IMDb > Ali Baba Bunny (1957) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Ali Baba Bunny More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 17 reviews in total 

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A Great Cartoon You Can Enjoy Many, Many Times

10/10
Author: ccthemovieman-1 from United States
3 November 2007

This is a great cartoon for several reasons: 1 - Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck are both in it; 2 - it's filled with classic lines (many by Daffy); 3 - the humor is both subtle and slapstick; and 4 - it looks fantastic with a restored version. The colors are magnificent. (See it on the Looney Tunes Golden Collection Volume 5).

This story includes a bunch of treasure, a big guard named "Hassan" guarding the loot, and a genie. As with some other cartoons that featured both Bugs and Daffy, our rabbit friend doesn't do much, just lets the duck make a fool of himself.

This is very entertaining start to finish - tons of good gags - and one of those cartoons that always will be funny no matter how many times you see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

The best?

Author: Kevin (UCFKevin@aol.com) from Orlando, Florida
25 September 2002

I think I've seen every Looney Tunes cartoon in my short life span. I always preferred WB to Disney, Bugs to Mickey, etc. The best ones are, obviously, the Chuck Jones shorts. But which of those are the best?

I think the answer must be "Ali Baba Bunny". It has the famous Bugs and Daffy rivalry, it has a different setting, it has a hilarious new character (Hassan), it's just cartoon perfection. Also has some of the best damn lines in any Looney Tunes cartoon.

"Open sasparilla? Open Saskatchewan?"

"I'm rich! I'm wealthy! I'm comfortably well off!"

"DUCK. YOU HAVE DESECRATED MY LAMP."

Classic. Absolutely classic. No cartoons will ever match the genius of the Looney Tunes Chuck Jones ones.

The animation is also top notch. I hate seeing a Looney Tunes cartoon with bad animation, but Jones never disappoints. The little things in the animation just make it perfect, like when Daffy first spots the treasure, and his bottom bill shifts side to side in greediness, or when Bugs is surprised by Daffy shouting for help, his toes scrunch up...

Long live Bugs Bunny.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A big fan

9/10
Author: buddhadan-1 from United States
20 September 2006

OK, I'll admit that I'm a big fan of animated shows, having grown up with them, they were part of my life for as far back as I can remember.

My tastes have changed a little since that time, and I have added a sizable mental library of shows that I've seen, but overall I enjoy the animated shows quite a bit.

Taking that into account, I can say that I was lucky enough to grow up with the Bugs Bunny line of cartoons, the Looney Toons cartoons if you will. While I believe that some of them are better than others, I would give all of them a higher rating than most other animated shows in existence, each having something to offer in the way of humor, animation skill, or just plain silliness.

This specific one, with Bugs and Daffy, is one of my all time favorites, one that I've quoted (much to the chagrin of my family) often, especially the Daffy lines regarding how greedy he is when encountering the vast amount of wealth in the cave.

This one isn't played often enough on television, so if you have an opportunity to see it on TV, or in some sort of DVD set, do so and I believe that from the beginning, you will laugh.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

we must praise Allah (or whomever) for Chuck Jones' talent

10/10
Author: Lee Eisenberg (lee.eisenberg.pdx@gmail.com) from Portland, Oregon, USA
6 June 2005

One fine day, the Sultan of Baghdad closes Sesame, and reminds guard Hassan: "Guard well this treasure, or may the jackal grow fat on thy carcass." Hassan affirms: "No one shall pass Hassan." However, neither man counted on two people, er, animals: Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck. It just so happens that they accidentally burrow right into the cave. When they see where they've landed, Bugs tries to figure out where they took a wrong turn, while Daffy spots the treasure. His greedy side takes over, and after forcing Bugs back into the hole, Daffy proceeds to play in the treasure.

Meanwhile, Hassan has finally remembered the password. He goes after Daffy, while Bugs disguises himself as a genie and grants Hassan a wish. After they finally manage to get rid of that guard, Daffy accidentally finds the real genie, and...well, let's just say that they don't become friends. Bugs flees, of course.

Once again, Chuck Jones and company hit the comedy jackpot. This is what classic cartoons are all about. In my opinion, the Looney Tunes were always better than Disney.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wonderful Cartoon - Pismo Beach in California

Author: gdstewarthenllan from United Kingdom
12 January 2009

An absolutely wonderful cartoon. But I'm biased - saw it first at the Cartoon Cinema in Sheffield England in 1958 or thereabouts aged 7 with grandmother. To me it's one of the finest and funniest Bugs Bunny cartoons.

Granted it might attract disparaging comment for the stereotypical Arabs - but it is of its time and that time was 1957. So far as I know it never has attracted criticism from the Arab world.

It is delightful for the interplay between the greedy (capitalist?) duck and his pretensions ("I'm comfortably well off...") and the world wise but decent Bugs Bunny - who rescues the duck from his folly only for Daffy to blow it at the end - with yet more greed.

A fable for our times yet again?

Oh, and Pismo Beach is in California, not Florida.

Duncan Stewart.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"I'm comfortably well off!"

Author: slymusic from Tucson, AZ
12 July 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Written by Michael Maltese and directed by Chuck Jones, "Ali Baba Bunny" is a brilliant Bugs Bunny/Daffy Duck cartoon that just might be the epitome of Daffy's greediness. (If you haven't yet seen this cartoon, don't read any further.) While travelling underground with Bugs, Daffy suddenly spots a gigantic cache of riches, and rather than deciding to share it with Bugs, Daffy wants it all! When a fat, stupid guard named Hassan chases after Daffy, Daffy suddenly decides to call a truce with Bugs and hides under his turban, but once Hassan is gone, Daffy breaks the truce and grabs all the gold. What a greedy twit!

There are two scenes in "Ali Baba Bunny" that I find especially hilarious. First, when Daffy initially spots all the jewels, he loudly declares it's all his by stomping on Bugs and burying him underground, then joyfully jumping into the gold coins to the musical accompaniment of "We're in the Money". And second, while disguised as a genie, Bugs does some wacky physical contortions as he recites his "iggity ackity ook ah ah" chant.

"Ali Baba Bunny" is such a great cartoon featuring wonderful facial expressions on the various characters, as well as some fine acting by that "Man of a Thousand Voices" Mel Blanc. Daffy Duck has always proved to be insanely jealous of Bugs Bunny, which only serves to make life worse for the hapless duck. As I mentioned earlier, "Ali Baba Bunny" is probably the purest example of Daffy not being willing to share ANYTHING (e.g., applause, safety, wealth) with Bugs.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Classic Looney Tunes cartoon

10/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
17 June 2010

I have made no secret of loving Looney Tunes, and I think Ali Baba Bunny is one of my favourites. It is hilarious and exciting, with a story that is simply great and the presence of two brilliant characters Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck. The animation is gorgeous here, the whole cartoon is made up of superb colours and excellent character animation, and the music is delightful. What I love most is the humour, the dialogue is hilarious and has some surprisingly subtle moments too, Daffy here gets the best lines, and the sight gags are equally impressive. The supporting characters are fine, Hassan is a worthy adversary and the genie has his moments as well. Bugs is good here, but I think it is Daffy who steals the cartoon with his greedy manic attitude and witty remarks and this is all thanks to the one and only Mel Blanc who is simply genius once again. Overall, this Looney Tunes cartoon is a classic in my opinion. 10/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Daffy Duck's best?

10/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
22 August 2009

Whether this is the best Daffy Duck cartoon or not, it's obvious to anyone seeing it that certainly is among the best featuring this character. In fact, Daffy is much like he was in the short RABBIT SEASONING--looking only out for himself and treating his friend(?) Bugs like dirt. The main difference in this one is that Bugs is a nicer Bugs--in RABBIT SEASONING he was pretty devious as well.

The film begins with the audience assuming it's a Bugs Bunny film. That's because you see the typical trail of dirt as Bugs tunnels across the screen. However, in a twist, as he emerges, so does Daffy! It seem that they're headed for a vacation together and took a wrong turn--ending up in ancient Baghdad (or the like). Soon, they have to contend with genies, greedy sheiks and Hassan who's only ambition it to chop them to pieces! But, as Bugs is concerned with self-preservation, Daffy's greed has been ignited. It seems that Hassan is guarding a fortune in gold and jewels and NOTHING is going to stop Daffy from his one true love...money!

The cartoon is brilliantly written, very engaging and fun from start to finish. While it was an audience favorite, back in 1958, this was exactly the sort of picture that didn't stand a chance Oscar time and wasn't even nominated. Time has shown that ALI BABA BUNNY and not BIRDS ANONYMOUS (the winner) was the better and more timeless film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"Hassan Chop!"

Author: (robocoptng986127@aol.com) from U.S.A
6 January 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

[CONTAINS SPOILERS]

A giant, bulking man named Hassan is put in charge of guarding the entrance to a secret cave. This of course didn't stop Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck from tunneling in under ground. Bugs and Daffy surface thinking this was Pismo Beach but as it turns out, it was a secret cave located in India. Bugs knew he should've taken a left turn at Albuquerque. Daffy suddenly saw chests and chests filled with gold! He shoves Bugs back into the hole and dives into all the riches. As he exits, he meets Hassan, who held his giant sword at the ready. Bugs creates a diversion as a genie in a bottle. And, as quick as you can say Ickity Ackity Oop, Bugs granted the treasure to Hassan. But that didn't stop Daffy, he tried to take some which caused Hassan and his sword to give chase. But Bugs tricks Hassan into climbing a rope into the clouds. Bugs pulls out the rope. No Hassan. Daffy ran back in and collected all the riches and puts them all into a giant cart.

When going back to see if he forgot any, he notices a lamp. He rubs it. Out comes a real genie, but Daffy figured the genie was out to steal his treasure so he forces the genie back into the lamp, and that made the genie powerful sore. Bugs escaped. The genie punishes Daffy so when Bugs runs into him again at Pismo Beach, Daffy was no longer feeling like a big man.

More classic Looney Tunes. The genius of Mel Blanc is demonstrated here as the voices of Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Hassan, and the genie. Also a good job by Chuck Jones! This cartoon was edited into Bugs Bunny's 3rd Movie: 1001 Rabbit Tales in 1982. So if you like Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck, then Ali Baba Bunny is for you, Doc!

-

Was the above review useful to you?

Road to Arabia

9/10
Author: utgard14 from USA
3 August 2016

Hilarious Bugs & Daffy short from the great Chuck Jones and Michael Maltese. This one reminds me of the Hope & Crosby buddy comedy Road films as Bugs & Daffy travel to the Middle East (looking for Pismo Beach, of all places). There they find a Sultan's treasure but standing in the way of them taking the loot is the Sultan's guard Hassan ("Hassan chop!"). This is such a wonderful cartoon. It's funny from start to finish with beautiful animation (love the colors) and lots of memorable lines. The music is nice and Mel Blanc's voice work is, as you might expect, flawless. It's probably my favorite Bugs & Daffy cartoon where they are friends (or at least not enemies). More of a showcase for Daffy than Bugs, though.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history