The Deputy (TV Series 1959–1961) Poster


Episode List



12 Sep. 1959
Badge for a Day
Marshal Simon Fry tricks Clay McCord, a young storekeeper into taking a wagon full of supplies to remote town knowing that the groceries are expected by the notorious Gentry gang who the lawman hopes to capture. Fry knows that McCord is a crack shot with nerves of steel. He also knows that McCord would never have accepted a deputy's badge since he has a younger sister and brother to support.
19 Sep. 1959
The Wild Wind
Clay tries to help three young men who have fallen in with a gang of murderous rustlers.
26 Sep. 1959
Back to Glory
While Marshal Fry tries to locate the murderer who abducted a pretty actress, Heck Lamson and Clay McCord trail an escaped prisoner who was responsible for molesting another woman.
3 Oct. 1959
Shadow of the Noose
Marshall Fry arrests a drifter for the murder of a farmer and his wife but must contend with a lynch mob before the trial. Fending off Akins and his mob, Simon enlists the aid of the store keeping McCord family to stop vigilantism.
10 Oct. 1959
Powder Keg
Heck Ransom and his men capture Tom Deaver, a notorious renegade wanted for supplying gunpowder to the Apaches. Heck's journey to Prescott with his prisoner is endangered when a garrulous telegrapher spreads the word of Deaver's capture - word that reaches the prisoner's Indian allies.
17 Oct. 1959
Like Father, -
Ches Vantage, an ex-convict gone straight, is anxiously awaiting the arrival of his son, newly certified as a veterinarian. Ches doesn't realize that his son learned his trade while in prison and a gunfighter with a grievance has trailed the young man from Kansas to Arizona looking for a showdown.
24 Oct. 1959
Proof of Guilt
A murderous outlaw gang has attacked a number of smelting operations and seized numerous gold bars. An ex-convict, recently released from prison and determined to go straight, stumbles upon on one of the hold-ups and discovers his son is a member of the gang. The old criminal decides to take the blame for the crimes himself to protect his son's wife and children.
31 Oct. 1959
The Johnny Shanks Story
Marshal Fry is convinced of trouble when he learns that three unsavory bounty hunters are heading for Silver City. Not wanting her brother to get involved, Fran McCord arranges for Clay to guide a party of settlers across the Badlands to their new ranches. Fran's plan doesn't' work - the bounty hunters are after a member of the party Clay is leading.
7 Nov. 1959
Focus of Doom
When three town marshals are murder near Silver City, Arizona Territory's chief marshal, Simon Fry, sends aging lawman Herk Lamson on vacation and sets a trap with himself for bait. He learns four strangers have recently arrived in town - one claiming to be a salesman, one a musician, one a gambler and one a rancher - all of whom visited the towns were the lawmen were recently shot in the back.
14 Nov. 1959
The Big Four
A highly organized outlaw gang has robbed banks, trains and stagecoaches throughout southern Arizona. When Marshal Fry learns that four of the West's most notorious outlaws - Billy the Kid, Curly Bill Brocius, Ike Clanton and Johnny Ringo - have dropped out of sight, he fears that they have joined forces. Clay McCord stumbles upon a clue to the gang's whereabouts and, using a pair of homing pigeons, hopes to communicate their location to Simon Fry before their next raid.
28 Nov. 1959
The Next Bullet
Clay finds a note in a murdered man's pocket that threatens death to Heck Lamson. Marshal Fry is convinced that the crime is linked to a sensational trial held the previous year where a woman was convicted of murdering her husband and her brother's vowed vengeance.
5 Dec. 1959
The Deal
Marshal Simon Fry is trailing a gang of outlaws that specialize in abducting a loved one of town's most prominent citizen and then forcing that man to help stage a spectacular robbery. Little does he know that Fran McCord has been kidnapped to ensure Clay cooperates with the gang's plan to steal a $20,000 mine payroll.
12 Dec. 1959
Land Greed
A widow with a young son marches into a church service and loudly denounces her neighbors as land-hungry thieves who are trying to drive her off her ranch. Clay investigates and finds evidence of fence cutting and the widow's cattle being rustled - but he also finds indications that the evidence was created by someone trying to throw the blame on the neighboring ranchers.
19 Dec. 1959
Man of Peace
When two wagons full of repeating rifles are stolen by an Apache raiding party, Marshal Fry decides that the problem is more than his small staff can handle and sends for the Army. Clay is convinced that the Apaches must have a reason to steal the rifles and is determined to resolve the issue peaceably before the soldiers can arrive and possible start another Indian war.
26 Dec. 1959
The Orphans
Clay McCord stops a covered wagon that careened through town and discovers three young children inside, but finds no sign of the parents. The children's parents are eventually found murdered so, when Simon Fry discovers their money hidden in the wagon, he sets a trap for the murderers that Fran McCord nearly spoils by accident.

 1959  1960  »

See also

Episode Cast | Rated Episodes (by date / vote)| TV Schedule

Contribute to This Page