Vail was the best for the scenes that she was in she added a weird mother to the movie that took the attention away from everything else that was going on in that moment. A great movie that never had a dull moment and kept me laughing through the whole hour and twelve minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Funny and unique quickie from Roger Corman

6/10
Author: tomgillespie2002 from United Kingdom
17 May 2011

Shot in just two days by B-movie maestro Roger Corman, this micro-budget horror-comedy tells the story of a florist's assistant who cross-breeds a plant that turns out to be a man-eater. With his business struggling and his idiotic assistant Seymour (Jonathan Haze) causing more trouble than good, Gravis Mushnik (Mel Welles) doesn't know where to turn. But as Seymour's oddity grows bigger by the day, it starts to attract the crowds. The only problem is, the bigger it gets, the more food it needs, and available human flesh isn't that easy to come by. If this wasn't hard enough, Seymour also has to romance the dippy Audrey (Jackie Joseph), and take care of his hypochondriac mother who thinks a bowl of baby oil makes a good meal.

The fact that it was shot in two days using the leftover sets of a previous production is quite amazing, even though the film isn't exactly of high quality. The problem is that it really shows. The lack of time didn't exactly open up opportunities for anything other than mundane camera-work and shaky sets. The main setting, the florists, basically has two cameras pointing to the centre from different sides, and the whole feels like a sitcom rather than a feature. Of course, this is Roger Corman, and things like that don't really matter in his films. They are about entertainment and shameless exploitation, and the film is both.

What surprised me the most about the film is how genuinely funny it is. What lacks in visual flair is made up for in the script, which is fast- paced, quirky and every now and then a little bit clever. It reminded me of the comedies of the Marx Brothers (of course, nowhere near the quality), where the characters would zip back and forth between jokes and innuendos. The comedy has a definite Jewish feel to it, similar to that of Woody Allen (again, nowhere near the quality).

The film is also outright bizarre and inventive. An early role for Jack Nicholson sees him play a creepy and over-excited sadomasochist who pays a visit to the dentist, looking to have his teeth torn from their roots. It's the role that Bill Murray would play to hilarious effect in the musical remake starring Rick Moranis.

It will hardly appease gore-hounds as there is next to none and the effects are pretty bad and very silly. But this is more comedy than horror, and it is certainly enjoyable.

www.the-wrath-of-blog.blogspot.com

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Review for History of Cinema

8/10
Author: ben_jm89 from United States
13 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of the best plots i have seen in a movie, it is unbelievably original. This was a goofy, strange, and overall odd film.

For a low budget film it was very well done. the lighting, though very simple, was great throughout. there were a few shots that i thought could have been better. In a couple scenes one of the characters faces is blocked by a piece of furniture or a railing. in my opinion it just looked bad. But, for a story about a young murderer whom is always on the wrong side of an accident, the goofy approach fits perfectly. It eases the seriousness of the crimes and plays right into the idea of a blood thirsty, man eating plant. the movie is constantly funny and exciting with the most outrageous characters. Especially, the seemingly evil dentist.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Roger Corman's The Little Shop of Horrors is another of his classic comedy-horror movies

9/10
Author: tavm from Baton Rouge, LA
24 October 2009

Like Roger Corman and screenwriter Charles B. Griffith's previous movie-A Bucket of Blood-The Little Shop of Horrors is another hilarious horror movie that retains its classic status today. In this one, Seymour Krelboin (Jonathan Haze) works in the flower shop for boss Mr. Gravis Mushnik (Mel Welles) with his crush, Audrey (Jackie Joseph), the only other work mate. In order to increase business (and to keep from being fired), Seymour brings an unusual plant to attract customers. He names it Audrey, Jr. I'll stop there and just mention despite some over-the-top physical comedy involving Haze, this was another great black comedy provided by Corman and Griffith. Seeing Corman regular Dick Miller as a plant-eating customer was a witty surprise. And the best part of this opus that was only filmed in two days is the patient of a sadistic dentist named Wilbur Force who is played here by the pre-legendary movie star Jack Nicholson! I mean, hearing him say "Don't stop now!" with a gleeful tone still has me in stitches! Also funny were a couple of police detectives doing "Dragnet"-like dialogue especially when one of them says "Them's the breaks!" All I'll say now is if you haven't seen this movie yet, what are you waiting for! So yes, I highly recommend The Little Shop of Horrors. P.S. Besides Griffith, actress Tammy Windsor (real name: Karyn Kupcinet) also came from my birthtown of Chicago, Ill. Griffith's grandmother, Myrtle Vail, plays Haze's mother. A relative of Griffith's, Jack, plays a tramp. And Jackie Coogan's brother, Robert, plays a drunk.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Charming dark comedy

7/10
Author: tomimt from Finland
14 October 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Poor Seymor Krelboin (Jonathan Haze). He's a clumsy, well meaning kid, who is in love with Audrey (Jackie Joseph), who both work for hard driving florist Mushnik (Mel Welles), who is about to give Seymor the boot, because of his incompetence. So in order to keep his job, Seymor promises Mushnik a flower, that would bring in a boat load of customers. And deliver he does, but the horrifying truth of the flower is soon revealed to poor Seymor, as the plant, Audrey II, is a flesh eater. And not just any regular beef, but human.

At first he tries to feed the plant his own blood, but soon the demands grow too big. In desperation Seyomor walks around the city when he accidentally causes a rail workers death. In panic he at first tries to dumb the body, but then he ends up feed it to Audrey II, which causes the plant to grow even bigger. So now Seymor is between rock and a hard place: should he keep the fame and glory this bloodthirsty plant has bring him, or should he just destroy it before its all too late.

"The Little Shop of Horrors" is a well known Corman cult classic. Its crazy cast of characters ranging from a sadistic dentist to Seyomors hypochondriac mother work well and the comedic timing of the film couldn't be much better.

All said, "The Little Shop of Horrors" is well executed small scale dark comedy, which has a load of charm intact.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great Fun With Wonderfully Demented Characters!

7/10
Author: Bensch
10 May 2008

As far as I am considered, Roger Corman is a genius! In the same year in which he began his brilliant Edgar Allan Poe cycle (starring the great Vincent Price) with the mesmerizing Gothic tale "House Of Usher" (1960), he also came up with this hilarious quickie called "The Little Shop Of Horrors", an adorable black comedy that was shot within a few days, and yet became a classic. This was originally meant to be a sequel to Corman's macabre and hilarious "A Bucket of Blood" of 1959, which it isn't really. While I still prefer "A Bucket of Blood", since it is way more macabre and less slapstickish, "The Little Shop Of Horrors" is also hysterically funny, and a must-see for lovers of black comedy. Seymor Krembolin (Jonathan Haze), a clumsy assistant florist crosses several plants and creates a new plant that soon becomes the main attraction at the flower store he works in. He soon has to discover, however, that the carnivorous plant, which grows incredibly quickly, does not only hunger for flies and beetles... What follows are 70 minutes of pure fun. The amusingly macabre slapstick gags are amusing from the beginning to the end, which makes this a comedy that can easily be watched several times. My favorite aspect of "The Little Shop Of Horrors", however, are the wonderfully eccentric characters. Star Jonathan Haze is great in the lead. Dick Miller, star of "A Bucket Of Blood", plays a customer with a very peculiar appetite for flowers. Then there's a dentist whose methods are, mildly spoken, quite unorthodox. The great Jack Nicholson shines in an ingenious early role as the masochistic patient Wilbur Force. "The Little Shop Of Horrors" is no masterpiece like the Poe-based Gothic Horror productions with Vincent Price that Corman directed in the 60s, but it is definitely a hilarious little film that lovers of black comedy can not afford to miss. Highly recommended!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of Corman's most entertaining films, and thats saying a lot

9/10
Author: TheMarquisDeSuave from Worcester, MA
19 February 2008

"The Little Shop of Horrors" is a major cult favorite for a good reason. It combines multiple elements which psychotronic film fans and b-movie lovers have come to crave - gonzo humor, bizarre and unique characters, cheap production values, and a truly outrageous monster. Its one of the most consistently hilarious films ever made, and viewed today, its much funnier than the classier major studio comedies of the era (such as "Some Like It Hot"). The jokes are unsubtle and often politically incorrect when viewed today (there's a good amount of ethnic stereotypes on hand), but the film is so good natured it never becomes remotely offensive. Plus, some of the slapstick moments (particularly the needle battle in the dentist's office) border on surreal.

What ultimately makes this a classic is the sheer number of memorably quirky characters on display. The protagonist is a meek nebbish who wants to do good but lacks any brains. His girlfriend is impossibly wild-eyed and naive yet still lovable. There's also a man (played by Dick Miller) who eats flowers, a nagging Jewish aunt who is continuously buying flowers for deceased relatives, a hypochondriac mother, and a pair of police investigators who are so stoic an Dragnet-like they can only react to murder with a shrug. Not to forget Audrey Jr., the plant itself, with its constant moans of "feed me".

All in all, if you consider yourself a fan of Roger Corman or cult cinema, there's really no reason why you shouldn't have seen this yet. Its absolutely mandatory viewing and remains completely unique to this day. (9/10)

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 13: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history